Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother International Corporat Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Brother International Corporat Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Walmart.com Price Reflects a $40 Instant Rebate from Brother for a Limited Time! Rebate included in Price. Effective January 11, 2014 to January 24, 2014. This Brother MFC-J870DW Compact All-in-One Printer is easy to use and great for the home office.10
Average Customer Rating:
4.175 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(302 Reviews) 302
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
173
4 stars
67
3 stars
22
2 stars
22
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation84%255 out of 302reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
173
4 stars
67
3 stars
22
2 stars
22
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Brother printer

05/14/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Slow, ink expensive, doesn't recognize refurbished cartridges. Lexmark printer MUCH better.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Works great at a great price

05/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Brother does everything we need wireless and fast. No problems so far, just a good product that was easy to set up and easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Pleased with my printer

05/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a good buy for me and good quality prints.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Great for easy ipad iphone printing!

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I mainly got this to print quick items from my ipad and iphone so that I wouldn't have to turn my PC on. If I need real important documents printed I would just use my laser brother printer hooked to my PC (not ipad compatible!)...but this inkjet serves the purpose more for dealing with everyday stuff for the kids worksheets, boarding passes, etc. It literally synced to the ipad without needing to be hooked up via USB or anything--just asked for my router password under wireless connection setting and presto! One thing I did have to do was turn my router off for a few seconds and then turn it back on as it initially said incorrect error or something...but I didnt read the directions properly as it advises you to turn your router off and then on before putting in the password.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Great value, quality & performance

08/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love two sided print capability, easy setup, and quality of printer and printing. Am curious to see how long ink cartridges will last. Paper magazine/holder is cumbersome for frequent changes in paper type/quality and envelopes, but I knew that when I decided to buy this printer. Every thing else I have used (features) have exceeded expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

I should have done more research before buying!

11/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most people gave this machine rave reviews but I had a major problem with it going "Offline" and not wanting to come back inline to print. I tried numerous times to no avail and after talking to Brother Support for 45 minutes, we could not get it to work properly. So, I boxed it back up and took it back for a refund. I will not buy Brother again because, if you Google "problems with Brother Printers" you will see that this happens to a lot of people. Maybe I was just unlucky? Maybe you will be luckier than me. Good luck!
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Great inkjet printer for home office

06/27/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had much luck with inkjet printers but I can't afford a lazer printer. The Brother MFC-J870DW came highly recommended by a friend so I decided to give it a try. Wow was I surprised on how easy it was to set up and connect with my WiFi. Brother provides easy to understand instructions (with pictures). The best thing is the quality of print. What a fantastic job for an inkjet. You can also connect it with other devices...for me I can now print from my wireless iphone and ipad. Brother has thought of everything and I am extremely pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Easy to set up and WiFi a snap to connect!

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

No Laptop WiFI

02/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The WiFi Direct on this machine is for I pad, I pod, and Tablet only. It will not connect to a laptop. Brother support told me the WiFI is Android only!!
My Wireless router is WPA2-Personal and TKIP Encryption which are supposed to be recognized. It will NOT connect.
This is a 1 computer USB wired machine.
The 2 sided print and copy features are AWSOME. Print clarity and crispness are second to none.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Wireless Home Office Printer

12/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this printer because my other wireless printer broke. I wanted a printer that was wireless and would scan, fax and copy with affordable replacement cartridges. This printer fits all my needs. My only problem was setting up the printer with one of my older laptops but finally got it to work.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Print

02/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this printer a few weeks ago and so far it's been great. It was easy to set up with good instructions but it was just a little time consuming. I haven't had a chance to print any pictures but the sample picture that it printed was awesome. Printing documents seem pretty fast and the fax as well. I would definitely recommend this product based on the time that I have had it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

More Complicated than I thought

01/05/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I tried to set this up and felt for my purpose it was more difficult than I thought. It comes with "Shortcuts" which I could not understand. I kept looking at their manual and was confused at many points. When I called their customer service I was told the wait times were 5 minutes. After 4 minutes, the voice came back on and told me my wait time was now 10 minutes! Enough I said to myself, packaged it back up and took it back to Walmart which of course, took the item back and refunded me with no problems. I ended up buying the HP ENVY 7640 which for 40 more dollars is a much better product and easy as pie to set up. Customer service at HP almost instantly answered my two phone calls I placed to them.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Great printer

02/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great printer and easy to setup love the wireless.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Enjoying my brother's printer!

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best of all it was easy to install! The print quality is so good and bonus it's quiet! Haven't yet tried to print a photo, but what I've seen of this printers ability I think it will be just as good for a home printer. It's an ink saver and energy saver!!!! What's not to love!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Great machine for price

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this purchase. Old printer died after 7 years and I purchased this all in one. Set up was simple and had no problems. Print quality is excellent for photos and very good for everything else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Great Printer at a great price!

12/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced my older Brother printer with this one. This is a great printer. It prints pretty fast, the wireless was a breeze to setup (actually automatically connected) and I can print from my tablet or phone. It's not huge either. It can fax, copy and print. What else do you need?
The one downfall from my other printer is the ink is more money and what I have found, you can't buy ink in a 4-pack (black and color all together).
I have had numerous different printer brands and found that Brother ink lasts the longest and is the least expensive.
I would highly recommend this printer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Easy to use

01/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This printer was a breeze to set up and use immediately. The display icons are straightforward and I don't have to enter my network key each time I want to print unlike my previous printer.
Recommends this product? Yes
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Easy to operate

10/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy set up
Easy to operate
Very good telephone support
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Brother MFC-J870DW-

11/10/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy wireless connect, intuitive control, works well in all features.
Windows 8 Pro and XP OS used and works fine wireless with both (home network thru router).
When using "Ink Saver mode", pictures and graphics do not appear usable
but text is still OK. That feature will save ink for your normal quick print needs.
I used two of the MFC-480CN for 5 years now and it appears that Brother does have some of the
most inexpensive ink replacement cartridges available on the market. I have been able to use replacement (non-Brother) cartridges in the MFC-480CNs for the last 4 years now and purchasing them at less than $4 and sometimes $3 a color. Hoping to be able to do the same with this printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Easy steps for non techy

06/02/2014
By ,
Alpine, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love how easy and trouble free this unit is over my old HP All-in-One Photo Smart printer. I gave up on that one after returning that lemon twice (and still broke down again) . Even my NON TECH husband (doesn't know or want to use a computer) has used the the easy touch pad controls. Patient help was available on the phone to send Mac Air package to set up printer and iPad3. Great for light home/home office use. Ink is less too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next