Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Brother Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

The Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517, is an easy-to-use sewing and mending machine that is well-suited for both the novice or more experienced home tailor. It includes a total of 17 built-in unique utility and decorative stitches. This Brother sewing machine also contains an automatic four-step buttonhole maker for added functionality. These features all come in one compact, lightweight sewing appliance. This stitch machine even comes with a jam-resistant quick-set drop-in top bobbin, eliminating the need to fish around for bobbin thread. It also includes a brightly lit LED work area. Repair a hem with the built-in blind hem stitch or create a home decor project with the many features of this Brothers sewing machine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.64 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(150 Reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
111
4 stars
32
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation96%144 out of 150reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 89 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
111
4 stars
32
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

This is wonderful!

12/30/2013
By ,
West Monroe, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted to learn how to sew, and when I was a child I dreamed of starting my own fashion line! So, I started sewing about 6-8 months ago (mostly just to start a new hobby) and was using my mother-in-law's machine. It was an old Singer. Within a week I knew I wanted my own machine because I was LOVING making clothes, and I knew eventually she was going to need her machine back. My husband bought me this one for Christmas and it is wonderful! It is so much quieter than the older machine I used, has more of a stitch selection, and it doesn't mess up on me like the other one did. (At least not yet!) It took some getting used to at first, but I really love it. I have already made 3 dresses and a shrug for our daughters! The stitches are holding up wonderfully (even with my rough and tough toddlers!), and the dresses are so cute. It definitely does the job, and I have already recommended it to a friend!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+118points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New York
Posted 03/08/2014
Waw...you are good!!!! I love that lil dress! I am going to purchase this for my sister as a surprise. I know she will love it and I can't wait for her to start making me some skirts. Lol.... thank you for the positive review!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Good for beginner.

01/23/2014
By ,
Anderson, sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

A pretty understanding machine.

05/13/2014
By ,
Fargo, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am starting to work with plushes, sewing stuffed animals and costumes via commission work. After my first machine broke, I had taken the time to do hand sewing for these products, and it just didn't cut it. I needed another machine. Though maybe it was dumb of me to go for a cheaper machine, this sewing machine has really helped me out with my products so far! The only thing that happens is that the thread ends up getting loose and tangled, BUT that's definitely because sometimes I accidentally thread over the tension dial instead of properly threading under it. (I can be forgetful, oops.) To me, if you take your time with this machine when working with it, it gets you places in your projects well. It really does what the provided instructions and tutorials say it does. This is a good machine for everyone with their hobbies and if you need something for awhile reasonably priced for what you do with it, try it out!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Wonderful!

10/01/2013
By ,
Tombstone, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Brother JX2517 in-store today. I took it home and it already had the bottom bobbin wound and in place, and a standard size needle 14 in place. It was very easy to operate and sewed a very good stitch. I like the fact that it is a lightweight machine, yet it can handle heavy fabrics. It has a double lift on the needle presser foot bar for thick materials.
I was surprised that it had "preset stitches". So, there is no fiddling with length or width dials.
It has 3 very nice satin stitches and something called Double Action Stitches 16, 17 for joining two pieces of fabric like in patchwork quilting. It has a left needle position stitch and also comes with a button hole making foot and button foot, and zipper foot.
This will be the machine I will take to quilting class. The sewing area seems extra large, yet it also has a free arm for hemming.
I like The Brother Sewing machines and this one is one of the prettiest and easiest machines I've seen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+195points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Easy to operate, great for beginners!

11/18/2013
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my 9 year old daughter who has expressed an interest in sewing. She has used her grandmother's Brother Sewing Machine (which is truly built like a tank!) and we felt comfortable buying the same brand name. The bobbin came pre-loaded and after reading the directions, we were up and running in 30 minutes. I LOVED the fact that this machine has a drop-in bobbin rather than the old style where you had to load the casing and clip it back into place. Plus, the clear see-through window lets you know when the bobbin is running low....rather than finding out the hard way. I did have someone nearby to help in case of trouble, but the machine was so easy to use that we didn't need it! The pictorials on top of the machine help as well. My daughter was up and sewing for her sister's costume in no time! I think I may have found my new hobby. Would highly reccommend to anyone who needed a good, basic machine to start a wonderful new hobby.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Beginner Sewer

05/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 68 years old and have not sewed since High School. Being retired I wanted to do some crafts that require sewing. Deciding I didn't want to spend a lot of money went online and found this Brother's machine.
Well, let me tell you.....it is so wonderful. Very easy to use and I feel that it will handle what I want for a sewing machine. Good machine to learn on and I even think that it would be good for an intermediate sewer.
Looking forward to a lot of fun things with this machine
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR MY 9 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER

01/02/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me begin by saying that I never review products but this time I had to! My daughter came home a few months ago with a hand sewn stuffed animal and expressesd her interest in her newfound love for sewing. I bought her a few of the American Girl kits and she breezed through them with ease. I knew I wanted to get her a sewing machine for Christmas; however I was a little down and out about it because I have never sewn before (outside of Home Ec. class 16 years ago). She opened this gift as a Christmas present and wanted to play with it over all of her more expensive items. We popped the DVD in and within 10 minutes she was sewing! She has made pajama pants for her American Girl dolls and I have made pants for her to match. She has made skirts, shirts, sock, shoes, pillows, blankets and sheets for her dolls and it has only been one week that she has had the product. Her clothes look awesome and the $2.00 that we pay for fabric makes the normal $30.00 American Girl doll outfits look ridiculous! If you are new to sewing I would recommend this machine to you. It is extremely easy to use. My daughter uses it by herself!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Super little Machine

02/22/2014
By ,
Las Vegas Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a winter home and I needed a inexpensive machine to sew straight lines for quick mends and for small projects. I saw this machine and thought what could a wee 75 dollar machine offer - well I have to tell you, it's wonderful. It has a drop in bobbin, stitch lengths, decorative stitches, foot pedal, light, all the things that you need for quick mends, or to sew a project. I would recommend this machine to anyone, beginner to a experienced sewer. This little guy packs a powerful punch and is a little work horse. No regrets with this purchase, it's easy to use, love the drop in bobbin, easy thread, go for it, you won't be disappointed :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Upgrade if you can afford it

12/19/2013
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have been sewing for many years - apparel and home decor. I purchased the Brother CS6000i a few years ago to have a lightweight, not too expensive machine at my home in Mexico. I have been very pleased with the features and performance of the CS6000i. After a sudden, unplanned return to the US for my husband's medical care, I purchased the Brother JX2517 to use while I am here, thinking it would be of the same overall quality as the CS6000i, but with fewer features. So far it has performed satisfactorily in the small projects I have done, but the overall feel of the machine is cheap, almost toy-like. You can't adjust the stitch length and width. The most used stitch lengths with alternate needle positions are part of the "17 stitches." I really miss the automatic needle threader. Even if you are a beginning sewer, do yourself a favor and upgrade to the CS600i if you can.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Perfect for a beginner

04/08/2014
By ,
Palmdale, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this sewing machine for my daughter. She doesn't enjoy sewing but just wanted to have a machine for those times when she has to repair something.
I consider myself to be a pretty good seamstress and own a very nice Pfaff.
So, with all of this in mind I would rate the Brother JX2517 as "good". It runs quietly and makes nice utility stitches. But if you're looking for anything more than this, like decorative stitching, you'll need to upgrade.
For the price, it is perfect for a beginner. Easy to thread, easy bobbin winding and insertion, with a nice l.e.d. light. It is light weight for traveling which would be nice for someone who quilts and goes to gatherings to do their sewing because it will do a nice straight stitch for you. It also has a nice stretch stitch for sewing on t-shirt fabric.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great sewing machine for a beginner

07/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have sewn two projects already since purchasing my machine last week. I am amazed at the ease of use, of this sewing machine. I look forward to many more projects, as I learn to sew and learn about my sewing machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

A good machine for any level sewer

05/19/2014
By ,
Hamilton, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Singer until last week when the easy threading feature did not work. I took it to be repaired but it was beyond hope. As I was not happy with the Singer shortly after I bought it years ago, I looked around for a simpler machine. I read the reviews on this 17 stitch Brothers, most of them favorable. I am happy with my choice.
Why? I appreciated the DVD, the instruction booklet and its simplicity.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Worth the price

03/27/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says. Works well for the price. Great for beginner sewers like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Sew Easy

05/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my Mother because every time she loaned machine out, it came back not working as it should (of course, the borrow-er has no idea why). Since Mom lives with ME now, the machine will NOT leave the premises. If someone wants something sewn, bring it on over...Mom loves to sew. She's had trouble with the getting the tension of the stitches right on her previous machines, but she loves how easy this machine is to operate. If she has a question, I have the user guide handy. If that gets lost, I have the CD (what a wonderful idea). If my Mom is happy, I'm happy!!! Thank You Brother.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

My Daughter LOVES it!

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughters 12th BDay, and she loves it! She's sews everything form the smallest hole in a sock to making bedding for her dolls. She's really having fun learning the new stitch patterns and has started making some clothes for herself. It's kind of a shame since I can't use a sewing machine to save my life!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Getting used to new options

06/12/2014
By ,
Northeast Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy using it. It's fun to patch with. The only thing I don't care for is where the presser foot lever and the screw for the presser foot are located. I'm anxious to start making clothes and other things with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Good product. Meet my expectations

12/01/2013
By ,
Houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am happy with the purchase overall. I used it to extend sleeves of my shirt on the second day. It worked well. Multiple stitches allow you to choose for differen purposes. A couple of issues (actually not issues but need to be careful and spend more time) I would like to mention: 1) The instruction is not obvious or as easy as I thought. It took me a little longer to understand. They should do a better job on instruction manual or quick reference guide 2) You'd better try on scrap for a particular stitch type. Otherwise, it will be very difficult for you to undo it. You can not rely on the picture of stitch on machine for the effect on your clothes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Easy to Use, Worked Fine

08/29/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little worried about buying this without any reviews available, but I went ahead and got it. I've never sewn on a sewing machine before in my life, but I took it home, set it up, watched a youtube video and made a pillowcase. Threaded the bobbin, popped it in and threaded the upper part, and started sewing within maybe 10-15 mins. It comes with a "quick start" threading guide, so I didn't even open the manual it came with.
This was last night, so hopefully it doesn't break or anything on me now, but overall I'm pretty impressed at how easy it was. (I don't really have anything to compare it to though, and I've always been a quick learner.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Alabama
A Singer owner all my life until NOW
Posted 12/01/2013
I have a Singer I have used for 45 years. It is a good one. Made with only medal.
Very old but still gets the job done. Wonted a new one so I went with a new singer.
I hated it. All plastic except for foot. Kept breaking needles, jamming up, and snagging everything light weight. I took it back to Wal-Mart. Saw this cute Brothers machine cost a lot cheaper than the singer. I was like I will get what I paid for. I LOVE, LOVE, this sewing machine. It is so durable for the price. Buy this Machine I give it 20 stars.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
So far, so good!
Posted 09/21/2013
I've had this machine for maybe a week. It was very easy to set up, comes with an informative DVD (which I actually found helpful) AND an instruction booklet. I've sewn extensively but not for many years, so this was a totally new experience compared to the old machine I used to have. Had no problems setting this one up and sewing. Created a pattern and made a cute scarf for my dog as a 'first' project and had no problem at all. As much as I like the machine itself so far, the Brother website leaves a lot to be desired. I registered the machine online and then decided to search for available accessories and other information. Unfortunately, the site does not even list this model! I have emailed customer support, so I'm interested to see how quick their response time is and how helpful they are. Based on my short experience sewing on this machine, I would recommend it to others who are looking for an inexpensive but good basic machine.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

First Sewing Machine, meets expectations.

11/12/2013
By ,
Fort Hood, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm so glad I decided to order this machine. This is my first sewing machine and so far I haven't run into any problems at all. I've been using it almost everyday since it arrived. The included instructional DVD is really helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Excellent machine for the price

11/18/2013
By ,
clermont, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not use a sewing machine since I was a small child with my grandmother and this one seems to be very easy to use once I got the tension correct I was hemming up pants in no time it comes with many attachments for more advance stuff great machine I love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 150 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next