Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Singer Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Create or repair your family's garments with the feature-rich Singer Professional 404-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, model 9100. This unit features an extension table for larger pieces of cloth, and a large selection of decorative stitches, two alphabet options and construction stitches. In addition, this Singer Professional Sewing Machine has an automatic needle threader, a top drop-in bobbin, electronic twin needle control and built-in memory for added convenience. With over 400 stitch options, selecting a stitch is easy with simple push-buttons. Optimum stitch settings on this sewing machine with extension table are automatically programmed, but you can quickly and easily modify settings. Use the included sewing tip DVD and quick-start guide to make setting up your machine a breeze. This sewing machine is suitable for both beginners and pros.
Average Customer Rating:
4.05 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation85%17 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Very nice stitch. Has a couple design flaws.

04/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This sewing machine is a good value for the money. It has a nice stitch and has so many stitch features that I may never get to all of them. I have owned three other machines and this has the best stitch by far. I would love to have given it five stars but it has two small issues which prevent that rating. First, when sewing at a high speed the thread often becomes caught on the machine handle and causes the handle to move up and down. I'm not sure that it really affects the outcome, but it is a design flaw that should have been corrected in the testing phase. The second issue is that the light shining down on the throat plate is shadowed so that the seam measurement guide is not lighted. As an experienced seamstress I do not need to be as alert to the measurement. However if a less experienced or new seamstress were to purchase this machine it would be a significant problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Can Not Sew

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a lady that can NOT sew. My Mom was great at it, but I and sewing machine would have big battles. My Mom experinced thIs conflict between sew machine and I one day, left my house confused. Mom went home to Heaven 2 years ago, she left beautiful material behind. I thought about this for the last couple of years. Then decided to look at them. I chose this one because it stated " good for beginners". Thiis machine has shown me, that someone that has never been able to sew on a machine, fail sewing in Highscool, can actually sew. I have made simple curtains for our music room after 41+ years of marraige. Thank you Singer for introducing me to a sweet machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

I AM IN LOVE!!!

03/12/2014
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am in love with this sewing machine!! It has made it so much fun to sew (something I found frustrating and quite challenging with my old machine). I am by no means a seamstress, but I can do so much with my new Singer! I read a review that said it was not for beginners, but I really disagree. If I can do it, I am sure you can too.
Some things I love:
-the pull out cards with all the different stitches
-the start/stop button that has made it easier when I am doing embroidery stitches to keep a consistent pace
-the speed switch- it has helped control speed while I am learning.
-SOOO many stitch choices!
-the needle threader- makes it real easy!!
-all of the feet included
-the ruler printed on the outside of the machine
Things I would change (purely based on my lack-of-sewing abilities):
-give the manual a "basic vocab" so I don't have to look it up...dumb it down maybe? (I really am that bad)
-print the ruler also on the inside piece, so it is there when I take the front attachment off.
I am really happy with my new toy! Overall, I would give it 6 stars if possible!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

This Singer Machine is great

04/01/2014
By ,
Newark, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this Singer Machine for about a week, and have been sewing on it everyday. It is very sturdy, runs very smoothly and makes great stitches. I am working on a quilt top of Chevrons and so far so good. It has been fun sewing on this machine...the only small complaint would be the small light that I think could have been better, but that is no big deal...I also liked that it came with the video that explains some things I did not know about. I have several machine's some are Singer feather weights(antiques) that also run great, and 2 Janome's...I can honestly say that this Singer runs like one of the lesser price Janome's...I am very satisfied with it and enjoy sewing with this Singer Professional machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Great sewing machine for beginners and experienced

10/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great sewing machine. It has a lot of nice features and over 100 stitches. The only thing that I have been disappointed with is the fact that you can't change the size of the of the letter stitches, which I was not aware of before I bought this sewing machine. I still like the machine and intend to get a lot of use from it. If you purchase this machine from the Wal-Mart.com website, you may be able to save some money compared to purchasing it from the Wal-Mart store or some other store. I saved $75 by purchasing it on the website instead of purchasing it at the store.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Lots of features. Read the book!

12/13/2013
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fairly simple to set up. Tension adjustment has a wider range that expected. Be sure to experiment with the tension on the fabric your working with.... don't take it for granted and leave it on "4".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Some problems

11/24/2013
By ,
Richmond, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Daughter and I bought the same machine on the same day. She loves hers and has had no problems with it. I have three other machines, all old classics which are excellent. This machine is no better than they are, but I wanted it for the alphabet embroidery, 7mm stitch width and automatic buttonhole feature.
Difficulties were these: (a) buttonhole consistently made the buttonholes smaller than the button inserted in the foot as a guide; sewing buttonholes 'by hand' was a difficult option as the needle position lever is the same as the stitch width lever; (b) feed dogs are dropped for sewing on buttons and other work, by pulling off the table/utility box and moving a lever on the back of the bottom of the machine. This is mildly inconvenient, but the feed dogs repeatedly refused to return to normal position after raising them and rotating the flywheel one rotation (or more) towards me. Had to prise them up with a screwdriver as leverage. Not good.
The alphabets were okay but not quite as impressive as I had hoped. Pricing was good and extended warranty also a good buy; I might just have gotten an oddball machine. Daughter is thrilled with hers. I will probably read reviews for older decorative stitch machines (not computerized embroidery jobs) and look for a used one for just that application.
All that aside, it was a pleasure to use and lightweight, with plastic housing and steel guts. Easy to learn to operate. Sewed a good balanced stitch and handled heavy materials well. It is simply that at my time of life, with a Viking, and Elna and a Bernina already living with me, a machine has to do something far above and beyond usual service to warrant house room. After a fair ten days' trial, I returned the machine. Customer service inquired about my reasons, I gave them, and there was no hassle. Now I have to find out how to cancel the warranty, which is an email download.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Worth buying

09/06/2013
By ,
West Central Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do indeed like this machine and I am a very advanced seamstress and do custom sewing as a side job. My only complaint, if you can call it that, is that this machine doesn't like to sew thick seams on denim. But that's not a hardship for me since I also have a heavy duty machine that I keep for that purpose.
I purchased this machine from Walmart since I can return it easily if there's a problem. I live 75 miles from the nearest dealer although there is a fellow in my town that repairs the high school machines if needed. I was happy not to pay the shipping at purchase and I'll be even happier not to have to pay for it again if I have to return it, like you would with an Amazon or Ebay dealer.
I currently have 4 Singer machines. I was surprised that this Singer had more to teach me! I like all of the attachments and have tried them all out already. The automatic needle threader is temperamental so I only bothered using it twice. My eyesight is still good enough not to need it.
This machine is quiet, smooth running, has very even stitching, and nice to thread. Still wish the new Singers had the automatic bobbin winding in the bobbin case itself. I despise having to take the bobbin out of the case, put it up on top of the machine to wind the bobbin, then put it back in the bobbin case again. I think those are only available in the older, nicer, better built machines prior to the 90's.
I'd buy this machine again. And experienced seamstresses too: READ THE MANUAL. lol I had to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Super comprehensive machine

09/07/2013
By ,
cincinnati, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot believe how many things this sewing machine can do and it is pretty easy to get started with. Excellent value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Stopped working in a few days

04/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought what seemed to be the best one available at Walmart based on reviews on amazon.com on identical products. I eagerly started a simple project. Sadly after a few days it could not do zig zags or even a straight line without problems. After consulting with the owners manual (which I did dutifully read before even turning it on) and online, I decided to exchange it. Then when I was at Walmart the employee recommended against Singer brand. So I am back at the beginning to find the right sewing machine for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Very easy to operate.

08/13/2013
By ,
Centereach ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a long time for a machine to do everything with a touch of a button. It's not a machine for a beginner. Its more like a Beginner / intermittent machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Love it

10/31/2013
By ,
Carolina, puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this sewing machine have everything I need in it. Very easy to use and I recommended to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

feed dogs broke after 1 month

07/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Loved the machine and many features. Was super easy to use. However the feed dogs would not work after about a month of use. Couldn't raise or lower them with lever. Wouldn't pull material through. Thank goodness WalMart is great about returns. I brought the Singer back and am now trying a Brother. Hope I have better luck with it. I hesitated after hearing Singer was sold to different company. Guess I should have listened to my little voice. Not the old Singer quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Best purchase ever!

11/28/2013
By ,
Boise
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine does everything I ask of it. It has sewn through multiple layers of fabric, has beautiful stitches, and is easy to use. Finally, I am making clothes and collars for my little dogs! I'm exceedingly happy with this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Good Machine, Poor customer service

01/07/2014
By ,
Sierra Vista, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Machine has met my expectations so far; however, haven't tried many of the features. Had a question - submitted it by e-mail to singer customer service when it appeared that I would have to wait on the phone for more than an hour. Never got a response to my e-mail.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Unfortunately

07/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine didn't work upon opening the perfectly packed box. I don't think this was opened and closed up prior to my ordering it. Plugging in the electrical cord didn't work. I tried several outlets, but nothing.
So, I don't know how it sews. I'm attempting to order another one…wel'll hope for the best.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Great machine for the price.

05/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought a more expensive machine and ended up having to return it because I saw this machine. The extra feet was what got me to switch and I could not be happier. Comparing to the other machine, this one is much quieter and lighter. The extra stitches were fun and easy to use. I would recommend this to those that do not want to spend a ton of money but yet want a good machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Very happy with purchase..

09/15/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new sewing machine.. It met my expectations..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Great sewing machine for anyone.

08/21/2014
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Singer made it easy to learn how to use this machine.The manual is step by step easy.The bobbin is very easy to wind.The features of this machine goes beyond what I expected. Looks good works good.Haven't used all the features yet but the one that I bought this machine for are great.When I bought was $40.00 off, so got a good deal also. Would recommend to anyone looking for a sewing machine.I have an old Singer that my feet are the power. Love my new Singer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singer Professional Computerized Sewing Machine with Extension Table

Very Good Product

12/03/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets and exceeds my every expectation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.