Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Brother Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

The Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517, is an easy-to-use sewing and mending machine that is well-suited for both the novice or more experienced home tailor. It includes a total of 17 built-in unique utility and decorative stitches. This Brother sewing machine also contains an automatic four-step buttonhole maker for added functionality. These features all come in one compact, lightweight sewing appliance. This stitch machine even comes with a jam-resistant quick-set drop-in top bobbin, eliminating the need to fish around for bobbin thread. It also includes a brightly lit LED work area. Repair a hem with the built-in blind hem stitch or create a home decor project with the many features of this Brothers sewing machine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.698 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
39
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation97%196 out of 202reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 120 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
39
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

This is wonderful!

12/30/2013
By ,
West Monroe, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted to learn how to sew, and when I was a child I dreamed of starting my own fashion line! So, I started sewing about 6-8 months ago (mostly just to start a new hobby) and was using my mother-in-law's machine. It was an old Singer. Within a week I knew I wanted my own machine because I was LOVING making clothes, and I knew eventually she was going to need her machine back. My husband bought me this one for Christmas and it is wonderful! It is so much quieter than the older machine I used, has more of a stitch selection, and it doesn't mess up on me like the other one did. (At least not yet!) It took some getting used to at first, but I really love it. I have already made 3 dresses and a shrug for our daughters! The stitches are holding up wonderfully (even with my rough and tough toddlers!), and the dresses are so cute. It definitely does the job, and I have already recommended it to a friend!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+187points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New York
Posted 03/08/2014
Waw...you are good!!!! I love that lil dress! I am going to purchase this for my sister as a surprise. I know she will love it and I can't wait for her to start making me some skirts. Lol.... thank you for the positive review!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Good for beginner.

01/23/2014
By ,
Anderson, sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Wonderful!

10/01/2013
By ,
Tombstone, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Brother JX2517 in-store today. I took it home and it already had the bottom bobbin wound and in place, and a standard size needle 14 in place. It was very easy to operate and sewed a very good stitch. I like the fact that it is a lightweight machine, yet it can handle heavy fabrics. It has a double lift on the needle presser foot bar for thick materials.
I was surprised that it had "preset stitches". So, there is no fiddling with length or width dials.
It has 3 very nice satin stitches and something called Double Action Stitches 16, 17 for joining two pieces of fabric like in patchwork quilting. It has a left needle position stitch and also comes with a button hole making foot and button foot, and zipper foot.
This will be the machine I will take to quilting class. The sewing area seems extra large, yet it also has a free arm for hemming.
I like The Brother Sewing machines and this one is one of the prettiest and easiest machines I've seen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+261points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Easy to operate, great for beginners!

11/18/2013
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my 9 year old daughter who has expressed an interest in sewing. She has used her grandmother's Brother Sewing Machine (which is truly built like a tank!) and we felt comfortable buying the same brand name. The bobbin came pre-loaded and after reading the directions, we were up and running in 30 minutes. I LOVED the fact that this machine has a drop-in bobbin rather than the old style where you had to load the casing and clip it back into place. Plus, the clear see-through window lets you know when the bobbin is running low....rather than finding out the hard way. I did have someone nearby to help in case of trouble, but the machine was so easy to use that we didn't need it! The pictorials on top of the machine help as well. My daughter was up and sewing for her sister's costume in no time! I think I may have found my new hobby. Would highly reccommend to anyone who needed a good, basic machine to start a wonderful new hobby.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+139points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

A pretty understanding machine.

05/13/2014
By ,
Fargo, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am starting to work with plushes, sewing stuffed animals and costumes via commission work. After my first machine broke, I had taken the time to do hand sewing for these products, and it just didn't cut it. I needed another machine. Though maybe it was dumb of me to go for a cheaper machine, this sewing machine has really helped me out with my products so far! The only thing that happens is that the thread ends up getting loose and tangled, BUT that's definitely because sometimes I accidentally thread over the tension dial instead of properly threading under it. (I can be forgetful, oops.) To me, if you take your time with this machine when working with it, it gets you places in your projects well. It really does what the provided instructions and tutorials say it does. This is a good machine for everyone with their hobbies and if you need something for awhile reasonably priced for what you do with it, try it out!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great light weight machine

09/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a very expensive Brother machine and have been sewing for 40+ years and do a lot of quilting. This machine is a great value. It is fairly quiet and sews very well. I purchased it for my 94 year old mom to make repairs, etc. But after trying it out, I think I will get one for myself to take places. It is very light weight and easy to carry. The extra stitches work very well also and the bobbin is easy to wind and drop in. I was pleasantly surprised by this machine and would highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR MY 9 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER

01/02/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me begin by saying that I never review products but this time I had to! My daughter came home a few months ago with a hand sewn stuffed animal and expressesd her interest in her newfound love for sewing. I bought her a few of the American Girl kits and she breezed through them with ease. I knew I wanted to get her a sewing machine for Christmas; however I was a little down and out about it because I have never sewn before (outside of Home Ec. class 16 years ago). She opened this gift as a Christmas present and wanted to play with it over all of her more expensive items. We popped the DVD in and within 10 minutes she was sewing! She has made pajama pants for her American Girl dolls and I have made pants for her to match. She has made skirts, shirts, sock, shoes, pillows, blankets and sheets for her dolls and it has only been one week that she has had the product. Her clothes look awesome and the $2.00 that we pay for fabric makes the normal $30.00 American Girl doll outfits look ridiculous! If you are new to sewing I would recommend this machine to you. It is extremely easy to use. My daughter uses it by herself!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Beginner Sewer

05/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 68 years old and have not sewed since High School. Being retired I wanted to do some crafts that require sewing. Deciding I didn't want to spend a lot of money went online and found this Brother's machine.
Well, let me tell you.....it is so wonderful. Very easy to use and I feel that it will handle what I want for a sewing machine. Good machine to learn on and I even think that it would be good for an intermediate sewer.
Looking forward to a lot of fun things with this machine
Recommends this product? Yes
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

bought this at my local wall mart

10/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the brother jx2517
I have taken the time to check it out. Thinking if it is a lemon I could return it quickly.
His is not a computer machine .This machine is manual like my old singer in years past.
It is stable and solid feeling. Even though it is light weight it doesn’t feel like it will be easily knocked off the table.
I have a couple tom cats that play on my sewing table)
My machine came with a full bobbin and a needle. 1. My first straight sewing was not even stitches.
So I took out the bobbin and put one in with the same thread as my top spool.
And I also replaced the needle to a required size needed for my thread and sample fabric.
This time my project stitching was perfect!
I do plan to sew clothes and a few smaller quilt projects .
I think the machine a little loud, but I think this is normal for this machine.
I also tried out a few settings. And like the fact the setting for length is right on the dial.
So when I am on a project and need to turn the machine off. Later picking up the project again. The setting I had is still set. A nice stitch for basting easily pulled back out .
easy to thread and the light is right where it should be .
So far I love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Super little Machine

02/22/2014
By ,
Las Vegas Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a winter home and I needed a inexpensive machine to sew straight lines for quick mends and for small projects. I saw this machine and thought what could a wee 75 dollar machine offer - well I have to tell you, it's wonderful. It has a drop in bobbin, stitch lengths, decorative stitches, foot pedal, light, all the things that you need for quick mends, or to sew a project. I would recommend this machine to anyone, beginner to a experienced sewer. This little guy packs a powerful punch and is a little work horse. No regrets with this purchase, it's easy to use, love the drop in bobbin, easy thread, go for it, you won't be disappointed :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

As good as a Singer One

08/06/2014
By ,
Washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is comparable to a Singer One ($300+ machine) I used over the weekend. Besides the Singer computerized settings, this Brother machine got all the work done for the mere $70. I was hesitant about buying it at first but then I used it to make custom cushions for a bench and I have to say, it is a KEEPER! Don't hesitate like I did. This machine gets it done! I still need to explore using all the other many features; can't wait to!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great simple machine

07/27/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is easy to set up. Very easy to work with. Get things sewed fast. The price is right.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

great sewing machine for a beginner.

07/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Within minutes of opening the box I was sewing away like a pro!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Upgrade if you can afford it

12/19/2013
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have been sewing for many years - apparel and home decor. I purchased the Brother CS6000i a few years ago to have a lightweight, not too expensive machine at my home in Mexico. I have been very pleased with the features and performance of the CS6000i. After a sudden, unplanned return to the US for my husband's medical care, I purchased the Brother JX2517 to use while I am here, thinking it would be of the same overall quality as the CS6000i, but with fewer features. So far it has performed satisfactorily in the small projects I have done, but the overall feel of the machine is cheap, almost toy-like. You can't adjust the stitch length and width. The most used stitch lengths with alternate needle positions are part of the "17 stitches." I really miss the automatic needle threader. Even if you are a beginning sewer, do yourself a favor and upgrade to the CS600i if you can.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great easy to use machine

09/22/2014
By ,
Pierre, Sd
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a simple reliable sewing machine for basic sewing and crafting projects and this machine had great ratings.
I am extremely pleased with its' performance, the ease of use and how light and easy to move it is as well. The cost was very reasonable and I expected that it may be cheaply made because it was so inexpensive but that is not the case, very quality machine.
I like the little things that I consider "extras" on this model like the auto thread and the thread cutter on the left hand side of the machine.
You can not go wrong with this machine and I look forward to many years of using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Perfect for a beginner

04/08/2014
By ,
Palmdale, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this sewing machine for my daughter. She doesn't enjoy sewing but just wanted to have a machine for those times when she has to repair something.
I consider myself to be a pretty good seamstress and own a very nice Pfaff.
So, with all of this in mind I would rate the Brother JX2517 as "good". It runs quietly and makes nice utility stitches. But if you're looking for anything more than this, like decorative stitching, you'll need to upgrade.
For the price, it is perfect for a beginner. Easy to thread, easy bobbin winding and insertion, with a nice l.e.d. light. It is light weight for traveling which would be nice for someone who quilts and goes to gatherings to do their sewing because it will do a nice straight stitch for you. It also has a nice stretch stitch for sewing on t-shirt fabric.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great product for a beginner

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this sewing machine b/c I wanted to learn how to hem pants. The instruction manual and DVD were easy to follow. Over time, I how to learn how to quilt and I can still use the same machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

great light weight sewing machine

08/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this sewing machine for hemming slacks and other minor sewing jobs. It's perfect! I'm having a little trouble with the tension but haven't read all the instructions yet. I opened it, threaded it and started sewing fairly quickly. Great for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Nice

08/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money this machine is more than you could hope for. I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Amazing!

09/21/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this sewing machine and love it, it was so easy to put together. I have enjoyed using it and can't wait to do some bigger projects! I recommend this machine to everyone! Great but!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 202 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next