Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Mongoose 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

The 20" Mongoose Bike Mode 90 is a good choice for the young BMX rider who is just starting out. This one-speed bike has a steel freestyle frame, a brake rotor for 360-degree bar spins and a set of four freestyle pegs for tricks and grinds. This complete bicycle gives your 6- to 11-year-old everything needed to practice riding and doing tricks like the pros. It comes with standard pedals and alloy caliper brakes. The freestyle bike comes in gray or blue with a padded seat for a comfortable ride. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.489 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%43 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Good bike for the price you pay.

09/24/2014
By ,
Lee, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves this bike. You need to have more tools on hand than indicated in the instructions. Also, how to position the brake cable may not be easily evident and took some figuring. Brakes also need adjusting by trial and error. If you could not tell, I had this delivered in a box and had to put it together. Seat a little on the hard side and had to buy a Bell seat cushion at Walmart. Overall a great bike for the cost. Looks well made but light while being sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Awesome BMX 20" Bike

01/23/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to the store to purchase a bike. This 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Grey Boys' Freestyle Bike I guess was waiting for me to buy it because it was the only and last one on display. I bought this bike and got 10% off because of some scratches and little flaws. Good thing I bought it because I need the exercise to go anywhere I want to. Trust me you will be the coolest kid or guy hitting the road with this one. I actually rode it out the front door of the store to way up to my car and it fit perfectly in the trunk. When I got home I took of the chain protector because it was rubbing against it and slowing me down and the four axle pegs. But next time I ride it I might put two of the axle pegs on the rear only. Very good bike for anyone. Enjoy it for many years. And when the weather is not freezing like now, then I will ride every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

awesome.like the 80s!"

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome deal. I rode it out of Walmart and 3 miles.to Taco Bell! It had scratches so friendly Manager gave me $10 off! The best bike out there. Reminds me of the 80s BMX bikes.I'm 39 but in great shape and plan on riding this bike to work daily. Rock on Bikers!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Great Bike!

10/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves this bike. Easy assembly, looks great, very well built. Only complaint would be that each time my son goes to pedal forward, the chain makes a clinking sound that gets annoying.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

It was scratched and bent straight out of the box

12/30/2013
By ,
Orem, UT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received this within plenty of time before Christmas which was great. I had a few problems with it.
1. One of the rims was bent right out of the box, before I put anything together. I can straighten it, but it's going to take me some time and make the price point for this bike not worth it.
2. Because of some lousy packaging of the pegs in a little flimsy box inside the large shipping box that seems like it was just thrown in, there were some scratch marks all over the bike. The little accessory box had only one piece of tape on either end of it and the pegs had fallen out, rattling around and scratching the bike. Also not a big deal since it's a kids bike and it's going to get scratched up pretty quickly.
3. The brakes were not aligned. I had to bend the brackets for the brake pads so they were even from one side of the wheel to the other, both front and back, except one was worse than the other.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

great bike for the value

01/02/2014
By ,
eagle,ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a great experience in the store. I purchased the bike online for a birthday and was emailed it would be delivered late. Went into the store and management was exceptional. They found the bike in stock and got it for me right away. Walmart.com experience was just as fabuloys. They canceled my order before the late delivery with no fuss. Overall excellent experience!
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Blue mongoose

09/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice bike, nice price. Easy to pay online and pick up at store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Great price for what you get

12/30/2013
By ,
Poconos, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good quality and I put it together in about 30 minutes. Works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Great Bike at a Great Price!

11/11/2013
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this bike. I looked around at other stores and bikes before choosing this one. For the price this is the best bike out there. Other comparable bikes cost over $120 else where.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

My son was very happy with this bike

05/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great price and product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

not that great of a bike

08/27/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i got the bike when I went to the store and it looked like the best bike. After riding it a couple of times i realized the tires need alot of air and the brakes were horrible. But I had a friend that can fix it those problems. But about 3 weeks of having the bike the fork snapped. Now i have to order a new fork for the bike :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

fast and easy

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It shipped quickly. And although putting the cables together were confusing it was a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

My 8 year old loves this bike.

12/30/2013
By ,
Hampton, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son is now the coolest kid in the neighborhood thanks to his sweet ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Great bike

08/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike, my son loved it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Great bike for the price

06/19/2014
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 6 year old son loves this bike. It takes a little bit of time to put it together, especially adjusting the brakes right, but it is very sturdy and looks great. It is a little big for him, but he can still ride it and has lots of fun. I can see he will be able to use it for the next 3-4 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

good for someone who likes to do stunts

07/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the description should be clearer that this a bike for stunts, not necessarily for biking the road and trails. Grandchildren had a hard time at first getting the adjustments to work for them.
Wal Mart pout together but noticed after we got home that a reflector under the seat was missing on bike. Could not find a replacement in the store in the bike supplies.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

I bought two

07/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice bike for the price. I bought this bike online with free shipping .Unfortunatly one of the bikes was defective. The handlebar simply would not go into the "hole" due to a weld inside the bike. I called Mongoose and they where very accommodating and were willing to do whatever it took to resovle this issue. Fortunately a nearby Walmart( 30 mins away) had the exact same bike in stock and I was able to exchange the bike there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

My daughter loves this bike

08/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy. Had a difficult time putting it together (mostly the brakes) but otherwise it is a great buy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Light weight bike

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had purchased the girl Fling Mongoose bike for my daughter. It was difficult to pedal as the bearings weren't as good. Also, it was a steel bike. So I returned and purchased this bike. This boys Mongoose bike is light weight with easy pedaling makes for a nice ride. I bought this for my daughter as the girl bikes are too frilly! The color on this bike is a metallic blue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Awesome!!

12/12/2013
By ,
Mineral City,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purchased two of these great value and timely delivery ...will add more about assembly and things after Christmas :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next