Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

Protect your mattress for the long-term with this comfortable, waterproof pad. The hypoallergenic fiberfill adds an additional layer of comfort. An extra deep skirt makes sure the pad hugs the mattress and not you.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation84%67 out of 80reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

very nice product

12/31/2007
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently purchased a new deep mattress, so we needed to get new sheets and mattress pad. The store where we purchased the mattress said that in order for it to be covered by the warranty there could be no stains on it. So, I looked for a waterproof mattress pad. This pad fit the mattress perfectly, even though the mattress is about fourteen inches deep. Even with the vinyl backing, it is very comfortable and we did not get that hot feeling that you sometimes get when you are on a vinyl mattress pad. Overall it is a very good product. In fact, I recommended it to my daughter about it because she has a little one who sometimes has accidents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 2 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

Wonderful product

07/04/2007
By ,
Edgewood,NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got it for my 3 year old sons twin bed, since I am potty training him.. So far so good!! It really saves his mattress from getting soiled
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 3 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

It works

03/13/2009
By ,
Bridgeport, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 2 1/2 year old daughter who is potty trained but we got her a twin bed and wanted to make sure that she doesn't damage it. Of course she had an accident on the bed but the pad did protect it from damaging the bed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad
07/19/2007
By ,
meeker, ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the product was yery soft, it fit great. over all the product is great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

good value

01/05/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice pad. A suggestion tho. If you have full size bed get the queen size pad. Same with queen size bed, get king size pad. Much better fit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 6 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

COULDN'T BE WITHOUT IT

08/17/2007
By ,
BOCA RATON, FLORIDA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IF YOU HAVE CHILDREN OR EVEN IF YOU DON'T, THIS IS THE "PERFECT" MATTRESS PAD FOR WHEN THOSE "LITTLE ACCIDENTS" OCCUR; AND WE ALL HAVE THEM! I DON'T KNOW WHY I WAITED SO LONG TO GET ONE! WALMART HAS TERRIFIC PRODUCTS AND TERRIFIC BARGAINS -- I HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU SHOP THERE! A SATISFIED CUSTOMER.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

Wonderful!

08/07/2007
By ,
Shelton, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son and was hesitant at first. I have used just the plastic coverings before but they were a nightmare. The Covering does a wonderful job at masking that there is plastic underneath. There is not all the plastic sounds when you lay on it or move around. It also adds just the right amount of cushion as well. I would highly reccomend this to anyone! I am buying two more tonight. One for my daughter and one for a spare!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

catch it all

12/19/2007
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
washes well! have machine washed mine 4-5 times already, (have not used dryer) holds shape, protects mattress, comfy to sleep on!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

Very hot

12/10/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This mattress pad has a few good qualities, but none that make it worth the discomfort from sleeping on a pad that does not breathe. The skirt is very durable and is of better quality than some I have purchased for more money. However, the vinyl backing does not breathe, at all!! Consequently, you get very very hot at night, your body sweats, and you feel like you are sticking to this mattress pad. It is not worth the discomfort. It has caused some very restless nights for me. I would recommend trying anything other than this mattress pad. There are plenty of waterproof pads that, although they may cost a bit more, are worth it for the comfort of a good night's sleep.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
0points
Review 10 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

I plan on returning this

01/25/2009
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Please don't waste your money on this. You really get what you pay for, and it shows with this cheap mattress pad cover. I had purchased it because it was cheap and I needed one in a hurry. It feels really nice on the top, and it is comfortable for a while, but the bottom part is made of pvc plastic. The plastic STINKS. It smells so bad it permeated to the rest of my sheets, making them stink also. Even after washing it, it still smells and so do the sheets. Also, because of the plastic, it makes you sweat. I woke up the first night, my back covered in sweat. Spend a little more and get something of better quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

Waterproof, but firm, thin and crunchy.

08/01/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this pad today when I saw that Walmart didn't have the one that I was looking at online in the store. It would work in a pinch, I think, but both my husband and I noticed it made our bed feel much more firm that it does w/out the pad. The pad is also pretty thin and b/c it has a vinyl backing (instead of polyurethane laminated fabric), it's "crunchy". I plan on returning it tomorrow and have already ordered the one I was looking at online.
It did fit our 18" deep mattress, which I found impressive, but I wouldn't order it again b/c I/we like a fluffy mattress. If you like a firm mattress, this is for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 12 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

Confusing

04/27/2008
By ,
Elgin, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Which side is supposed to be on top? The plastic or the fabric side. If you put the fabric side on top, it looks like it sewn inside-out and the fabric is NOT waterproof. If the plastic side is up, that is just too hot! So, which side is supposed to be on top?? The picture on Walmart.com shows the fabric side up and it being waterproof. The fabric part is NOT waterproof.
I will have to say that it is sewn well. As many times as this mattress pad has been washed, it has held up very well without fraying or the elastic losing its tension.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 13 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

Reminded me of my childhhood...

09/10/2008
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
...when I actually opened the bag and pulled out the pad. When I saw the vinyl, I was not very thrilled at all! That thought quickly flew out of my mind when I saw how flexible and quiet the mattress pad really was! My guest has no idea that there is vinyl on the mattress pad! I do notice that he keeps his ceiling fan on a higher setting, so I am assuming that it makes him a tad hotter. I don't have vinyl on my mattress pad and I keep my fan on a lower setting. Since I am protecting my investment...plastic it is!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

very pleased

08/28/2007
By ,
spain
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got one for my son who is potty training and another for our queen bed to save our new mattress from our two moody cats. Iam very pleased with both of them. They fit great and even my cats left our bed alone so far, my son sure tested his over and over ... we have no complains!
When I first unpacked it, it made a lot of noise, but once it was on the bed, you can hardly tell it is there. It doesn't feel like just plastic and with the padding it won't leave him in a puddle of wetness when the accidents happen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

Is it sewn inside out?

04/04/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased two of these waterproof mattress pads because it looked like the quilted portion would be on top and the plastic portion would be on the bottom. When I took them out of the packaging, washed them, and then put them on the beds, they both appeared to be sewn inside out. It appears that the plastic side is designed to be on top and the quilted side to be on the bottom?? Why would they sew it with the plastic on top? Did anyone else have this issue? I ended up putting it on the beds inside out.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

LIFE OF MY MATTRESS

01/14/2008
By ,
DENVER, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I CHECKED OUT SEVERAL PLACES AND FOUND THIS TO BE JUST AS GOOD AS THE MORE EXPENSIVE MATTRESS COVERS AND SERVES THE SAME PURPOSE, IT PROTECTS MY MATTRESS AS WELL AS THE ONE I PAID $125.OO FOR ON OUR SPARE BEDS. ABSOLUTELY THIS MATTRESS COVER PROTECTS FOR THOSE ALL UNEXPECTED OCCATIONS FROM LITTLE ONES OR EVEN BIG ONES. I RECCOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE TO EXTEND THE LIFE OF YOUR MATTRESSS. I AM EVEN GOING BACK TO BUY MORE FOR THE OTHER BEDS IN THE HOUSE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad
02/03/2008
By ,
Danbury,Ct.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I was having company with a small child. I know that they would be using my bed and wanted to protect the mattress from accidents. I have now decided to leave it on my mattress as there is NO noice that you usually get from a plastic sheet!. You can not tell that it has plastic attached to the mattress cover itself. The plastic is seperate but attached. I will be replacing ALL mattress covers to this one!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

just what we needed

09/29/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unfortunately, one of our cats has started urinating on our bed. We needed a waterproof mattress pad and I researched on-line until I found this item from Walmart.com. The mattress pad has a plastic underlining but it doesn't make crinkly sounds when it's on the bed; we hardly know it's there. This is definitely a good price on a waterproof mattress pad; Bed Bath and Beyond's prices are significantly higher.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad

Not to my satisfaction

12/11/2007
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had this pad for several months and no matter which side was up, I couldn't get the thing to stay on the mattress. I have a king size bed and Just sleeping on it made it come off the mattress, either at the top or at the bottom of the bed. My mattress is only about 14" thick so you would think that it would fit best. I had to sleep sideways on the bed to keep the mattress pad and sheets from coming off.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Mainstays Waterproof Mattress Pad
10/03/2007
By ,
lake havasu, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the appearance, but the one I purchased had a plastic lining much thicker than expected. I had few choices for a cal king, so had to get the one with the plastic lining. It generated so much heat we were both sweating all night long. I cut the plasitc out and now the mattress pad is what I intended to buy in the first place. It did take longer to get here than I thought it would.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next