Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Brother Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

The Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517, is an easy-to-use sewing and mending machine that is well-suited for both the novice or more experienced home tailor. It includes a total of 17 built-in unique utility and decorative stitches. This Brother sewing machine also contains an automatic four-step buttonhole maker for added functionality. These features all come in one compact, lightweight sewing appliance. This stitch machine even comes with a jam-resistant quick-set drop-in top bobbin, eliminating the need to fish around for bobbin thread. It also includes a brightly lit LED work area. Repair a hem with the built-in blind hem stitch or create a home decor project with the many features of this Brothers sewing machine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(241 Reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
184
4 stars
45
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation96%232 out of 241reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
105 Questions | 131 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
184
4 stars
45
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

This is wonderful!

12/30/2013
By ,
West Monroe, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted to learn how to sew, and when I was a child I dreamed of starting my own fashion line! So, I started sewing about 6-8 months ago (mostly just to start a new hobby) and was using my mother-in-law's machine. It was an old Singer. Within a week I knew I wanted my own machine because I was LOVING making clothes, and I knew eventually she was going to need her machine back. My husband bought me this one for Christmas and it is wonderful! It is so much quieter than the older machine I used, has more of a stitch selection, and it doesn't mess up on me like the other one did. (At least not yet!) It took some getting used to at first, but I really love it. I have already made 3 dresses and a shrug for our daughters! The stitches are holding up wonderfully (even with my rough and tough toddlers!), and the dresses are so cute. It definitely does the job, and I have already recommended it to a friend!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+252points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New York
Posted 03/08/2014
Waw...you are good!!!! I love that lil dress! I am going to purchase this for my sister as a surprise. I know she will love it and I can't wait for her to start making me some skirts. Lol.... thank you for the positive review!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Good for beginner.

01/23/2014
By ,
Anderson, sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Wonderful!

10/01/2013
By ,
Tombstone, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Brother JX2517 in-store today. I took it home and it already had the bottom bobbin wound and in place, and a standard size needle 14 in place. It was very easy to operate and sewed a very good stitch. I like the fact that it is a lightweight machine, yet it can handle heavy fabrics. It has a double lift on the needle presser foot bar for thick materials.
I was surprised that it had "preset stitches". So, there is no fiddling with length or width dials.
It has 3 very nice satin stitches and something called Double Action Stitches 16, 17 for joining two pieces of fabric like in patchwork quilting. It has a left needle position stitch and also comes with a button hole making foot and button foot, and zipper foot.
This will be the machine I will take to quilting class. The sewing area seems extra large, yet it also has a free arm for hemming.
I like The Brother Sewing machines and this one is one of the prettiest and easiest machines I've seen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+377points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Sturdy little guy!

12/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this after throwing my old (and admittedly far outliving its useful stage) sewing machine after the fourth time it jammed in 5 inches of fabric. I figured that it was such a low price (about $50) that even if it only lasted me a few projects then it had earned its keep. Still going strong about 10 projects in 1 month!
Not a fancy machine by any means, but a sturdy, well built machine if nothing else. Great for a beginner (or to hold me until I can find the money to replace it with a high quality machine). Easy to thread and the bobbin is really easy to load. Comes with a variety of different machine feet and a great instructional video about different stitches you can do with it. Even comes with an automatic button hole!
The only complaint I have is the plastic piece that closes over the bobbin is not attached. Knowing myself well, I feel as though this may be a problem and that it will shortly be lost...
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Easy to operate, great for beginners!

11/18/2013
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my 9 year old daughter who has expressed an interest in sewing. She has used her grandmother's Brother Sewing Machine (which is truly built like a tank!) and we felt comfortable buying the same brand name. The bobbin came pre-loaded and after reading the directions, we were up and running in 30 minutes. I LOVED the fact that this machine has a drop-in bobbin rather than the old style where you had to load the casing and clip it back into place. Plus, the clear see-through window lets you know when the bobbin is running low....rather than finding out the hard way. I did have someone nearby to help in case of trouble, but the machine was so easy to use that we didn't need it! The pictorials on top of the machine help as well. My daughter was up and sewing for her sister's costume in no time! I think I may have found my new hobby. Would highly reccommend to anyone who needed a good, basic machine to start a wonderful new hobby.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

A pretty understanding machine.

05/13/2014
By ,
Fargo, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am starting to work with plushes, sewing stuffed animals and costumes via commission work. After my first machine broke, I had taken the time to do hand sewing for these products, and it just didn't cut it. I needed another machine. Though maybe it was dumb of me to go for a cheaper machine, this sewing machine has really helped me out with my products so far! The only thing that happens is that the thread ends up getting loose and tangled, BUT that's definitely because sometimes I accidentally thread over the tension dial instead of properly threading under it. (I can be forgetful, oops.) To me, if you take your time with this machine when working with it, it gets you places in your projects well. It really does what the provided instructions and tutorials say it does. This is a good machine for everyone with their hobbies and if you need something for awhile reasonably priced for what you do with it, try it out!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Good starter machines, but not for heavy duty use

12/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this really just as a temporary replacement for my old Singer machine that I love, but it's having some issues.. I just wanted something inexpensive to get me through the next month until I can get my Singer fixed. I also have 3 other machines, including 2 Brothers that I use for other things, but just wanted a plain old machine to give me a good straight stitch and zig zag stitch for an item I make using batting.. I don't like the fuzz of the batting clogging up the area under the dog plate on my better machines...
Unfortunately, this was not the right machine.. I had no idea Brother makes such a cheap machine! This one is super lightweight, and tips from the slightest pressure applied, such as changing the bobbin.. On my other Brother, it's easy to get to the bobbin, but with this one, it's much more difficult and you have to really apply pressure, which causes the machine to tip.. The sewing light is located so you can see it through the slot where you thread the machine.. While sewing, it's shining in your face.. Gave me a headache! Or maybe it was the very strong plastic chemical smell that gave me the headache.. I'm not really sure... My other Brother machines do/did not smell like this.. The machine has different sizes for a straight stitch, but the longest stitch isn't that long.. If you wanted to gather with it, I don't think it would actually gather.. It's too tight of a stitch.. Same thing with the zig zag stitch.. The largest zig zag isn't very large... The foot peddle is very light weight and moved while in use, so eventually it was lodged up against the wall and I'd have to reposition it.. that happened over and over again.. Again, my other Brother machines do not have such lightweight peddles..
It's very slow, for me anyways. I sew fast.. It's just way too slow for me.. It doesn't have much power at all...
The machine itself is cute with the flowers, and I guess if it was purchased for a beginner or for an occasional sewer, it'd be okay, but for my needs, it just didn't come close.. I packed it up and took it back..
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

bought this at my local wall mart

10/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the brother jx2517
I have taken the time to check it out. Thinking if it is a lemon I could return it quickly.
His is not a computer machine .This machine is manual like my old singer in years past.
It is stable and solid feeling. Even though it is light weight it doesn’t feel like it will be easily knocked off the table.
I have a couple tom cats that play on my sewing table)
My machine came with a full bobbin and a needle. 1. My first straight sewing was not even stitches.
So I took out the bobbin and put one in with the same thread as my top spool.
And I also replaced the needle to a required size needed for my thread and sample fabric.
This time my project stitching was perfect!
I do plan to sew clothes and a few smaller quilt projects .
I think the machine a little loud, but I think this is normal for this machine.
I also tried out a few settings. And like the fact the setting for length is right on the dial.
So when I am on a project and need to turn the machine off. Later picking up the project again. The setting I had is still set. A nice stitch for basting easily pulled back out .
easy to thread and the light is right where it should be .
So far I love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great light weight machine

09/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a very expensive Brother machine and have been sewing for 40+ years and do a lot of quilting. This machine is a great value. It is fairly quiet and sews very well. I purchased it for my 94 year old mom to make repairs, etc. But after trying it out, I think I will get one for myself to take places. It is very light weight and easy to carry. The extra stitches work very well also and the bobbin is easy to wind and drop in. I was pleasantly surprised by this machine and would highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

My first sewing machine

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this machine after reading the positive reviews and for the low price. I have never used a sewing machine before. The reviews I read were from novice and experienced sewers. This machine is user friendly and I was sewing the same day. I am happy with this purchase!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Easy first machine for a novice like me!

12/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews before purchasing this sewing machine. I am a complete beginner and didn't want a machine too advanced. I absolutely love this machine. I was sewing as soon as I unpacked it, and have been sewing ever since. Easy load bobbin is great and to be honest I'm not too bad at sewing thanks to this machine's easy controls and stitches. Lightweight and actually very pretty.
Perfect price for a beginner like me to grow with a machine.
I would recommend to anyone who has dreamed of owning a machine that is easy and fun to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR MY 9 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER

01/02/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me begin by saying that I never review products but this time I had to! My daughter came home a few months ago with a hand sewn stuffed animal and expressesd her interest in her newfound love for sewing. I bought her a few of the American Girl kits and she breezed through them with ease. I knew I wanted to get her a sewing machine for Christmas; however I was a little down and out about it because I have never sewn before (outside of Home Ec. class 16 years ago). She opened this gift as a Christmas present and wanted to play with it over all of her more expensive items. We popped the DVD in and within 10 minutes she was sewing! She has made pajama pants for her American Girl dolls and I have made pants for her to match. She has made skirts, shirts, sock, shoes, pillows, blankets and sheets for her dolls and it has only been one week that she has had the product. Her clothes look awesome and the $2.00 that we pay for fabric makes the normal $30.00 American Girl doll outfits look ridiculous! If you are new to sewing I would recommend this machine to you. It is extremely easy to use. My daughter uses it by herself!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+119points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great first sewing machine!

11/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This sewing machine is great for first timers like myself! Very easy to use and nothing complicated and very lightweight.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great beginner sewing machine - very lightweight

09/22/2014
By ,
Holden, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works like a champ. Only 'complaint' is that it is very lightweight - surprisingly so. I am used to a larger 'sturdier' machine... when I reach for the foot lever I sometimes bump the machine and it tips a little. That being said it is a nice little worker and ideal for a starter or even a child - easy to read directions and dials are simple and clearly marked. I got the 2 year warranty but I doubt I'll have to use it - my last Brother worked for 20+ years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great for beginners!

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a first time user and I am pretty happy with this machine. I would recommended for easy and small projects. I already made my house curtains and they turn out great!
1
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Upgrade if you can afford it

12/19/2013
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have been sewing for many years - apparel and home decor. I purchased the Brother CS6000i a few years ago to have a lightweight, not too expensive machine at my home in Mexico. I have been very pleased with the features and performance of the CS6000i. After a sudden, unplanned return to the US for my husband's medical care, I purchased the Brother JX2517 to use while I am here, thinking it would be of the same overall quality as the CS6000i, but with fewer features. So far it has performed satisfactorily in the small projects I have done, but the overall feel of the machine is cheap, almost toy-like. You can't adjust the stitch length and width. The most used stitch lengths with alternate needle positions are part of the "17 stitches." I really miss the automatic needle threader. Even if you are a beginning sewer, do yourself a favor and upgrade to the CS600i if you can.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Worst machine ever

11/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this as a back up while my other was in the shop for cleaning.
I have spent more time threading than sewing. The neelde will not stay threaded and the bobbin thread balls up and breaks.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Beginner Sewer

05/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 68 years old and have not sewed since High School. Being retired I wanted to do some crafts that require sewing. Deciding I didn't want to spend a lot of money went online and found this Brother's machine.
Well, let me tell you.....it is so wonderful. Very easy to use and I feel that it will handle what I want for a sewing machine. Good machine to learn on and I even think that it would be good for an intermediate sewer.
Looking forward to a lot of fun things with this machine
Recommends this product? Yes
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

As good as a Singer One

08/06/2014
By ,
Washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is comparable to a Singer One ($300+ machine) I used over the weekend. Besides the Singer computerized settings, this Brother machine got all the work done for the mere $70. I was hesitant about buying it at first but then I used it to make custom cushions for a bench and I have to say, it is a KEEPER! Don't hesitate like I did. This machine gets it done! I still need to explore using all the other many features; can't wait to!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great simple machine

07/27/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is easy to set up. Very easy to work with. Get things sewed fast. The price is right.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 241 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next