Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HoMedics HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

HoMedics HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

The HoMedics SS-2000 SoundSpa creates a peaceful sleep environment and helps you fall asleep faster and wake completely rested. With six soothing, natural sounds, our SoundSpa is also the perfect addition to a nursery. The rhythmic sounds create a feeling of comfort and help calm your baby to sleep.
Average Customer Rating:
4.509 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(792 Reviews) 631
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
563
4 stars
149
3 stars
32
2 stars
16
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation93%733 out of 791reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 298 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
563
4 stars
149
3 stars
32
2 stars
16
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Great for a sleep aid for infants and kids!

03/26/2014
By ,
Oak Ridge, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We started using this white noise machine when are son was 5 months old and now that he is almost 2 we still turn it on every night for him :) It is a great tool to help little ones sleep! Check out the video review that I've uploaded here to listen to the different options on this sound machine!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Good for the price!

04/16/2014
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I have had a digital alarm clock that includes several different nature sounds. We listen to the babbling brook on it for years about every night. However, it only stayed on for an hour and then automatically turns itself off. So we wanted to find a sound machine that would play continuously throughout the night, and I found this portable HoMedics Soundspa Machine at Walmart.com. It's reasonable price and stays on for as long as desired. It has a timer option if you prefer but I'll probably never use that part of it. It makes different sounds, rain, thunder, ocean waves, a brook, and summer night. The summer night is the one I normally keep it on since it sounds similar to our old alarm clock with the babbling brook. The sound quality on this new portable sound machine doesn't seem to have as clear a sound as compared to my old one, but at least it plays continuously through the night as wanted. It's also nice that it's portable and I can take it with me on trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scent
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Awesome!

04/14/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My other white noise machine broke and I found that I was unable to sleep without some sort of sound in the room. I downloaded a few free apps on my phone, but they had a very electronic sound that did not help me sleep; and it obviously ran the battery down quickly. I bought two of these, one for myself and the other for a friend. We both love it!
There's 6 different sounds to choose from, though I just keep mine on white noise. They all sound realistic too, not electronic like the phone apps. You are able to adjust the volume and it can get pretty loud, if that's something you'd need. There are also timers, but I haven't used those; I leave mine on the entire night. There's a nice feature in that it can be plugged in or run on batteries, so it's easy to take with you wherever you need it. Very light and small, so it doesn't take up much room and isn't an eyesore.
Overall, great product and I would definitely buy again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Not Good!

04/05/2010
By ,
St. Louis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this yesterday and was really excited about using it. I usually have a really loud fan that blocks out other noise in my apartment complex and puts me to sleep. I am going out of the country for 2 weeks and since I can't take my fan I liked the fact that this product was portable and battery operated. I thought I would test it out and used it while I was studying last night. First off the sound quality is not the best--I need my white noise to be loud, but the higher you turn the volume up the more the speakers crackle, so I had to keep the volume at a medium level. Then about an hour or so of use it made this god awful high pitched screaming noise--like electronic interference. It did this twice in a span of 5 minutes when on the ocean sound. I switched it to the rain sound and had no more issues until I went to bed--I was jarred awake at midnight from high pitched interference. Wow, so much for a good nights sleep!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Wayne, IN
Same experience as above
Posted 01/05/2014
I got this product for Christmas because I always sleep with fans and this would be easier and portable, but I kept being awaken by the high pitch noise periodically through the night. I am going to exchange it at BB&Beyond, but wonder if they just have a "glitch" in them. My daughter uses it for her 9 month old to sleep. Wow, poor baby if hers does it too. Will re-post to tell you how the replacement does.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

sleeping like a baby:)

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sound machine is wonderful. I purchased two (one for our son and one for us) and we couldn't be happier. I was concerned about the quality of the machine because the price was so reasonable, but it truly a great find.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

HoMedics Sound Machine

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd sound machine and I will continue buying them until they stop making them!!!!! I actually purchased it for my dog (but in turn it helps me) to block out sounds during the night that would cause her to bark. I know an intruder wouldn't get by her, but the annoying sounds that would make her nervous are not heard with this machine. There are several different sounds, as well as the ability to set it for different times OR you can leave it on all night/day. I love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Love this Machine

02/24/2011
By ,
Port St. Lucie, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I developed Tinnitus recently and have not been able to sleep. I was told that sound machines could work. I shopped around and found this products. I like the Homedics line of products.
I ordered it and it came to my house within a few days so I could not wait to try it out that night. AHHHHH - is all I could say. The Waterfall (actually it sounds like 'white noise' and Rain are the best for me. It drowns out the loud whooshing sound in my right ear and allows me to sleep.
I also love that you can adjust the volume - so it would work wonders for a baby to go to sleep. The quality of the sounds are excellent. I also love the fact that I can set it for 15, 30 or 60 minutes and then it shuts off.
I love the fact that it is low and compact and fits nicely on my nightstand. Easy to reach - should I get up in the middle of the night and have to use it to get back to sleep again.
As for the price - you can not beat it - was well worth it - and .97 to ship to my house - unbelieveable.
If anyone suffers from Tinnitus - this really helps to drown out that annoying sound in your ear.
Thanks Walmart and thanks to HoMedics for making a great product and keeping it at an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Helps me fall asleep faster.

10/21/2013
By ,
Cottonwood, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has the six "relaxing" sounds, depending on the type of person you are. The only sound that helps me fall asleep is the "Brook" noise.
*The thunder and rain is rather annoying when you can tell when the audio loops repeats with the droning thunder/water drops coming and going.
*The ocean isn't bad, but sounds a bit like static with the air blowing.
*White noise is another variant form of a static and is not easy to ignore or fall asleep with.
*Summer night is for those who like screeching crickets.
*Brook is a nice and smooth water noise repelling though rocks that seems calm like a water fountain.
I do use this product since I work overnights, and getting quality sleep without being woken up is hard during the day with the noisy neighbor dogs, truck engines, or flying airplanes. It does help reduce the amount of times I am woken up by these noises, but I still can't get a straight 6-9 hours without waking up.
I like how you can adjust the noise volume and the timer is great for those who just want to fall asleep and not keep the product running. The craftsmanship is decent hard plastic, but nothing that you would want to drop several times. For the value, it's worth it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

What a great nights sleep!

11/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already have this sound machine in my bedroom at home and I have found when I stay at a hotel or in a friend's guest room, I have a harder time falling asleep. I miss my sound machine! So I bought this one to leave in my suitcase for traveling.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

I Love It!

10/02/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My other Ho-Medics sound chine finally gave up the ghost after 5 years of nightly work...all night! It developed some type of short in the circuitry and would emit high-pitch sounds from time to time as well as volume problems. I think it just wore out! LOVE the new one...recommend it highly!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Nice!

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this sound machine and it works perfect. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a noise machine to help them sleep.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

SECRET SANTA

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WELL - they haven't been used as yet as they're christmas gifts for children to help them sleep. I raised my son with a "sound machine" and he rested really well. I'm sure these are GREAT.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Great for the small price

03/24/2014
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For $20.00 this is a great product. I work overnights and sleep during the day. I have inlaws that live in a basement apartment that are not the quietest people. I do not have the machine turned up to drown out the other noises. The white noise just grabs my attention so that the other noises aren't noticed. I use the waves setting. I tried the rainfall, bu there is a certain drip in the loop that drives me nuts. I also like just the whitenoise. So for so cheap a price I think this is a pretty good product. I have been using this product for 2 weeks. Also if you turn it up all the way it does not sound very good, but I would find that to be too loud to sleep anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Nice sounds

01/25/2010
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this about 2 weeks ago to help me relax my mind so i could fall asleep. We found that the rain was a nice soothing sound to fall asleep too. I love that this product has a timer so it will turn off after the 15, 30, or 60 Minutes you want it running, or it can also run all night. So far, very pleased with this product. You can hear a demo of all the sounds on HoMedics website.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+221points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Good Value & Great Product

12/11/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a decent quality machine at a fair price. I researched many different recommended machines prior to purchasing this one and I'm glad I did. Even the more expensive machines ($50-$100 or more) had quirks; the worst being the sound was too soft or annoying. This machine is very easy to use, has 5 different sounds (rainfall is closest to white noise, like a fan) and the volume has a great range from very soft to very loud.
We use this machine in our 2 1/2 yr. old twin boys' room. We used a couple of different fans until they died (the fans, not the boys!), but wanted something safer for the room now that they are in toddler beds. The unit is small (much easier to travel with than a fan) and not very imposing (visually) in the room. The boys adjusted to it without any problem at all, even though the sound was slightly different than their fan.
I would definitely recommend this product for its quality, ease of use, features and great price!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

WOW!!!!

11/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE this little machine! I cannot believe the sound it puts out! All of the sounds are TRUE to what they are emulating, the volume button is excellent and may I add that I have been sleeping so peacefully since purchasing it! I like the fact that you can use batteries or electricity. I cannot get over how reasonably priced it is because you get what you are looking for, PLUS some! I am THRILLED with this purchase and wish I had had gotten it sooner! I am going to recommend it to EVERYONE I know that has difficulties falling asleep, be it menopause, restlessness, too quiet, or any other issue. This machine will help.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Great item!

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a replacement for one my husband had for years! It was a HoMedics as well and saw no reason to buy anything else! I would recommend this to anyone who has trouble falling asleep!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Great product

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this noise machine. I put it on when my baby goes to sleep and it drowns out the noise from the house.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Love this sound machine

02/26/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our 1 year old to replace our old sound machine. The reason we chose this over others is because it has an on option. Most other sound machines I looked at just had a timer. Since we use this in our son's room at night while he's sleeping, we needed to be able to leave it on all night, and not just on a timer. The volume control is great, we usually keep it at half, and it's plenty loud enough. We plan on going on vacation this summer, and love the fact that it's small enough to pack in the bag to take with us. This is such a great machine we ended up buying a second one for our daughter's room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Put's me to sleep

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied with the sound machine. I have trouble falling to sleep and the repetiveness of the rain helps me. Very affordable
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 632 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  32 Next