Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Singer Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

This Singer Classic 23-Stitch Mechanical Sewing Machine features a powerful motor and an extra-high sewing speed (1,000 stitches per minute), allowing you to sew just about anything. The heavy-duty metal interior frame and stainless steel bed plate is rugged and durable enough to withstand heavy usage. This 44S Singer heavy-duty sewing machine includes an automatic needle threader with a top drop-in bobbin. This can help you save time so that you can start on your project sooner. It comes with 23 built-in stitches that are useful for creating a variety of embellishments, as well as standard stitching applications. This classic sewing machine allows you to adjust the stitch width, density and length, making it suitable for almost any project. Three needle positions give you flexibility when sewing different types of fabrics and materials. This Singer Classic 23-Stitch Mechanical Sewing Machine comes with a variety of accessories, such as a light for enhanced viewing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.426 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(176 Reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
123
4 stars
32
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation91%161 out of 176reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
112 Questions | 180 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
123
4 stars
32
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Really good machine

10/19/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this machine for a month and a half and it is awesome! I bought it to make my son a costume and it has worked out really good. I bought some heavy duty needles to sew up some jeans but I haven't tried it out yet, I'm sure it'll work. I don't really have any complaints but if I were to have to complain about something it would be the stitching. I wish there was something that showed what all the stitching looked like but I just grabbed some scraps and stitched all the patterns for a layout.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Fantastic Sewing Machine

03/09/2014
By ,
Sioux City, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not sewn since 8th grade and 36 yrs later I could easily recall what I learned on this sewing machine. I followed the directions and I was quickly sewing my pillows with ease. The machine is a quality and durable machine and sews on duck fabric and burlap with ease! I use this machine to sew pillows for my business.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Excellent, if you have a little knowledge already

04/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I sew for a living and I wanted something that would last a long time and was able to do a variety of things so I can expand without worrying about what my machine can handle. This is HEAVY DUTY, mannn. The instructions were excellent, there was even instructions on the machine how to thread it (though I already had some knowledge of that). The only reason this is 4 stars is because somehow, the housing for the bobbin was not resting as it should in its own housing, which caused a lot of problems and it was unusable for a couple days, and I couldn't work on anything.
But after I called my friend who knows some about sewing machines, they helped me by taking a look at it, and found that it was the bobbin housing (the thing the bobbin goes in) wasn't resting properly. Once it was back in the proper position and not wobbling around, everything was fine and I can zoom ahead and do all my sewing with no worries. It makes me feel like I'm using power tools, but it's so easy and I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

44S Singer Sewing Machine

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine last week for my wife,so went to walmart and bought the jean needles,they didn't have the duel Needles there so will have to search the internet for them,it has a Nice handle so you can carry it with ease but i bought the Universal case to,keep dust dirt ETC off of it,My wife said this machine is all any one needs to sew any thing,the foot switch is like your gas peddle you can go slow or fast the case on the foot peddle it is Plastic so don't stomp on it,The Machine has a swing arm and duel needle capable,I see these machines sell for a lot higher in other stores about 11 dollars cheaper online here than at walmart,it It was deliverd here in 4 days no dents or nothing packaged well,,Go to youtube and search for the 44s singer they have a lot of good information there,I didn't get the extended warranty since it was to high..if it goes bad before 90 days i will update the review..Oh yes the machine is plastic not metal but seems heavy duty tho,Good Luck.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

A heart of Iron

09/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm sure it's going to sound trite, but here goes anyway: As I unpacked this machine (my second) I swear I heard a somewhat mechanical voice saying, "I think I can, I think I can...".
Could it have been my imagination?
This is indeed my second machine, used in a Light Industrial setting. The Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical feeds the argument: 'You don't need a pile-driver to push a thumb-tack.' it also shows how the refinement of cam-and-gear mechanics, over a period of time, can produce flawless speed and simplicity in a sewing machine.
It is not surprising that this machine's variety of 'fun' stitches is limited (fewer than electronics which have oh, so many) but here's the point: before Singer started up with all those zig-zag, fancy stitches, Nobody needed 'em.
The Classic Mechanical is Twice as Fast as Electronic machines outputting the same work. I know, I have both. That sold me right there, perfect stitching in half the time... our production soared. I stand behind my review and assure you, kind reader, that the Classic Mechanical is a Can Do sewing machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Singer Classic

05/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is terrific! It's easy to use and can handle all fabrics, denim included. I like it so much I named her! I make quilt tops and this machine is perfect. It does have some other stitches, zig zag, blanket stitch, etc. I like the "see through" drop in bobbin. The price is great! You can't go wrong with this machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Grear machine for a great price.

05/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. Works great on leather or fabric. Amazing.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Singer Classic 44S

04/15/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this machine about 2 weeks ago and the machine itself is great. I chose this machine based on customer reviews and the fact that Singer has been around for so long. But I am very disappointed with the Instruction Manual that came with it. The first thing I discovered is that the model number for the bobbin is not listed in the manual. I had to go to the Singer website to find that information. The second thing is that there is no reference made as to how or when to oil the machine. Again, I am relying on the Internet to find this information. The most aggravating part is that there is no stitch guide in the manual. There is simply an image of the stitches that are on the stitch pattern dial. There are no names or descriptions of the stitches. I found a stitch guide on the Singer website, but it is not very helpful in that it only shows images. You must click on the image to see the name of the stitch. Because there are some stitches that are similar, it is confusing. I am very disappointed in this lack of information. My older, other brand machine included all of this in their manual. I would rather be sewing than having to search the Internet for information on how to use my machine. I am seriously considering returning it.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Good Basic Machine---Too Early to Judge Durability

07/19/2014
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an older model Singer I had inherited from my mother, when I discovered that it cost less than the price of repairs. My needs are simple, no fancy stitching, just basic repairs and hemming jeans, trousers, and the like. I wanted a heavy duty machine for this and this is what is advertised. So far, it works well. I had a bit of trouble adjusting the thread tension for the heavy jean thread I was using, (needed to go outside the range suggested in the instruction folder) and I have not gotten the automatic needle threader to work very well. Again, perhaps this was because of the heavy thread.
One negative thing that I did find was that the instruction folder---I won't dignify it by calling it a book--leaves a lot to be desired. I still have the 1975 book that came with my mom's machine, and it is much better. Larger in size with considerably more information, and far more clear in its exposition, it is heads and shoulders above the current effort.
I can understand that Singer makes cuts to reach their manufacturing cost goals, but perhaps they could have their technical writers use their old manuals as a framework, updated the areas when appropriate, and publish them online, with a link prominently noted in the instruction folder. This is not an original idea. Many software publishers do the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Not a seamstress

05/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm just a guy who will never be a seamstress but I like to repair as opposed to replace.
this works great. Just yesterday I was repairing some neoprene KEEN water shoes.
There are many great YOUTUBE videos to help you get started and provide helpful hints. I have repair jean seams and this handles that with no problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Built Ford tough

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine because I wanted something I could use to repair my jeans, socks, and whatever else I could find that it could be used for. I am a truck driver, not a taylor, and I never payed much attention in home-ec class. I had no idea what I was doing, but after reading the directions carefully and messing a few things up I had the machine up and running. After a little practice I took it to a pair of jeans that had a few holes in it. It works very well, I ran it right through several layers of denim by the pockets and it barely flinched. It seems to be a good quality machine, and at a good price. It is well worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Just what I needed

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I was looking for. I didnt want the fancy digital stitches and mire alarms than I could possible tolerate. This is a great heavy duty basics machine. It does everything that most of us need. I had bought an electronic , digital display model two years ago and it never sewed right. It was always binding up and alarming. I never could sew an entire seam without it fouling up at least once. This one is wonderful for the beginner , but r the seasoned sewer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Great machine!

03/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a seamstress with 35 yrs. experience. I own 4 sewing machines. I wanted a machine that would sew light weight material for Halloween costumes as well as one that would do heavier stuff like several layers of denim, this machine does both very well. The 1000 stitches per min. helps a lot with long seams like curtains too. I looked for awhile for a replacement for my old Dressmaker & I'm very happy with this one. I don't use the decorative stitch function much, but I love that I can see how much thread is on the bobbin & the auto thread is of enormous help. If your looking for a good basic machine, this is it. Wal-mart shipped it right to my house & very quickly. I'm very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+271points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Singer Classic 44S

02/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only complaint I have about this machine is the handle to carry it by. The handle is attached to the top of the machine that comes off to clean the inside components. So when you try to pick it up by the handle the top comes off. Should have just left the handle off of this item. Other than that I love this machine. The first thing I sewed with it was jeans that I needed to hem up. It breezed right over the seams barely bogged it down and it it much more quite than my old machine. I'm looking forward to sewing again and not have to fuss with the tension and other problems I had with my old machine. (which is almost 40 yrs old)
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Durable, dependable, Singer quality!

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this to hem my slacks. I'm a short guy and my inseam is 24" and unable to buy trousers off the rack that fit. The machine has all ready paid for itself. I've saved time and money hemming my own slacks. Comes with an instruction booklet. Easy to set up and has many features that I may not ever use. It's a great buy! Durable, dependable, Singer quality!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Moderate experienced

05/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I know my way around a sewing machine. But haven't owned one for 10 years & was nervouse to go at it again! This was perfect! Very simple to use. Recovered my patio chairs, and it worked great with the heavy material! Great buy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Great machine

11/24/2013
By ,
Ocala, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I killed my old machine, so I went and got a Singer Classic. It is great. I love the needle threader and all the stretch stitches!! I know I'm going to enjoy it for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Very happy!

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a very basic machine because I never used a sewing machine before, and this machine was perfect! It is basic but powerful. Easy to use, great price. I love it and highly recommend it, especially for beginners like me. :-)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

A great buy!

12/19/2013
By ,
Rushville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I purchased this sewing machine and wouldn't take anything for it. I love all of the features and how it is so easy to use. The stitching is great and the machine seems really durable. It is super easy to thread and wind and insert a bobbin. The automatic needle threader is also great. It sews very fast and I have no trouble slowing it down with the foot pedal if I need to. I have put this machine through its paces since I bought it a couple of weeks ago and it has performed flawlessly throughout many sewing projects. I had tried several Singer computerized models that I ended up returning but this mechanical model is a keeper. I even highly recommended this machine to my friends on my Facebook page. If I could change one thing, it would be to have a few more decorative stitches, but all in all, I am thrilled with this model.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Singer Machine

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great machine. Easy to work and you can feel the power as you sew. This machine is a workhorse. I would definetly recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 176 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next