Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Space Saver Space Savers By Space Bag

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Space Saver Space Savers By Space Bag

Stop sitting on your suitcase to get it closed. Space Savers storage bags let you fit twice as much in your suitcase. Compressible, see-through bags provide airtight, watertight protection for valuables and clothes, while keeping everything organized. Simply squeeze out excess air; no vacuum is required.
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation43%18 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Space Savers By Space Bag

The Best Moving tool ever!!!

01/03/2008
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a way to move all my stuff to Colorado from Connecticut in my very little car. Knowing how expensive a u-haul is I looked into space bags. The reviews were mixed but I went and bought the huge space bag with the canvess around it at walmart. I brought it home and filled it to the top with all the bulky stuff I needed for my bed. I then checked the zippers to make sure they were closed around 5 times. I will be honest and say that when I started sucking the air out of the bag I didnt really think it was going to work. It took every thing I had put in the bag (2 thick down standard pillows, a set of queen sheets, a set of pillow cases, a down mattress cover, a queen blanket, a very thick queen size down comforter) down to the thickness of 2 encyclopedias. It worked so well but I still thought it was going to re-inflate over the night. I woke up the next morning and it was still the size it was when I sucked all the air out the day before!! I went back to Walmart that day and bought more space bags for my clothes and other bulky items I needed to pack too. Here I am a month later moved to Colorado with my little car because of space bag!! It saved me a lot of money in the long run instead of getting a u-haul, and it also saved me a lot of space in my car! I would defenatly recommend this to someone who needs more space anywhere or is looking for a way to save space in there car when moving. The other people that reviewed it and had bad things to say about it probably did not check the zippers well enough before they started to take the air out. I checked them around five times and I had no problems at all!! I hope this review helps out someone like me who needs extra space to move and does not want to pay for an expensive moving van!! I love space bag!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Review 2 for Space Savers By Space Bag

Steer Clear

07/23/2007
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was not happy at all with this product. The bags are not very large and are not sealed with your vacuum. Instead, you have to press the bag (I had my daughter sit on them) until all the air is out of them. Plus, the zipper parts pop off sooo easily. Don't waste your time and money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Review 3 for Space Savers By Space Bag

Great Product

04/08/2008
By ,
Washington, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product worked great for me! I had to fit one weeks worth of clothing for myself into a single suitcase to go on vacation! That can be challenging! If you follow the directions and don't over fill the bags you should have no problem. I have had the zippers break on my bags, but they're just like zip-loc zippers. It doesn't mean that the product is ruined, you just seal up the zipper with your finger! Then mess with the zipper pull for a minute and it's fixed! Easy as that! It saves alot of space and makes packing neat and organized.
!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 4 for Space Savers By Space Bag

space saver bag

11/10/2007
By ,
glen burnie, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is a pure waste of money you should just open the bathroom potty and flush your money away!!! they work fine for the first few minutes. after that they lose air and good luck getting the 2 ft tall bag out of a space that you packed the smaller bag in it was not very much fun. and they also do not shrink as small as they say that they do. please dont waste your money on this.. (your husband will love telling you the great 3 i said so words mine did)!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Review 5 for Space Savers By Space Bag

Don't Waste your money!

01/07/2008
By ,
College Station, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money on these bags or bags like this. You spend hours filling the bags and storing them just to find out in a few hours or less they have filled with air again! Also they don't compress to the size in the pictures unless you barely fill it. If you want the same type of storage just buy some Ziploc large bags fill it up with your stuff (clothes or bedding) lay on the bag to get all the air out and zip it up and guess what it does the same thing for half the price!!!! Just don't expect it to be super thin. The Ziploc bags went down to the same size the space bags did but the Ziploc bags didn't filled back up with air. The Ziploc bags fit under my bed just fine and I filled them up!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Review 6 for Space Savers By Space Bag

Totes are great, but forget the bags!

02/20/2008
By ,
Stockbridge, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've tried all of the various Space Bags, all of which refilled with air as soon as I turned my back. I'm obviously not the only one this has happened to after reading some reviews here!! The ONLY Space Bag I will even consider buying now are the totes, which are awesome!! I was absolutely amazed at just how much I could fit into a tote, how small it compressed down to, and how well it stayed air-free. They stack too apparently, but I only have 1 so I can't comment there, but I'm going to buy 3 more because they're just so good!! :D
As for the space savers, hubby is military and I sent some to him while he was deployed. I've never seen them again, so he obviously didn't bother even keeping them. Had they worked, he would've thanked me profusely and asked me for more, but I didn't even get a comment on them. I wouldn't waste my money on them again! :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 7 for Space Savers By Space Bag

very helpful

08/08/2007
By ,
st. louis, mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i was packing for a beach vacation for myself, husband, 3 yo daughter and 10 wk old daughter. this included several beach towels, clothing, shoes, etc. though they were a bit pricey, i loved how the bags squashed the towels, which were previously very thick, into just a couple inches of space. also, all of my husband's shorts, ts, socks, etc. fit neatly into the bag.
it was a little difficult to roll out all the air, but you get the hang of it. the best part about these bags is that you can put your shoes in your suitcase w/o worrying about the dirt getting onto your clothes!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 8 for Space Savers By Space Bag

Doesn't really do much

08/15/2007
By ,
Ames, IA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased these bags for a trip with my boyfriend so that it'd help us fit all our items in carry-on luggage. The bags didn't really help decrease that much space. Also, the sliding zippers pull off quite easily (they pop back on) and so are kind of hard to use to seal the bag. We ended up not using them and just rolling our clothes. Perhaps if you're taking sweaters or blankets they'd help, but with jeans and t-shirts, it won't really decrease space - just keep your suitcase organized.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 9 for Space Savers By Space Bag

SPACESAVER BAGS

01/19/2008
By ,
ATHENS, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS PRODUCT IS EXCELLENT! I TRAVELED TO SWITZERLAND IN ONE ROLLING DUFFEL BAG WERE MY TRAVEL COMPANIONS HAD TO TAKE 2-3 BAGS AND STILL HAD TO LIMIT THEIR OPTIONS OF CLOTHING. I ALSO PACKED MY HUSBAND FOR A VERY LONG TRIP TO AUSTRALIA WHICH HE WOULD GO THROUGH 3 SEASONS! I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO DO IT IN THE LIMITED LUGGAGE SPACE HE GAVE ME WITHOUT THESE BAGS. THEY ARE A BIT OF A CHALLENGE TO FIGURE OUT HOW TO PACK THEM APPROPRIATELY, BUT WITH A LITTLE PATIENCE THEY WILL SAVE YOU A LOT OF SPACE SO YOU CAN BRING THOSE EXTRA SOUVENIRS HOME FROM YOU VACATION. WE USE THEM EVERYTIME WE TRAVEL IN AN AIRPLANE BECAUSE OUR LUGGAGE WAS LOST ONCE BY AN AIRLINE. WE HAD FLOWN THROUGH A HURRICANE AND OUR LUGGAGE WAS LEFT OUT ON THE TARMACK AND THEN TO TOP IT OFF IT WAS 100+ DEGREE WEATHER WHEN IT ARRIVED IN ATLANTA, SO THE CLOTHES THAT WERE NOT IN SPACESAVER BAGS WERE MOLDY AND MILDEWED BECAUSE THEY GOT WET AND EXPOSED TO EXTREME HEAT FOR 3 DAYS. I HAVE REUSED MY BAGS SEVERAL TIMES. MY BAGS I BOUGHT 5 YEARS AGO DO NOT STAY SHUT LIKE THEY USE TO. THEY HAVE IMPROVED THE PRODUCT AND MY BAGS THAT ARE ONLY 3 YEASR OLD WORK BEAUTIFULLY! HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 10 for Space Savers By Space Bag

greeeeeeaaaaaaat

10/04/2007
By ,
chino hills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is wonderful , My husband and i like to keep old clothes instead of throwing them away. We put all the old clothes in this bag and then free up some closet and dresser space and then ship it to other countrys to use. We send boxes to the philippines and we can definitely fit more items now than before , since the boxes have no weight limit we can save lots of money by sending our clothing back to the philippines.
Thank you to walmart for carrying this great item
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 11 for Space Savers By Space Bag

No space for space bag

09/07/2007
By ,
Trenton, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought these bags to save space, but it didn't. The bag kept letting air out and I would have to vaccum seal again and again, just to save some space. If you want to buy this anyway, buy the biggest bag, because the little bags don't hold much and the zipper keeps on falling off.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Review 12 for Space Savers By Space Bag

WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!!

10/29/2008
By ,
Plano, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is awful! I bought the assortment pack that had several different sizes in it, the smallest sizes worked okay as far as keeping the air out but the bigger sizes were terrible. First off, none of them...even the small ones squizhes down to the size that they say it will. The bigger ones let all of the air back in within an hour or two of packing and "deflating" it. I even unpacked it and packed it again as recommended by the directions and the air STILL got back in. When I went to try it one more time the bag ripped all together, I didn't even have it filled to the capacity that they indicated would be acceptable.. SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!!! I would NEVER buy ANYTHING from space bag again and I sincerely think they need to take this horrible product off of the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 13 for Space Savers By Space Bag

horrible product!!!!!!!!!!!!

10/23/2007
By ,
christiansburg va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these bags and the zipper pops right off, it doesnt decrease that much space, and within 2 hours the bag is poped back out! these are totally worthless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 14 for Space Savers By Space Bag

Not atall a good product

09/23/2007
By ,
Germantown, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am really disappointed to see this product. When I saw in the TV ad that this space bag will safe my space at the time of my travel but sorry to say that when I start to put my garment into it, it's torn and I do not know what I will do with this box because my travel date is October 2nd and I will visit my country (an international travel), I did not check before I thought that it will work but I am really upset with this product. I do not suggest any body to buy this product from wal mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Space Savers By Space Bag

Get the Cubes or bigger bags

06/02/2008
By ,
Broken Arrow, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these bags because I have a 2 year old girl and a boy on the way. I use garage sale season to stock up on clothing that my kiddos are going to need even if they are way to big for now. So, after coming home with bags and bags of clothes, I realized I didn't have enough space to put them all without putting them in the attic (I hate doing that). I went to the store and found these space bags. I bought a pack of cubes and the multi-pack. The cubes worked great! And the jumbo and large bags were wonderful... the medium and smaller bags were a waste because they ripped easy and don't hold much. But I will defiantly be going back to get more of the BIGGER bags.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 16 for Space Savers By Space Bag

Buyer Beware

03/26/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this set in the hope that I could use it for a trip. I loaded my clothes items as instructed, making sure not to go past the line indicated on the bag and also purposely loaded less items than I normally would want, just to make sure it would work. It didn't. The first bag worked okay. The second bag broke as soon as I tried to push the air out. It seperated at the end of the bag where it is supposed to let the air out. Looking into it further I could see that the only thing that kept that area together was glue! Of course glue is going to seperate when you put pressure on it. The design is flawed and I will sadly be returning it to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for Space Savers By Space Bag

Space Bags

10/13/2008
By ,
U.S.A.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the space bags really easy to use. I did find you need to make sure the seal is totally closed or the bag will pop back up after you take the air out with a vacuum hose. The floor of my closet was full of blankets and I needed something to make space in my closet, so I could walk in, and these space bags were just the answer. I bought the cube kind of space bags, and my only problem is they don't look like a cube after I took the air out, but that is o.k. They are much smaller and hold a number of blankets. They are a little pricey, but I can reuse them over and over.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 18 for Space Savers By Space Bag

WORKED GREAT FOR ME!

03/08/2008
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My stepson is coming back from Iraq and I needed to clear out a closet so that he can have a bedroom. After reading the reviews here I was leary of trying this but on a whim while at Wal Mart I picked one up. I bought the Jumbo. It worked great for me. I was able to put a thick leather jacket, pair of leather chaps, thick leather purse, several pair of jeans, and evening gown, 2 big wool ponchos and several shirts in that bag. Today I bought another and had not problem with it. You could probably put 10 or 15 of these under a queen size bed. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 19 for Space Savers By Space Bag

Good for the money

07/18/2008
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used these bags before...in fact last summer on a trip to Las Vegas. I found them to be the best thing around to packing more for less. I was able to pack my bag (which would have been full without the bags). With the bags it was much less than full AND much lighter to carry around...and with the costs to check bags on the airlines these days that's a good thing. Only problem is you have to watch how you seal the bags the second time around and ensure the seal is true. Other than that they are great and you don't need a vacuum either!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 20 for Space Savers By Space Bag

Space bags = Ripped bags

10/12/2008
By ,
Boulder, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought 3 boxes of space bags for our move. The first one immediately tore. I would say out of the 8-10 bags, 5 tore. The material, if pulled slightly the wrong way, tears SO easily! It's amazingly not durable at all. The bags that didn't tear? Well, by the time we were at our destination, the one's that didn't tear were totally full of air! So they did NOT save space. I would never get these again. What a waste! And we were VERY careful about filling them- especially after the first one we tried tore.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next