Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Oster Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

The Oster Panini Maker, Black, cooks up to 20 percent faster, which helps you to save time, energy and money. It is designed with an innovative and unique DuraCeramic non-stick coating that will not peel or flake. It also lasts up to four times longer than standard non-stick coatings. This panini machine is free of PTFE and PFOA chemicals, so it is safer for your family. Not only can you make a panini, but the item also opens 180 degrees to provide you with a flat surface for indoor, counter-top grilling. You can adjust the DuraCeramic Oster grill for variable bread thickness.
Average Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation84%21 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Makes a great hamburger too

07/06/2014
By ,
Macomb, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the reviews posted I was confident that this grill would make a great Panini sandwich but I've been in search of one that could grill 1 or 2 hamburgers or chicken breasts. I debated between this one and the higher priced ceramic plate grill Walmart sells because this one didn't have the removable plates for cleaning but the one that did didn't have a heat control option, which to me was more important. So glad I chose this one. Before heating I brushed it lightly with olive oil on a paper towel to help prevent any sticking and within 8 min., at slightly below maximum heat, had a great burger that wasn't pink inside but was still tender and juicy. It also didn't smoke up the kitchen while in use like the last grill I bought and have since retired. As for cleanup it was amazingly quick and easy. Once the grill cooled the hamburger residue wiped right off with a dry paper towel which really surprised and impressed me. Just for safely sake I gave the grill a once over again with a soapy paper towel, rinsed with a wet paper towel and it looks like it did right out of the box. This little grill really exceeded my expectations in every way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Very easy to use. Very well worth the price.

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For sure the sandwiches turn out well. Toasty outside, soft inside. Release the lid and it becomes a grill. My son uses it to fry scramble eggs. No oil needed. In my home cook opinion, the ceramic coat is much more smooth than Teflon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Camping stove.

10/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought the Oster to take camping to be able to cook my own meals. While washing the Oster to get it ready to go camping, I noticed that the bottom Ceramic was cracked over the control knob. So I had to take it back to Walmart for my money back since my store did not carry the stove. I did not order another on line because it would of arrived after I had left to go camping. My Bourbonnais Walmart took it back even through I had order it on line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Just what I wanted

08/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you might want more out of your panini maker. But when one that has all you need why? small foot print super easy to clean surface. like to use to warm up leftover pizza nothing sticks. if you want to feed an inpatient group it will not be what you want. just right for two. and the price is right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Excellent kitchen tool

03/25/2014
By ,
Plano, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great panini/sandwich maker. Easy to clean up, and does not have the yucky chemicals from Teflon coating. Thank you for such a great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Great panini maker!

02/01/2014
By ,
Citrus Heigts, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this panini maker. It is big enough for 2 sandwiches which is a good fit for us. We were using one with a Teflon lining but we wanted to get away from the Teflon and this was a great alternative. We love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

GET THIS RIGHT NOW

02/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
omg...this grill changed my life literally....befor this grill i would fry my mushrooms and pepper..now with this i ccan grill and make panininis at the same time....and i was lookin for one without the teflon coatin (for all those non stick lovers..teflon is classified as a carcinogen) ok so this one..is worth it!!! i am loving it so much
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Excellent product for the price

06/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase of Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker. It heats fast and makes perfect panini grilled sandwiches. The main thing is the ceramic surface which is non-stick and cleans very easily. I would certainly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Excellent Panina Maker- So quick

12/11/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This appliance is really a great buy. It makes sandwiches in moments.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

cheaply made, poor design, better off with a pan

06/09/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought this would be a step-up from a Foreman, but it is not. Once this dies, I am going back to my cast iron grill pan.
1. Poor design does NOT flow the grease off of the food properly. The grill should slant-left due to where they built the grease drain (left front), but the grill has no leftward slant, so the grease builds up towards the front of the grill plate and can easily overflow in random places.
2. The ceramic nonstick starts to become sticky very quickly, no different than the white nonstick pans (read reviews of them, and they all perform poorly after a few months). Even a manufacturer of the ceramic coating says the nonstick properties do not last that long.
3. The top plate, like all of these grills, gets too hot in relation to the bottom plate -- because both plates have the same heating element. These geniuses do not realize that the heat from bottom plate RISES, causing the topside to get MUCH hotter than the bottom. All of the browning occurs from the top plate, meaning you have to flip the food. Proper design would have made the top plate have a much lower wattage heating element to account for the heat that rises from the bottom, thereby having an even heating of top vs bottom.
4. Overall cleanup is difficult; cleaning a pan is faster & easier. You must clean the grill plates while hot, which means your food starts to get cold, and you must hold the top plate with a towel to keep from burning your hand. Water gets everywhere on your table, which adds to the cleanup. Tossing your cast iron grill pan into the kitchen sink is just as easy & less messy.
5. Grill is too light and slides around on the table. The rubber feet popped out the first week and had to be glued in. At the same time, I took the effort to provide a slant towards the left so that the grease drains properly.
Overall, a poor design in my opinion. I am tired of these cheaply made, poorly designed, modern appliances. I will go back to the old fashioned way -- cast iron grill pan with cast iron weight. It is honestly just as easy & lasts a lifetime.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

I purchased this as a gift for someone.

08/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this as a gift for someone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Great

12/17/2013
By ,
Clinton Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sandwich maker really like the ceramic burners brown so well !
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Excellent product

05/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Food cooks great. Food does not stick. I just love it. Highly recommend it. And best of all: NO TEFLON!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Doesnt make grill marks

01/06/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted a maker that leaves grill marks on the sandwhiches and this does not. It takes to long to heat up and doesn't get hot enough for my liking. The light goes on and off while they are cooking and the instructions say that it is normal its just trying to regulate temp but if it would stay on then and be hotter then I would like it. I have been contemplating taking it back since it only gets warm and takes over 10 min to make a sandwhich with very light brown marks on it.Looks nice though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Too Small for a family

09/25/2013
By ,
Broken Arrow, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had to order this sight unseen because our local WalMart's didn't carry them. I returned it to our store because it was much too small. I would only be able to grill one sandwich at a time. I can't see this size working for anyone but a single person. I don't know if it would be durable or not but it did have some chips in the porcelain on the outer edge.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Addresses my requirements??

04/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Nice, Chemical Free

09/20/2013
By ,
Hays, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just wondering how long it will last.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

Trial and error

10/27/2013
By ,
Central ,IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The booklet that comes with it is worthless. No tips ,pointers,sandwich ideas.
I have been working on getting the hang of cooking with it.
Appears very sturdy and well made and does a good job just kind of a trial and error though
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

CANNOT CLEAN IT

10/19/2013
By ,
OCALA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS PRODUCT DOES NOT HAVE PLATES THAT CAN BE REMOVED FOR WASHING... THEY SAY TO JUST WIPE IT WITH A DAMP SPONGE ??? WOULD YOU DO THAT WITH YOUR DISHES. ??
RETURNING FOR REFUND...
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster DuraCeramic Panini Maker

A nice item-ask later about the durability !!!

10/26/2013
By ,
Brunswick, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Really wish ratings were not asked for until you have had an item past it's warranty because granted you thought it was a nice item at the right price or you would not have purchased it but it takes time to see if it meets your expectations or is durable. At present I have no complaints and I have owned it for about 2 weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next