Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Mongoose 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

The Mode 90 is an excellent choice for the young BMX rider who's just starting out. A steel freestyle frame, brake rotor for 360 bar spins, and set of four freestyle pegs complete the package giving you everything you need to start riding like the pros. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.397 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%55 out of 58reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Awesome BMX 20" Bike

01/23/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to the store to purchase a bike. This 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Grey Boys' Freestyle Bike I guess was waiting for me to buy it because it was the only and last one on display. I bought this bike and got 10% off because of some scratches and little flaws. Good thing I bought it because I need the exercise to go anywhere I want to. Trust me you will be the coolest kid or guy hitting the road with this one. I actually rode it out the front door of the store to way up to my car and it fit perfectly in the trunk. When I got home I took of the chain protector because it was rubbing against it and slowing me down and the four axle pegs. But next time I ride it I might put two of the axle pegs on the rear only. Very good bike for anyone. Enjoy it for many years. And when the weather is not freezing like now, then I will ride every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Bike

06/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's just a pain to put together. Other than that, my son loves his bike!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Boys mongoose mode 100 bike

06/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my son and he loves this bike so much he wants to ride it every day. He's 8 yrs old so the bike is a hair big for him but he's adjusted to it nicely. Good bike for the price but could use better hand brakes seeming there's no coaster brake. No other issues.. overall we are happy with the purchase of the bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Altogether nice bike

06/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything is good quality and style, except for the brakes. They are pretty squishy and don't have real good stopping power. But overall, the bike is worth the $$$.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

It was scratched and bent straight out of the box

12/30/2013
By ,
Orem, UT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received this within plenty of time before Christmas which was great. I had a few problems with it.
1. One of the rims was bent right out of the box, before I put anything together. I can straighten it, but it's going to take me some time and make the price point for this bike not worth it.
2. Because of some lousy packaging of the pegs in a little flimsy box inside the large shipping box that seems like it was just thrown in, there were some scratch marks all over the bike. The little accessory box had only one piece of tape on either end of it and the pegs had fallen out, rattling around and scratching the bike. Also not a big deal since it's a kids bike and it's going to get scratched up pretty quickly.
3. The brakes were not aligned. I had to bend the brackets for the brake pads so they were even from one side of the wheel to the other, both front and back, except one was worse than the other.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Nice bike, but a few things need to be considered

06/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 8 year old picked this bike out for a few reasons, he loved the color, bmx style and that it came with front and back pegs to do stunts and tricks. He is just learning to do simple tricks, but this bike made it a breeze for a new beginner. I loved the tires, which every kid on the block that tried my sons bike envied the smooth ride. The flaws however started to overturn the love he had for this bike. The bike itself is longer than most bikes, for him it made it easy to take a tumble often or to over correct when turning, making it difficult to maneuver the bike. My son and his friends in our neighborhood, out of the other 6 children around, this bike was the longest in length. When purchasing this, I didn't consider this being an issue, but it soon turned out to be something that quickly arose our concerns when my son and others rode it would turn a curve and wreck too easily. The length and weight of the bike combined made it difficult to control. It all depends also on the height of each child and what feels comfortable to them. My son loved this bike so much though we didn't want to return it, but ultimately another problem arose. The front brakes broke 4 weeks after my son had owned this bike. The front wheel also was not in alignment correctly. After having someone we know look at the bicycle, they recommended we return it because the flaws were not an easy fix. My son wanted another Mongoose, because out of his friends bikes he had rode, he said his was the smoothest. I have to agree, the tires are very well made. My son ended up choosing a Mongoose MTMX which is a mountain bike that is made like a bmx bike. The new one is shorter in length, which gives him the control for sharp turns and he can still do tricks (minus the new one having pegs.) I still gave the Mongoose Mode 100 4 stars, because it was a really nice bike. I believe if the length were to not have been an issue for my son, then it may have held up longer. Just do your research prior to deciding and if you choose this one it is a nice bicycle, just consider how it is made. I wouldn't recommend it for everyone though so I chose no to recommending to a friend.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Great Bike at a Great Price!

11/11/2013
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this bike. I looked around at other stores and bikes before choosing this one. For the price this is the best bike out there. Other comparable bikes cost over $120 else where.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

♡♡♡

05/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it for 9 year olds boy his first new bicycle he loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Great price for what you get

12/30/2013
By ,
Poconos, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good quality and I put it together in about 30 minutes. Works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Mongoose 100

05/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The 10 year old loves his bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Good bike for the price you pay.

09/24/2014
By ,
Lee, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves this bike. You need to have more tools on hand than indicated in the instructions. Also, how to position the brake cable may not be easily evident and took some figuring. Brakes also need adjusting by trial and error. If you could not tell, I had this delivered in a box and had to put it together. Seat a little on the hard side and had to buy a Bell seat cushion at Walmart. Overall a great bike for the cost. Looks well made but light while being sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

great bike for the value

01/02/2014
By ,
eagle,ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a great experience in the store. I purchased the bike online for a birthday and was emailed it would be delivered late. Went into the store and management was exceptional. They found the bike in stock and got it for me right away. Walmart.com experience was just as fabuloys. They canceled my order before the late delivery with no fuss. Overall excellent experience!
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

awesome.like the 80s!"

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome deal. I rode it out of Walmart and 3 miles.to Taco Bell! It had scratches so friendly Manager gave me $10 off! The best bike out there. Reminds me of the 80s BMX bikes.I'm 39 but in great shape and plan on riding this bike to work daily. Rock on Bikers!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

My 8 year old loves this bike.

12/30/2013
By ,
Hampton, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son is now the coolest kid in the neighborhood thanks to his sweet ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

My son was very happy with this bike

05/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great price and product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Fun freestyle bike!!

04/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun bike for a great price!! Is holding up well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

fast and easy

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It shipped quickly. And although putting the cables together were confusing it was a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Awesome!!

12/12/2013
By ,
Mineral City,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purchased two of these great value and timely delivery ...will add more about assembly and things after Christmas :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Great bike for the price. Assembly was quite easy.

12/19/2013
By ,
Waterford, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well built and designed bike. The first that I have found with easily adjusted brakes.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 20" Mongoose Mode 100 Boys' Freestyle Bike

Great Bike!

10/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves this bike. Easy assembly, looks great, very well built. Only complaint would be that each time my son goes to pedal forward, the chain makes a clinking sound that gets annoying.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1 2 3 Next