Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Presto Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Presto Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Overwhelmed by your summer crop of tomatoes? Try canning them. The Presto pressure canner is designed for easy and confident home canning. Safe for canning vegetables and more, it brings a taste of summer to the table all year round. PLEASE NOTE: Price only available online.
Average Customer Rating:
4.741 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(636 Reviews) 483
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
512
4 stars
100
3 stars
14
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation98%621 out of 636reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
63 Questions | 534 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
512
4 stars
100
3 stars
14
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

I had one before

04/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one before but I let a friend borrow it and he left it on the burner for way too long at max and the bottom bulged out. He kept it and said that it is still usable but doesn't look the same so here is my second one :) Great price/quality ratio.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Great canner for beginners, GREAT value

09/10/2012
By ,
Acton
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended by SB Canning. GREAT canner for both water baths and pressure canning. Very easy to use...pressure canned for the first time green beans. Very, very happy with this product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

A Quality Product as always

09/18/2009
By ,
Monticello, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this product for the wife, she loves it, now she does not have to go out and borrow her friends canner, which was a hassle when both were canning at the same time, looking forward to many years of use from this fine product....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner
05/12/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i canned some chilli here and it has turned out great you heard all the jars popping in the lids so you know they are sealed
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Excellent Pressure Canner

11/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pressure canner worked great for us, and we just canned 142 one pint jars of yellow fin tuna and yellow tail. The 20 jar capacity allowed us to get it done quickly and efficiently.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Classic Excellence

01/06/2010
By ,
Gresham, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There was a time in America when products were designed to "last". This is one of those products.
I spent a lot of time shopping for a Pressure/Canner both new and used. There are a lot of options in many different price ranges.
The Presto 23 Qt. has been around since "Grandma's" time and I read some reviews where people returned more expensive devices in favor of this one because it heats up faster and cools down faster than any others.
Reading about people inheriting this product made me think. Walmart had the best price and I had it delivered to my local store. It was effortless.
I've used the unit now a few times - works perfectly, its simple, well crafted and I suspect will be in my family for generations. I can use this for pressure cooking, canning, sterilizing (autoclaving), or those times when you want to make a BIG batch of something for an event - largest soup pot I own (laugh).
I love it.
Best regards to all.
I am very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+140points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Broken out of box.

08/22/2014
By ,
Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I received this canner as a gift and am new to canning. I have only used my mother in law's Mirror Pressure Cooker. I was nervous about using a pressure gauge(her's only has a weighted jiggler). I read the instructions and the manufacturer recommended doing a test run on the canner; it also mentioned that the weight would only jiggle when 15 pounds or more pressure was acquired. It was a good thing I remembered this detail because my gauge never did go over 4 lbs. of pressure and my jiggler was just a dancing. I turned the heat off and let the pot cool for just over an hour before carefully removing the lid. The gauge never dropped back to zero until it was tapped with my finger. I do not feel comfortable relying on a gauge that may or may not be working properly. Also the instructions say you can not get the gauge wet when washing. Double negative for me. I'm going to purchase the weighted jiggler, just seems easier to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Large Pressure Canner / Cooker

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My primary purpose for this is for pressure canning. This was my first try at canning and found it quite easy, reliable and safe. Just follow the instructions to the letter while stressing sanitation and you will be pleased with the result. The pressure canner is extremely well constructed and even looks nice. At first I assumed that aluminum would be difficult to keep free of stains etc.. However since I'm only using water it will be nearly impossible to stain.
As this was my first try I sat there and monitored the entire process to ensure that temperature and pressure was precisely maintained. It was perfect the entire time so I'm comfortable w/ spot checks in the future.
One important issue I'd like to point out... Included is one "rack" that prevents jars from touching the bottom. While it is possible to stack jars in a second layer a 2nd rack would be much easier. Consider ordering one when you order your new pressure canner. I found the capacity to be slightly more than what is advertised. 18 pint jars fit perfectly. Overall this is a quality product and should last for generations if properly cared for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

CANNER + JARS = GREAT VALUE

10/02/2013
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the best value I could find on the internet. Better than Amazon.com even. Item shipped free to my front door....how great is that?
I learned something the hard way and will share it with you, in hopes that you won't suffer the same loss. I was canning tuna and set-up the base to my turkey fryer out in back yard in order to process the fish outdoors, rather than stink up my house. Problem is, the bottom of the canner gets too hot on this type of burner and then bulges out on the bottom. It was not a pretty sight....canner tipped sideways due to the bulging bottom! We immediately shut down the flame. Had to make emergency trip to try to find another canner at a time of year when everybody and their uncle has bought them all....empty shelves! Finally found a smaller one and had to pay two prices for it. Next day I found this on Walmart.com and bought it. The dozen pint canning jars were a bonus and arrived in A+ shape....not a single broken jar. And what did I find in the bottom of the canner? A warning flyer stating not to use canner on turkey fryer base because it will cause the bottom to warp and possibly explode. This is a great canner. Can stack two-pints-high.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

The BEST canner/pressure cooker- GREAT PRICE!!

12/03/2009
By ,
Redlands, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pressure cooker/canner as a 33rd birthday gift for my sister and she loved it so much I bought myself one the very next week. We use it EVERY night... ribs, soups, pot roast, chile verde tonight!! I looked at so many different pressure cooker/canners and this was BY FAR the best priced and it can hold so much food- last night we made 5 lbs. of ribs and it barely covered the bottom! My sister said it was the best gift she has ever gotten, and my family loves it so much (my husband loves using it- even after a long day at work he is excited to cook in it!!)- the best part is it cooks SO FAST- ribs in 10 minutes, huge roasts in 45 minutes- I would HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone who wants a good home-cooked meal fast, and not to mention the canning you can do!! The reason I am writing all of this is because I was so confused when I wanted to purchase one- I didnt know there was a difference between pressure cookers and pressure canners but there is, and this one does it all (I read it is not safe to can things in a normal pressure cooker-you need the pressure cooker/canner like this) It is super easy to use and by far the cheapest yet best quality of all (I looked at 20 different ones and almost paid $399 for the SAME thing!!) Have fun!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+130points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HAMILTON, MT
a newbee to pressure canning
Posted 09/30/2012
In your comment you did state something I just learned the hard way cookers and canners are not always the same, that being said however I did get a sm 4 qt Presto cooker which I will keep never used one before so it will be a good learning tool I think for stepping up to the big boy...lol I am more interestd in the canning part living in Montana have access to large number of fresh veggies and lots of meat that would be great to get on sale and pressure can it... Any helpful ideas from the pros (smile) to get me started on my canning journey would be greatly helpful...Thanks alot a Cajun girl lost in canning land ha ha I cook 98% of my foods from scratch anyway (cajun downfall but tasty) so this is I feel one GREAT way to be able to have it in store for those days when OMG I have to go home and cook seems to be running thru my head
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Dream Machine

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pressure cooker really cuts down on processing time when your canning pints. My first run was 16 pints of white chilli. Once you have obtain correct pressure you don't have to spend entire time adjusting it. Next day did quarts of soup. Presto has proven itself reliable . I bought my daughter one & needed larger one for bigger jobs. Plus it has extended warranty.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

very big

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job for a big pot of collard greens.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Repairs at my cost.

06/23/2011
By ,
St Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My caner would not seal properly. I called call the company and they told me to check the serial number and the last two numbers was the year of production. Mine was 07 which was 2007. She said the seal was bad from being in storage to long and I should purchase a new rubber seal at my expense. I did and the caner worked fine. She would not provide a new rubber seal. Seems poor customer service when you have to pay to repair right out of the box with new products. Welcome to the down sized market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

First time canner

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was scared to death to try pressure canning. Don't know why I was worried. The canner worked easily. The instruction book was very specific. I just canned 12 quarts of pork loin and every jar sealed. Very easy. Extremely happy with the canner.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Can't Stand the Heat

11/01/2014
By ,
Hendersonville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the Presto 23-qt canner for home use on my gas range. After unpacking and washing the canner, I sat down and read the instruction manual. And there in big letters, DO NOT USE ON A BURNER WITH MORE THAN 12,000 BTUH. Checking the owner's manual for my stove showed each burner produced 18,000 Btuh. So, the canner went back in the box and back to WalMart.
Why make a canner that can't stand the heat? The Presto canner was useless and I would not recommend it to a friend, or even an enemy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Love it in Oly

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the pressure cooker & can see myself getting a lot of use out of it. I have previously used pressure cookers, but this is the first one I have actually bought.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Very good pressure cooker

07/10/2014
By ,
Osage City Ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with this caner for the price but! It stats that you can( can 20 pints) ! But they also fail to let you know the spacer does not come with it! There fore you can only do 8 pints per cycle without it! I am single so pints are plenty for me and was hoping to do the 20 rather than 8 to cut down on the electricity water usage
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Just what I was looking for.

08/30/2014
By ,
Dover, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an item that would help me cut back on time canning, and I found it in the Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner. I now will be able to do 20 pints at a time, Great. It's large capacity is light to move around, eazy handeling. I can also use it for more than just canning. Great Addition to my kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Great for canning

11/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Work excellent would highly recommend to all
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Presto 23-Quart Aluminum Pressure Canner

Presto Canner

10/16/2007
By ,
Morristown, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very
functional - easy to use canner - I have used this particular product
for years. My Mom and Grandmother both had the same canner - would not
use anything else. I bought this one for my daughter-in-law - so the tradition continues...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 484 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next