Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Singer Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

This Singer Classic 23-Stitch Mechanical Sewing Machine features a powerful motor and an extra-high sewing speed (1,000 stitches per minute), allowing you to sew just about anything. The heavy-duty metal interior frame and stainless steel bed plate is rugged and durable enough to withstand heavy usage. This 44S Singer heavy-duty sewing machine includes an automatic needle threader with a top drop-in bobbin. This can help you save time so that you can start on your project sooner. It comes with 23 built-in stitches that are useful for creating a variety of embellishments, as well as standard stitching applications. This classic sewing machine allows you to adjust the stitch width, density and length, making it suitable for almost any project. Three needle positions give you flexibility when sewing different types of fabrics and materials. This Singer Classic 23-Stitch Mechanical Sewing Machine comes with a variety of accessories, such as a light for enhanced viewing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.534 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation93%68 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 97 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Fantastic Sewing Machine

03/09/2014
By ,
Sioux City, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not sewn since 8th grade and 36 yrs later I could easily recall what I learned on this sewing machine. I followed the directions and I was quickly sewing my pillows with ease. The machine is a quality and durable machine and sews on duck fabric and burlap with ease! I use this machine to sew pillows for my business.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Excellent, if you have a little knowledge already

04/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I sew for a living and I wanted something that would last a long time and was able to do a variety of things so I can expand without worrying about what my machine can handle. This is HEAVY DUTY, mannn. The instructions were excellent, there was even instructions on the machine how to thread it (though I already had some knowledge of that). The only reason this is 4 stars is because somehow, the housing for the bobbin was not resting as it should in its own housing, which caused a lot of problems and it was unusable for a couple days, and I couldn't work on anything.
But after I called my friend who knows some about sewing machines, they helped me by taking a look at it, and found that it was the bobbin housing (the thing the bobbin goes in) wasn't resting properly. Once it was back in the proper position and not wobbling around, everything was fine and I can zoom ahead and do all my sewing with no worries. It makes me feel like I'm using power tools, but it's so easy and I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Great machine!

03/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a seamstress with 35 yrs. experience. I own 4 sewing machines. I wanted a machine that would sew light weight material for Halloween costumes as well as one that would do heavier stuff like several layers of denim, this machine does both very well. The 1000 stitches per min. helps a lot with long seams like curtains too. I looked for awhile for a replacement for my old Dressmaker & I'm very happy with this one. I don't use the decorative stitch function much, but I love that I can see how much thread is on the bobbin & the auto thread is of enormous help. If your looking for a good basic machine, this is it. Wal-mart shipped it right to my house & very quickly. I'm very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Love this machine

06/11/2014
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been sewing for over 40 years and I wanted a sewing machine to use at our vacation home to make curtains and home décor items. This machine sews every bit as good as the very expensive computerized sewing machine I have at home which cost 10X what this one did. This machine is truly a Heavy Duty model. I sewed through 4 layers of Chenille with no problem and the curtains I made turned out great. No skipped stitches and tension was perfect right out of the box. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Good Basic Machine---Too Early to Judge Durability

07/19/2014
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an older model Singer I had inherited from my mother, when I discovered that it cost less than the price of repairs. My needs are simple, no fancy stitching, just basic repairs and hemming jeans, trousers, and the like. I wanted a heavy duty machine for this and this is what is advertised. So far, it works well. I had a bit of trouble adjusting the thread tension for the heavy jean thread I was using, (needed to go outside the range suggested in the instruction folder) and I have not gotten the automatic needle threader to work very well. Again, perhaps this was because of the heavy thread.
One negative thing that I did find was that the instruction folder---I won't dignify it by calling it a book--leaves a lot to be desired. I still have the 1975 book that came with my mom's machine, and it is much better. Larger in size with considerably more information, and far more clear in its exposition, it is heads and shoulders above the current effort.
I can understand that Singer makes cuts to reach their manufacturing cost goals, but perhaps they could have their technical writers use their old manuals as a framework, updated the areas when appropriate, and publish them online, with a link prominently noted in the instruction folder. This is not an original idea. Many software publishers do the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Built Ford tough

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine because I wanted something I could use to repair my jeans, socks, and whatever else I could find that it could be used for. I am a truck driver, not a taylor, and I never payed much attention in home-ec class. I had no idea what I was doing, but after reading the directions carefully and messing a few things up I had the machine up and running. After a little practice I took it to a pair of jeans that had a few holes in it. It works very well, I ran it right through several layers of denim by the pockets and it barely flinched. It seems to be a good quality machine, and at a good price. It is well worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Powerful, great-sewing machine!

01/14/2014
By ,
Tracy City, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 19 year old Singer machine bit the dust right in the middle of a difficult quilt. Bought this one hoping it would be strong enough to tackle the numerous layers -as many of the new machines my friends have purchased cannot. This is the best machine I have ever owned! Sews numerous (as many as 6) layers as easily as one. Feeds perfectly with no skipped stitches. Even sews fleece as if it were cotton. Easy to thread, and the stitch options are very user friendly. The machine can sew much faster than I can, it is very powerful, but the desired speed is very manageable with the foot pedal. Hoping this machine lasts as long as my previous Singer. It does not have as many bells and whistles as other machines in the price range, but its durability more than makes up for it. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

A great buy!

12/19/2013
By ,
Rushville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I purchased this sewing machine and wouldn't take anything for it. I love all of the features and how it is so easy to use. The stitching is great and the machine seems really durable. It is super easy to thread and wind and insert a bobbin. The automatic needle threader is also great. It sews very fast and I have no trouble slowing it down with the foot pedal if I need to. I have put this machine through its paces since I bought it a couple of weeks ago and it has performed flawlessly throughout many sewing projects. I had tried several Singer computerized models that I ended up returning but this mechanical model is a keeper. I even highly recommended this machine to my friends on my Facebook page. If I could change one thing, it would be to have a few more decorative stitches, but all in all, I am thrilled with this model.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Great for this beginner!

10/02/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am just beginning to learn to sew! Though my mother was an excellent seamstress I did not shadow her. So lately, I got the urge to learn to sew. I bought a pattern and with some help and guidance am working through it. I decided to buy a machine. I wanted something that was easy enough for a beginner but would last me a very long time as I advanced. I didn't want anything too "cheap" and didn't need anything to "expensive". I am very pleased with this machine, and proud that its a Singer! It will handle all the tasks I have in mind!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
sewing machine/singer
Posted 03/29/2014
Is this machine a Free Arm ?I really want a machine that will fit into my cabinet.Still I do like this machine but don't like the ideal of sewing without a cabinet.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Still Testing It

08/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this machine for the name Singer which I have been familiar with for many years. I had an old Singer of my moms that just was giving me trouble and probably would be more money to repair then just buying a new one. I am still in the testing stages of this machine, but I had trouble with the bobbin initially which was an operator error! :) The automatic needle threader does not work well. It is easier an quicker to just thread it manually, so that is a waste in my opinion. It seems to sew well but I have not tried all the features just yet.
For the money thus far it seems fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

GREAT!!

08/28/2014
By ,
Vero Beach FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great machine has the same motor and frame as the 4400's and the 5500's at a fraction of the cost. It also has the one step buttonhole feature. Sews like a dream. The only complaint I have is the manual does not tell you which type of bobbin the machine uses, but it came with 4.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Great machine

11/24/2013
By ,
Ocala, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I killed my old machine, so I went and got a Singer Classic. It is great. I love the needle threader and all the stretch stitches!! I know I'm going to enjoy it for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

fantastic product!

08/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy machine, easy to use, feels like it won't give out or break easily or with a lot of wear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Great Basic Machine

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is a great bargain if you are looking for a basic machine without all the superfluous (well in my opinion!) decorative stitches. Easy to thread, LOVE the needle threader, sews through heavy fabric with ease, stitches look very nice. I've been sewing since I was 10, I'm now 58, and I'm very happy with this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Good machine

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this Singer machine so I can sew heavier fabrics. I like the fact that I can add the self threader when I'm ready and need to use it! I love the fact that this machine can sew fast! It's very easy to use and works very well. I've had other brands of sewing machine but end up buying a Singer
again....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Good product!

12/08/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, sews really good. Hemmed my jeans with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Seems sturdy and easy to use.

10/29/2013
By ,
Middleburg, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used it to do basic sewing but so far all is good. I love the needle threader. I was having a difficult time seeing well enough to hand thread my last machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

In the beginning it was a challenge

09/24/2013
By ,
Fremont, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the way the machine is laid out. It's easy to change the stitch patterns and adjust their length and width. Threading is easy. The needle threader works great! I really love that this machine has the ability to adjust the pressure on the foot and drop the feed dogs. I'm really glad that feature is back again! The light is good and right where it is the most helpful - another plus!
This machine is simple to operate, but even then, I had a real problem with it. The problem was significant enough that I came very close to bringing my machine back and exchanging it, but decided to give it one more try. I was just sewing on cotton fabric, nothing fancy, but the needle thread kept getting caught around the bobbin carrier and I'd have a tangled mess of thread underneath. I know that the first thing to check is the upper threading, so I did that; I changed the needle, I changed the thread, I checked the timing - all of those things - and the thread still kept getting caught. I finally just used the hand wheel with the bobbin cover off and manually sewed a few stitches to see what was happening where. Aha! Attached on the underside of the throat plate is a small metal bar that sits just over the bobbin carrier. That's where the thread was getting caught - there wasn't enough clearance between that little bar and the bobbin case and the thread was dragging there and being caught on the next stitch as well (and making a real mess of things!). It was a simple fix: I removed the needle plate and adjusted that little bar by just slightly pushing it up towards the needle plate. I reattached the needle plate, and tried it again, and that has solved the problem perfectly. Now this machine is sewing just like I expected it to. It was a simple fix, but I shouldn't have had to make that correction.
This machine has some power to it, and sews through multiple layers of fabric with ease. The selection of stitches will accommodate just about any sewing project you will have. It feeds fabric evenly and the stitch quality is very good. To get the most out of the stitches in this machine consider adding the following presser feet: straight stitch/1/4 inch foot, blind hem foot, satin stitch/applique foot, and rolled hem. The bare minimum of feet have been provided with this machine.
This machine is noisy (motor). It has more motor noise when you sew slowly than when you are sewing faster.
Now that the thread path problem has been fixed, I think this machine and I will be friends for a long time. I would have rated it higher if it wasn't for the problem I had in the beginning. If the machine I got had been received by a beginner it would have been returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+105points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

I love this machine!

11/12/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our sewing machine broke down.. I bought this 2 weeks ago and so far no problems. Its easy to thread and is a very nice machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singer Classic Heavy Duty Mechanical Sewing Machine

Great for home projects

08/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had my last sewing machine for over 20 years (and that was the only one I've ever used) so I was a bit apprehensive about having to get a new one. I must say, this one is really good for what I need it to do. The only thing that I don't like is where the reverse button is but I think that is mostly from having my other one for so long that it's an adjustment remembering where this lever is. Other than that I have no complaints at all
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next