Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Singer Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

This Singer Classic 23-Stitch Mechanical Sewing Machine features a powerful motor and an extra-high sewing speed (1,000 stitches per minute), allowing you to sew just about anything. The heavy-duty metal interior frame and stainless steel bed plate is rugged and durable enough to withstand heavy usage. This 44S Singer heavy-duty sewing machine includes an automatic needle threader with a top drop-in bobbin. This can help you save time so that you can start on your project sooner. It comes with 23 built-in stitches that are useful for creating a variety of embellishments, as well as standard stitching applications. This classic sewing machine allows you to adjust the stitch width, density and length, making it suitable for almost any project. Three needle positions give you flexibility when sewing different types of fabrics and materials. This Singer Classic 23-Stitch Mechanical Sewing Machine comes with a variety of accessories, such as a light for enhanced viewing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.39 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
30
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation91%145 out of 159reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
101 Questions | 164 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
30
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Really good machine

10/19/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this machine for a month and a half and it is awesome! I bought it to make my son a costume and it has worked out really good. I bought some heavy duty needles to sew up some jeans but I haven't tried it out yet, I'm sure it'll work. I don't really have any complaints but if I were to have to complain about something it would be the stitching. I wish there was something that showed what all the stitching looked like but I just grabbed some scraps and stitched all the patterns for a layout.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Fantastic Sewing Machine

03/09/2014
By ,
Sioux City, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not sewn since 8th grade and 36 yrs later I could easily recall what I learned on this sewing machine. I followed the directions and I was quickly sewing my pillows with ease. The machine is a quality and durable machine and sews on duck fabric and burlap with ease! I use this machine to sew pillows for my business.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Excellent, if you have a little knowledge already

04/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I sew for a living and I wanted something that would last a long time and was able to do a variety of things so I can expand without worrying about what my machine can handle. This is HEAVY DUTY, mannn. The instructions were excellent, there was even instructions on the machine how to thread it (though I already had some knowledge of that). The only reason this is 4 stars is because somehow, the housing for the bobbin was not resting as it should in its own housing, which caused a lot of problems and it was unusable for a couple days, and I couldn't work on anything.
But after I called my friend who knows some about sewing machines, they helped me by taking a look at it, and found that it was the bobbin housing (the thing the bobbin goes in) wasn't resting properly. Once it was back in the proper position and not wobbling around, everything was fine and I can zoom ahead and do all my sewing with no worries. It makes me feel like I'm using power tools, but it's so easy and I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

44S Singer Sewing Machine

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine last week for my wife,so went to walmart and bought the jean needles,they didn't have the duel Needles there so will have to search the internet for them,it has a Nice handle so you can carry it with ease but i bought the Universal case to,keep dust dirt ETC off of it,My wife said this machine is all any one needs to sew any thing,the foot switch is like your gas peddle you can go slow or fast the case on the foot peddle it is Plastic so don't stomp on it,The Machine has a swing arm and duel needle capable,I see these machines sell for a lot higher in other stores about 11 dollars cheaper online here than at walmart,it It was deliverd here in 4 days no dents or nothing packaged well,,Go to youtube and search for the 44s singer they have a lot of good information there,I didn't get the extended warranty since it was to high..if it goes bad before 90 days i will update the review..Oh yes the machine is plastic not metal but seems heavy duty tho,Good Luck.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

A heart of Iron

09/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm sure it's going to sound trite, but here goes anyway: As I unpacked this machine (my second) I swear I heard a somewhat mechanical voice saying, "I think I can, I think I can...".
Could it have been my imagination?
This is indeed my second machine, used in a Light Industrial setting. The Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical feeds the argument: 'You don't need a pile-driver to push a thumb-tack.' it also shows how the refinement of cam-and-gear mechanics, over a period of time, can produce flawless speed and simplicity in a sewing machine.
It is not surprising that this machine's variety of 'fun' stitches is limited (fewer than electronics which have oh, so many) but here's the point: before Singer started up with all those zig-zag, fancy stitches, Nobody needed 'em.
The Classic Mechanical is Twice as Fast as Electronic machines outputting the same work. I know, I have both. That sold me right there, perfect stitching in half the time... our production soared. I stand behind my review and assure you, kind reader, that the Classic Mechanical is a Can Do sewing machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Ex- Rangers Can Sew

01/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
in the past 3 weeks I bought and returned 3 sewing machines, trying to modify my leathers , well couldn't get a Brother SQ 9185 to even sew a straight stitch, so I bought this one worked great on the patches on my vest, and even went through 3 layers of water buffalo hide on my chaps, so I would say buy this one. it was super easy to set up and sew was sewing in 5 minutes.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Good Basic Machine---Too Early to Judge Durability

07/19/2014
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an older model Singer I had inherited from my mother, when I discovered that it cost less than the price of repairs. My needs are simple, no fancy stitching, just basic repairs and hemming jeans, trousers, and the like. I wanted a heavy duty machine for this and this is what is advertised. So far, it works well. I had a bit of trouble adjusting the thread tension for the heavy jean thread I was using, (needed to go outside the range suggested in the instruction folder) and I have not gotten the automatic needle threader to work very well. Again, perhaps this was because of the heavy thread.
One negative thing that I did find was that the instruction folder---I won't dignify it by calling it a book--leaves a lot to be desired. I still have the 1975 book that came with my mom's machine, and it is much better. Larger in size with considerably more information, and far more clear in its exposition, it is heads and shoulders above the current effort.
I can understand that Singer makes cuts to reach their manufacturing cost goals, but perhaps they could have their technical writers use their old manuals as a framework, updated the areas when appropriate, and publish them online, with a link prominently noted in the instruction folder. This is not an original idea. Many software publishers do the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Does the job.

12/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine in a rush because my expensive computerized machine broke in the middle of a project on Christmas Eve. I didn't have time to wait for a repair, and it would have cost more to repair it than it cost to buy this machine. I am very happy with the Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine. It sewed through several thicknesses of quilting without difficulty and it can be pushed to a very fast speed without stress. The light is well placed and much brighter than that on my now useless computerized expensive machine. Overall, an excellent basic machine. I am looking forward to trying some of the optional presser feet, particularly the one for darning and free-style sewing. Apparently, it is possible to "thread paint" or free hand embroider and monogram with that presser foot. It it works as claimed, this will be a very versatile machine at a very reasonable price point.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Built Ford tough

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine because I wanted something I could use to repair my jeans, socks, and whatever else I could find that it could be used for. I am a truck driver, not a taylor, and I never payed much attention in home-ec class. I had no idea what I was doing, but after reading the directions carefully and messing a few things up I had the machine up and running. After a little practice I took it to a pair of jeans that had a few holes in it. It works very well, I ran it right through several layers of denim by the pockets and it barely flinched. It seems to be a good quality machine, and at a good price. It is well worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Great machine!

03/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a seamstress with 35 yrs. experience. I own 4 sewing machines. I wanted a machine that would sew light weight material for Halloween costumes as well as one that would do heavier stuff like several layers of denim, this machine does both very well. The 1000 stitches per min. helps a lot with long seams like curtains too. I looked for awhile for a replacement for my old Dressmaker & I'm very happy with this one. I don't use the decorative stitch function much, but I love that I can see how much thread is on the bobbin & the auto thread is of enormous help. If your looking for a good basic machine, this is it. Wal-mart shipped it right to my house & very quickly. I'm very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+218points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Powerful, great-sewing machine!

01/14/2014
By ,
Tracy City, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 19 year old Singer machine bit the dust right in the middle of a difficult quilt. Bought this one hoping it would be strong enough to tackle the numerous layers -as many of the new machines my friends have purchased cannot. This is the best machine I have ever owned! Sews numerous (as many as 6) layers as easily as one. Feeds perfectly with no skipped stitches. Even sews fleece as if it were cotton. Easy to thread, and the stitch options are very user friendly. The machine can sew much faster than I can, it is very powerful, but the desired speed is very manageable with the foot pedal. Hoping this machine lasts as long as my previous Singer. It does not have as many bells and whistles as other machines in the price range, but its durability more than makes up for it. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

A great buy!

12/19/2013
By ,
Rushville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I purchased this sewing machine and wouldn't take anything for it. I love all of the features and how it is so easy to use. The stitching is great and the machine seems really durable. It is super easy to thread and wind and insert a bobbin. The automatic needle threader is also great. It sews very fast and I have no trouble slowing it down with the foot pedal if I need to. I have put this machine through its paces since I bought it a couple of weeks ago and it has performed flawlessly throughout many sewing projects. I had tried several Singer computerized models that I ended up returning but this mechanical model is a keeper. I even highly recommended this machine to my friends on my Facebook page. If I could change one thing, it would be to have a few more decorative stitches, but all in all, I am thrilled with this model.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Great machine

11/24/2013
By ,
Ocala, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I killed my old machine, so I went and got a Singer Classic. It is great. I love the needle threader and all the stretch stitches!! I know I'm going to enjoy it for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Singer Classic Heavy Duty easy to use

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this machine for my Mom to replace another Singer that the rover stopped working after 8 years.
My mom's hobby is sewing, she has been sewing, fixing clothes... for many years.
When she asked for help looking for a simple, classic, easy to use machine, I went to Walmart online to search customer reviews.
WM delivered this Singer Classic Heavy Duty sewing machine on New Years Eve. On New Year's Day, my mom called to say: "this machine is exactly what I dream of. It is easy to start, the sewn lines are straight, the machine controls are easy.
My sincere appreciation to previous buyers who wrote the customer reviews. They are certainly very helpful and invaluable to me.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Only worked for 1 hour

02/25/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After that, the machine quit working (the needle doesn't move). Trying to call customer support is a joke unless you have a lot of time to just sit around on hold. Very unhappy, especially after seeing all the great reviews.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Singer Classic 44S

02/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only complaint I have about this machine is the handle to carry it by. The handle is attached to the top of the machine that comes off to clean the inside components. So when you try to pick it up by the handle the top comes off. Should have just left the handle off of this item. Other than that I love this machine. The first thing I sewed with it was jeans that I needed to hem up. It breezed right over the seams barely bogged it down and it it much more quite than my old machine. I'm looking forward to sewing again and not have to fuss with the tension and other problems I had with my old machine. (which is almost 40 yrs old)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Easy to use!

02/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just open the box & put the machine to work. Easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Yes!

02/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sewing machine died after 40 yrs of use. I spent several hours researching all the different brands and decided this machine was the one I wanted to try. Not super fancy but does the job! Was very easy to understand the instructions. My new best friend!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Love this machine

06/11/2014
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been sewing for over 40 years and I wanted a sewing machine to use at our vacation home to make curtains and home décor items. This machine sews every bit as good as the very expensive computerized sewing machine I have at home which cost 10X what this one did. This machine is truly a Heavy Duty model. I sewed through 4 layers of Chenille with no problem and the curtains I made turned out great. No skipped stitches and tension was perfect right out of the box. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Great Sewing Machine

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sewing machine was a birthday gift from my boyfriend and it has been great! I have been working on a large quilt and it has acquitted itself quite well. The stitching is tight and I have had no problems with the bobbin snarling as of yet no matter how fast I sewed through the thick layers of fabric and batting. The stitch options are also great. There is just enough variety for anything I may need it for. I look forward to using it for years to come.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next