Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

Samsung Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

Take your entertainment to new levels with the Samsung 40-Inch 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV, 5000 Series (UN40F5000AFXZA). This television offers 1920 x 1080 Full HD resolution and true 16:9 aspect ratio for superior picture quality. Its built-in digital tuner also allows you to watch digital broadcasting without a converter box where HD programming is available. The Samsung 40" LED Ultra-Slim TV is only 1.9-inches thick and is wall mountable, making it a convenient addition to any room. Two HDMI inputs are included so that you can enjoy a breathtaking HD experience while watching TV or movies. Change how you watch TV with the Samsung 40-Inch 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV, 5000 Series (UN40F5000AFXZA).
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation94%30 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

Misleading Description, Still Great LED For Price

04/02/2014
By ,
Ann Arbor, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At the time of my purchase the Item Description was for 120hz refresh rate when in fact is is really 60hz. On Walmart.com it also had it labelled as a Smart TV which it's not. All that being said the TV is still the best TV for the price.
We bought this for my 8 year old son's room to play games on along with a 3 in 1 Swivel TV Stand. The TV meets all expectations for the price point. It would have been an awesome deal if it was true 120hz and had Smart features but the Samsung Bluray Player he has already had Smart Apps so it was not needed.
Picture Quality is great for the price and even though our LED is 240hz and our Plasma is 600hz playing games I have noticed any blurring at all. Certain movies though I can tell.
Sound is actually pretty decent and we have it turned down quite low compared to his previous TV.
Overall value is awesome and I think Samsung has the best picture quality and value for dollar. I had debated getting a Vizio and for the money this was the better choice.
When I went to pick it up at Site To Store I noticed a Samsung Smart 40" LED for $10.00 less but it's 3.9" depth was more than the 1.9" depth of this model and as stated before his BD player which is also Samsung had Smart Apps already so I chose the thinner LED and stuck with my choice.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

This is NOT a 120Hz TV

11/29/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is NOT a 120Hz TV. The refresh rate is 60Hz. A "clear motion rating" of 120 does not change that fact. It is unfortunate, to say the least, that this is being advertized by Walmart as a 120Hz TV. It is not nearly the bargain that it would be if it really were 120Hz. (FWIW, Samsung contributes to the confusion by listing 120Hz incorrectly on the title tab of this model's web page.)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
TN
Manufacturer's Misleading Marketing
Posted 01/13/2014
Note the online information provided by Samsung. At no point does it state "120 Hz Refresh Rate". INSTEAD it states CMR (Clear Motion Rate) of 120 for smooth motion performance.
Check it yourself at http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/UN40F5000AFXZA
0points
Customer Avatar
Minneapolis, MN
High speed hdmi
Posted 12/17/2013
Additionally, for 120mhz your need to purchase a high speed hdmi. If you have a hdmi cord lying around at home and aren't sure, it for sure isn't the high speed version.
0points
Customer Avatar
Minneapolis, MN
false
Posted 12/17/2013
This is in fact 120hz. Info comes straight from Samsung not Walmart. You have to have a 120hz input device (aka cable box, Blu-ray player) and select the appropriate mode for it to run.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 3 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

NOT 120HZ

01/09/2014
By ,
Conover, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This TV is advertised as a 120 Hz LED - it is not. I have a 7 year 32 inch Samsung with a better picture than this TV. Some pictures - too much color; others washed out - overall the TV picture is not crisp and clear. The speakers send the sound down - so you have to crank up the volume to hear. I'm going to return it and find a real 120Hz TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rohnert Park, CA
I don't know if Samsung is the only Company?
Posted 02/11/2014
Trying to pass off 120 clear motion rate as refresh rate. I wouldn't buy a Samsung TV for this reason.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

Exactly What I Wanted

11/14/2013
By ,
Trenton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Assemble to Stand, Easy to Hookup to Cable HD Box and to DVD player as well, Beautiful Picture Quality, .... No Negatives at All - I already bought a smaller version of the same TV for my bedroom, ...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

Highly recommend this TV set

02/01/2014
By ,
Brookline MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By and large I love my new Samsung 40 inch set; color is crisp and clear; set is very attractive and the price is terrific. BUT consumers should note some deceptive advertising by Samsung. The specs say the resolution is 1080p and something called the Clear Motion Rate[CMR] is 120; in other places it says the HZ is 120. Not so!! The HZ is only 60 which, technically, means the picture is not as crisp as it would be for a TV set with 120Hz.
When I came upon another reader who flagged the discrepancy, I did my own research and found a consumer Web site that said of this particular model: "Video processing: In case you were wondering whether the 120 CMR improves motion resolution to the level of a true 120Hz TV, it doesn't. In our tests the TV could only achieve the 300-odd lines that most 60Hz TVs measure, as opposed to the 600 lines of a typical 120Hz TV like the Panasonic E60."
That's a lot of jargon. But here's the bottom line: I find the crispness on my set just fine; indeed, for those looking to get more value for their Samsung, I absolutely recommend this TV!! I only wish Samsung wouldn't be so "cute" in its marketing.
One last thought. If I had known the HZ was only 60 instead of 120, I probably wouldn't have purchased this set. However, I truly cannot tell the difference. So ironically, I think I made the right choice. Perhaps I should do less research and simply enjoy this great TV, which I'm now doing.
Buffy3
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

Easy to set up.

12/03/2013
By ,
Layton UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was able to lift the box into the trunk of my car, unload it at home, unbox without a care, only need a medium Phillips screwdriver to assemble and had It up an running within 30 minutes. This included setup for my tv provider box and remote control.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

Good TV/Delivery Way Past Stated Date

12/18/2013
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TV seems good but actually delivery was over a WEEK past stated date.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

Very thin and lightweight

01/08/2014
By ,
Portland, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tv but took it back because I thought I was buying a smart tv. I took it back and was much more happy with the smart samsung for the same cost. The difference is that this tv is an ultra thin and the smart tv is 3.7 inches or 2x thicker but you can watch netflix, YouTube and go wireless with apps from your cable company.
You can't do any of that with this tv so I would recommend the smart tv over this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

exactly what I expected. great picture and sound

11/10/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I mounted this on a 360 mount and pic good from any angle
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

So much better than what I had

12/07/2013
By ,
Goleta, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a basic LCD TV, no bells or whistles, but perfect for my needs. The sound quality is much better that what I had been used to with previous flat screens.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV
10/16/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great for my needs. Only problem is it doesnt swivel.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

Nice TV for the price!

12/16/2013
By ,
Battle Creek, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am enjoying this TV very much. Easy set up and they delivered it in two days!! No shipping cost when I ordered so if I had paid for an expedited shipping I would have thought I got my money's worth, but I paid $0 shipping and still got it two days later delivered to my home!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great Value

12/14/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product met my expectations and is a great value. This is my second Samsung TV and I also have a Samsung tablet. Great products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

picture is great

12/09/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
picture is great
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

Excellent TV at a great price

12/10/2013
By ,
Boca Raton, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

Quality Product

01/09/2014
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Samsung lives up to its name and meets the quality instilled in this brands expectations. Short of being a smart TV, I would highly recommend this TV for sport/action film/ and other fast changing frame to anyone. The picture quality is outstanding, even with or without HD programming. Looks great, sounds great, easy to use, highly recommend! Also, unbelievably light weight for moving around/setting up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

love it

02/01/2014
By ,
ill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though our HD isn't functioning yet we love our new TV. Our first flat screen and almost all my friends and family recommended a Samsung..so far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

Entry level HDTV on a budget.

03/12/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Honestly, it was my mistake for not noticing this model listed as not a SmartTV, one I actually wanted. However, this model has certainly met my expectations for a first-time buyer purchasing a HDTV. As per stated in numerous online reviews, this model is an entry-level HDTV which leaves something to be desired in audio quality and standard features that can be found in CRTs (very minute detail but PIP for example). Media Play does the bare minimum for streaming content from an external hard-drive and leaves much to be desired in terms of control and format compatibility. For the size, Samsung quality, and the greatly reduced price, this model should definitely be considered when on a budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

TV is proper size for most apartments. We are very

01/14/2014
By ,
Lancaster, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were fitting into an entertainment unit so size was very important. This set filled the opening. Sound is quite clear,. Overall we are satisfied with the choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung 5000 Series UN40F5000AFXZA 40" 1080p 60Hz LED (1.9" ultra-slim) HDTV

40in tv led samsung

01/14/2014
By ,
dallas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome picture and great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next