Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Playskool Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Playskool Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Give your kids a way to add fun animations, stories and sounds to the pictures they take with the Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector! With more than 50 silly effects to choose from, this two-in-one camera and projector lets them snap pics and customize them! With the flip of a switch they can project their pictures too with this boys' Playskool digital camera. The buttons, controls and grips are all kid-sized for easy use, and the editing functions are built in so they don't need software. It's easy to save, print and email pictures if you have a USB cable! Get your little ones creating digitally with the Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector!
Average Customer Rating:
4.265 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%31 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Great for Kids!!!

08/28/2013
By ,
Anaheim, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just received one of these Showcam Cameras and my kids won't put it down! They are running around taking pictures of EVERYTHING and ANYTHING. Love that it is kid friendly, very simple to use and great for small hands.
My kids love taking photos and I am always nervous to give them the camera for fear of dropping it. This camera is great for them to run around and take photos and I don't have to worry about them dropping it and breaking it.
One downfall, the pictures aren't 100% crystal clear, but then again, it's not a $1,000 DSLR Camera.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

The kids love this camera!

09/12/2013
By ,
Akron, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ever since I received and opened the package, my kids have absolutely loved this camera. They love everything about it. It is a bit big for their little hands, but the large buttons make it wonderful for them. They love adding effects to pictures of everything from the dog, to their baby brother to mom and dad and even each other. Their favorite part is turning off all the lights and flipping the switch to projector mode and showing mom and dad all the pictures they have taken recently.
The ONLY con with this camera is it did not come with the USB cable to upload the pictures to the computer. I didn't know there was a product out there that didn't come with a USB cable. Very poor decision on Playskool's part to not include the cable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

I want better than "OK"

09/04/2013
By ,
Richmond, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My family received this toy to try for free as a part of a campaign to get user opinions on new products. My daughter was the first to test it out and will be 4 in November. The controls were easy enough to figure out after a bit of play time and some help from my husband and I. The toy is definitely childproof and sturdily constructed. My daughter loves the projection feature and the fact that you can customize pictures with sound effects and funny faces but the biggest challenge, which those good things cannot completely outweigh, is the extremely low resolution of the camera. You have to snap photos up close and be in VERY bright lighting in order to see what you’ve taken a picture of. This camera does not work well in low lighting and in some outside lighting. Perhaps because my child is younger than 7 (the toy is made for 3-7 year olds) she doesn't mind that she takes pictures of people and things that don't always show up clearly on screen or in projection mode. She seems just happy enough to have a camera of her own. Additionally, the camera includes an upload function but no USB cable is included with the product. In general, I don’t feel there’s anything extra special about the camera that would make me want to buy one or personally recommend it to a friend with young children.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Great for toddlers!

09/10/2014
By ,
North Vernon, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is everything it says it is! Easy to use, tough construction that can handle little ones drops, and thru love the projector! Only bad side is the pics are pretty blurry. The manual says this is only when reviewing or projecting pics and when uploaded are a lot more clear. My kids are happy with the image tho.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Christmas Gift

09/07/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started some early Christmas shopping for my 3 year old son so we haven't had a chance to play with it yet. Based on the package, it looks like a really cool toy. Can't wait to check it out. It came quickly and the price was lower than some other stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Great job PlaySkool!!

09/03/2013
By ,
CR, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a great toy for both my 4 year old and my 9 year old - although my 9 year old was too advanced for it. My 4 year old took it with him to my oldests football game and took pictures of everything from the players on the field to the fans in the stands. He couldn't wait for to hop in bed with us on Sunday morning to show off all of the pictures he took - on the ceiling! What a cool product for him to be able to play with. It has sounds and funny hats or outfits to add your face to. It's very durable. The only downside I found (from an adult point of view) was that the picture quality wasn't all that great and it had to be very light in a room for the picture to turn out. Neither of the kids cared about that! Great camera and I would recommend it to the parents looking for a durable, fun gift for their kiddo!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Blurred screen.

07/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bad product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy
08/28/2013
By ,
New york, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4 year old son loves this camera. It is so easy to use and to learn how to use. He loves taking all different pictures with the animation and projecting them on the walls. He gets so excited to show us all the pictures he has taken. Awesome camera for children. Fun and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Overall, a great product.

09/14/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received one Playskool Showcam for my kids to try and to see how they felt about the product. My kids have always tried to use my digital camera but because of how young they are they just aren't able to get the hang of it.
Our first impression: After we got the package and take it out of the box, all three of my children are thrilled and bickering amongst each other on who gets to try it first, my 4 year old immediately goes to get 4 AA batteries so we can see how it works.
The Pros:
It is very kid friendly for children of all ages. I have a 5, 4, and 2 year old and they are all able to edit the pictures with silly effects and project and take pictures. The button are big and they are very obviously marked to show what they do on the camera.
It stores up to 1000 pictures! This is amazing for a children's toy! On day one my children had taken over 300 pictures of random things in our home so I am very glad it holds quite a few pictures.
There are more than 50 special effects. And they are all silly and perfect for young children that love taking pictures of things to make silly. There are hates, animal ears, pirate stuff, ect.
You can save, print, and email pictures to send to all the people you know!
The projector is another one of my favorite features, every morning and evening my children have a slideshow and show me all the pictures they have taken together.
The Cons:
It didn't come with the usb cable, but I have to say I will be purchasing it to send pictures to friends and family.
The quality isn't as good as a standard digital camera. But I have to say it is a toy so it is kind of expected.
Overall this is an amazing product and keeps all three of my children entertained for hours, it is amazing for days where the weather is bad and the children cannot go outside. Me and my husband just adore seeing them get so excited to show us all the pictures they have taken. Thanks so much and we will use it for years to come I am sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Kids love it

08/27/2013
By ,
Townville, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kids were all over this when I got it. At first they were fighting over it but then they took their turns. I have a 5 year old and 3 year old twins who all love to take pictures. There is a funny face feature that they look and some of them make noises. It was really easy to use for them to learn. Projection is a little fuzzy and the screen could be a little bigger but overall it is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Fun 2 in 1 camera and projector

08/28/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bring out your child's inner photographer with PlaySkool's ShowCam! The durable, easy to use camera is perfect for children 3-7. The camera features large colored buttons perfect for little hands. The product allows your child to snap a picture and customize it with over 50 fun efffects and sounds! Your child will love this camera!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Great for a toddler

01/01/2014
By ,
Maple Valley, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We knew going into the purchase this was not going to have high quality photos; it was for our 2.5 year old son so for pure entertainment. He loves it and it's durable! To see the photos through the projector, be sure its dark and pointed closely at a light colored wall. Its definitely worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Great and easy to learn and use my grandson loves

09/03/2013
By ,
Red Bluff California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This not only got here a day early but since not one WalMart in my area knew what I was talking about glad there is walmart.com. You made my grandsons birthday a great one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Great Easy-to-Use Toy!

09/02/2013
By ,
Providence, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter really loves this camera. She has been able to get the hang of it very quickly and we LOVE the projector feature. Nothing like turning off the lights and seeing the great photos she's been able to capture being displayed on the wall or on the ceiling. While we have not downloaded any of her photos onto the computer yet, we are a bit disappointed at just how incredibly blurry the photos are all around when viewing them and even the way it looks when shooting the picture. Other than the blurriness issue, her little 5 year old self really enjoys it! Perfect for her age!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Good but could be great!

09/23/2013
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The camera is actually really easy to learn how to operate. I do wish there were words to reinforce the buttons since I'm teaching son to read. The sound effects are great and he really loved those. However, the screen is really grainy and the camera doesn't have a flash so you need a lot of light to take a decent picture. I'd think most folks would pay a bit more to get a higher quality screen so you can actually see decent images without uploading them.
All in all, easy to use, kept the kiddos entertained but could be a really great toy with a few tweaks.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Preparing Photogs at an early age.

10/06/2013
By ,
Alvin, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Upon receiving the Playskool Showcam my original impression was amazement that this toddler camera had so much potential to be the new "it" toy with its vast array of functions. I was a tad bit worried that it would be too tech savvy for my 4yr old that only had point and shoot camera experience. He however picked it up and learned all the functions within about 30 min of playing with it. The camera was easy to hold in his little hands and the screen was brightly lit, he went crazy with taking pictures of anything and everything in his path. His favorite part of the camera though is the projector function where he could show off his work to everyone! A few days in he dropped it, only about 2ft drop ontop the kitchen floor. From that point on the screen, to see what you are taking pictures of, turned into a dark shaded grid looking pattern and makes it very hard to see through unless its in a brightly lit room. All other functions still work perfectly fine and it still captures the pictures with as much quality as before. In the end i wish it came with a neck strap to help keep it from the easy "oops" slip that this age group is known for. I would still recommend this toy to everyone with a photo crazed kid, after all if it saves your cell phone and/or your camera from being damaged its well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Good, Not GREAT Kid Camera

10/06/2013
By ,
Midland, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have 2 kids - both are 3 years old right now. When the kids saw the camera come in the mail, they were ecstatic. It was hard to keep it from them for the few hours it took for Mommy to come home from work. Immediately, they knew what to do with the camera! I love that the buttons are big and easy to use and that the effects are kid friendly and easy to get to. The sounds that accompany the effects are nice, too! The camera seems durable and has a nice design.
There are a number of drawbacks that could really use a redesign:
- The picture quality is pretty low. I understand that this is a kid camera, but the pics are sometimes not useable.
- Pictures turn out dark many times. Some sort of flash or electronic compensation would be nice.
- Battery life seems pretty good on regular, non-rechargeable batteries, but it is terrible on rechargeables. I would recommend an internal battery that can be recharged via USB instead of a AA battery system.
- The preview "window" on the camera is terrible quality. The tic-tac-toe board design is visible in pretty much all circumstances.
- The projector is a neat function, but, again, the quality could use improvement.
Really, the kids love the camera, so that's what really matters. If it was my opinion only, I would give it 3 stars, but I think that the kids would give it 4 out of 5.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Photo Fun for Everyone!

09/27/2013
By ,
pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 4 year-old son absolutely loves this camera. It's durable with large buttons which makes it perfect for small hands. My son enjoys the fact that he can take pictures by himself and I like that he can be a little photographer without having to worry about him breaking my camera or deleting my photos. The silly animation features have been a lot of fun to play with. He has also really enjoyed giving us picture shows on our bedroom ceiling with the projection feature. The photos aren't top quality but they are what I would expect from a child's camera. I highly recommend it to anyone with a preschool aged child. #gotitfree
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Playskool Camera - Good for young children

01/02/2014
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son is 3-1/2 yrs old. The camera is very easy for him to use. The size of the buttons are great for young children. It's very easy for them to handle. The picture quality certainly isn't what you'd expect from a quality cell phone or camera, but it's a great way for kids to learn to take pictures. The funny features also helps them to learn to "frame" the picture and judge distances. Good value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Good first camera

12/31/2013
By ,
Port Orchard, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the construction and the big buttons. The projector leaves a lot to be desired, you have to be no more than a foot away to see what is being projected. Pictures are not real clear. It is a good idea with the different apps that can be added to the pictures but hard for a kid to place correctly. My son loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next