Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

Average Customer Rating:
2.625 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation44%7 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

Bonus Material Missing

11/18/2013
By ,
Mesa, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Walmart version of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Extended Edition is missing two of the three special featurettes listed on the box. It's missing The Company of Thorin from disc 1 and Durin's Folk: Creating the Dwarves from disc 2. The only featurette that is actually included is New Zealand: Home of Middle-earth on disc 1. I returned and exchanged the first copy I purchased, thinking I had just picked up a glitchy copy. The second copy I picked up was also missing some of the bonus features so I returned and exchanged it at a different Walmart thinking that maybe the first two were defective because they were from the same box/lot and shared the same problem. After learning that my third copy had the same problem I did some online research and found that other people are having the same problem with the Walmart edition of the DVD.
I will return my third copy and try and get a refund/gift card.
The film itself works find and includes the new and extended scenes, but the bonus material is not there. I'm not sure if Walmart is aware of the problem or if all the Walmart versions are defective so buyer beware.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

NOT ITEM IN PICTURE

11/06/2013
By ,
san diego
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the picture next to the item shows a 5 dics set when i went to pic it up i was given the 2 disc if i wanted the 2 disc i could of just went in to the store and bought it there was a ton on the shelf so i drove all the way over there for nothing....never ordering agian on wallmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

The Hobbit: an unexpected Surprise!

11/07/2013
By ,
Orlando,FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I preorder this as sooner i saw it here online; and thinking that i was gonna get the extended editon five disc exclusive to walmart. I just got a two disc extened edition only; no the one picture it here. The price was great but not the version advertised.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

Not the 5 disc Edition

11/07/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The item picture is wrong. This is a two disc edition, not the extended 5 disc version.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

Not the 5-Disc.

11/08/2013
By ,
lufkin, texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please change the picture and the description, Wal-Mart. I see this is happening to other people who've ordered it online. I ordered it and now have to return it. Please get your details straight.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

not as pictured!

11/08/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I also ordered this DVD believing (thanks to the product image) that it was the five disc extended edition. Unfortunately when I went to pick it up--I used Site to Store--the DVD clearly said "Two Disc" on the cover. It appears to be just the extended version of the film, and two of the supplementary features. I returned it, and am still looking for the five disc version elsewhere.
I would suggest that Walmart update the product image to reflect the actual product, so that more people aren't deceived.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

Special Features listed on box missing

12/18/2013
By ,
Jacksboro, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A big reason I purchased this version was for the special features listed on the box, however, they are not on either DVD. There are 2 features listed that are missing-The Company of Thorin and one about the dwarves. The only features my set included were the audio commentary and the New Zealand feature. The movie itself is wonderful-great to see the extended and deleted scenes, but was very disappointed about special features. After searching online, I see that I am not the only disappointed Walmart customer. I will be returning my copy to the store tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

Not the 5-disc Special Edition Pictured

11/22/2013
By ,
Downeast Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I bought this the picture showed a 5 disc box set (this may have been fixed since I called). This is only a 2 disc movie only version. If that works for you, buy it. If you want the 5 disc box set like the LOTR versions, don't buy this. I returned mine and bought the correct one from Amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

Not 5-Disk DVD as Was Originally Shown

11/22/2013
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Finally got my order picked up today and was not happy to see it was only the 2-disk DVD Extended Edition. Came on here to check out my original order and it seems they've now updated the description. Not cool Walmart.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

Excellent movie, bad packaging

01/10/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The extended edition of the film is indeed in but the special features that are "included" in the two-disc DVD set are missing only one is there. When I got my copy I wanted to get it to watch the "in depth behind the scenes features" and also to watch the extended version but unfortunately it didn't go as well. The Walmart version of this is bad, the set is supposed to come with a digital copy with UltraViolet and i didn't receive that either in this. I plan to return my copy and look for another store to buy this same product due to reading other reviews that this is only an issue with Walmart copies.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

thanks

11/13/2013
By ,
alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love Lord of the Rings and watched part one like 20 times or maybe even 100 times and i plan to see the Hobbit soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

This movie is a heck of an adventure.

11/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie may be different from the book but it is amazing nonetheless. Ignore the naysayers, some movies need to be seen a second time. I know that was the case with myself, being such a fan of the book and bothered by certain changes the first time I saw it. This movie is a heck of an adventure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

Best Movie Ever A Long With The Lord Of The Rings

11/05/2013
By ,
Eustis, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Would Like This New Verison of The Hobbit : An Unexpected Journey
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

great

12/14/2013
By ,
Kansas city, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

The Hobbit DVD

11/21/2013
By ,
Buffalo,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The movie arrived in perfect condition. We watched it as soon as we got it and there were no problems with the viewing or packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (Extended Edition) (DVD + Digital HD) (Widescreen)

Excellent movie!!!

11/27/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great family movie. Wal-mart online delivered quickly and in perfect condition!
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.