Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Virgin Mobile payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

Pay as you go while you stay connected with the payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone. This pay as you go cell phone has a simple, easy-to-use flip phone design and is compatible with select Virgin Mobile plans. The 2.4-inch main and 1.44-inch external color TFT displays give you a bright and colorful screen to look at and use. It has a talk-time of up six-hour and a standby time of up to 700-hours. The 2MP camera allows you to take memorable pictures, too. The payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone is perfect for someone who wants to pay ahead of time for their cell phone connection. Many other prepaid phones are available on Walmart.com, so you can find the phone that fits your lifestyle and phone plan best. Other options are sold separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.41 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation91%96 out of 105reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

Love this phone

01/12/2014
By ,
Northwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My typical usage of a cell phone is less than 100 minutes a month, so I just want an easy to use phone that is durable, has excellent sound quality for my old ears, and is no hassle.
This phone is perfect for me. Phone rings, flip open and answer. Done, flip close. Keeps a charge for a long time, I recharge weekly, and the indicator is always full before charging!
In my house this phone shows very few bars, sometimes a 1/2 bar, but it never affects my ability to phone folks and receive phone calls, so it's a non issue for me.
I would recommend one of these for an emergency phone for anybody because of it's exceptional battery life.
Lastly, having a disposable phone that works and feels great with no contract is like a piece of heaven! And unlike most no contract plans I've seen, nobody is pestering you to buy more minutes!
So to summarize, nice phone, cheap to buy and use, and they don't make you regret doing business with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+74points
Review 2 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice Average payLo cell phone

03/05/2014
By ,
Everett, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was needing a replacement for my previous payLo cell phone. After reading a few reviews, I settled on Kyocera Kona. It's a nice average payLo cell phone: Downloads, web-surfing, ringtones are available, and call history is a nice feature. For those who like Social Networking this feature is also available. The talk volume is actually very good, and the ring volume can be adjusted to be very loud. There is also a handy speakerphone feature. It also has a note pad, stopwatch. The key pad numbers are large, and the letters are easy to read--so those in need of larger key pads will find this cell phone a welcome relief. In addition, the battery holds its charge longer than I thought it would. How long? That depends on how long you talk, text, and how long and frequently you visit the web. This is a nice cell phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Review 3 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

Very nice quality phone at a great price

03/29/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice quality phone at a great price. I paid around $6-$7 for the phone, then signed up for the $20 a month plan that gives me 400 minutes of talking time per month and any text messages I send or probably get as well will be 14 cents each. I rarely ever send any text messages, so this is a great deal for me and I don't do too much talking on the phone either. This was the lowest priced deal and it's perfect for me. The sound quality is amazing on this phone, I can actually hear on it and so clearly too, this is no comparison to the last phone I had from tracfone. But I did think that this phone would be a prepay for minutes type like tracfone and net10 but I didn't see that I only saw the pay low plans. It's still a great deal. I'm very pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 4 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

Works for now but regretting I got it

02/01/2014
By ,
nh
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Got this phone because it's affordable, reviews are good, but wanted a pay as you go phone, now no longer available for new customers, so in order to use you have to keep reloading it monthly. I'm use to $20 every 90 with another carrier. This is expensive. I would suggest you get a tracfone or net10 phone if you're looking for affordability. My sister recommends net10 because you get more per minutes. I activated another monthly net10 phone recently for $25 you get 1000 minutes, not $20 for 400 minutes like this one. Only certain stores sell pay as you go phone card where you are not required to add minutes monthly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nixa
do your homework next time
Posted 04/08/2014
You should have done your homework before purchasing this Virgin mobile phone, I can only agree with you with the other phone company's in regards to the "Carry-Over" plans but only on certain limited plans for example Net-10 you have to sign up for a monthly revolving plan where they charge your credit card and any existing minutes you have left over if applicable are rolled over, if you don't choose that option your minutes are not rolled over. as for the pricing I totally disagree with your statement you made, Tracfone is too expensive you need to compare dollar for dollar, with Tracfone they have certain plans that will extend your minutes for over 60 days +. before I purchased this same phone I went to www.virginmobile.com and made comparisons with price, minutes, I even called customer service and by far they exceeded my expectations and the call I made asking questions helped me make my decision even on a prepaid phone. sounds like you need AT&T because they are overly priced, this just may change your perception.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

PayLo Kyocera Kona - Great Phone

01/13/2014
By ,
Scottsdale Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a Kyocera Kona online, expecting very limited features for the price. What I found out is that this phone performs very well, and has many different features that I didn't expect. Facebook, Twitter, and Internet are among a few of the options available and all function very well. The phone also holds a charge well when in use, and has never dropped a call. I liked the phone so much, that I bought a second one a few weeks later! I would highly recommend this phone for the price, which is far cheaper on if purchased on walmart.com for $5.99 as opposed to $19.99 elsewhere. Excellent value for the cost!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 6 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent phone for the Money!

09/01/2013
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Don't be fooled since it is a flip phone. This phone is just as good as the Samsung Montage except for lacking an SD card lot and full keyboard. The screen and camera are the same quality. This phone is actually alot better then flip phones from 10 years ago.. and the texting and input is pretty easy.. i had no problem texting, going on the web or anything, and it comes with alot of standard ring tones and stuff for such a cheap phone... I have to say so far it has surpassed my expectations. i have not used for facebook or email yet... waiting till I upgrade to the unlimited plan.. but for basic stuff really cool phone. Better then my Razr that I paid 120$ for back in the day or most of my nextels back then too.. best flip phone I have seen probably.. amazing value at current 10$ price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+58points
Review 7 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

It Rocks!!!!!

01/11/2014
By ,
Jackson, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone was exactly what I was looking for and the price, fantastic. I was with another carrier for 13 years and honestly tired of being locked into a higher price. I love the flip phones, they can't turn themselves on like some others. This one even has a "speaker" key, also a great feature. A camera is a must and has come in handy so very often, and I just wanted a phone to "TALK" on. I'm not a texter. The tiny keys or the simple fact I find it boring and more time consuming, and dangerous for those who do it and drive. I want to talk to someone on a phone I leave the house with. Don't need the web on the phone as well...So, This is PERFECT!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Review 8 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

My Mothers phone

11/22/2013
By ,
Springfield MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother refuses any of that new-fangled stuff. At 78 we ,her children, decided that if she was going to be driving then she needed a cell phone. She wanted a phone that only made calls, she didn't want any camera or games or anything else.I wasn't able to find any phone that basic but I did find a phone that was as basic as I could find. I have never ordered anythingfrom Wal-mart.com before but I ordered and paid and 4 days later the phone was at my local store. Real inexpensive quick sevice. Now she'll need to remember to take the phone with her, and later we will try to get her to remember the number.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+58points
Review 9 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

PayLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone .

01/14/2014
By ,
greenwood lake ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap way of keeping in contact , and is $20 per month .
Good phone for older people who just want to talk , without all the hoop la of smart phones .
Best part is NO Contract !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 10 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

Large phone with large screen

02/18/2014
By ,
Smyrna, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone for my husband who is due to be 68 next month. He is not a texter or big talker on the phone, but he does need a cell phone for when he goes out to shop or take care of his business. This allows him to call home if he needs me for something, so I didn't get all the bells and whistles. However, the screen is a large enough and bright enough screen that people of elderly age wouldn't have any trouble seeing the items on it. The phone itself is also nice and large and easy to hold. I thought that for ony $5.99 it would be a really tiny phone, but it is quite large and the screen in nice and large. The ringtones that come with it are very loud and easy to hear. Someone who is hearing impaired would have no trouble hearing this phone ring. One drawback is that you cannot set the amount of rings before answering. At least a person has plenty of time to answer their phone. By this phone being a flip top phone, an elderly person would not have to slide anything across a screen to answer; just flip open the phone and the call is automatically answered and when you are done, just close it to end the call. The numbers on the dial are quite large and easy to see. The sound quality and call quality is great and so far we have not had any problems with this phone. I am thinking of buying another one. This phone does have internet capabilities if you so desire them. Virgin Mobile offers the monthly plans that start at $20 for 400 minutes. I love this phone and my husband does too.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 11 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

The phone is easy to use

09/19/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hated the phone Assurance gave me. It was so hard to see the keys or to hear over. So I asked them if I could get a phone that takes pictures and had bigger keys and they told me about this.
I checked around and they were all 20 dollars or more so when I checked on line and got it from WalMart on line for 7.88 I got it and had it delivered. all for under what the stores wanted for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
st louis
BASIC FLIP PHONE
Posted 01/17/2014
I had this phone with another carrier. its a great phone. going back to Virgin Mobile. great phone great price great company. cant go wrong.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

can't beat the price on this phone

11/25/2013
By ,
isabel, la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use...great price on minutes, works great out here in the country, where other phones did not work well...don't have to go outside to talk on the phone...$31.50 per month for 1500 minutes including tax...so far, i am very happy with this phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Review 13 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

Very good quality phone

02/19/2014
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We did not expect the phone for paylo to be such a good quality. Definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

This is a really good BASIC phone.

02/21/2014
By ,
Austin,Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While the phone has no Bluetooth, external memory, or an MP3/Video player. It is a great basic phone. With a large enough screen for an elderly person to see without glasses, it is a breeze to see what is on the screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

Can't get better than this

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good deal. Great phone for 6 dollars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone for the price

02/18/2014
By ,
Phila,Pa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phone so far meets expectations.Texting easy,but following continuous messaging with same person not so good. Camera not very good, other than that decent phone for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 17 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone!

01/08/2014
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the phone. I bought it for my mother, who is a senior citizen. She works it just fine and has no problem. It has a large number pad and has great visuals that helps people with poor eyesight. It is also good for people not interested in a lot of frills with their phones and use cell phones for basic reasons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 18 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

Emergency companion

01/10/2014
By ,
Gulf Breeze Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXACTLY WHAT WAS EXPECTED ! A PHONE TO CARRY FOR THE FUNDAMENTALIST ,ONE THAT HAS ENOUGH ,IS EASY TO READ AND OPERATE AND HAS COVERAGE IN MAJOR AREAS. IF YOU WANT
EMERGENCY (a break down on highway etc) CONTACT OR AN INEXPENSIVE WAY TO TALK THEN YOU HAVE TO CONSIDER THIS ONE OF THE BEST. GO FOR IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Review 19 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for basic use

03/06/2014
By ,
brooklyn , n.y
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you just want to make calls or use for an emergency it's great.It also has a camera which takes pictures of fair quality.The keys are big enough for older users to see easily and it has a loud ring tone.The battery life is really long also and besides what else can you get for 5.99 (clearance price) with free shipping to a fed ex location or walmart store for pick up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 20 for payLo Kyocera Kona Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone for use as asurrance paylo

12/31/2013
By ,
North Versailles, Pa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my asurrance phone got stolen an I had to buy a new one this one is actually nicer and has a bigger screen!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
1-20 of 105 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next