Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Step2 Step2 Playmats

Step2 Step2 Playmats

On-the-floor activities will not be uncomfortable any more with the Step2 24-inch Playmats. This set of 4 extra-thick, interlocking cushioned mats allows kids to lie down and crawl around in comfort on the floor. This kid's playmat is lightweight for easy portability and is easy to wipe clean. It is waterproof and features textured surface for additional footing. You can use these interlocking foam mats for climbing gym padding, playhouse flooring, and exercise mats.
Average Customer Rating:
4.67 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(352 Reviews) 330
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
259
4 stars
79
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation98%337 out of 344reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
259
4 stars
79
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Step2 Playmats

High quality playmat

09/17/2008
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really happy with the mats--they are much higher quality (and thicker) then other playmats I'd looked at. Although the solid color is a little boring--the thickness is nice and the large squares make it easy to put them away for cleaning. I'm using them to make a play area on our laminate floor for my 6 month old. I've seen him fall straight back from a sitting position and not be fazed (although I freaked)! These mats are great!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Step2 Playmats

Happy play area

05/08/2014
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect fort 2yr old's play area which is his north state gate. I like its' thickness which protects my son's feet when he takes his shoes or slippers off. I also have one outside for when he plays with water. Easy clean up and overall good quality.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Step2 Playmats
04/13/2013
By ,
Brooklyn,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thick and solid. Not plush or extra soft but does the job in providing a safe area on the garswood floors. Only downsideis the slippery wax like finish these mats leave behond oddly. Other than that Im a happy camper
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Step2 Playmats

Exactly what I needed

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very happy to get this in the color I wanted. This was by far the best price and most convenient way to get a set that was not only all the same color, but the one I wanted. Thanks for a great experience!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Step2 Playmats

Great inexpensive multi-purpose mat!

11/09/2013
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two sets of these last Spring as padding for my living room floor for my 2 grandsons which were both under a year old. They provided a soft cushioned area for just learning to sit up, crawl and begin walking. We also used outside in the summer under a gated play area for the boys to be safe outdoors. When the children weren't here they were also great as mats for the adults to lie around the pool deck which was always too hot to stand on. Cleaned up well and are now in the playroom we just put together. We have wood floors which are slippery and tend to be cold in the winter. Love them and I am ordering 2 more sets to line the entire room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Step2 Playmats

great mats great value for the price

07/19/2014
By ,
Fort Worth TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these mats for my grand daughter to stand on at her water table so she does'nt burn her feet on the cement she loves them. And I love that they were a great price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Step2 Playmats

A must have for playrooms

10/30/2007
By ,
New Port Richey, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have hard tile floors and these mats are so much better than carpet/rugs. They are comfortable for the kids to sit and play on or read books. The best part is I throw them in the tub with some disinfectant occassionally, rinse, airdry and I know they are germ free. You can't do that with carpet!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Step2 Playmats

Great for outside use

07/28/2008
By ,
Tucson Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this mat outside with my son's sand and water table so he doesn't have to stand on the hot cement and its safer too. This mat has gotten wet and muddy and we just spray it off with the hose and it dries great very nicely padded too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Step2 Playmats

Just the product I needed

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I practice Tai Chi on these mats. They are great for that and exercising on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Step2 Playmats

Excellent product for my dog's condition

10/28/2010
By ,
Mission, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My veterinarian recommended this product to help my dog, who has canine degenerative myelopathy, a genetic canine condition similart to Lou Gehrig's disease in humans, to help him get traction inside his pen. We have ceramic tile floors, and he has problems with slipping and falling. These mats are the perfect solution, because they are reversible, can be cleaned, and provide a softer surface for him. He has scratched some divots and made some holes with his large claws, and he has scratched some of the surface while "making a bed," but those incidents have not been serious problems. The mosaic of mats also helps to keep his pen open in a square shape and to keep it from "traveling." I will probably order several more sets to provide traction from the pen to the back door for him.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Step2 Playmats
02/22/2008
By ,
Kenner (New Orleans), LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 5 month old so she can have a safe playing area at her grandparent's house. They have wood floors like we do, but not as much floor space. It only covers a 4' x 4' area. We have the alphabet mat at our house that covers about a 6' x 8' area, but it is only 1/2" thick. Sometimes she takes a bad bump on them. These are a good 3/4" thick, and doesn't have as hard of a landing. They are coated with some type of teflon substance, so the floor is really slick when they are picked up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Step2 Playmats

Just what I needed

08/24/2007
By ,
Lafayette, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Large squares, easy to put together. I have a daycare and I needed something soft for the little ones to crawl and play on. I ordered several of them to fill the space. Now, if the toddlers fall down, they are not as likely to get up crying because it didn't hurt when they landed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Step2 Playmats

Not as squishy and padded as I thought

08/18/2012
By ,
Elmira NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was a bit disappointed that the mats are much harder than most parents indicated in the product reviews I read. I wanted some extra cushioning, but honestly - the carpet and carpet pad in my baby's playroom are softer for my little guy's falls. I'd recommend this product on hardwood floors though. On a positive note - the interlocking mats are functional and do stay connected. His cars and trucks roll really well on this surface. I can see that we'll get lots of use out of them... I can picture we'll be using them as added protection for future craft projects -- coloring books, finger painting, etc. They are waterproof and will also work well to add more cushion on the patio when we use his little pool. AND cleaning up spit-up is a breeze. So that's a really nice feature for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Step2 Playmats

Good product for a resonable price.

03/03/2014
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice padding all the pads lock together very easy. Great product.
The only downside is that it slides around on a hardwood floors.
(Although the manufacturer does not recommend it for hardwood floors)
I haven't had a chance to clean anything off it but I'm sure my daughter will spill something soon. ;-)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Step2 Playmats

Not bad

05/14/2014
By ,
Queens, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They are very stiff at the beginning, and they skid on the hardwood floor at the beginning too, but, after a while, they get softer and they no longer skid on the floor, the best thing about these, is that we bought the first set 4 years ago, and every time we have a need, we just buy more and add put them together, which is the greatest advantage it has. It's a decent floor mat, but it wouldn't give you the soft fuzzy feeling, if that's what you're looking for...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Step2 Playmats

Great place for Nammie and baby to play!

04/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My home is currently being renovated and the floors are bare plywood, I needed something to put on the floor for my 6mth old grandson to learn to crawl on. Prior to purchasing these mats I was using a few blankets which would get all bunched up under him as he moved around and also were not very soft and he was bumping his head on the floor, he got fussy quickly with this. With the mats baby and Nammie were both comfortable and stayed on the floor playing much longer. I liked the price of these mats because I had to purchase 2 sets to cover the area I wanted to. I also like the ease in putting them together and taking them apart as I only put them down when he is here. I would however recommend you also supply a storage tote for them. I am very satisfied with this product and wal-marts processing of my order. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Step2 Playmats

Great mats for playground

03/29/2014
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am going to get more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Step2 Playmats

play mats

07/09/2009
By ,
Schodack, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased theses mats to be use on the ground outside. They worked great. They made a nice play are for my one year old daughter while camping over the holiday weekend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Step2 Playmats

Very Firm and a good cushion for exercise

05/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very thick and sturdy mat, and very good cushion for my aerobic exercise
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Step2 Playmats

Not the same as in store

05/21/2009
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We purchased mats at the actual Walmart store, and then ordered additional mats online. The mats online were not the same as the ones that are available in the store (even though they look the same in the online picture, and the dimensions are the same), so we had to return the mats we ordered online and purchase more mats from the store again. We were unhappy with this because they were supposed to be matching mats and they weren't, so we lost out on the shipping and handling (which was a considerable amount because each box of 4 mats was sent in a separate box and we ordered 12 mats).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 112 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next