Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Brother Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

The Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517, is an easy-to-use sewing and mending machine that is well-suited for both the novice or more experienced home tailor. It includes a total of 17 built-in unique utility and decorative stitches. This Brother sewing machine also contains an automatic four-step buttonhole maker for added functionality. These features all come in one compact, lightweight sewing appliance. This stitch machine even comes with a jam-resistant quick-set drop-in top bobbin, eliminating the need to fish around for bobbin thread. It also includes a brightly lit LED work area. Repair a hem with the built-in blind hem stitch or create a home decor project with the many features of this Brothers sewing machine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.594 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(315 Reviews) 315
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
239
4 stars
54
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation95%299 out of 315reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
131 Questions | 148 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
239
4 stars
54
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

This is wonderful!

12/30/2013
By ,
West Monroe, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted to learn how to sew, and when I was a child I dreamed of starting my own fashion line! So, I started sewing about 6-8 months ago (mostly just to start a new hobby) and was using my mother-in-law's machine. It was an old Singer. Within a week I knew I wanted my own machine because I was LOVING making clothes, and I knew eventually she was going to need her machine back. My husband bought me this one for Christmas and it is wonderful! It is so much quieter than the older machine I used, has more of a stitch selection, and it doesn't mess up on me like the other one did. (At least not yet!) It took some getting used to at first, but I really love it. I have already made 3 dresses and a shrug for our daughters! The stitches are holding up wonderfully (even with my rough and tough toddlers!), and the dresses are so cute. It definitely does the job, and I have already recommended it to a friend!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+325points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New York
Posted 03/08/2014
Waw...you are good!!!! I love that lil dress! I am going to purchase this for my sister as a surprise. I know she will love it and I can't wait for her to start making me some skirts. Lol.... thank you for the positive review!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Good for beginner.

01/23/2014
By ,
Anderson, sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Wonderful!

10/01/2013
By ,
Tombstone, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Brother JX2517 in-store today. I took it home and it already had the bottom bobbin wound and in place, and a standard size needle 14 in place. It was very easy to operate and sewed a very good stitch. I like the fact that it is a lightweight machine, yet it can handle heavy fabrics. It has a double lift on the needle presser foot bar for thick materials.
I was surprised that it had "preset stitches". So, there is no fiddling with length or width dials.
It has 3 very nice satin stitches and something called Double Action Stitches 16, 17 for joining two pieces of fabric like in patchwork quilting. It has a left needle position stitch and also comes with a button hole making foot and button foot, and zipper foot.
This will be the machine I will take to quilting class. The sewing area seems extra large, yet it also has a free arm for hemming.
I like The Brother Sewing machines and this one is one of the prettiest and easiest machines I've seen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+494points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Easy to operate, great for beginners!

11/18/2013
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my 9 year old daughter who has expressed an interest in sewing. She has used her grandmother's Brother Sewing Machine (which is truly built like a tank!) and we felt comfortable buying the same brand name. The bobbin came pre-loaded and after reading the directions, we were up and running in 30 minutes. I LOVED the fact that this machine has a drop-in bobbin rather than the old style where you had to load the casing and clip it back into place. Plus, the clear see-through window lets you know when the bobbin is running low....rather than finding out the hard way. I did have someone nearby to help in case of trouble, but the machine was so easy to use that we didn't need it! The pictorials on top of the machine help as well. My daughter was up and sewing for her sister's costume in no time! I think I may have found my new hobby. Would highly reccommend to anyone who needed a good, basic machine to start a wonderful new hobby.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+160points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

A pretty understanding machine.

05/13/2014
By ,
Fargo, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am starting to work with plushes, sewing stuffed animals and costumes via commission work. After my first machine broke, I had taken the time to do hand sewing for these products, and it just didn't cut it. I needed another machine. Though maybe it was dumb of me to go for a cheaper machine, this sewing machine has really helped me out with my products so far! The only thing that happens is that the thread ends up getting loose and tangled, BUT that's definitely because sometimes I accidentally thread over the tension dial instead of properly threading under it. (I can be forgetful, oops.) To me, if you take your time with this machine when working with it, it gets you places in your projects well. It really does what the provided instructions and tutorials say it does. This is a good machine for everyone with their hobbies and if you need something for awhile reasonably priced for what you do with it, try it out!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Love it. Great value. Easy.

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this machine. Sewed as a child a bit and always wanted to do more, so I purchased this for the basics such as pillows to get started. Delighted with the 17 stitches, assorted feet, and built-in buttonholer. WOW! Machines like this used to be expensive years ago.
DVD is excellent and gets you up and running in no time.
Book is equally good with enough detail but is not overwhelming.
Came with a bobbin already wound and installed. Very encouraging.
Machine is easy to thread and it is even labeled on the machine.
Foot pedal action is very nice with a slow start and not too touchy as you go faster
Light as a feather and I can carry it from room to room.
Sewed a 1/4" lip cord on a pillow with the zipper foot and it worked beautifully.
Good feed with no jams except when I advanced after backstiching - my mistake.
I highly recommend this machine for the beginning sewer. The price is fantastic for the features and various feet and included buttonholer.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Brother sewing machine

02/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a Brother sewing machine that I bought about ten years ago. I literally sewed it to death. It quit in the middle of a seam and said "no more I am done" Because I really liked the machine and could count on it to do what I wanted, I bought another one, the next step up in price range. It has pretty flowers on the front. I have been sewing on this machine for two weeks. It does what I need. Straight stitch, zigzag and backwards. I don't use a lot of fancy stitches but they are there if I want and very easy to select. I love the double position pressure foot as I am sewing fleece. The top load bobbin is nice now that I am used to it. The clear plastic bobbins are annoying because if I drop one I can't see it to pick up. And speaking of seeing the LED light gives hardly any light and as I have old eyes it is very difficult to see what I am doing. I have positioned a lamp right behind the machine so I can see.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Quick set up, easy to use

05/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From box to seeing took no time at all. Very easy. Great machine for a beginner like me.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Upgrade if you can afford it

12/19/2013
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have been sewing for many years - apparel and home decor. I purchased the Brother CS6000i a few years ago to have a lightweight, not too expensive machine at my home in Mexico. I have been very pleased with the features and performance of the CS6000i. After a sudden, unplanned return to the US for my husband's medical care, I purchased the Brother JX2517 to use while I am here, thinking it would be of the same overall quality as the CS6000i, but with fewer features. So far it has performed satisfactorily in the small projects I have done, but the overall feel of the machine is cheap, almost toy-like. You can't adjust the stitch length and width. The most used stitch lengths with alternate needle positions are part of the "17 stitches." I really miss the automatic needle threader. Even if you are a beginning sewer, do yourself a favor and upgrade to the CS600i if you can.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR MY 9 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER

01/02/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me begin by saying that I never review products but this time I had to! My daughter came home a few months ago with a hand sewn stuffed animal and expressesd her interest in her newfound love for sewing. I bought her a few of the American Girl kits and she breezed through them with ease. I knew I wanted to get her a sewing machine for Christmas; however I was a little down and out about it because I have never sewn before (outside of Home Ec. class 16 years ago). She opened this gift as a Christmas present and wanted to play with it over all of her more expensive items. We popped the DVD in and within 10 minutes she was sewing! She has made pajama pants for her American Girl dolls and I have made pants for her to match. She has made skirts, shirts, sock, shoes, pillows, blankets and sheets for her dolls and it has only been one week that she has had the product. Her clothes look awesome and the $2.00 that we pay for fabric makes the normal $30.00 American Girl doll outfits look ridiculous! If you are new to sewing I would recommend this machine to you. It is extremely easy to use. My daughter uses it by herself!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+132points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Perfect for a beginner

04/08/2014
By ,
Palmdale, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this sewing machine for my daughter. She doesn't enjoy sewing but just wanted to have a machine for those times when she has to repair something.
I consider myself to be a pretty good seamstress and own a very nice Pfaff.
So, with all of this in mind I would rate the Brother JX2517 as "good". It runs quietly and makes nice utility stitches. But if you're looking for anything more than this, like decorative stitching, you'll need to upgrade.
For the price, it is perfect for a beginner. Easy to thread, easy bobbin winding and insertion, with a nice l.e.d. light. It is light weight for traveling which would be nice for someone who quilts and goes to gatherings to do their sewing because it will do a nice straight stitch for you. It also has a nice stretch stitch for sewing on t-shirt fabric.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great light weight machine

09/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a very expensive Brother machine and have been sewing for 40+ years and do a lot of quilting. This machine is a great value. It is fairly quiet and sews very well. I purchased it for my 94 year old mom to make repairs, etc. But after trying it out, I think I will get one for myself to take places. It is very light weight and easy to carry. The extra stitches work very well also and the bobbin is easy to wind and drop in. I was pleasantly surprised by this machine and would highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Sturdy little guy!

12/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this after throwing my old (and admittedly far outliving its useful stage) sewing machine after the fourth time it jammed in 5 inches of fabric. I figured that it was such a low price (about $50) that even if it only lasted me a few projects then it had earned its keep. Still going strong about 10 projects in 1 month!
Not a fancy machine by any means, but a sturdy, well built machine if nothing else. Great for a beginner (or to hold me until I can find the money to replace it with a high quality machine). Easy to thread and the bobbin is really easy to load. Comes with a variety of different machine feet and a great instructional video about different stitches you can do with it. Even comes with an automatic button hole!
The only complaint I have is the plastic piece that closes over the bobbin is not attached. Knowing myself well, I feel as though this may be a problem and that it will shortly be lost...
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Terrific machine for the price

12/02/2013
By ,
Marshall, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my granddaughter for Christmas. As an experienced sewer I opened it to familiarize myself with the machine and to see if it would serve the purpose for a seven year old novice. I couldn't be more pleased. It sews well, makes a utile; uncomplicated buttonhole and has all the stitches she'll need for a long time. It's simple to operate and I feel certain the Brother name will ensure reliability. Great value for the price
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Not even a good machine for a beginner.

03/11/2014
By ,
Maryville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first time I used this machine, I thought it worked beautifully. I noticed it would pull several threads from my bobbin, but nothing too terribly bad. The second and third time I used it, it was terrible. The needle kept unthreading and when pulling my material away, it was hard to pull because it was pulling 6-7 threads from my bobbin. In addition, the needle would jump to the side several times, and this would be on a regular stitch setting, and sometimes the needle would just jam altogether. I wasn't using thick material or anything. It was really bad. I am a beginner and my teacher couldn't even understand why it was doing what it was doing. She was worried my bad experience would discourage my desire to sew. It hasn't, but I decided to take this one back and try a different model (a Singer). I had to pay a little more, but I would rather do that than deal with the issues this Brother machine had, over and over again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Great product

12/08/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I want to buy a comforter for my son's toddler bed. However, I only found twin/full size ones. I decided to cut the comforter into two. I bought this sewing machine to do the work smoothly, no jam. It works great. Now my son has two comforters.
I only watched my uncle working on his sewing machine more than 20 years ago. This is the first time I use a sewing machine. However, I have no problem with the machine. It has already been assembled. Just got the threads. The directions are clear, concise, and useful. Strongly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Dropdown bobbin problem.

02/17/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had had dropdown bobbin problems with this Model. Because it is very difficult to thread from bobbin to bobbin case. Unlike front loading bobbin machine, this model's bobbin case is not easily out so when bobbin case is in it's position, the bobbin case's ear(sticking out portion for threading)is so deep in, I was struggling to thread from bobbin to its case ear. May be this particular model is not good design for that problem. I had seen on Youtube, the other model's dropdown bobbin case ear is significantely raised for easy threading. I prefer front loading bobbin machine equiped with automatic needle threading so I had returned this machine.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine

05/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is easy to use, it's light so I can move it anywhere, has options on which sewing pattern you might Use for different sewing projects
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

Excellent machine for the price

11/18/2013
By ,
clermont, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not use a sewing machine since I was a small child with my grandmother and this one seems to be very easy to use once I got the tension correct I was hemming up pants in no time it comes with many attachments for more advance stuff great machine I love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother 17 Stitch Sewing Machine, JX2517

BEST FOR A BEGINNER LIKE ME!!

03/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am absolutely new to sewing. I purchased this based on reviews and couldnt be more happy that I did. Extremely easy to use, produces high quality stitches, it has lots of cute extra stitches, and instructions are clear. I have been sewing non stop and for a beginner like me this machine is worth every penny
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 315 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next