Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Presto Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Presto Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Overwhelmed by your summer crop of tomatoes? Try canning them. The Presto pressure canner is designed for easy and confident home canning. Safe for canning vegetables and more, it brings a taste of summer to the table all year round. PLEASE NOTE: Price only available online.
Average Customer Rating:
4.779 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(552 Reviews) 399
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
455
4 stars
81
3 stars
11
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation98%543 out of 552reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions | 456 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
455
4 stars
81
3 stars
11
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

I had one before

04/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one before but I let a friend borrow it and he left it on the burner for way too long at max and the bottom bulged out. He kept it and said that it is still usable but doesn't look the same so here is my second one :) Great price/quality ratio.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Great canner for beginners, GREAT value

09/10/2012
By ,
Acton
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended by SB Canning. GREAT canner for both water baths and pressure canning. Very easy to use...pressure canned for the first time green beans. Very, very happy with this product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner
05/12/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i canned some chilli here and it has turned out great you heard all the jars popping in the lids so you know they are sealed
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

A Quality Product as always

09/18/2009
By ,
Monticello, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this product for the wife, she loves it, now she does not have to go out and borrow her friends canner, which was a hassle when both were canning at the same time, looking forward to many years of use from this fine product....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Excellent Pressure Canner

11/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pressure canner worked great for us, and we just canned 142 one pint jars of yellow fin tuna and yellow tail. The 20 jar capacity allowed us to get it done quickly and efficiently.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Classic Excellence

01/06/2010
By ,
Gresham, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There was a time in America when products were designed to "last". This is one of those products.
I spent a lot of time shopping for a Pressure/Canner both new and used. There are a lot of options in many different price ranges.
The Presto 23 Qt. has been around since "Grandma's" time and I read some reviews where people returned more expensive devices in favor of this one because it heats up faster and cools down faster than any others.
Reading about people inheriting this product made me think. Walmart had the best price and I had it delivered to my local store. It was effortless.
I've used the unit now a few times - works perfectly, its simple, well crafted and I suspect will be in my family for generations. I can use this for pressure cooking, canning, sterilizing (autoclaving), or those times when you want to make a BIG batch of something for an event - largest soup pot I own (laugh).
I love it.
Best regards to all.
I am very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

CANNER + JARS = GREAT VALUE

10/02/2013
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the best value I could find on the internet. Better than Amazon.com even. Item shipped free to my front door....how great is that?
I learned something the hard way and will share it with you, in hopes that you won't suffer the same loss. I was canning tuna and set-up the base to my turkey fryer out in back yard in order to process the fish outdoors, rather than stink up my house. Problem is, the bottom of the canner gets too hot on this type of burner and then bulges out on the bottom. It was not a pretty sight....canner tipped sideways due to the bulging bottom! We immediately shut down the flame. Had to make emergency trip to try to find another canner at a time of year when everybody and their uncle has bought them all....empty shelves! Finally found a smaller one and had to pay two prices for it. Next day I found this on Walmart.com and bought it. The dozen pint canning jars were a bonus and arrived in A+ shape....not a single broken jar. And what did I find in the bottom of the canner? A warning flyer stating not to use canner on turkey fryer base because it will cause the bottom to warp and possibly explode. This is a great canner. Can stack two-pints-high.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Fast delivery and worth the money

01/02/2014
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to order on line because the stores did not carry this product. I shopped around and many of other stores carried this product. Target, Fred Meyers, kmart and shopko all had the same exact size and product but Wal- mart had them all beat with their pricing. Not only that but none of them carried the product in store so I would have to order it on line. I was concerned that the purchase would have been noticed in my account because it was a present and I found out Wal mart has an order on line and pay cash in store option. That help sell it to me as well. Not only that but I ordered it on a Tuesday and it was in store by Friday! Loving the price, the ease of getting it, being able to pay cash and the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

The BEST canner/pressure cooker- GREAT PRICE!!

12/03/2009
By ,
Redlands, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pressure cooker/canner as a 33rd birthday gift for my sister and she loved it so much I bought myself one the very next week. We use it EVERY night... ribs, soups, pot roast, chile verde tonight!! I looked at so many different pressure cooker/canners and this was BY FAR the best priced and it can hold so much food- last night we made 5 lbs. of ribs and it barely covered the bottom! My sister said it was the best gift she has ever gotten, and my family loves it so much (my husband loves using it- even after a long day at work he is excited to cook in it!!)- the best part is it cooks SO FAST- ribs in 10 minutes, huge roasts in 45 minutes- I would HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone who wants a good home-cooked meal fast, and not to mention the canning you can do!! The reason I am writing all of this is because I was so confused when I wanted to purchase one- I didnt know there was a difference between pressure cookers and pressure canners but there is, and this one does it all (I read it is not safe to can things in a normal pressure cooker-you need the pressure cooker/canner like this) It is super easy to use and by far the cheapest yet best quality of all (I looked at 20 different ones and almost paid $399 for the SAME thing!!) Have fun!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+122points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HAMILTON, MT
a newbee to pressure canning
Posted 09/30/2012
In your comment you did state something I just learned the hard way cookers and canners are not always the same, that being said however I did get a sm 4 qt Presto cooker which I will keep never used one before so it will be a good learning tool I think for stepping up to the big boy...lol I am more interestd in the canning part living in Montana have access to large number of fresh veggies and lots of meat that would be great to get on sale and pressure can it... Any helpful ideas from the pros (smile) to get me started on my canning journey would be greatly helpful...Thanks alot a Cajun girl lost in canning land ha ha I cook 98% of my foods from scratch anyway (cajun downfall but tasty) so this is I feel one GREAT way to be able to have it in store for those days when OMG I have to go home and cook seems to be running thru my head
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Excellent Pressure Cooker/Canner at a great price.

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price and capacity. It comes with 1 rack - so you may want to pick up another one for additional easy stacking. Seals with rubber gasket - and uses rocker control that rocks/hisses when it hits 15 PSI. The pressure gauge tends to steam up during use - but this doesn't affect readability or use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

A must for 1-qt canning

04/01/2014
By ,
Poulsbo, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a long time standard model that has stood the test of time from my internet searches. My first experience and results with using it were great, and I also learned that you need to babysit the unit for around 2 hrs to keep the pressure right for proper canning, but that's the care for good process and satisfaction rewards. I plan to use this a lot more and don't plan on replacing it. I don't plan on ever not having it available to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Repairs at my cost.

06/23/2011
By ,
St Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My caner would not seal properly. I called call the company and they told me to check the serial number and the last two numbers was the year of production. Mine was 07 which was 2007. She said the seal was bad from being in storage to long and I should purchase a new rubber seal at my expense. I did and the caner worked fine. She would not provide a new rubber seal. Seems poor customer service when you have to pay to repair right out of the box with new products. Welcome to the down sized market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Presto Canner

10/16/2007
By ,
Morristown, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very
functional - easy to use canner - I have used this particular product
for years. My Mom and Grandmother both had the same canner - would not
use anything else. I bought this one for my daughter-in-law - so the tradition continues...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+114points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Best value

01/16/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got the bundle which included the canner and 12 pint jars so the canner ended up being some $74 with tax. In the store just the 16 quart canner was $66, so this is a much better deal. I've used it quite a few times already and have no complaints. When used correctly it preforms as expected and has tons of room. It is a very large canner though so if you have a middle burner I suggest using that one. I used a back corner burner and it charred the wood edging on my counter tops. It was entirely user error, but maybe I can save someone the same heartache by mentioning that the pot itself gets extremely hot and does not fit well on a corner burner if your stove is very close to your counter. Happy canning!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

My New Canner/Pressure Cooker

08/20/2010
By ,
Marietta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What strikes me most about my new Presto canner is the directions are fool proof. It works exactly as they say it will. I really appreciate that.
I have canned about 100 jars since receiving it. All are sealed properly. I have done pressure canning and hot water bath too. It's just wonderful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

I shopped around and this was really a GREAT VALUE

10/29/2013
By ,
Loganville, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own a farm with a large garden. I can, preserve and bottle nearly every weekend. So many recipes call for the item to be pressure cooked, (especially anything with meat). I priced just about every pressure cooker on the market. There are smaller capacity cookers on the market for more than twice the money as this one. They all do basically the the same thing. The pressure cooker I bought on line was delivered free to my door very quickly. I can buy replacement gaskets or parts from the manufacturer so I feel like I have made a lifetime purchase at a bargain price. I can not be more content. Presto is a great brand and makes many great products. I have a well worn kitchen and Presto and Walmart are again my choice. Why would you choose otherwise? If you are reading reviews then my opinion must matter to you, so I am saying,"Buy it, you will not be sorry".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Well worth the money

03/06/2014
By ,
Barnhart, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really wanted an All America Brand 23 qt pressure canner but they were $240 which was a little pricy for this beginner canner. I ordered this 23 qt Presto for $79 and man am I happy. This sucker is huge and heavy duty very thick wall aluminum and well made. Nice heavy duty locking lid. Even the rack inside is 1/4" thick aluminum. Very easy to operate. I rate it a 5 star and I thought it would have been a 3 compared to a All America.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Lacking

04/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pressure Canner lacks a basket to load and remove the jars. Also The pressure guage is screwed on by customer and if removed to clean it will brake the seal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

wonderful product

08/18/2008
By ,
Lewisburg, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This pressure canner cuts the canning process time in half. I wish it were all stainless steel (the inside is aluminum). I don`t like that the handles are riveted on instead of screwed on. One of the handles is loose already & I`ve only used it a few times. I am happy with the way the product works, it operates great. I just think for the price is should be a little better made.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

It went real smooth for a first time user!

10/28/2011
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really worried to use this at first but I went over and over the book of instructions and then took the book with me into the kitchen. I read it again and then took the canner out of the box. I cleaned it, got my jars of potatoes ready, put the hot water in the canner, put the lid on and read the book again. I got everything in place as instructed and got to canning. Everything worked just like the book said and I was very, very happy and proud of myself. I have done potatoes, carrots, jams, syrup, relish, apples and plums. Thanks Presto for a great canner and Walmart for having it available for me to purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 400 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next