Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Brother Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

This Brother MFC-J870DW Compact All-in-One Printer is easy to use and great for the home office.10
Average Customer Rating:
4.239 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(180 Reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
46
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation87%157 out of 180reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 14 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
46
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Great value, quality & performance

08/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love two sided print capability, easy setup, and quality of printer and printing. Am curious to see how long ink cartridges will last. Paper magazine/holder is cumbersome for frequent changes in paper type/quality and envelopes, but I knew that when I decided to buy this printer. Every thing else I have used (features) have exceeded expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Great for easy ipad iphone printing!

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I mainly got this to print quick items from my ipad and iphone so that I wouldn't have to turn my PC on. If I need real important documents printed I would just use my laser brother printer hooked to my PC (not ipad compatible!)...but this inkjet serves the purpose more for dealing with everyday stuff for the kids worksheets, boarding passes, etc. It literally synced to the ipad without needing to be hooked up via USB or anything--just asked for my router password under wireless connection setting and presto! One thing I did have to do was turn my router off for a few seconds and then turn it back on as it initially said incorrect error or something...but I didnt read the directions properly as it advises you to turn your router off and then on before putting in the password.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

I should have done more research before buying!

11/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most people gave this machine rave reviews but I had a major problem with it going "Offline" and not wanting to come back inline to print. I tried numerous times to no avail and after talking to Brother Support for 45 minutes, we could not get it to work properly. So, I boxed it back up and took it back for a refund. I will not buy Brother again because, if you Google "problems with Brother Printers" you will see that this happens to a lot of people. Maybe I was just unlucky? Maybe you will be luckier than me. Good luck!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Easy to operate

10/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy set up
Easy to operate
Very good telephone support
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Easy to set up and WiFi a snap to connect!

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Works as expected

11/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works as expected based on research and previous reviews. Somewhat inconvient to change paper compared to others. Otherwise performs very well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Great inkjet printer for home office

06/27/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had much luck with inkjet printers but I can't afford a lazer printer. The Brother MFC-J870DW came highly recommended by a friend so I decided to give it a try. Wow was I surprised on how easy it was to set up and connect with my WiFi. Brother provides easy to understand instructions (with pictures). The best thing is the quality of print. What a fantastic job for an inkjet. You can also connect it with other devices...for me I can now print from my wireless iphone and ipad. Brother has thought of everything and I am extremely pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Easy steps for non techy

06/02/2014
By ,
Alpine, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love how easy and trouble free this unit is over my old HP All-in-One Photo Smart printer. I gave up on that one after returning that lemon twice (and still broke down again) . Even my NON TECH husband (doesn't know or want to use a computer) has used the the easy touch pad controls. Patient help was available on the phone to send Mac Air package to set up printer and iPad3. Great for light home/home office use. Ink is less too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Great machine for price

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this purchase. Old printer died after 7 years and I purchased this all in one. Set up was simple and had no problems. Print quality is excellent for photos and very good for everything else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

do not buy it

09/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
a lot of sheets come out at the same time. I have to try to print one copy at a time. I have wasted a lot of paper and a lot of ink.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Don't Waste Your Money!

09/09/2014
By ,
Burlington, WA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been using printers for well over 20 years now and I'm Not impressed with this printer in the least! My older Kodak printer died on me, so I did the research and found this printer with so many glowing reviews; so I bought it.
Well, the reviews were Hogwash! The printer is Super Slow doing it's job, the setup disk did not do it's job (I had to download from Brother's website to get the printer to setup. The Photo print quality is almost as bad as an old Dot Matrix printer and just about as fast.
To change paper size you have to pull the paper drawer out Completely to shove the 4X6 inch size paper tray in or out. Instead of the machine doing it automatically. It is difficult to put paper in this printer too.
I have not tried the Scanner feature out yet, nor have I tried the Fax machine. I did notice that the scanner needs to use Paperport software. That software is a bit out of date, slow and clunky. I quit using Paperport software well over 10 years ago because of this fact.
I do like the idea of being able to use a Thumb drive with the printer. And the printer does accept an SD card, but lacks the slots for the CF cards that both of my Canon Cameras use. This is a bit of a bummer, but I have a card reader on my computer, so it is not a deal breaker.
I downloaded the Ap for my IPhone from the Brother website and it works Great! So I am happy with that feature! It seamlessly transfers photos to my IPhone and from my phone.
The printer works good with all of our computers. We have Windows Vista, Windows 7 and Windows 8. So that is a plus.
The menu on the printer is easy to use and seems to work just fine. It is easy to navigate through the Menu for the different jobs the printer does, so if you are looking for a feature like that, this is the printer for you. (If you have a Lot of Time to WAIT for the printer to slowly spit out the pages!)
All in all, I Would Not Recommend this printer to any of my friends or family! I Am Not Impressed at all with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Perfect printer for our needs.

08/16/2014
By ,
loganville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only had it for a week so need more time to see how it works out. It works nicely, good print quality and ease of use. Set up was a bit tricky but I eventually got it up and working for us. Had to use their set up disk and instructions were difficult for me to follow. Still it was exactly as read and ordered from you web site. Love the features and ease of use. This is important as my Wife and I are both 60+. I am curious now to see how ink supply lasts and how much it will cost to maintain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Good.

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent printer for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Best future is to be able to print from my S phone

08/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best future is to be able to print from my smart phone, overall I will recommend this printer to any due to pricing and llow prices on ink cartridges.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Works just like we needed.

07/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only complaint is the phone line/cable is way too short and has to be plugged in to an area inside the machine and routed out of the machine that takes up part of the length of the phone cable. Going to have to buy a longer line.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Great product.

06/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's just what i needed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Brother MFC-J870DW-

11/10/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy wireless connect, intuitive control, works well in all features.
Windows 8 Pro and XP OS used and works fine wireless with both (home network thru router).
When using "Ink Saver mode", pictures and graphics do not appear usable
but text is still OK. That feature will save ink for your normal quick print needs.
I used two of the MFC-480CN for 5 years now and it appears that Brother does have some of the
most inexpensive ink replacement cartridges available on the market. I have been able to use replacement (non-Brother) cartridges in the MFC-480CNs for the last 4 years now and purchasing them at less than $4 and sometimes $3 a color. Hoping to be able to do the same with this printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Brother has done it again

03/30/2014
By ,
Bunswick, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price on this product was about average but the free in store delivery was great. Printer was easy to set up and prints great. I've own Brother products before and have had no trouble with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

you get what you pay for.....

01/28/2014
By ,
Tampa FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had made the mistake of buying this product over a weekend and when I tried to call customer service- the only way I could reach out to them was over chat. Not very helpful as the wait time to reach a customer service chat person was very long. I gave up. This is a basic machine and print quality is not as sharp as I would like.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother MFC-J870DW Inkjet Compact All-in-One Printer

Good for home or small office

02/03/2014
By ,
Chesterfield, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fast printer with great quality. The Wi-Fi works well also. I'm glad i caught it on sale otherwise it would have been out of our price range and we wouldnt have purchased it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next