Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Back to Basics Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

Back to Basics Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

With the Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder, you can now grind meat fairly easily. It allows you to control just how lean you want your meat to be. With a powerful 200 watt motor, this pro meat grinder lets you cut your meat just the way you want. This electric meat grinder has a stainless steel knife and three steel blades that allow fine, medium, and coarse grinding. The Back to Basics Meat Grinder also comes with a sausage stuffing attachment. It is easy to operate and enables you to grind meat faster than a hand grinder. It can even slice and grind partially frozen meat. Designed with die-cast metal parts, this sausage meat grinder will perform consistently for a long time. As the parts can be easily detached, you can finish off cleaning in a jiffy. Enjoy making your own hamburger patties, meatloaf mix, or fresh sausage. With the Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder, you will be tempted to make more home-cooked meals that are healthier and tastier.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
37
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation70%84 out of 120reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 32 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
37
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

Electric Meat Grinder

01/28/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The product is VERY noisy. Recommend ear plugs.
We also had a problem because the parts did not fit together properly. The "shoulder" is too high where the auger and the knife fit together, is not flush, so it does not grind efficiently.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

One of the best

01/07/2009
By ,
Wooster, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for an answer to a problem. I wanted a great burger and all I had were roast out in the freezer. I didn't want the buy-a-burger. I wanted a juicy mouth watering great burger. You never know what goes in those ground meats at the store, or at the burger joints. I bought this Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder for myself to get what I wanted. That first Burger was the best Burger I have ever eaten. I can't wait to have another one. I also made chili out of this ground meat and it turned out to be the best chili. My husband asked for more, in fact he ate all that I made. Now that I have this machine I will be making more home cooked meals.
BetterHomemaker
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

Usless to me

03/12/2010
By ,
scottsdale az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The large cutting plate that came with the machine, is defective, as the center hole is too small to fit on the feed screw. I wanted this machine to grind up beef for hamburger. After 2 months of back and forth hazzling, Back to Basics has yet to send a replacement plate. They just kill time asking for the same old model #, date code, and proof o purchase from Walmart, all of which I have mailed back over the past 8 + weeks. Without thsi item the machine is usless and un-usable to me.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

Not good quality

01/10/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this grinder as a gift for my husband. The intent was to make things simpler by using an electric grinder instead of a hand grinder to grind up our venison. This grinder was unable to process or grind up the venison because the blades kept getting clogged up! We are quite sure it is because it is now powerful enough. we found it much easier to use the hand grinder although it takes a long time. We will be looking for a more powerful grinder. This grinder may work for other types of meat but not venison!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

Not a good experience

01/05/2011
By ,
Cascade CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall the product looked attractive and durable, however, the actual operation of the product proved different. I bought two thinking I may have just got a bad one the first time. First grinder worked great for about three and a half hours before a loud stripping noise occured and the grinder stopped working. The second never worked out of the box. I returned both to walmart for a refund. Was pleased they accepted both with no hassels. I ordered a different product and we'll try that one
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

Flimsy and cheap

08/06/2008
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I put it together, I worried that it felt flimsy. Well, it lived down to that expectation, and others. The feeder tube didn't seal well, so it leaked meat juice all over, and there was so much space between the plunger and the wall that the meat didn't move well. Then the thing got stuck turned on and wouldn't turn off unless I unplugged it . . . I returned it the next day. Spend a few more bucks and get a sturdy reliable unit, unless you plan on grinding something soft like bologna.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

Meat Grinder review

04/29/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hello all,
Okay guys and gals I bought this meat grinder because I want to grind my chicken which I purchase in bulk. I eat a lot chicken around 40 lbs every 2 months, so you can see I was ready to put this grinder to a test. I purchased through the online option and got it on time. I opened it up and it looked like a solid piece, it is easy to put it together, solid steel nose, three nets, one blade and a cheap old plastic piece to force the meat in the grinder, you would need that because you have to force the chicken in order to grind and once you get done you have to get the last few big chunkes by hand because it would spit it out no matter what you did, now obviously you have to shut the machine off and take it apart do that, so that is really not cool either, more time in things you dont' won't to be bothered about. You have to push the meat in hard to get all the meat out grinded, it is really not a fun part either as I said. It is very noisy no doubt about it! Now it does come with a reverse button, I didn't get impress with that because that was of no use when your meat gets stuck in there, no matter what I did the grinder was not strong enough to grind the chicken all the way actually a bit slow even though I kept pushing the chicking in the grinder. Over all I would not purchase this grinder ever againl. It was loud, parts won't fit in though as I said in the start it is easy to put it together, it was like as if the nose would not get attached perfectly in the motor. Please save your money and time and buy something better than this machine. Here you guys I gave you guys and gals clear cut simple review so now you can make a better decision on your own and that is not to buy this machine :)) Oh by the way I didn't just grinded all 40lbs of chicken in 1 go, I actually tried 4 lbs at a time!
Thanks every1 and have a blessed day!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sunny, southern CA
Posted 12/30/2011
Thank you for your complete review. The only point I am wondering about is if you returned it and upgraded your machine. If so, what are your comments on it and which machine did you upgrade to?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 28 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

Nice good value grinder

10/01/2009
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the lowest price electric grinder I could find, even when I search on eBay. Works great, first time use I run it about 20 minutes non-stop. I was afraid that it will overheated but it didn't. It does the job I wanted. For regular household use this is a perfect electric grinder, easy to assemble and wash. I highly recommend this product if you are looking for a light weight use meat grinder. I use it to grind beef and pork and it grind it pretty quickly too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

A great Deal

01/01/2011
By ,
Wauchula, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband has been saving meat in the freezer this hunting season waiting for me to buy him a meat grinder as a gift. Well I finally did it about a week before Christmas and we are very pleased. This baby ground up deer meat for an entire afternoon and it did a great job. Easy clean up also. Not to mention I had it sent site to home and it could not have been better. I will recommend this product to anyone is looking for one that works well at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

Very disappointed

08/20/2008
By ,
Williana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very good and very bad.
It ground the meat perfectly and was easy to load.
A little noisey but no big deal.
Very HARD to clean.
Most of the bigger parts lost their shine when I washed them. After drying there was a grey residue
that came off on my hands and towel.
Couldn't use it again until I cleaned off the powdery stuff and rubbed it down with oil which made it greasy and nasty.
Would not recommend it to anyone with out a warning about cleaning.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

Does what it is suppose to do

12/29/2007
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
*Who can get excited over a meat grinder
but heres my take on it.
*Does what u expect it to do exceptionally well.
*Buy the casings, walla make sausages u r way.
*Ham, chicken, burgers whatever u think, its
dooable.
*A bucks saver for a couple on a budget.
*A must have for a familys food budget great value.
*Havent had it long enough to say its durable.
*Would I buy it again "Trust me" yep.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

grandparents loved it

12/30/2007
By ,
OHIO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this product for our grandparents to use to make deer burger. They loved it. They could use it with ease and said it did exactly what they would hoped it would do. The only downfall that they noticed was you had to cut the deer into small pieces to feed it through the machine. We (they) would recommend this product to anyone looking to make ground meat patties for their family.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

Noisy machine (grinding only)

12/26/2007
By ,
Durham, NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very loud and noisy, however good on grinding. Main reason for purchasing was to home-make sausages. Extremely slow on filling sausages, also bad design on the down-pusher (it creates vacuum and it is very difficult to pull it out for a new meat fill). I did return it for the above mentioned reasons. It also comes with a single year warranty (not two as listed on Walmart's website).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

PRETTY GOOD

05/10/2010
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to grind meat for dog food for my 4 girls! It's cheaper to buy larger cut of meat when they are on sale and grind them myself. I ground a couple of steaks and thought it worked well. It was, a bit messy to clean up, so the next time, I will have a bunch more meat so it will be worth dirtying up the machine.
I think it is a pretty good thing and I'm glad I got it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

great grinder. not a pro grinder be slow with it

11/17/2008
By ,
bearden ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this grinder for 2 yaers i ahve been looking for a good grinder for years to grind deer meat the cheapest i could i found was about 400 dollors this one does a grat job i have run about 600 pounds of deer meat threw it you just cant force deer maet threw it and you need to trim the meat real good and it also grindes wild hog meat it to some great sauage
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder
03/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i couldnt wait to recieve this product, and when it came, i put it to use right away. it works fantastic and i grind up a couple of pork roast and what to you know, i had mounds of meat and then i seasoned the meat and OMG, the most awesome sausages came from the results. get this product people. you wont be sorry. i give it a 10+++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

01/02/2008
By ,
Kennerdell, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I purchased one of these a few years back and LOVE it. We use it for grinding our venison for bologna and for burger. It works very well...it is compact, easy to clean, easy to store and comes with everything you may need..I highly recommend this machine, we liked it so much we bought my inlaws one for Christmas!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

Terrific Product

07/24/2008
By ,
Norwich,CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product because the price of ground beef is so high. I can buy steak or a roast for less $ and grind it myself.Controling the amount of fat is an added bonus. I am very pleased with the quality of this grinder. It is very easy to use and to clean.
I used Site-To-Store shipping and it could not have been easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

loud grinding noise

01/04/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i got this for my mother in law for christmas because she loves to make sausages. two days later she opened it to use it for the first time and all she got was a loud grinding noise like the machine was going to give out and a weird smell. needless to say i'm returning it and will just get her a manual handcrank one instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Back to Basics Pro Electric Meat Grinder

Some what disappointed.

03/26/2011
By ,
Trinity, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love ham salad. So much that I burned up my wifes mixer grinding ham. Thought maybe this would be the solution and don't get me wrong it works fine so far. The complaint is, you had better be wearing ear plugs when you use it. This thing drowns out everything for miles. Happily I am onece again eating ham salad.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 97 total reviews