Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ruger Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ruger Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

Ordering in three simple steps: Print this page (please be sure to print the Wal-Mart Item #, which is found at the bottom of the Web page) Go to the Sporting Goods Department at your local Wal-Mart store Show the printout to a Sporting Goods associate to have them special order your selected item Important Notice: Firearms and ammunition are only available at Wal-Mart stores licensed to sell firearms. Please call your local store first to make sure they are licensed to sell firearms. You will be able to find your store phone number by clicking the link below and entering your ZIP code. Prices may vary in Alaska and Hawaii. Click here to find your local Wal-Mart
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%14 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

Super little rifle

07/09/2008
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had this for about 2 months now and I really love it. At first, the gun seemed to jam A LOT (like every few rounds), but that seems to be improving as I shoot more rounds through it. I added a basic scope to this (also from Wal-Mart) and the package is very sharp looking and fun to shoot. I am not sure that the design is quite as great as everyone says; disassembly for cleaning is harder with the Ruger than other similar guns, but overall this is a fine rifle for a great price. Also -- try to get the longer barrell if you can; it looks much better than the carbine (unless you are buying this for a child).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 2 for Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

not what I'd expect from ruger

11/14/2008
By ,
Griffin,GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this rifle 4-5 years ago. My first .22 boy was I excited.....went to shoot it and every other shot would jam...took it apart and noticed tons of metal burs in the reciever, restricting smooth bolt movement. It was like they skipped a whole machining step, so i sent it back...Couple of weeks later got it back only to still have the same problem took it apart still all those metal burs...So i went into my shop and did my on grinding and polishing....It works fine now but only with CCI mini mags the whole reason for a .22 is to have something fun and cheap too shoot.
Out of all the bulk ammo I have found only the Remington "gold" will work right, it will still jamb sometimes but not near as much as the other brands....(ie federal, winchester,etc)
OH i saw a lot of "reviews" wear people said their lower receiver(ie trigger assembly) was black... Mine was just as pictured all silver.
Still great gun, and would recommend it, although our local walmart replaced it with a bead blast finished one now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 3 for Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

AWESOME RIFLE!! BEST PURCHASE SO FAR AT WALMART!!!

09/06/2008
By ,
Norfolk, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this rifle a week ago, well I'm a gun crazy type of guy and was looking for a inexpensive and something fun to shoot and give a rest to both my shoulders and my wallet from violent recoils from my other guns AND their expensive ammo. So... looking between a .17 and .22 i found two options the Ruger 10/22 carbine and the Savage .17 bolt. so i found the fun, but the wallet still questioning. The .22 is so far THE most popular caliber existent without a question and probably the most affordable one. Well when I saw this gun i feel in love. The finishing, the stainless steel barrel, the wood stock and of course, it's a Ruger in my opinion translation for .22, they know how to do it... There is a catch, you can look around as much as you want but I think this is a Wal-mart exclusive product because i searched everywhere and i couldn't find!! Nowhere, so, act quick before they realize they're underselling and awesome product or just sell out, because I know it will...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

A Bargain

06/14/2008
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rifle is a Walmart Exclusive. The standard SS (stainless steel) produced by Sturm, Ruger, & Co has an 18.5" barrel, (carbine.) This one has a 22" barrel (rifle.) The wood (stock) is upgraded from the standard wood that Ruger uses for their 10/22 carbines. However, although the upper aluminum parts are painted to look like they are also made of stainless steel, the trigger group has a gunmetal blue finish, (unlike the photo.) I think it still looks great, and am happy with it.
Some ammo has worked better than others for me, (this is likely gun-spoecific. My brother's standard 10/22 carbine hasn't been as troubled as mine with jams.) I've had a lot of trouble with Federal casings getting jammed on exit (about 1 in 20 will jam,) from both the bulk pack and the 50 round "Champion" boxes. Winchester bulk pack "Xpert 22 Hollow Point" rounds had some chambering jams and exit jams, (also about 1 in 20.) Remington bulk pack "Golden Bullet", 22 Target, and Thunderbolts have all worked well. Keep a screwdriver handy to clear stubborn jams.
The chamber lock that comes with it, (to disable the rifle like a trigger lock,) tries to mar the wood in the area. I would recommend buying a trigger lock instead, (less than $10.) Also consider purchasing another (or a larger) magazine if you plan to shoot with other people--this gun is a pleasure to empty quickly, and you may find yourselves spending more time filling the magazine than shooting. (Butler Creek makes a great 25-round banana clip that has less troubles (none) than those made by other manufacturers. And steel lips are better than plastic for longgevity.)
Standard accessories to consider: a cheap scope, a hard case, trigger lock, extra magazines, earplugs (if you will be around other shooters--this rifle is not very loud,) safety glasses, targets, a boresnake or cleaning kit (you won't need to oil the barrel since it is SS, but it does get dirty.) From there it is up to you; there are a large number of after-market items available to customize the 10/22; that is one of the beauties of this rifle.
If I had it to do again, I would still spend the extra $50 or so to buy this rifle instead of the standard carbine, or the SS carbine (which costs about the same as this one.) I really like the looks of this one and how well it has functioned.
It is called "All Weather" by Walmart because the SS barrel will handle a poor environment (hunting in a swamp or around salt water) better than gunmetal. If you expect to give it more use and abuse, SS makes more sense. Otherwise perhaps it isn't enough of an advantage to pay the extra for SS, unless you like it better, or have a particular reason for it.
This is a good bargain when the extra long barrel and premium wood stock are considered. However, whether you buy this 10/22, or a standard 10/22, you'll be happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 5 for Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

Undiscovered, Underpriced Bargain

05/13/2008
By ,
central PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The title says it all.......a limited edition Ruger 10/22 that you can't buy anywhere else. Stainless receiver and 22" barrel, handsome checkered hardwood stock, standard sling swivels. All the unique features, plus the 10/22 build quality/reliability.
I think they're way under charging for this rifle........better check it out before they find out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 6 for Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

Excellent!!

04/16/2008
By ,
Missouri Ozarks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't go wrong with this one. Ruger makes the best 10/22's out there. The ten round rotary clip works flawlessly. However, I recommend purchasing a quick release lever for the clip because it is a little awkward getting the clip out without one. They cost less than $10 and are easy to install. This gun will fire as fast as you can pull the trigger without jamming. Gotta love the stainless steel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

Suprise Find!

07/21/2008
By ,
Miami, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I moved back to Oklahoma from California 3 years ago. I was shopping in Wal Mart and I found this version of the 10/22. I purchased it immediately. I have owned about four Ruger 10/22's over the years. They are reliable, and reasonablely priced. My first one cost $79 brand new. I use them, sell them, and remember I can't live without one, and get another one. This version is the last 10/ 22 I will own, it's a keeper. I love the reliable 10 round rotary magazine. I love the stainless Steel. I love the 22" barrel. Everyone should have a decent and afordable .22 Rifle, and in my opinion this is the one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 8 for Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel
12/14/2008
By ,
Killeen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My second rifle and first self loading was a 10/22 almost 30 years ago. The 10/22, this version included, is a trial and error until you find the ammo it likes to eat, I am on my third and all have had different faverate ammo. The Stainless we are looking at here I got about 5 years ago when the rumor was it was a limited run for WalMart and while it is a WalMart only configuation, I have seen them steady for the last 6+ years. Mine would eat almost all ammo I fed to it but again like all guns every gun, even of the same model, it likes what it likes and you just have to try until you find what yours likes. It was a fine rifle until I had to upgrade with a new heavy barrel, trigger and race stock. Now it is a tack driver and my wife decided she wants it more than me. I have already baught a new on to start over again, this time a standard. No sense in spending more for a gun I'm going to replace most of the parts on. This brings up my last point. The 10/22 is possibly the most versitile rifle on Earth. There are more after market products for it in any style you like, from tactical with rails to long range target and even bull pup conversions, than any other rifle on the planet. Buy one and shoot it. If you keep an open mind and don't get mad when it does not like the first thing you shove into it without a new gun cleaning (full and thorough) you will love it. Just stick to it until you find your right ammo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

Beware of special production runs..

07/16/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had researched this product online before taking the long drive to the closest Walmart which carries firearms (not all do in NY).
The rifles in stock are not true stainless K10/22's but are in fact a special production run for Walmart which include a stainless 22"barrel and stainless upper receiver but all lower componests are black (trigger, trigger guard, magazine well).
Walmarts webpage incorrectly describes and shows a photo of a fully stainless gun.
Just a word of caution to potential buyers....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

The last Gun left

10/27/2008
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this rifle.I had to buy the display modle.For those who miss out on this gun I dont think you can get it anymore.This is a real collectors gun.Only made so many.The manager try to ordered me one but could not find one,so I bought the displayed.I took the gun to Cabelas to get scope and put a silver one on and looks real sharp.The boys working at gun dept. really like the rifle.If you can find one you better buy it!!!!!!GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 11 for Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

Great Surprise!

08/16/2008
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned 2 of the 10/22 models and shot dozens before. With thousands of rounds my family has just about wore out my 2nd 10/22. I was holding out to buy the forged bull barrel model, but stumbled onto this one at WalMart.
This is an extremely long lasting finish and hardwood stock at a great price.
I say get one while you can!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 12 for Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

best buy

06/08/2008
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this gun for 21 years and it has never let me down. I would recommend additional magazines but only the factory. The aftermarket plastic ones will fail quickly. I still have the factory 10 round magazine that came with the gun and it has never jammed with it. This is definately the 22 LR you want to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 13 for Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

Great Gun

12/11/2008
By ,
Church Road,Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Ruger 10/22 stands up to its fine name. It is very well made & accurate. It is a bargan at Walmart. You need to buy a 25 shot clip magazine from Butler Creek, that is the only brand that is trouble free ! A set of Fire Sights is also a good accessary item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 14 for Ruger 10/22 Rifle with 22 Barrel

Excellent Long Gun

12/05/2008
By ,
Four Oaks, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As expected high Ruger quality. Comfortable fit, easy to carry. Shoots a very tight 5 shot pattern. Excellent checking on the stock just wish it was a better grade wood but for the money it is an excellent value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points