Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

The new Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill has all the things you love about the Gold's Gym 410 Treadmill plus two greate new features: ipod compatible audio (2-2" speakers) Twice the number of workout programs as the Gold's Gym 410 Treadmill  The Gold's Gym Treadmill Trainer 420, is packed with features to help you meet your fitness goals. Choose from 16 workout apps designed by a certified personal trainer to focus on performance and calorie-burn goals. This space-saver treadmill comes with a 2.5 CHP G-force motor, which is built for extended use, and its speed ranges from 0 to 10 MPH. It also has a 0 to 10 percent incline range, allowing you to add some extra intensity to your workout at the push of a button. Its AirStride Plus cushioning reduces the impact on your joints. The Gold's Gym Treadmill, Trainer 420's Intermix Acoustics 2.0 sound system is iPod compatible, so you can listen to your tunes while you work out.
Average Customer Rating:
4.022 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(231 Reviews) 230
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
63
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
33
Customer Recommendation81%188 out of 231reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
81 Questions | 240 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
63
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
33
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Working great after a year

01/05/2014
By ,
Avon, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this treadmill for about a year now and it still works fine. I use it about 6 days a week except when away from home or company visiting (excudes about 2 months per year). I don't use the preprogram routines but vary incline to adjust my walking. It works great. My only complaint is small black particles that apparently come from the tread and end up on the floor. I've tried adjusting the tension to better align the tread but I still have black residue from tread wear. No real problem but annoying.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IL
Question
Posted 01/24/2014
Can you plug your weight into this treadmill to get a more accurate calorie count? I'm interested in buying one. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Didn't even work correctly for 10 minutes

01/23/2014
By ,
Seattle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this a few days ago and put it together. Went to go for a run on it and it started making a funny sound five minutes into my run. I looked down and the belt was rubbing on the left side of the belt cover and was off center. I yanked the safety key as soon as I realized it but the belt had already folded over. Spent 40 minutes fixing the belt and getting centered again. Was too annoyed to jump back on it that day. Jumped on tonight after a few days and the same thing happened again. This thing is a piece of garbage! I've had other treadmills before and none of them ever did this. They worked perfectly fine as soon as I received them. Now I have to disassemble this garbage and pack it back up so it can get picked up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florissant, Co.
Proper setup required
Posted 02/11/2014
As with any new assembly line product, you must take the time to properly set up your treadmill prior to starting your exercise regimen. The belt needs to stretch a little, after which you will need to re-adjust it. That is why they tell you about it in the set up manual. Yes, I did have to adjust the alignment of the belt. This procedure takes about 15 minutes. It is VERY simple to do. My machine is working PERFECTLY now and has given me hours of quality exercise.
I suggest that you take the time to do a quality set up of this very fine product before making negative postings.
+10points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Perfect

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took about an hour to put together. Had this for a couple weeks so far.
We tried the previous model of this but returned it. This newer model has a few improvements, for one the manufacturer has added threadlocker to almost every bolt that comes with the treadmill. I thought that was a nice touch, as the old model didn't have threadlocker and I had to apply it myself.
The running area is not a bad size, just enough for me (6', long stride) to run comfortably.
One note - this doesn't fold up perfectly. Due to the way the control panel is at an angle, the belt portion of the treadmill cannot go straight up when folded, and instead is at about a 75-80 degree angle. Not a big deal, but it does take up a bit more space than expected.
I thought the speakers would be a gimmick and not loud enough to be usable. WRONG! The speakers are just right! It's so nice to run without headphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Did not last a week

03/01/2014
By ,
Cahokia, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this for my wife who is only 110 pounds, because she sits in an office all day and she just wanted something to stay active with. Bought online and picked it up on 2/21/14 from store that same day. I took it out the box and assembled it two days later. It was used that day on the 23rd of February and stopped working on the 26th of February. She was walking/running at 5.0 speed when the machine got stuck at that speed. She could not slow it down or stop it using the buttons on the console, none of the buttons worked. My wife then pulled the key and then it stopped. She then tried to reset it and called customer service for trouble shooting. The treadmill does not work at all and now I have to get some help in order to return it. It's not like returning a coffee maker or something, this thing is listed at 200 pounds. It is very hard to maneuver and I have to find someone to help load this thing up. Ordinarily it would not be a problem, but I am a disabled Veteran. I am very disappointed in this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Easy to put together, well done instructions

01/11/2014
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We were looking for a small, durable treadmill for me to start getting my diabetes and health under control. I quit smoking a year ago, now is the time to get the weight off.
When I picked it up from the store, 2 young men had to help get in the truck. It takes 2 people. When I got it home, we took all the items out of the box first then moved the base with a hand truck.
The manufacturer did not take the nuts and screws and shove into little bags and mark them - hoping you could figure out which step they went to. No - they took all the small parts and shrink wrapped them to a piece of cardboard, over the top of markings for each step in the process. The markings matched the instructions and were easy to follow.
It will take 2 people (in the instructions) and about 2 hours to put together.
It works like a treadmill should and we are very pleased. It has the emergency shut off device and an on/off switch in the front.
I would recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

I love this machine.

03/24/2014
By ,
Hampton, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since, I retired, I usually go for a walk every day. During this past winter, it has been so cold that I have not been going out and I have put on weight. A friend told me he bought a treadmill a short time ago and he loves and so I finally broke down. I went online to Walmart and this seemed like a very good deal and it came with a free gym mat to protect the floor under it. I looked online at Amazon and they had the exact same model for $200.00 more! And theirs did not come with a mat. Sight unseen, I ordered this online because having read several reviews that were very positive. This machine arrived last Thursday. It is heavy - it weighs 200 pounds and it took me 2 hours to put it together by myself. This is a heavy duty machine - not some 'lightweight' home version. I did a one hour walk in two half hour sessions. The book said not to over do, and it suggest working out only 3 times a week for the first two months, then 5 times a week. Well, I had a hard time not using it the next day, and I actually been doing one hour every day and I am absolutely loving it! I should have bought this years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Worst purchase in a long time.

09/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine only worked for 4 months... Yes, I paid $400 for a treadmill that lasted only 4 months. Their tech decided the controller burned out so Golds Gym would not budge from their 90 a policy. They offered to send me a replacement board to see if it fixed my issue; for $180 and I pay shipping. If it didn not work, I could pay to ship back the part (their tech said she THINKS I need) and they would refund me all but a 10% restocking fee if the conroller did nt fix the issue. This is garbage and one of the worst purchases I've made in a very long. The quality of this machine is not like the old products Gold's Gym used to produce. ** Buyer Be Ware!!! **
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Great Treadmill at a low price

10/24/2013
By ,
Northwest, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This treadmill was pretty easy to put together, but it helps to have two people. We also bought the mat to set it on because of other reviews we had read that said over time black dust would fall from the belt and onto the floor.
Very easy to use, although I have only had a couple of weeks and have not yet used the pre- programmed workouts (working up to that). So far no complaints whatsoever!
One suggestion I would make is to find a store that already has this in stock, and go pick it up yourself. We had initially ordered one via site- to- store, and when the treadmill got to our local Walmart, it had been ridiculously damaged somewhere along the line. They said by the shipping company that transported it from Pennsylvania. Anyway, we had to start all over again, and found the same item in stock at another store not too far away, so we paid for it online and went to pick it up. No dents, dings, or scratches at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Nice Treadmill

01/16/2014
By ,
Show Low AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not rate the durability since we just got it right after Christmas a few weeks ago. But once it is up and running it is a nice unit. It is very heavy. It took all day to put together, but we are old and slow!! Just take your time, and it all goes together fine. Just follow the directions exactly. I was pleased with the way it was packaged and how they told you step by step what to do. It looks like it was a lot more expensive. This is my first treadmill. Also, it was super easy to fold up the platform part to vacuum the floor under it. Just make sure you can lift 45 pounds with no problem. The display is nice and big and easy to use. I have not tried the MP3 player yet. My son was running on it, and it is cool how it has this cushioning kind of action on the platform. Probably a bit easier on the knees like running on grass instead on concrete. So far I am very glad we got this. I just need to remember that I actually have to use it and not just look at it to lose weight and get in shape!!! Oh, and just for fun and to break it in I threw a few clothes on it too!! Multi-purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Wonderful treadmill for the price

10/23/2013
By ,
Clay, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had the Gold's Gym 420 Trainer for a week, but I am very happy with the treadmill. For $377, it's definitely worth it. Granted it's not top of the line, this model has a lot to offer. I love the fact that I can listen to my IPod without using earplugs. The built-in speaker is a huge plus. When I accelerate from 0 to 5 mph, it doesn't take long at all. The treadmill I use at the gym takes much longer to get up to 5 mph, even though it is commercial grade. The deck space is reasonable--18" wide is enough room for me to comfortable run on. I also like the race track feature. The shock absorbers under the deck is fantastic. I can feel the difference in my joints--less impact on them. Last but not least, my hubby assembled the treadmill in less than an hour all by himself. I greatly recommend this product to everyone. I totally love this treadmill!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+129points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Northwest, OH
Revised review- STAY AWAY from this one!
Posted 11/23/2013
I bought this on October 9th, and today we had to return it to the store because the motor for the belt would not turn on at all!! I know the treadmill still got power because the display turned on and 'thought' I was walking, but no noise or movement from the belt whatsoever. I was walking 3-4 times a week for about 30 minutes at a time, so I was not abusing it in any way. I noticed the belt moving very slowly at first, about a week ago but tried to believe that it would 'come out of it'. I should have known better. Today, I turned it on, and nothing. Walmart let me return it easily, but I will not buy another Gold's Gym product, that's for sure.
0points
Customer Avatar
Seattle
Foldable ? Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill
Posted 11/04/2013
Does this treadmill fold up when not in use? Thanks
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Gold's Gym Trainer 420 Treadmill

03/28/2014
By ,
Emmett, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Almost didn't buy this one since the 410 seemed to have more features. The 2.5 motor over the 2.0 sold me. It actually has more features including it increases belt speed manually by .1 increments instead of .5 as in the 410. Assembly was pretty easy, it reads that two are required but I had no problem doing it by myself. Had to adjust the belt alignment but that was about it. The delivery service Seko just dropped it off in the garage at eight degrees but I pushed it into the house and gave it 48 hours to stabilize temperature with the before assembling it. Use a surge protector a good one not those cheap ones they kit out. Since they guarantee your electronics from damage. If you get a surge that damages the equipment they will pay to have it replaced. I use a Tripp Lite ISOBAR4ULTRA Isobar Surge Suppressor since it is a motor and I want to reduce any electronic noise but the Belkin BSE600-06BLK-WM is great and only $14.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

The BEST Treadmill Under $500

05/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a treadmill that could perform, take the abuse that I know my husband and I would put it through, and fit in our budget. The Gold's Gym 420 has more than met my expectations. I was a little hesitant because the price was so low and it came with the bonus floor mat. However, even before opening the box, I had a good feeling. The picture is deceiving! This is not some dainty piece of equipment. It was so heavy that we had to have help getting it out of the truck and into the house. The assembly was a no brainer and was together in less than 20 minutes. The motor is super quiet, as is the belt. The speakers are surprisingly loud! The pre-programmed workouts are varied and cover a wide range of fitness levels. The speed and incline options are exactly what I was looking for. I don't have a single complaint about the performance of this treadmill, and construction is heavy duty and durable. Overall, it's has been a perfect treadmill! I'm more than satisfied! Also, our iPad fits perfectly in the console right under the screen, as there is a groove made just for that purpose. For a home treadmill under $500, you just can't find a better one. I know, I tried! I did all the research on Youtube and Googled every treadmill on the market. This is, without question, the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

What a Difference

12/17/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a difference between my old welso with a 13" belt and this with a much wider belt. I can actually run a 10 - 12 minute mile without feeling strained, I glide when running on this machine, love the different inclines and workouts and can't wait to use, needed something to get through the cold winter months and this is perfect, the mp3 functions works great, too, great value for the price. I ran my first 10k this past fall (trained outdoors) and this machine may get me to run my first half marathon, now I can train during the winter. Love it, now I want to work out and is much quieter than my old machine that Ive had for 8 years. Wish me luck to lose my last 10 pounds to make it a total of 40 pounds lost (lost first 30 by mainly walking, hoping running will take the rest off!!! With 3 kids 5 and under hard to leave home to workout so this is perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

So far it is great

08/03/2014
By ,
Rochelle, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only been using this for a week so I can't really comment about durability. This is one heavy duty machine, larger than what I've used at the health club. I used the site to store pickup & it fit in my Nissan hatchback ok. Could not close the back so I used a strap. I took the idea from another reviewer & unpacked while it was still in the car and brought it in piece by piece. The platform was so heavy, we had to get help. I put it together by myself in about 3 hrs. So far I'm loving it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Very good treadmill

09/01/2014
By ,
McDonough, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my treadmill for 9 months, I use it about 3 days a week. It's a great treadmill, gives a good workout with varying intensities and inclines. I am an average size female and I've had no problem with it. My husband put it together fairly easily. I would definitely recommend this treadmill for most people who like to keep in shape with a good walk or run.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Overall, good value. Only one issue.

09/14/2014
By ,
Oakland, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, this is a good deal. I had to wait longer than expected because it was back ordered. It took me about an 1 and 45 minutes to assemble. Everything worked well with one small issue though. When I pushed the incline button and let it go to level 10, no issues, but it's when I press it again to go back to 0, it made a loud popping noise. I thought the motor shorted, but it kept running, then I tried it again and it made another loud popping noise. It turns out that when the metal level was moving up and down, it was hitting the plastic and it cracked twice, that was what made the popping noise. The plastic was not important in the machines function so I just broke it completely off. It now works fine, but it was annoying that the design was off. Not worth the time and effort of exchanging it because its very heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Very good investment

08/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like my GG420 Treadmill, it really comes in handy when you can't make it to the gym. The instructions were very clear and i liked the fact the all the parts were marked and very helpful for someone who is not used to putting things together, i did however had to call in some help for the bars (they are heavy) but other than that it only took about 3 hours to put together only because of interruptions. I really liked the fact that the noise level is very low and not disturbing to my neighbors who are connected to my apartment. I'm only on day three of using this product but i feel i will diffently get my money worth and yes i would tell a friend about this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Good equipment

09/03/2014
By ,
Bluffton, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good equipment for the price, easy to assemble, easy to operate, has place to set drink and also gives heart rate
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

This is a very good equipment for the money.

09/13/2014
By ,
El Paso, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this treadmill and the incline did not worked, called for warranty and they gave me a couple of tips wich did not worked, I notified them, asked me a couple of questions and the solution was to change the incline motor which I received very quick, changed it very easy and is working perfectly. The response from the warranty people was very good and accurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill, New Model

Super equipement for less than most!

08/21/2014
By ,
Eagle, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very active and found the Gold's Gym 420 Treadmill to be a great way to get an intense work-out; either by walking or running. It wasn't too hard to assemble, maybe requiring some extra helping hands. I would recommend this one to a friend! Price was way less than many treadmills out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 231 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next