Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Black & Decker Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

More than just a waffle maker, this Black & Decker G48TD Waffle Maker also grills sandwiches, hamburgers and much more. The interchangeable plates on the Black & Decker 3-in-1 waffle maker make it easy to switch from breakfast to dinner in seconds. Ready light lets you know when it's the right temperature for use. Removable plates also mean this Black & Decker Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle is built for easy clean-up. This nonstick 3-in-1 waffle maker by Black & Decker makes nine square traditional waffles in four sections. The Black & Decker G48TD Waffle Maker also makes the perfect gift for any occasion.
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(465 Reviews) 383
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
263
4 stars
113
3 stars
30
2 stars
26
1 star
33
Customer Recommendation85%393 out of 465reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 264 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
263
4 stars
113
3 stars
30
2 stars
26
1 star
33
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Disapointed!

11/22/2013
By ,
AV, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Upon receipt I opened the Waffle Maker to verify that all components had been received, and it appeared that all parts were included. I sat the griddle aside and threw out the box and packing; however, last night when I removed the plates for cleaning I found that the chrome frame was bent, there was rust on the inside, and that there is what appears to be dried and burnt batter on one of the griddles, and lastly the protective plastic covering the controls was partially loosened. This has to be a returned item.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/25/2013
Hi Notsatisfied, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40812984 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Only one we found

11/04/2010
By ,
Southern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Previously we had looked for a waffle iron that had removable plates and was also a grill -- for pancakes and grilled sandwiches, but couldn't find one. When our OLD waffle iron finally 'hit the dust' I looked again, and found this one right away! It is very pretty and shiny. The plates are about 1-1/2" smaller (both ways) than our old one, but that just takes getting used to. My only gripe is that the bottom plate doesn't always stay in place unless you slide it forward. The box that has the thermostat seems to come in contact with the waffle iron plate (when using the grill) and so it will sometimes pop out. Other than that we are enjoying using it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Exellent waffle maker.

10/01/2013
By ,
Arcanum, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love it because it makes four at a time and it is NOT a belgian waffle maker. This is the eighth waffle maker we have purchased over 47 years. The one that has lasted has been the Black and Decker. We make waffles every weekend and often have unexpected company to help us eat them. We buy syrup by the gallon. We wore out one Black and Decker and have another we are using. When our daughter asked for one for Christmas, we tried everywhere to buy her one but could not find one in any store or online. Very pleased when we received email from WALMART saying you had them back in stock. Ordered 2 right away and tried to buy at two different Walmart stores but they did not have any. Was excited when our order came in and we are using our new waffle iron and have a back up plus ordered one for my sister. Order came very quickly. Would and have recommended you to family and friends. Pleased that you emailed us even after we had forgotten we asked you to. Our family gives you 5 stars. Thanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Great waffle maker

06/02/2009
By ,
Seattle, Wa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I grew up eating waffles and this is the type of waffle maker my mom used. My wife and I received a single waffle maker as a wedding gift 18 years ago. This single worked great. However, we purchased a larger waffle maker to save time in the mornings. Unfortunately this larger model, similar to this Black & Decker model always stuck...even though it was a non-stick surface. The results was the waffles ripped in half every time. We promptly returned it.
We were thus hesitant to buy a larger waffle maker like this Black & Decker model when our single waffle maker finally died last month after 18 years of almost daily use...it was a workhorse.
We have been very pleased with this Black & Decker model. While the heating element is circular the square waffles turn out perfectly cooked...and awesomely crunchy. As with anything used for cooking if you don't watch it you can over-cook and even burn your waffles. However, my wife is an expert and they turn out fantastic every time.
Well done Black & Decker!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Makes good waffles if you use it correctly :)

08/30/2013
By ,
Frederick County, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To get good waffles with this product you need to LIGHTLY spray both surfaces with a vegetable oil before you turn the unit on. When you turn it on you have to set the temperature to the very highest setting and leave it there. I suggest while you are waiting for it warm up (till the light goes off) mix up your batter.
When you open the lid it will smoke from the hot oil - this is normal (open it over your exhaust fan). Pour in the batter and help it get to the four corners to get nice square waffles. Try adding pecans there great in waffles but avoid blueberries - they make it stick badly. Wait till the steam coming out the sides subsides (but not to stop completely) till you remove the waffle. With some practice you will get to recognize when to do this.
For the remaining waffles repeat the above procedure including the light oil spray each time. If you follow these steps you can bake the best waffles in town. Don't forget to heat up the maple syrup and soften the butter so it spreads easily. Enjoy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

No more frozen store waffles for us!

08/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a waffle maker, & boy I sure got one!! This makes wonderful (big!) waffles, they cook a little unevenly, but it works great because I like mine very done and my husband likes his a little "lighter," so we make one and share because the waffles are so big we can't eat a whole one by ourselves!
I have had this product almost a year and have yet to use the griddle side, so I cannot say anything about it. Follow the instructions and DO NOT use cooking spray. It takes no time at all to rub a little cooking oil on with a brush and it is easy to clean the inserts. I love that they pop out because it really makes cleaning easy! The device does get very hot when on, but I have never to burned myself, and the handles stay cool. Also, the chrome outer shell can get harder to clean after about a year, it looks fine, just not as shiny/clean looking as when I first bought it.
Also, I make a whole "batch" of waffles and freeze them to put in the toaster later and they taste great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD
04/26/2012
By ,
southwest Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this waffle iron, after searching for months for one with small holes, NOT a Belgian waffle iron. No local store had this in stock, but I found it online at WalMart and ordered it sent to my local store. I love it! I had read the reviews and noticed that several remarked there is no setting except "waffle" for waffles, but a closer look showed me that there is a colored line below that word which allows for darker or lighter settings. Another reviewer said there is no way to tell when the waffle is done, but the booklet says when the light goes off, the waffle is done. This is true. Also, when the steam stops, the waffle is done. The book does not say how much batter to add but I think common sense says, don't run it to the edge and then squish the top closed. I will be careful with the clips, which I understand are the only part not liked for durability. I plan to use this appliance mostly for waffles, and even tried for the first time to make some from scratch. Love 'em, especially with pecans.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

My new kitchen essential!

07/27/2010
By ,
Luling, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product to replace my old waffle maker. I was looking for something with removeable plates for easier cleaning. The waffles come out perfectly on this. I read in one of the reviews that it made flat waffles, but I have not experienced this. I've actually watched the lid rise as the waffles are baking.
I did not really think I would use the grill plates, but they actually get used even more than the waffle plates (and my kids eat some waffles). My youngest son loves the pressed grilled cheese sandwiches I make with it. I have also placed frozen hamburger patties on it. They cook up perfectly. For the last minute, I lay the grill open flat so I can melt cheese over the top of the burger and lightly toast the buns on the other side. I have also made pancakes on it.
This product is used almost every day in my house, and I have no idea how I survived so long without it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

A little disappointed

11/19/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product because it was recommended by America's Test Kitchen. I only wanted it for making waffles, not for the griddle portion. I had a mickey mouse waffle maker that I've used for 17 years that I passed on to my daughter...it made perfect waffles. What I liked about the black and decker waffle maker is that it makes 4 square waffles, about the size of a small piece of bread. This is perfect for the toaster if I want to freeze them for later. What I was disappointed in was that the back portion (near the hinge in the machine) gets considerably less toasted than the rest. The heating element is round, so it doesn't extend near the corners anyway, and I am told that heating elements generally aren't as hot near where they come out from the hinge. How hard would it be to make the heating element laid out in a way that would cover more of the unit (maybe in a couple of coils, like a burner on a stove, but more squared)???
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Waffle maker with removable plates yey!

06/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have searched the internet, including all hardware, department stores and ebay. There isn't a waffle maker that has removable plates out there. This ones fits my bill. Also a plus the plates turn over for indoor grilling. Dishwasher safe.
This waffle maker makes 4 waffles at one time!! I wished I had this one when I was raising my children.
The price is superb. I would say it can't be beat cause there isn't any other to compare it with.
Black and Decker, come on girls this is great. I've done the shopping for you.
Nope not getting paid to say this.
LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+161points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

It's like Grandma's.

11/25/2013
By ,
Chico, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a solid version of a regular (not newer Belgian style) waffle baker like your Grandmother or Great Aunt used to use, this is it. Standard size, divided in quarters so everybody can start together. Make sure it's hot first, batter is not too thick, quick spray with no stick, wait till the steaming slows down. Don't listen to the doesn't cook even thing. Use it right, it works great. It's as good an execution of the old-fashioned kind of baker that you'll find at a working class price point. Well made for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Perfect Waffles

03/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am picky about my waffles. I don't want them too thick or too thin. This makes them just right and crispy on the sides. It is really good for crispy melted cheese sandwiches...great panino's. I had been looking for a good waffle maker and happen to come across this that does both waffles and sandwiches. It also will cook bacon or sausage and eggs although I haven't used it for that yet. Walmart shipped it right to my store for easy pickup....thank you!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Really great product if you use it properly

11/13/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this waffle maker from the moment I purchased it, until they started sticking HORRIBLY. Since I had followed all the procedures as per the manual, I called Black & Decker. The told me that they now recommend that non-stick spray not be used on the plates, only oil applied with a brush or non-aerosol type spray. They did send me brand new plates free of charge, much to their credit. Now that I only use oil, it's working perfectly. I highly recommend this product, minus the manual. By the way, the waffles freeze very well so you don't have to be constantly making a batch. Just a tip!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Black&Decker2in1

11/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Black & Decker 2 in 1 is working well. We made grill chesse sandwich and pancakes. Enjoying breakfast and lunch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Makes excellent 8"x 8" Waffles!

04/05/2014
By ,
Bothell, Wa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Black & Decker Waffle Maker replaced one that I bought in 1991 at a Sears "Scratch & Dent Store in San Diego. This identical replacement is even better than that one so I will probably be writing a review on it in 2027. Watch for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Great Wafflemaker

08/17/2007
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The very first waffle I cooked in this waffle maker turned out to be perfect. Every one after that has been the same. Enough said. I'm very satisfied.
This also looks very classy and durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+112points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Old School Waffles

09/24/2010
By ,
Scramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From someone who doesn't like belgian waffles and that's what popular out this this iron makes great old time waffles. What else can I ask for. Works great. Good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Cheaply made

03/20/2014
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were surprised how cheaply this waffle maker was made. For $50 we expected a much better quality unit. Returned it before even turning it on and bought a Calphalon from BB&B for $80.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/26/2014
Hi szil, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Black & Decker home appliance. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at youropinionmatters@spectrumbrands.com and reference ID number 40895702 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

Excellent, excellent, excellent product!!!!!!!!!

10/29/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a waffle maker that had removable plates for easy cleaning. This one is a plus because it also has plates for grilling hamburgers and such. I have made the waffles (they are regular size, not Belgian waffles, which I am happy with) and they come out awesome, with even baking. Some of the other waffle makers I have bought in the past did not bake evenly, or didn't even heat up hot enough to bake the waffles, so it was very frustrating until I bought this one. The plates easily snap in and out, are easy to clean, and even hamburgers turn out great without all the splattering of oil that you have when you make them in a frying pan. I am very happy with this product and would highly recommend it. It does get very hot, so children need to not get close, but I found that I could lift and close the lid with it plugged in at a high temperature using the black handle on it without having to use a pot holder like another reviewer complained of. Love this product and would highly recommend!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 3-in-1 Waffle Maker & Indoor Grill/Griddle, G48TD

great product

04/02/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We both really like this waffle iron. It does get hot on the outside but one just needs to pay attention to where you are putting your fingers. I would recommend this product but not to be used by children.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 384 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next