Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kurio Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Kurio Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Access to 1,000,000 Android" apps and games and the world's largest selection of eBooks with Google Play"! Bring a device home that suits the whole family with the Kurio 7S Family Tablet. This Kurio Tablet is equipped with unique parental control features that allow you to set up customized profiles perfectly suited for each member of your family. It also has tons of preloaded, top-tier games, educational apps and other entertaining content. The Kurio 7S Family Tablet comes with a protective silicone bumper, micro USB adapter, micro USB cable, and micro USB power adapter.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(162 Reviews) 161
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
78
4 stars
34
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation75%122 out of 162reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
63 Questions | 107 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
78
4 stars
34
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Great for not-so-tech-savvy Parents!

06/25/2014
By ,
Thompson, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got our 2 boys (ages 4 & 6) each a Kurio 7S for Christmas, we've had them 6 months and they still absolutely Love them. It comes loaded with tons of great games, most of them educational in some way. As a mom who is not that tech-savvy, it was surprisingly easy for me to get it started, programmed, add my kids' profiles (we have a 2 yr old daughter who plays with both when she gets a chance so she has a profile on each Kurio), set them up for my kids to use AND download games to add to the tablet. I can't say enough about the Kurio Company itself. Their website is so helpful and easy to understand, and their Tech Support is outstanding. My BEST ADVICE: Buy the Warranty!! My son fell and accidentally smashed his and we were reimbursed in full so we could get a new one--we could not be happier with the warranty service.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+119points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Ok device, but lousy support

03/14/2014
By ,
Portland OR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Kurio 7S is a nice little tablet, especially compared to the earlier model. I have had no problems with it freezing up or overheating, like the previous one. However, the pre-installed demo apps, I have yet to successfully purchase any full versions of. Most of them aren't available, so what is the point of having a demo? Your kid gets into the game, but can't get the rest of it. It's hard to explain that to a 5 year old. The book programs are great, except the Google update erased all of the books I purchased, and the kurio store stopped working, so I am unable to get them back, or even re-purchase them. Have contacted tech support with all of these problems, and their answer is always to contact the company I bought the app from. I explain to them that the app came on the thing (you would think they would know that, but they don't), and that is the last I hear from tech support. They can tell you how to reset your device, and that's about it. Next time I'm going with something else.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Poor Bumper

12/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is a tablet that my son enjoyed, he has four year old. Kuryo includes a lot of fun and educational applications . The setup is a little confusing , but advanced in features, I liked that. Comes with good resolution and good internal storage. Very nice and stable interface.
The only problem we had is that at twenty days purchased , the tablet fell from a couch. The tablet was hit on corner with the bumpre by the floor. The plastic surface and tochscreen was protected by the bumper and both were intact. The internal LCD, however, broke. It was very disappointing because it is a slight bump and this kind of falls on devices used by children are common, we have a Nabi 2 tablet, which has fallen on several occasions from greater heights and hit its corners and has no damage until now (bought on 2012).
We contacted the company for repairing services, which quickly responded to the request , however, the cost of repairing the display was estimated on 60 % of the total cost of the tablet plus shipping, so we prefer to buy another .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Now has update for GOOGLE PLAY!

01/13/2014
By ,
Grosse Pointe, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this for our 9 and 7 year old for Christmas. I love that you can create different profiles for each kid, and I love the ability to really limit what each kid can access. I was overall satisfied with --but not super happy. The kids were able to download and play minecraft on it which was the most important thing for them. But other apps were a pain to install and use. The kurio app store never worked and the amazon app store didn't perform that great. Basically, had lots of trouble downloading and using apps. Then, lo and behold, we got an update message that google play is now available for it. We performed the update (a THREE step process, be sure to do all the steps as the directions say). SO much happier with it now. Downloading apps is a breeze and they actually work! And somehow, the whole tablet seems to function better since updating. Much faster and not freezing up. If it continues to work this well, I'll be very, very happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

DO NOT BUY!!!!

06/13/2014
By ,
MERRILL,WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had purchased this for my son for Christmas I had to return the first one because it was used and put back on the shelf. I went and purchased an new one and this one worked okay for a little while with in the last four months the machine doesn't turn on right, takes forever to charge up, the charger that came with the machine lasted three days and the prongs are sunk and doesn't charge it right.
I had read the reviews on this product before I had purchased it and they were all excellent reviews so I thought yep this is the one I want for my son, I was sady mistaken now I am out the money and I still have to get a new tablet because I can't get ahold of the company that makes Kurio, they tell you to go on their website and go to support and it takes you no where can't email them and can't call them so how does a person get the product fixed.
So in closing I will not lie to people save your money and DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT FROM ANY SITE OR OFF ON TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

But at your own risk.

10/24/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my son's birthday. I wanted a kid friendly tablet with tons of kid friendly apps so when I saw this I thought it would be perfect. Got it home and decided to set it for him before his birthday so when I gave it to him he would be able to start playing with it. Immediately out the box I noticed that when I would turn it on it would get stuck at the load screen and I would have to keep rebooting it. I kept trying to make it work then a few days before his birthday I decided to just return it to the store and I didn't want to bother with an exchange I decided to get a Nextbook which pretty much does the same thing just downloaded all the games and it works just fine for only a few dollars more. This would be a great tablet if they got all the kinks out of it. It is not worth the 100 dollars you spend. I wish I would have read reviews before I bought this because it is a lot of people that had the same issues I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Flash yes! Headaches and more Headaches

12/05/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got three for my kids. A happy mom, I even got the cases and took a lot to get them set up (x3). Flash is great so they could do their math school program or so I thought (the internet is very slow) ...Then the glitches started. It started typing whatever it wanted to. It wouldnt get pass the first screen, not getting charged, eventually not holding the battery. The most common way to fix it was to reboot the whole thing.. which meant you have to download all your apps again.. (x 3) and you have to become a tech because they want to you get files from here put them there etc, etc. And this is all within the first couple of months and not at the same time,each unit took turns "getting sick" like a month apart. Then the first one got replaced, then the second one and then the third one. Now I am having to do all that all over again.. with the replaced ones (I really thought that the original ones were part of a bad batch,,, but now it makes me wonder.....) DO NOT WASTE your money. I have had a year of nothing but remorse..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Worth the Price

12/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the Kurio 7s for our daughter for Christmas she had been asking for an iPad which I think cost a bit much for a young kid, we came across this & felt it was perfect especially because it has parental control so my sister blocks what she doesn't want her to use or come across inappropriate stuff on the internet. Another great thing it has a timer so when she is told she can only use it for a certain amount of time it locks! And it has a password so only we can unlock it & set the timer again. She also likes the games that come with the tablet built in a few educational games also, also liked the fact that it has a slot for an SD card to add more memory she loves taking pictures now I can print them out for her easily. So far its been a great investment worth the price plus we paid extra for warranty but the durability seems pretty good for an active child.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

love it!!!

12/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tablet for my granddaughter for Christmas (which is not here yet), I've been the one playing with it trying to get it set up. It is a great tablet for children. Set up to me wasn't easy for me , not tech savey but learning. Kurio is preloaded with lots & lots of games plus you can download games and apps from Google play store. I and downloaded the games she plays on my phone. The settings became easier to set up as you go alone. Parental controls and adding other users was easy to do. As I write this review I see the price has dropped which in my book is a fantastic buy. Purchase this tablet as soon as possible you won't regret it. I'm sure she will be bright eyed on Christmas morning.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Junk

09/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this Kurio for my 6 year old for Christmas... by April it would no longer turn on. I bought my older son a Kindle Fire (for less money) and it is still going strong. The Kindle Fire has great parental controls so I should have just bought two.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Junk, DON'T BUY

12/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I originally purchased a Kurio 7 tablet for my son for Christmas and within a year I had to send it into the company for an issue (caused by my son dropping it). My request was for them to replace the screen and I would pay for it. The company sent me this tablet above in replace because they no longer made the 7 which was very nice of them to do when it was just a cracked screen that I offered to pay for to have fixed. Now.. this Kurio 7s has been nothing but junk since it was sent to me. It freezes regularly, runs so incredibly slow to the point that my son has given up on it and finds something else to use, and now will not turn on. I have went through the troubleshooting on my own and with the company, along with hard resetting the device twice! And the thing will still not turn on. I emailed the company and they want to charge me $60 + shipping to fix the device because it is over 90 days old. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS DEVICE. I don't understand why the company won't fix the device when it is an issue with their device whereas they completely replace the device with a little crack? I do not recommend anyone spending $90 on this product. I originally paid $144 for the 7 and it worked well, but this one has been nothing but junk!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Good tablet but it needs improvement

12/05/2014
By ,
Mobile, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this tablet for my 6 year old about 9 months ago. It works well for children but it does have a noticeable delay when selecting an app to open. It freezes up a lot and we have to restart it to get it going again. It does not have a fast processor at all, but it is fine if your child is patient enough to wait for apps to load. At one point it blacked out completely for a few weeks and I had to re-boot the whole tablet. The programmed apps for children that are already installed on the tablet are okay, nothing special. Eventually we ended up recently purchasing the Samsung Galaxy tablet with a reliable bumper pad and are planning to give it to my son for Christmas.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Best tablet for children 2 thru 8 or 10

08/01/2014
By ,
RHODE ISLAND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best tablet I have purchased for my grandaughter and grandson, ages 3 & 4 learning and setting up s easy and fast, they can do everything with this tablet. Dont worry you dont haveto watch about parental guindance after set up. My grandchildren are learning so much with this tablet helping them to get ready for school which is definitley needed today.My grandson has been in daycare since he was 4 months old teachers even commented on how well, good this tablet is for him. My grandaughter does not go to daycare and she is almost just as advanded like my grandson at 1yr apart. Purchase this Kurio 7s tablet you will definitely not regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

great product

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 3 daughters that I bought this for, ages are 9,7,&5. The tablet is customized to specific ages so that works out great. This tablet has A LOT of educational games on it!!! That is why we bought this for our daughters. I would recommend this tablet!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Awesome except****

12/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So I purchased this for my son's 6th birthday, I had read all the reviews so I had reservations about purchasing but I did it anyway, great tablet for kid, my son loves it its kid friendly and adult friendly. In the other reviews people had problems with it charging, so 30 days past my purchase the same thing started to happen it wouldn't charge and would stay a 10 percent then go right down to 2 percent charge and I sat it on the charger for 3 days and it didn't charge so I called kurio support, did a ticket and they wanted me to send it in to be repaired with me paying for the shipment of it because it was past the 15 day return warranty couldn't get my money back so had to get it repaired, but... awhile back I had purchased a universal charger with different attachment heads and I had been charging my phone in the car and something dawned on me I brought the charger in the house plugged it in and connected the kurio and bam its charging like it wasn't even broken so its apparently its not the tablet that's messed it its THE CHARGER itself that's jacked up it becomes loose and wont fit in the port of the kurio any longer, so I saved myself shipping fees and possibly repair charges , I suggest anyone with a kurio get a universal charger and plug up your kurio and bet it will charge. awesome tablet just the original charger and cord malfunctions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Kurio 7s

12/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves this tablet! Its a little slow starting up, even with a memory card in it, but worth it! Has tons of cool games and can set it for a certain age range. Can also set which apps you want your child to have access to.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

SWEET

12/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing product my 5 year old loves it! Super easy to use and wouldn't
change anything :)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Happy Grandchild Tablet

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for granddaughter's birthday. Excellent gift. Easy for her to handle. Great parental controls.
Very happy with Walmart's role in this purchase. Arrived in time for granddaughter's birthday party.
I am a satisfied customer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Great for kids

12/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only complaint I have is I can not access the kurio App Store. I have emailed the company about a week ago and they have never got back with me. Other than that my 7 year old loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kurio 7S Kids 7" Tablet with Android 4.2 & 8GB Memory

Kurio

12/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this Kurio tablet for the kiddos to use and I have to say it was a great gift. They love it. and spend lots of time doing fun educational stuff.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 162 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next