Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Brother Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

The Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517, is an easy-to-use sewing and mending machine that is well-suited for both the novice or more experienced home tailor. It includes a total of 17 built-in unique utility and decorative stitches. This Brother sewing machine also contains an automatic four-step buttonhole maker for added functionality. These features all come in one compact, lightweight sewing appliance. This stitch machine even comes with a jam-resistant quick-set drop-in top bobbin, eliminating the need to fish around for bobbin thread. It also includes a brightly lit LED work area. Repair a hem with the built-in blind hem stitch or create a home decor project with the many features of this Brothers sewing machine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.672 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(174 Reviews) 174
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
35
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation97%168 out of 174reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
64 Questions | 98 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
35
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

This is wonderful!

12/30/2013
By ,
West Monroe, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted to learn how to sew, and when I was a child I dreamed of starting my own fashion line! So, I started sewing about 6-8 months ago (mostly just to start a new hobby) and was using my mother-in-law's machine. It was an old Singer. Within a week I knew I wanted my own machine because I was LOVING making clothes, and I knew eventually she was going to need her machine back. My husband bought me this one for Christmas and it is wonderful! It is so much quieter than the older machine I used, has more of a stitch selection, and it doesn't mess up on me like the other one did. (At least not yet!) It took some getting used to at first, but I really love it. I have already made 3 dresses and a shrug for our daughters! The stitches are holding up wonderfully (even with my rough and tough toddlers!), and the dresses are so cute. It definitely does the job, and I have already recommended it to a friend!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+155points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New York
Posted 03/08/2014
Waw...you are good!!!! I love that lil dress! I am going to purchase this for my sister as a surprise. I know she will love it and I can't wait for her to start making me some skirts. Lol.... thank you for the positive review!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Good for beginner.

01/23/2014
By ,
Anderson, sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Wonderful!

10/01/2013
By ,
Tombstone, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Brother JX2517 in-store today. I took it home and it already had the bottom bobbin wound and in place, and a standard size needle 14 in place. It was very easy to operate and sewed a very good stitch. I like the fact that it is a lightweight machine, yet it can handle heavy fabrics. It has a double lift on the needle presser foot bar for thick materials.
I was surprised that it had "preset stitches". So, there is no fiddling with length or width dials.
It has 3 very nice satin stitches and something called Double Action Stitches 16, 17 for joining two pieces of fabric like in patchwork quilting. It has a left needle position stitch and also comes with a button hole making foot and button foot, and zipper foot.
This will be the machine I will take to quilting class. The sewing area seems extra large, yet it also has a free arm for hemming.
I like The Brother Sewing machines and this one is one of the prettiest and easiest machines I've seen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+230points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

A pretty understanding machine.

05/13/2014
By ,
Fargo, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am starting to work with plushes, sewing stuffed animals and costumes via commission work. After my first machine broke, I had taken the time to do hand sewing for these products, and it just didn't cut it. I needed another machine. Though maybe it was dumb of me to go for a cheaper machine, this sewing machine has really helped me out with my products so far! The only thing that happens is that the thread ends up getting loose and tangled, BUT that's definitely because sometimes I accidentally thread over the tension dial instead of properly threading under it. (I can be forgetful, oops.) To me, if you take your time with this machine when working with it, it gets you places in your projects well. It really does what the provided instructions and tutorials say it does. This is a good machine for everyone with their hobbies and if you need something for awhile reasonably priced for what you do with it, try it out!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Easy to operate, great for beginners!

11/18/2013
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my 9 year old daughter who has expressed an interest in sewing. She has used her grandmother's Brother Sewing Machine (which is truly built like a tank!) and we felt comfortable buying the same brand name. The bobbin came pre-loaded and after reading the directions, we were up and running in 30 minutes. I LOVED the fact that this machine has a drop-in bobbin rather than the old style where you had to load the casing and clip it back into place. Plus, the clear see-through window lets you know when the bobbin is running low....rather than finding out the hard way. I did have someone nearby to help in case of trouble, but the machine was so easy to use that we didn't need it! The pictorials on top of the machine help as well. My daughter was up and sewing for her sister's costume in no time! I think I may have found my new hobby. Would highly reccommend to anyone who needed a good, basic machine to start a wonderful new hobby.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+130points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

As good as a Singer One

08/06/2014
By ,
Washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is comparable to a Singer One ($300+ machine) I used over the weekend. Besides the Singer computerized settings, this Brother machine got all the work done for the mere $70. I was hesitant about buying it at first but then I used it to make custom cushions for a bench and I have to say, it is a KEEPER! Don't hesitate like I did. This machine gets it done! I still need to explore using all the other many features; can't wait to!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Beginner Sewer

05/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 68 years old and have not sewed since High School. Being retired I wanted to do some crafts that require sewing. Deciding I didn't want to spend a lot of money went online and found this Brother's machine.
Well, let me tell you.....it is so wonderful. Very easy to use and I feel that it will handle what I want for a sewing machine. Good machine to learn on and I even think that it would be good for an intermediate sewer.
Looking forward to a lot of fun things with this machine
Recommends this product? Yes
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR MY 9 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER

01/02/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me begin by saying that I never review products but this time I had to! My daughter came home a few months ago with a hand sewn stuffed animal and expressesd her interest in her newfound love for sewing. I bought her a few of the American Girl kits and she breezed through them with ease. I knew I wanted to get her a sewing machine for Christmas; however I was a little down and out about it because I have never sewn before (outside of Home Ec. class 16 years ago). She opened this gift as a Christmas present and wanted to play with it over all of her more expensive items. We popped the DVD in and within 10 minutes she was sewing! She has made pajama pants for her American Girl dolls and I have made pants for her to match. She has made skirts, shirts, sock, shoes, pillows, blankets and sheets for her dolls and it has only been one week that she has had the product. Her clothes look awesome and the $2.00 that we pay for fabric makes the normal $30.00 American Girl doll outfits look ridiculous! If you are new to sewing I would recommend this machine to you. It is extremely easy to use. My daughter uses it by herself!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great simple machine

07/27/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is easy to set up. Very easy to work with. Get things sewed fast. The price is right.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

great sewing machine for a beginner.

07/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Within minutes of opening the box I was sewing away like a pro!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Super little Machine

02/22/2014
By ,
Las Vegas Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a winter home and I needed a inexpensive machine to sew straight lines for quick mends and for small projects. I saw this machine and thought what could a wee 75 dollar machine offer - well I have to tell you, it's wonderful. It has a drop in bobbin, stitch lengths, decorative stitches, foot pedal, light, all the things that you need for quick mends, or to sew a project. I would recommend this machine to anyone, beginner to a experienced sewer. This little guy packs a powerful punch and is a little work horse. No regrets with this purchase, it's easy to use, love the drop in bobbin, easy thread, go for it, you won't be disappointed :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Very easy to set up and use.

08/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase. So easy to use and thread.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great product for a beginner

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this sewing machine b/c I wanted to learn how to hem pants. The instruction manual and DVD were easy to follow. Over time, I how to learn how to quilt and I can still use the same machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great sewing machine for a beginner

07/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have sewn two projects already since purchasing my machine last week. I am amazed at the ease of use, of this sewing machine. I look forward to many more projects, as I learn to sew and learn about my sewing machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Upgrade if you can afford it

12/19/2013
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have been sewing for many years - apparel and home decor. I purchased the Brother CS6000i a few years ago to have a lightweight, not too expensive machine at my home in Mexico. I have been very pleased with the features and performance of the CS6000i. After a sudden, unplanned return to the US for my husband's medical care, I purchased the Brother JX2517 to use while I am here, thinking it would be of the same overall quality as the CS6000i, but with fewer features. So far it has performed satisfactorily in the small projects I have done, but the overall feel of the machine is cheap, almost toy-like. You can't adjust the stitch length and width. The most used stitch lengths with alternate needle positions are part of the "17 stitches." I really miss the automatic needle threader. Even if you are a beginning sewer, do yourself a favor and upgrade to the CS600i if you can.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

great light weight sewing machine

08/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this sewing machine for hemming slacks and other minor sewing jobs. It's perfect! I'm having a little trouble with the tension but haven't read all the instructions yet. I opened it, threaded it and started sewing fairly quickly. Great for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

I love it very much

08/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first time I learn how to use a sewing machine. I spent 2 hours to watch the DVD instruction and finished the set up. Now I know how to make pillow case & quilt cover.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Nice

08/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money this machine is more than you could hope for. I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Beyond my expectation

08/16/2014
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this in Walmart store in Florin Road, at first I was reluctant to buy because I have not try a
Brother Sewing Machine, the salesman told me he has the same model and it's good. I didn't buy it because I can't carry it so I decided to go on-line and order it. I was surprised that it was free shipping and was delivered before the day I was told to be delivered. It's cheap too.
I am very satisfied and found it easy to operate. Thank you, Brothers and will register it on-line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

So far so good

08/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this sewing machine for small quick projects. We had it for a week so far and it has been great. It was definetely a smart buy. My daughter and I have been enjoying the projects weve been able to make. Neither one of us are seamstresses which makes this machine a must. It is practicly do it yourself. I would recommend to anyone. Also the how to DVD is a huge plus.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 174 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next