Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HoMedics HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

HoMedics HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

The HoMedics SS-2000 SoundSpa creates a peaceful sleep environment and helps you fall asleep faster and wake completely rested. With six soothing, natural sounds, our SoundSpa is also the perfect addition to a nursery. The rhythmic sounds create a feeling of comfort and help calm your baby to sleep.
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(775 Reviews) 614
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
552
4 stars
146
3 stars
30
2 stars
16
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation93%717 out of 774reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 292 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
552
4 stars
146
3 stars
30
2 stars
16
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Great for a sleep aid for infants and kids!

03/26/2014
By ,
Oak Ridge, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We started using this white noise machine when are son was 5 months old and now that he is almost 2 we still turn it on every night for him :) It is a great tool to help little ones sleep! Check out the video review that I've uploaded here to listen to the different options on this sound machine!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Good for the price!

04/16/2014
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I have had a digital alarm clock that includes several different nature sounds. We listen to the babbling brook on it for years about every night. However, it only stayed on for an hour and then automatically turns itself off. So we wanted to find a sound machine that would play continuously throughout the night, and I found this portable HoMedics Soundspa Machine at Walmart.com. It's reasonable price and stays on for as long as desired. It has a timer option if you prefer but I'll probably never use that part of it. It makes different sounds, rain, thunder, ocean waves, a brook, and summer night. The summer night is the one I normally keep it on since it sounds similar to our old alarm clock with the babbling brook. The sound quality on this new portable sound machine doesn't seem to have as clear a sound as compared to my old one, but at least it plays continuously through the night as wanted. It's also nice that it's portable and I can take it with me on trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scent
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Awesome!

04/14/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My other white noise machine broke and I found that I was unable to sleep without some sort of sound in the room. I downloaded a few free apps on my phone, but they had a very electronic sound that did not help me sleep; and it obviously ran the battery down quickly. I bought two of these, one for myself and the other for a friend. We both love it!
There's 6 different sounds to choose from, though I just keep mine on white noise. They all sound realistic too, not electronic like the phone apps. You are able to adjust the volume and it can get pretty loud, if that's something you'd need. There are also timers, but I haven't used those; I leave mine on the entire night. There's a nice feature in that it can be plugged in or run on batteries, so it's easy to take with you wherever you need it. Very light and small, so it doesn't take up much room and isn't an eyesore.
Overall, great product and I would definitely buy again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Not Good!

04/05/2010
By ,
St. Louis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this yesterday and was really excited about using it. I usually have a really loud fan that blocks out other noise in my apartment complex and puts me to sleep. I am going out of the country for 2 weeks and since I can't take my fan I liked the fact that this product was portable and battery operated. I thought I would test it out and used it while I was studying last night. First off the sound quality is not the best--I need my white noise to be loud, but the higher you turn the volume up the more the speakers crackle, so I had to keep the volume at a medium level. Then about an hour or so of use it made this god awful high pitched screaming noise--like electronic interference. It did this twice in a span of 5 minutes when on the ocean sound. I switched it to the rain sound and had no more issues until I went to bed--I was jarred awake at midnight from high pitched interference. Wow, so much for a good nights sleep!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Wayne, IN
Same experience as above
Posted 01/05/2014
I got this product for Christmas because I always sleep with fans and this would be easier and portable, but I kept being awaken by the high pitch noise periodically through the night. I am going to exchange it at BB&Beyond, but wonder if they just have a "glitch" in them. My daughter uses it for her 9 month old to sleep. Wow, poor baby if hers does it too. Will re-post to tell you how the replacement does.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

I Love It!

10/02/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My other Ho-Medics sound chine finally gave up the ghost after 5 years of nightly work...all night! It developed some type of short in the circuitry and would emit high-pitch sounds from time to time as well as volume problems. I think it just wore out! LOVE the new one...recommend it highly!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Love this Machine

02/24/2011
By ,
Port St. Lucie, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I developed Tinnitus recently and have not been able to sleep. I was told that sound machines could work. I shopped around and found this products. I like the Homedics line of products.
I ordered it and it came to my house within a few days so I could not wait to try it out that night. AHHHHH - is all I could say. The Waterfall (actually it sounds like 'white noise' and Rain are the best for me. It drowns out the loud whooshing sound in my right ear and allows me to sleep.
I also love that you can adjust the volume - so it would work wonders for a baby to go to sleep. The quality of the sounds are excellent. I also love the fact that I can set it for 15, 30 or 60 minutes and then it shuts off.
I love the fact that it is low and compact and fits nicely on my nightstand. Easy to reach - should I get up in the middle of the night and have to use it to get back to sleep again.
As for the price - you can not beat it - was well worth it - and .97 to ship to my house - unbelieveable.
If anyone suffers from Tinnitus - this really helps to drown out that annoying sound in your ear.
Thanks Walmart and thanks to HoMedics for making a great product and keeping it at an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Helps me fall asleep faster.

10/21/2013
By ,
Cottonwood, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has the six "relaxing" sounds, depending on the type of person you are. The only sound that helps me fall asleep is the "Brook" noise.
*The thunder and rain is rather annoying when you can tell when the audio loops repeats with the droning thunder/water drops coming and going.
*The ocean isn't bad, but sounds a bit like static with the air blowing.
*White noise is another variant form of a static and is not easy to ignore or fall asleep with.
*Summer night is for those who like screeching crickets.
*Brook is a nice and smooth water noise repelling though rocks that seems calm like a water fountain.
I do use this product since I work overnights, and getting quality sleep without being woken up is hard during the day with the noisy neighbor dogs, truck engines, or flying airplanes. It does help reduce the amount of times I am woken up by these noises, but I still can't get a straight 6-9 hours without waking up.
I like how you can adjust the noise volume and the timer is great for those who just want to fall asleep and not keep the product running. The craftsmanship is decent hard plastic, but nothing that you would want to drop several times. For the value, it's worth it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Great for the small price

03/24/2014
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For $20.00 this is a great product. I work overnights and sleep during the day. I have inlaws that live in a basement apartment that are not the quietest people. I do not have the machine turned up to drown out the other noises. The white noise just grabs my attention so that the other noises aren't noticed. I use the waves setting. I tried the rainfall, bu there is a certain drip in the loop that drives me nuts. I also like just the whitenoise. So for so cheap a price I think this is a pretty good product. I have been using this product for 2 weeks. Also if you turn it up all the way it does not sound very good, but I would find that to be too loud to sleep anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Nice sounds

01/25/2010
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this about 2 weeks ago to help me relax my mind so i could fall asleep. We found that the rain was a nice soothing sound to fall asleep too. I love that this product has a timer so it will turn off after the 15, 30, or 60 Minutes you want it running, or it can also run all night. So far, very pleased with this product. You can hear a demo of all the sounds on HoMedics website.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+216points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Good Value & Great Product

12/11/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a decent quality machine at a fair price. I researched many different recommended machines prior to purchasing this one and I'm glad I did. Even the more expensive machines ($50-$100 or more) had quirks; the worst being the sound was too soft or annoying. This machine is very easy to use, has 5 different sounds (rainfall is closest to white noise, like a fan) and the volume has a great range from very soft to very loud.
We use this machine in our 2 1/2 yr. old twin boys' room. We used a couple of different fans until they died (the fans, not the boys!), but wanted something safer for the room now that they are in toddler beds. The unit is small (much easier to travel with than a fan) and not very imposing (visually) in the room. The boys adjusted to it without any problem at all, even though the sound was slightly different than their fan.
I would definitely recommend this product for its quality, ease of use, features and great price!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Fills The Need

10/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fills the need at a fair price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Love this sound machine

02/26/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our 1 year old to replace our old sound machine. The reason we chose this over others is because it has an on option. Most other sound machines I looked at just had a timer. Since we use this in our son's room at night while he's sleeping, we needed to be able to leave it on all night, and not just on a timer. The volume control is great, we usually keep it at half, and it's plenty loud enough. We plan on going on vacation this summer, and love the fact that it's small enough to pack in the bag to take with us. This is such a great machine we ended up buying a second one for our daughter's room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Good product for the price.

10/14/2014
By ,
Corona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is more than I expected. It doesn't take up much space and I like all the different sounds. I showed it to my friend and he loves it and he wants me to order him one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

GREAT SOUND MACHINE FOR THE PRICE

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WE USE THIS FOR OUR GRANDCHILD AND IT WORKS VERY WELL. IT EVEN HAS A TIMER SO IT CAN BE USED ANY TIME. WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Sleek, light and good for travel

10/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great portable sound machine. Easy to pack and transport, and the sound options are very adequate. Buying was made easy by Walmart. Now wherever I travel my SoundSpa will come with me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Everything you need

09/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking at noise machines forever and ran across this one. It does everything I wanted and was SO Much less expensive. Great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

AWESOME

06/28/2012
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had issues with sleeping most of my adult life. I am awakened by noisy neighbors & loud vehicles outside (trash truck, stereos in cars) I must have the fan running to help me sleep.
So a few weeks ago I bought this sound machine. At first I was skeptical, but I figured $20 couldn't hurt. It is awesome!!
My husband prefers the "rain" sound on it. I prefer the "waterfall" because it closely resembles the "white noise" of my fan. You can choose to leave it on all night (which I need) or you can set it to automatically shut off at set times. (10/30/60min)
It is small enough to travel with & you can use batteries or plug. It's low-profile & plainly colored, so it isn't ugly sitting on your nightstand.
I love it so much that I have ordered a 2nd one to send to my daughter, who moves & travels a lot & needs something that she can keep handy!!
As per another consumers tip, I have tried to leave on the "rainforest" for the cats while I'm out....not sure what they think of it, though it does get their attention.
This has greatly improved my sleep.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Wonderful!

09/10/2007
By ,
Auburn, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is what makes our baby sleep through the night! My husband and I are happy, well rested parents thanks to this noise maker! The great thing about it is that it can play for as long as you want it to so that it doesn't go off just as soon as our baby falls asleep : )
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Love it~

11/17/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these for our 2 sons when it got too cold out for the white noise of the fan. We love them, and the boys do too. Picking their 'noise' makes bedtime more fun (sometimes!), or at least gives them some say in the routine. Would recommend to anyone looking for a sound machine.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HoMedics SoundSpa Portable Sound Machine

Great Sound Machine

11/04/2013
By ,
Ida Grove, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a more expensive sound machine, but I can't turn down the volume and it's just too loud. Our son-in-law has this one and said it was the best investment that he'd ever made. Since it's inexpensive, I ordered one and used it last night for the first time. So nice to have the sound but at the volume I want. It's a quality product without a big cost.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 615 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  31 Next