Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Playskool Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Playskool Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Give your kids a way to add fun animations, stories and sounds to the pictures they take with the Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector! With more than 50 silly effects to choose from, this two-in-one camera and projector lets them snap pics and customize them! With the flip of a switch they can project their pictures too with this boys' Playskool digital camera. The buttons, controls and grips are all kid-sized for easy use, and the editing functions are built in so they don't need software. It's easy to save, print and email pictures if you have a USB cable! Get your little ones creating digitally with the Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector!
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%47 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Great for Kids!!!

08/28/2013
By ,
Anaheim, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just received one of these Showcam Cameras and my kids won't put it down! They are running around taking pictures of EVERYTHING and ANYTHING. Love that it is kid friendly, very simple to use and great for small hands.
My kids love taking photos and I am always nervous to give them the camera for fear of dropping it. This camera is great for them to run around and take photos and I don't have to worry about them dropping it and breaking it.
One downfall, the pictures aren't 100% crystal clear, but then again, it's not a $1,000 DSLR Camera.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 2 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Hours of Fun!!

09/05/2013
By ,
Westerville, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our 5 and 3 year old daughters and our 7 year old son are all enjoying this really awesome toy! They absolutely loved all the funny sounds and the animated images. As with all children's cameras, it does require very good light to produce a good quality picture, but this seems to be much better than the fisher price camera we have. One of the best feature is the simplest: the carrying strap!!
After taking the photographs, the greatest thing so far (besides the wigs and other funny add ons) is the fact that we can project the pictures on the wall! Now, as we all know, 5 year-olds are not know for their patience, so this was great as compared to downloading it to the computer and having to wait! Plus, they are able to project the pictures anywhere they like: their bedrooms, kitchen and yes even outside!
We received this toy from BzzAgent.com about two weeks, but it seems to be sturdy, as I would expect with a Playskool toy. So far it is holding up well, as the 3 year old has dropped it several times!! The photo quality is not bad, about cell phone quality from 2010ish. I do not know how long the batteries will last, nor how many pictures it will hold: we have not had to change batteries or empty the camera yet and has been used every day! This is the perfect camera for children: durable and entertaining! WE LOVE IT!!! #GotItFree
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

3 Boys and the Playskool Showcam – HOURS of fun!

09/23/2013
By ,
Aurora, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a product sample of the Playskool ShowCam as a BzzAgent to try it out with my kids. Here’s how it went:
My 3 boys ages 5, 4, and 2 have spent hours playing with the Playskool ShowCam! This camera/projector allows them to be so creative, incorporating over 50+ fun stamps and animations into their pictures. There’s even funny sounds. Their favorite is the superhero animation where they become a flying superhero in short story. I love to see them giggle when their superhero is projected.
The Playskool ShowCam is very easy to use. The buttons are large and colorful. The options for stamps/animations and switching from camera to projector is so simple. My 5 and 4 year old mastered how to make everything work before I did. My 2 year old was even able to figure out how to take pictures and project them.
They love taking pictures and projecting them on any and everything. So far they've projected pictures onto the walls, hardwood floors, the ceiling, the couch, each other's T-shirts; really anything. My 5 year old set up a 'movie screen' on the glass of our electric fireplace for the boys to watch a slide show of all the pictures they've taken. During the day, they go into our bathroom for a dark place to project pictures. The Playskool ShowCam is even fun in the car! We took a day road trip and the boys took pictures of things we passed and on the way home, they projected a slide show of the day’s pictures on the headrests and car ceiling. I can’t believe how much fun they are having with this camera. It’s a must have.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

The kids love this camera!

09/12/2013
By ,
Akron, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ever since I received and opened the package, my kids have absolutely loved this camera. They love everything about it. It is a bit big for their little hands, but the large buttons make it wonderful for them. They love adding effects to pictures of everything from the dog, to their baby brother to mom and dad and even each other. Their favorite part is turning off all the lights and flipping the switch to projector mode and showing mom and dad all the pictures they have taken recently.
The ONLY con with this camera is it did not come with the USB cable to upload the pictures to the computer. I didn't know there was a product out there that didn't come with a USB cable. Very poor decision on Playskool's part to not include the cable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 5 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

I want better than "OK"

09/04/2013
By ,
Richmond, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My family received this toy to try for free as a part of a campaign to get user opinions on new products. My daughter was the first to test it out and will be 4 in November. The controls were easy enough to figure out after a bit of play time and some help from my husband and I. The toy is definitely childproof and sturdily constructed. My daughter loves the projection feature and the fact that you can customize pictures with sound effects and funny faces but the biggest challenge, which those good things cannot completely outweigh, is the extremely low resolution of the camera. You have to snap photos up close and be in VERY bright lighting in order to see what you’ve taken a picture of. This camera does not work well in low lighting and in some outside lighting. Perhaps because my child is younger than 7 (the toy is made for 3-7 year olds) she doesn't mind that she takes pictures of people and things that don't always show up clearly on screen or in projection mode. She seems just happy enough to have a camera of her own. Additionally, the camera includes an upload function but no USB cable is included with the product. In general, I don’t feel there’s anything extra special about the camera that would make me want to buy one or personally recommend it to a friend with young children.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 6 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Great job PlaySkool!!

09/03/2013
By ,
CR, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a great toy for both my 4 year old and my 9 year old - although my 9 year old was too advanced for it. My 4 year old took it with him to my oldests football game and took pictures of everything from the players on the field to the fans in the stands. He couldn't wait for to hop in bed with us on Sunday morning to show off all of the pictures he took - on the ceiling! What a cool product for him to be able to play with. It has sounds and funny hats or outfits to add your face to. It's very durable. The only downside I found (from an adult point of view) was that the picture quality wasn't all that great and it had to be very light in a room for the picture to turn out. Neither of the kids cared about that! Great camera and I would recommend it to the parents looking for a durable, fun gift for their kiddo!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Playskool Show Cam is fun for the whole family!

09/04/2013
By ,
Shawnee, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have four year old boy girl twins and they both absolutely loved this camera. When we first got the camera I quickly showed them how to use it and then they were off taking pictures of everything. It is easy to use, which is great for kids. The buttons are big enough that they can easily handle the camera but it still looks enough like mom and dad's camera that it doesn't seem like a baby toy.
The silly stamps and sounds were a big hit. My son couldn't get enough of taking pictures of mom, dad and his toys with funny hair or a mustache. I gave them each some time alone with the camera and then we came back together to watch their pictures projected on the wall. I think they had almost as much fun showing off their pictures as they did taking them. I enjoyed seeing what they took pictures of on their own.
We tested the camera's durability by accident, when it got thrown the stairs and I am happy to report that Playskool built this one to last. We would recommend this to any preschooler.
I got this camera for free to review from bzzagent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy
08/28/2013
By ,
New york, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4 year old son loves this camera. It is so easy to use and to learn how to use. He loves taking all different pictures with the animation and projecting them on the walls. He gets so excited to show us all the pictures he has taken. Awesome camera for children. Fun and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

BzzAgent freebie and what a great toy!

09/24/2013
By ,
Ottawa, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We received this camera for free through BzzAgent to test and review! My kids haven't put it down! They LOVE it! I can guarantee hours of fun! They can add silly things to the pictures (Yes, yes. Mom has a mustache and Dad is a cat) and project it on the wall. What's NOT to love about it for a toddler and a kindergartener?
Pros: Durable. Entertaining.
Cons: Not the best quality picture. Expensive!
To be clear, I would not pay $50+ (some retailers sell for $70! Yikes!) for this toy only because of the quality of the picture. Would I pay $35? Absolutely! $40? Ehhh..... I may actually find this on a Black Friday deal for birthday gifts throughout the year! We have only had this camera for several weeks, but I think it's safe to say it's pretty durable. Even the most delicate kids still drop their toys. This seems to have no damage from normal use. Plus, like I said, this toy is cool! Lots of fun!
Buy this one! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Definitely makes the kids giggle!

09/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We received this camera for free through BzzAgent to test and review! My kids haven't put it down! They LOVE it! I can guarantee hours of fun! They can add silly things to the pictures (Yes, yes. Mom has a mustache and Dad is a cat) and project it on the wall. What's NOT to love about it for a toddler and a kindergartener?
Pros: Durable. Entertaining.
Cons: Not the best quality picture. Expensive!
To be clear, I would not pay $50+ (some retailers sell for $70! Yikes!) for this toy only because of the quality of the picture. Would I pay $35? Absolutely! $40? Ehhh..... I may actually find this on a Black Friday deal for birthday gifts throughout the year! We have only had this camera for several weeks, but I think it's safe to say it's pretty durable. Even the most delicate kids still drop their toys. This seems to have no damage from normal use. Plus, like I said, this toy is cool! Lots of fun!
Buy this one! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Overall, a great product.

09/14/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received one Playskool Showcam for my kids to try and to see how they felt about the product. My kids have always tried to use my digital camera but because of how young they are they just aren't able to get the hang of it.
Our first impression: After we got the package and take it out of the box, all three of my children are thrilled and bickering amongst each other on who gets to try it first, my 4 year old immediately goes to get 4 AA batteries so we can see how it works.
The Pros:
It is very kid friendly for children of all ages. I have a 5, 4, and 2 year old and they are all able to edit the pictures with silly effects and project and take pictures. The button are big and they are very obviously marked to show what they do on the camera.
It stores up to 1000 pictures! This is amazing for a children's toy! On day one my children had taken over 300 pictures of random things in our home so I am very glad it holds quite a few pictures.
There are more than 50 special effects. And they are all silly and perfect for young children that love taking pictures of things to make silly. There are hates, animal ears, pirate stuff, ect.
You can save, print, and email pictures to send to all the people you know!
The projector is another one of my favorite features, every morning and evening my children have a slideshow and show me all the pictures they have taken together.
The Cons:
It didn't come with the usb cable, but I have to say I will be purchasing it to send pictures to friends and family.
The quality isn't as good as a standard digital camera. But I have to say it is a toy so it is kind of expected.
Overall this is an amazing product and keeps all three of my children entertained for hours, it is amazing for days where the weather is bad and the children cannot go outside. Me and my husband just adore seeing them get so excited to show us all the pictures they have taken. Thanks so much and we will use it for years to come I am sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Kids love it

08/27/2013
By ,
Townville, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kids were all over this when I got it. At first they were fighting over it but then they took their turns. I have a 5 year old and 3 year old twins who all love to take pictures. There is a funny face feature that they look and some of them make noises. It was really easy to use for them to learn. Projection is a little fuzzy and the screen could be a little bigger but overall it is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Fun 2 in 1 camera and projector

08/28/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bring out your child's inner photographer with PlaySkool's ShowCam! The durable, easy to use camera is perfect for children 3-7. The camera features large colored buttons perfect for little hands. The product allows your child to snap a picture and customize it with over 50 fun efffects and sounds! Your child will love this camera!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Great for a toddler

01/01/2014
By ,
Maple Valley, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We knew going into the purchase this was not going to have high quality photos; it was for our 2.5 year old son so for pure entertainment. He loves it and it's durable! To see the photos through the projector, be sure its dark and pointed closely at a light colored wall. Its definitely worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy
10/04/2013
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were actually lucky enough to get this product for free to demo from Bzzagent, and we could not be more happy with it. My 6 year old son loves this camera! We decided to give it to him for his 6th birthday because he has been asking for a camera. The second it was out of the box he was able to figure out all of its features and show mommy a thing or too that I didn't know about it. My son loves to make silly animations of people with the camera. Its great for kids all ages as well because my one year old loves to watch his slide show projections on the wall and dance to the music! It is very durable as well because my one year old likes to throw it sometimes and chew on it. This thing is virtually indestructible to go through all my boys can dish out lol. Definitely a great buy for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Great Camera for Kids

09/22/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
#got it free as a BZZAgent! My boys were so excited when they saw it. They loved all of the background add ons, and thought they were so funny adding me into a monkey body. Then they figured out that the extremely easy to use projector switch was right in front and they were running around trying to find somewhere dark enough that they could see all of their pictures. The pictures were also turned into a little slideshow with music and effects. Dont expect amazing picture quality, but it is made for Kids fun, not becoming a professional. There is an inout for a USB so you can transfer pictures to the computer, but cord was not included. Also batteries do go very fast, so you might want to invest in some rechargeables! Overall fits its purpose well for my 7 and 4 year olds!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Great and easy to learn and use my grandson loves

09/03/2013
By ,
Red Bluff California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This not only got here a day early but since not one WalMart in my area knew what I was talking about glad there is walmart.com. You made my grandsons birthday a great one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Great Easy-to-Use Toy!

09/02/2013
By ,
Providence, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter really loves this camera. She has been able to get the hang of it very quickly and we LOVE the projector feature. Nothing like turning off the lights and seeing the great photos she's been able to capture being displayed on the wall or on the ceiling. While we have not downloaded any of her photos onto the computer yet, we are a bit disappointed at just how incredibly blurry the photos are all around when viewing them and even the way it looks when shooting the picture. Other than the blurriness issue, her little 5 year old self really enjoys it! Perfect for her age!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Good but could be great!

09/23/2013
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The camera is actually really easy to learn how to operate. I do wish there were words to reinforce the buttons since I'm teaching son to read. The sound effects are great and he really loved those. However, the screen is really grainy and the camera doesn't have a flash so you need a lot of light to take a decent picture. I'd think most folks would pay a bit more to get a higher quality screen so you can actually see decent images without uploading them.
All in all, easy to use, kept the kiddos entertained but could be a really great toy with a few tweaks.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Playskool Showcam 2-in-1 Digital Camera and Projector, Boy

Blurred screen.

07/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bad product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next