Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dyson Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

Dyson Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

The Dyson DC40 Animal Upright Vacuum Cleaner is designed for all floor types including carpet, tile, vinyl and wood. The DC40 Animal comes with a mini turbine head tool to clean pet hair and dirt from tight and hard-to-reach places.
Average Customer Rating:
4.39 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(218 Reviews) 191
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
39
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation88%191 out of 218reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 100 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
39
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

Vacuum appears to be a good deal.

11/11/2013
By ,
El Dorado, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been interested in the ball technology of the Dyson vacuum cleaner for several years now, but was reluctant to pay the higher price for one of them. A few weeks ago I was surfing the Web for Dyson and I came across a clearance sale for the DC40 at Walmart.com that was a really great deal. I've had the vacuum a little over a week now. So far, it appears to work as advertised. The ball makes vacuuming around furniture, etc. a breeze. I like that I don't have to manually adjust it when going from our tile floors to our carpet, as it automatically adjusts itself. I'm delighted that I no longer have to search for bags to fit my 15-year old Hoover cleaner since the Dyson doesn't have bags to change out. At my age, I'm happy that it is much lighter when I need to pick it up. And, hopefully, the washable filter will last a lifetime as advertised. At this point, I do believe the product will work quite well even though I haven't had it long enough to offer a more experienced review of it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

Very pleased

11/15/2013
By ,
Gallipolis, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some of the bad reviews for the DC40 Animal had me worried but I love it. I have the DC7 Animal and although it still works great after 9 yrs the handle is starting to break. I was needing an old vacuum for my screened in porch so I decided to by the DC40 and use the DC7 for the grunt work. Some reviews stated that the suction was terrible but I have found that it is great. It is so easy to maneuver around things and is so much lighter than my old Dyson. The only things I don't like, which has nothing to so with the suction, is the short power cord and the small dirt bin. I could plug my old Dyson in the hall outlet and vacuum my whole house. With the DC40 I have to switch outlets 2-3 times. The dirt bin is so much smaller than the old one and needs emptying after 2 uses. (I have 4 dogs). I can understand the smaller dirt bin because it is a compact vacuum but why shorten the power cord. Just because you buy a smaller vacuum does not mean you have a smaller house. In the end I am quite happy with its performance. I love Dyson!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

Replacement for my 8 year old DC17 Absolute Animal

08/18/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace my 8 year old Dyson DC17 Animal. We vacuumed at least twice a day for 5 years with 2 cats, 1 dog, 2 females with long hair and 3 kids. After that, we had only the people and the dog so we vacuumed a minimum of every other day. It held up really well versus going through 3 Eureka and Hoovers in 3 years. That was with the older kids using it too. We did change belts a few times and had to replace the bottom filter last year. The design has definitely improved with the ball, filters, cord, & the new one is much quieter than our old one. It picks up an incredible amount of stuff & is very easy to use. The assembly directions were a little sparse like Transformers instructions but not hard if you don't think too hard. This is an excellent product. My only real complaint is that it falls over easily in the lock position if the ball is not locked just right. Again not difficult, just something different to get used to.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

Not as powerfull as other Dyson model

09/24/2013
By ,
Folsom, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first time using a Dyson was my sister's DC17 right after our vacuum broke. I thought we had a good vacuum cleaner until we used my sister's. Our carpet looked new after vacuming and I thought, what a great vacuum. We looked for one on sale and found this one, DC40 at Wallyworld on sale as a closeout. (It would appear new models come out frequently so finding a new DC17 on sale was not possible) It was received in a reasonable amount of time via FedEx. Upon the first use , I came to the realization it was not as powerfull as the DC17. While the Dc40 has good suction, it is not as good as the DC17 so this disappointed me somewhat. I almost returned it but thought to give it a week. The manuverability is fantastic and the edge suction is great. I have used the extension once and it seems to function pretty good.
Bottom line: it is a good vacuum and I think people like. Hoever, if one uses a "bigger" Dyson before hand, you will be dissapointed with this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

2nd worst Dyson ever

11/17/2013
By ,
Charleston, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This vacuum cleaner is not the worst Dyson makes, the DC50 is slightly worse than this one. I have had a DC33 for about 10 years and it is the only Dyson worth the money. This is why:
-the cord is entirely too short on the DC40, DC41 and DC50, can't even do a whole room without switching outlets;
-the "auto adjust" to carpet and bare floors sounds great until you have area rugs and worse yet area rugs on carpet, you have to pick up all the area rugs or you will miss tons
-there is no brush on the sides so forget about being able to vacuum up to the baseboards, you have to use the wand to clean the baseboards or area rugs
-the bin is very small on top so things such as cheerio's will get stuck and you have to open the canister from both ends to force it out, yes a cheerio!
-worse yet if you pick up say 6 Cheerio's with the wand, the vacuum will not suck them up in the canister, they will be stuck in the bottom and you will have to remove the canister, flip the tab and tip the vacuum upside down in the trash to clear the clog
-the ball tips over, A LOT so be prepared to catch it
Stick with the DC33, well worth the money, will last for 10 plus years and these versions are just overpriced under performing knock off's.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

If you have owned Dysons prior, don't buy this one

11/07/2013
By ,
Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this Dyson to replace the one I have owned for 8 years. This Dyson Animal is an embarrassment to Dyson. If your a first time Dyson owner this may be an improvement for you but if your use to the high quality of a Dyson, this will be a disappointment!
My complaints may be small but if your going to spend $400 on a vacuum you want to be satisfied!
Instantly I noticed how small and light the item was. I thought that would be a positive however its gives the impression that its dinky and not indestructible like my old one. I have beat my old one up and this one will not last the 8 years my prior one did. Not that I plan on running it over with a semi but I have 2 teens that help with the household and they will have to treat this item like a delicate appliance.
The cord is about half the length causing me to unplug and re-plug 4 times to vacuum my 1500 sqft house. Thats absurd seeing how my prior one would only require me to unplug once.
The canister is tiny! Its half the size of the old one. I have 2 large golden retrievers and thats why I buy the animal. I can usually go at least 3 days of vacuuming before I have to empty the canister. Today I had to empty my canister 4 times just doing my house once over. This could be because my old vacuum had lost its suction power but Dyson has built their name by the fact they dont loose suction. I also had to grab a stick to help the hair out of the canister. The prior vacuum's canister was rather large and when you hit that button it all came out. This one is so tight and compact I dont see how it was designed for households with animals.
Its loud! Not what I'm use to with Dyson. When you use on bare floors its even louder!
I had just finished vacuuming and let the dog in from outside. She tracked in some mud clumps so I grabbed the vac and nope, nothing! It didnt pick any of it up or make a bit of difference!
The positives:
Its purple and I love purple
The swivel ball helps maneuver easily under the couch and tables
Thats it!
Good luck, if your wanting the high quality Dyson promises us you may want to spend the extra cash and purchase the $700 one! This one is a joke!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN
08/12/2013
By ,
athol, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i ordered on line and received it within 3 days...it was easy to put together and i loved the way it was packaged.....no styrofoam..only cardboard which can be recycled.....although this vacuum is new to me and i'm still trying to get used to it....i love it....has great suction.....and turns on a dime..doesn't weigh much so it's easy to carry upstairs....even though i got it on sale..i've never paid this much for a vacuum... it was well worth it.....
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

Love this vacuum, worth every dollar!

08/03/2013
By ,
Sierra Vista, arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great vacuum. I have 3 boxers that shed a lot, and this dyson cleans up the carpet with no problem. I am surprised how much dirt, hair and dust it sucks up every time we use it. I did my research on vacuums and the dyson is by far the best. And the 5 year warranty is awesome.
Works great on hard floors. The detachable hose really is handy, it Doesn't extend as far as i wanted it to but its long enough to get the job done.
I recommend this vacuum 100%
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

Very lightweight vacuum

08/14/2013
By ,
phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first impression was that I could not believe how small and lightweight this vacuum is, it feels almost like a toy, and is so easy to push around. I bought this to replace a 10 year old eureka boss vacuum. We live in a small house with carpet in 3 bedrooms and the living room, there is tile in both bathrooms and kitchen. My family has two long haired humans, two short haired ones and one ragdoll/long haired cat and one short haired siamese. It does clean quite well but since it is so close to the ground it has trouble picking up some solid items. I love that you can turn the brush roller off quickly so it is great to go from tile to carpet. The cord is an okay length it is a good vacuum for our small house. The two problems I have is that during the first use that it sucked up one of my son's legos and bent some of the bristles on the brush bar. The other is that if my ragdoll loses some of his cotton ball fluff that the vacuum has a hard time removing it from the carpet in the living room. One thing that I had a real problem with my old vacuum is human hair it would break the belt all the time and I had to replace the brush bar once, with this vacuum you can see the brush bar and it has an easily removable area so you can cut the hair off the bar, so nice that I don't have to get out my tools to remove a bunch of screws to get to that part. The vacuum does pickup a lot and fills the small dirt canister fast, I usually have to empty it twice during a cleaning, but since it is so easy to do it isn't much of a hassle. This vacuum is a beautiful purple and isn't an eyesore if left out. My 8 yr old calls it the tornado vacuum. I just hope it lasts me a long time. Both my mom and sister have different models of dysons and they love them, never had any problems with them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

Pretty Good!! I like!!!

09/05/2013
By ,
VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is one of the best Vacuum I have used so far and also the most expensive one as well.
Suction power is amazing and cleans carpets like they are brand new (a little exaggeration).
It has been less than a month since I started using it so I have not cleaned out the
filters yet, I hope that is not cumbersome.
The only problem I have with this is using it on the stairs. I wish it had better attachment
to do that. It's very small range so only a few stairs at a time before I move the vaccum
closer otherwise I would give it 5 stars.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

I really like this vacuum.

08/23/2013
By ,
Blue Springs, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this vacuum. The only vacuum I have owned before this one was a Kirby. I think Kirby has a very good product, but time and situation change things. I did a lot of research and a lot of consideration before choosing this one. It's lighter weight, It has equal if not better suction. My favorite benefit is it being bagless. It's easy to dump, and no more musty odors when its in the closet.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

Fails to beat my old model

12/31/2013
By ,
MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There was NO comparison to my old regular Dyson and this one. The beater bar and bristles are smaller and spaced further apart, the vacuum was loud and making a lot of cracking noises which made me think I put it together wrong but I did not and I was having a hard time just moving it around. It wanted to jerk from side to side instead of forward and back. It didn't suction nearly as well as my old Dyson. It left the corners and side of the wall still dirty since the suction alone was not enough to grab particles from along the wall. You have to go back with a wand if you want to clean along the walls or leave a line of dirt and dust. The way this handle is fitted made it uncomfortable for me to hold onto it even after I used it for awhile. When I went to empty the canister, lots of dust flying all over because the canister is smaller and it's hard to empty it without tapping it on the side of the trash container, which sent dirt and dust into the air and in my face. I even had to reach in with my hand to pull out the hair and dust balls that wouldn't come out. I do not like the ball at all and will not buy another one. In fact, I am returning this one after only one use and looking at other brands.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN
09/13/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We got the vacuum and had warranty with it, it broke within 2 weeks of having it. Now a year later its completely broken and we need to buy a new one. It started spitting metal shavings into the filter.. We have a husky and she is in the middle of blowing her coat and it started to loose suction fast (even when we empty the bin 4 time in one room when she sheds)
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN
08/21/2013
By ,
Malakoff, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best vacuum I have ever owned. The suction and the power is amazing. If I had the money everyone in my family would get one for Christmas. I have two dogs, and two cats, so the power and suction worked great at removing the pet hair and even adjust to my kitchen floor, which was fabulous. I have always wanted a dyson, but I was never able to get one before, but I'm so happy since I got the Dyson DC 40 Animal Bag less. I will never buy another brand again.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

Didn't get all that I paid for.

12/13/2013
By ,
NW Missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The good: The vacuum seems to do what its supposed to do and that's suck dirt off the floors and carpets. My wife does like the weight of the unit and the easy handling of the vacuum. And she says it does a very good job and she is impressed with it.
The bad: We purchased this vacuum on sale and in the sale ad it showed a video of the unit in use and in that same video they show an attachment in use for picking up pet hair and it was just pretty impressive in the amount of pet hair it pulled from the carpet. What was shown in the video and also listed in the ad was a "twin turbo" rotating attachment that sells by it's self for $70. What we got in the box was a small "single" horizontally rotating head attachment that looks pretty cheaply made and it doesn't seem to do much at all when in use. I hate it when I don't get what I paid for. If I had I would be rating the vacuum a five star winner.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

BETTER THAN SHARK

10/13/2013
By ,
New Lenox, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought a Shark because it was supposed to have more suction than Dyson. NO WAY!!! I ended up buying this Dyson and it really works. Problem was multiple cats with litter that sometimes was tracked throughout the house. No More. This Dyson does an outstanding job and I just love it. If you need suction; buy a Dyson because it will really do the job. It's easy to work, empties easily and has more than enough suction - a great vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

Toy-like, too much "maintenance", and heavy

01/20/2014
By ,
Northern New Jersey
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very cool looking, very good reviews by many. For the price, though ... When I unpacked the DC40 from "Santa", I couldn't get over how toy-like it actually seemed. The plastic did not feel as strong as the plastics I have become used to in other vacuums we own(ed). I feel it will break very easily. Also various small plastic clips/slides/buttons that felt the same. Going through the manual, there was a section on the required maintenance of the vacuum itself - way too much clean up of a vacuum from my perspective. Finally, it was heavier thatn it appeared to be (should have checked the weight before purchase). I repacked and returned to BestBuy. Other may love the Dyson, but not for us.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

Vacuum is broken after 5 months

02/16/2014
By ,
doylestown, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Really liked the vacuum when I first got it. Now the suction on the vacuum is not working. Power won't stay on. Seems like the canister seal does not seal probably and does not let the vacuum run. Very disappointed.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

This Vacuum Sucks! (in a good way)

12/15/2013
By ,
Orange, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Initially I balked at the price of the Dyson, plus I was skeptical about the labeling of vacuums as being for pets. In my home, I have multiple cats and a rabbit, I need to have a vacuum that can keep up with my pets' mess. Cat litter and fur tend to be really hard on a vacuum. With my old vacuum, cat litter would be kicked back at me, and cat hair would frequently clog in the bends of the intake. That doesn't happen with the Dyson at all, and the canister doesn't get clogged either! It's also light weight and has excellent maneuverability. So far, I'm loving this vacuum. I was lucky to get this vacuum on sale for $339, which is way better than the normal $599. It's still on the high end of what I would prefer to pay for a vacuum, but the fact that this vacuum is so awesome takes some of the sting away.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dyson DC40 Animal Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40AN

Not Quite There Yet

08/30/2013
By ,
Winona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The DC40 is very light and easy to use and is appealing in design. The issue being that the suction power it brags about is still just not there. I vacuum over our rugs and lint, small pieces of paper and twigs from outside do not get picked up. It appeared a bit stronger on carpeting but still not as solid as one would think for a vacuum of $300-500 (Kirby, Electrolux category for price). I wouldn't rush right out and spend for another one at that price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 192 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next