Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Hoover Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

The FH50900 Power Hoover Carpet Washer deep cleans on the double. You can lift tough, deep-down dirt up and out of your carpet with the product's specially designed DualSpin power brushes. This electric carpet cleaner is lightweight, too, so you can quickly and easily pick up and go wherever messes go. This powerful item cleans carpets and rugs without damaging them. Fingertip controls allow you to control the application of detergent, so you can give something a once-over or focus on a problem spot.
Average Customer Rating:
3.418 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(328 Reviews) 328
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
131
4 stars
60
3 stars
29
2 stars
31
1 star
77
Customer Recommendation64%201 out of 313reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 124 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
131
4 stars
60
3 stars
29
2 stars
31
1 star
77
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

worked well, until it broke during first use

12/05/2013
By ,
Ruth, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This carpet washer cleaned my carpets very well up until the belt broke during the first use. I removed the belt cover and, not only was it broken, but the wheel that it sits on is melted and sideways. This type of issue shows the poor quality of the machine. I see by the reviews on the Hoover website that I am not the only one with this problem. I just wish I would have read them before I made this purchase. This machine should be taken off the market until this issue is fixed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+152points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Maxton, North Carolina
BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!!
Posted 09/16/2014
Please for the sake of your sanity do NOT buy this piece of trash. I have had two within the last 7 months (and now waiting on my third). The belt's keep braking and the wheel the belt sits on also melts and brake's off. Called Hoover to only be told I can't get my money back and all they can do is send me a replacement. I am very disappointed and will never buy a Hoover product again.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 02/15/2014
sounds like to me that you overheated it...and let too much buildup accumulate. hopefully you vacuumed thoroughly befroehand...and maybe a new vacuum is in also in order..with any carpet cleaner you need to stop and cleanout builtup debris. I am sure this machine is not meant to do a whole house full of carpeting in one day...maybe one room a day...give the thing a rest...you have to realize it is not to be treated like a more expensive or industrial machine
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Excellent Value!

11/16/2013
By ,
miami
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Hoover was shipped quickly. Hubby put it together fast and away I went. Easy to fill the cleaning tank (it doesn't last too long, though) and easy to drain/clean the dirty tank. I have two 8x10 area rugs used by my toddler granddaughter and small poodle: one oriental and one short shag. As recommended, I vacuumed thoroughly first. The shorter Oriental Rug was faster to clean than the short shag. The head is small and it does take some patience to clean everything well. Suction was better than expected, filling 50% of the dirty water tank. Happy to note that the water did not seep through to the floor on either rug. The rugs look great and smell fresh!
Only CON is that when taking the cleaner off of the carpet, there is quite a bit of dirty water residue that drips out from the rollers and plastic head that dirties the floor (hope it wasn't also going on the carpet I just cleaned!). Doesn't appear to be good for large areas as it would take forever. But for my needs, it is perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Another hoover little unit with big power

08/08/2014
By ,
League City TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I moved into an apartment after my son and three boys moved out, what a mess and the carpets were worse then the walls. I rented a carpet cleaner from my local grocer store and a friend of mine cleaned the carpets with it, didn't improve much. Later that same month the apartments had one of their maintenance men clean the carpets about the same results. I have only used my Hoover Dual power for about 2 hours cleaned my room and just the front door entrance, WOW it almost looks new. Power drive what a blessing and great suction. Didn't even have to saturate the carpet to get the dirt to come out. Easy to clean I put it in the tub and used my hand held shower head to flush the hose that goes from the suction area (front of machine) to the dirty water container. And flush it did! I then ran the hose around the brushes and clean them as easy. If you are worried about the belt breaking get a replacement ahead of time, you'll need it one day. But this is a must own for folks who live in an apartment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Perfect for small spaces

10/23/2013
By ,
Pacifica, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This carpet washer is actually smaller and lighter than my regular vacuum which was a huge selling point. Perfect for apartment dwellers but great for larger spaces as well. It was really easy to put together and came with the first bottle of cleaner. I don't know that this would be the best item for spot cleaning stains but it does a great job of generally sanitizing and cleaning carpet and area rugs. I have multiple pets and have a large 8x10 shag area rug that I had yet to clean. I wasn't sure how something so small would do on a shag carpet, but it was super easy to use and definitely left me with a dirty tank of water. It felt like a lot more water left the tank than returned dirty, but the carpet wasn't that saturated when I was done and it was fully dry by the next morning. The day after I cleaned my carpet our dog had an accident on our couch and we used it to clean the cushion (with skepticism from me) and much to my suprise it worked great and left the cushion spot and smell free. Definitely recommend this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+140points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

cleans good, not really amazing

03/30/2014
By ,
texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It does clean well, picks up alot more than my vacuum cleaner. I mainly used it on my area rug that had a few stains and removed some of them. My rug does look alot better now. It removed a stain from my carpet and made other stains less noticeable. I think it could have been a little bit better of a product. After filling the solution tank up, I have a hard time getting it back in, it's a tight space. Also I wouldn't recommend filling the solution tank up all the way with water, about 3/4 full. It will leak. It leaked quite a bit the second time I used it. Leaked water through the holes in the back, and I had to fill it up again. It nearly leaked all the way out while I was trying to get the solution tank in. So I had to pull it out so I can fill it back up. I've been pulling the empty dirty water tank out first and then trying to put the solution tank in. Then putting the dirty water tank back in. I'm glad to having a cleaner rug and it looking better. Still working on removing a couple of the stains though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

good for the price

03/02/2014
By ,
huntington wv
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
keep in mind you get what you pay for. if you are expecting to buy this machine for less than 100 dollars and take it home and use it on filthy carpet that hasnt been cleaned in a long time or never, this is not the machine for you. also keep in mind the commercial, that carpet is already clean just vacuumed and when you go over it in a different direction you will get the affect that it is being cleaned.
pros: cheap, light (good for someone like me who has back problems) easy to put together, easy to use, (fill, and empty) great for inbetween deep cleanings.
cons: smaller so it takes abit longer to do larger areas, the cord is not very long , it leaks when not in use( set it on a towel or rag) but my older one leaked aslo (hoovr power scrub)
done great on a few pet stains i had, and used it in my kitchen on an area rug that i was ready to throw out, and actually cleand it very well.
the key to any carpet cleaner is to make sure you vacuum well befor using it. and using a good deep cleaning vacuum, sorry hoover but i do prefer the shark for vacuuming.
also keep in mind just because it is light and makes you want to go fast, keep it slow and steady.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

light weight, easy to use

01/08/2014
By ,
Huntsville al
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my new carpet cleaner! It is light weight, easy to use, and was easy to put together. I vacuumed my carpets with my Dyson vacuum before I cleaned my carpets. I was shocked at how much pet hair, the Hoover carpet cleaner picked up from my carpet. The down side was it left the hair in clumps, and I had to pick it up with a paper towel when I was done cleaning my carpets. I did notice that dirty water dripped out from the rollers when I stopped the machine, and left it in one place. Not a lot, I just need to remember to stop the machine on the tile floors, when I am finished with the carpets, so the dirty water does not dirty the carpets I just cleaned. If you are looking for something that is easy to use, and light weight, I think you will like the Hover. It didn’t take me long to clean my living room rug. With this machine, I could very easily clean my carpets once a week without my back hurting.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Does a great job

11/08/2013
By ,
oklahoma,ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to put together. Its a light weight simple cleaner. Which is what I wanted. Its looks awesome in person. I love it. It did a great job at cleaning my carpet. I was really impressed! The suction on this machine is awesome. I do however have two complaints. First, the same day I received the cleaner I had cleaned 3 rooms but once I got to the 4th room I noticed the spinners weren't spinning. The belt broke! :( Can't find replacement belt at Walmart store or online. You will have to go to the hoover website to order it. Second, the cleaning of the suction area is not to fun. Sometimes you suck up a lot of loose carpet or hair etc. and it gets stuck, most machines you can pop the top plastic cover to clean. Which is easier because it happens a lot and suction doesn't work as great if you have a lot of guck stuck under it. On this machine however you have to completely take apart underneath to clean under the plastic top. Which is only seven screws but it usually happens during cleaning and I had to stop to clean it and start back again. Anyways I know I am rambling but it was a pain!lol. All in all it did a awesome job at cleaning my carpet and I don't regret buying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Piece of garbage

05/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to get this carpet scrubber because due to my health issues it was lightweight and easy to use. The first time it was used my carpet looked great. The second time I went to use the machine it would not turn on. We tried several times to get it to come on, but it just would not come on. My husband returned it to Walmart and they exchanged it for another one. Once again I used it and then cleaned it very well and put it away. Then about a month later I went to use it again and the same thing happened - IT WILL NOT TURN ON AT ALL. What a waste of our money. This one too will be returned, but I will not take another one. I am done with this machine.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

NOT A GOOD PRODUCT

05/21/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product didn't meet my expectations. It really didn't clean the carpet well and I had to clean it numerous times for it to show that it was clean. I guess you pay for what you get.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

I love This Machine

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My white carpet was HORRIBLE and I needed it cleaned cheaply fast, I purchased this little cleaner and my goodness my carpet looks AMAZING, I wish I could post before and after pics
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Ok for surface dirt

05/20/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall clean was very good. However stain that originally lifted came back very soon thereafter. It is in a high traffic area. Perhaps we needed to use a stronger solution or let that soak longer but overall very happy.
Recommends this product? Yes
From HooverUSA05/20/2015
Hi Peytonp,
If you do encounter tough stains, pre-treating is a great way to get rid of them. Just cover the area with undiluted solution and let it sit for 5-10 minutes, then extract it with the Dual Power. Approach the stain from different direction to scrub the carpet fibers at every angle. Hope this helps! -- John, Hoover Customer Care Hoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Hoover rug shampooer

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works very well, excelant in fact, it did our entire upstairs and staircase. Don...xyz
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

loving it

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was the best cleaner I've purchased. small but powerful, I do recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Dissatisfied... Very Dissatisfied

02/13/2014
By ,
Marietta, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this item on a whim from the store. They didn't have a model of it set up, so I really wasn't sure what to expect. I couldn't believe that it is smaller than my vacuum. Firstly the machine is built cheap. All of the plastics are cheap feeling. I figure this it to keep the product light weight. But that in turn is a problem in itself. The machine is so light weight that it doesn't pick up the water it lays down. Which is another problem. It doesn't lay the water down equally. Half of the path was nearly dry the other half is soaking wet. It takes twice as long to shampoo the carpets because only half of the path is wet so I ended up having to go over the path 2 times. By the time I was done the carpets were still soaked. and I had to go back over them again to try to pick up the extra water (and it didn't help at all). This is not the first shampooer I have used, so this is not a new process to me. By the end of it I was so frustrated with the half of a room I did that I dumped the dirty water, left the clean water in the tank to come back to finish later. When I came back the clean water tank was empty and there was a huge puddle on my kitchen floor from the clean tank leaking. I checked the tank and it is cracked. Needless to say this item is being returned to the store today. I getting my money back and buying something that has a model and better reviews. I wouldn't recommend this machine to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hillsboro, TN
Billie
Posted 03/31/2014
I too had great expectations and the dumb thing broke soon as I got it! 2 weeks of only spot cleaning!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Clean as a Whistle!

05/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This carpet cleaner does the job, quickly and efficiently. Simple to operate and just as easy to clean the machine afterward. Good bargain!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Why not 5 stars?

05/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little machine. Cleans great. Lightweight and easy to handle The first one leaked and they were eager to replace it , but, I had to contact them 3 times. It's an issue with the call center procedures. The only thing I would change is how to clean the brushes afer use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Greta item

05/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was so light and easy to use the other one i had was so heavy this is so much better
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Buy this over the Bissell lightweight

04/14/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Bissell one and this Hoover lightweight carpet cleaner. This outperformed the Bissell hands down. It's not as messy to empty the dirty water tank and the suction sounds gives you a clear indication when you need to empty it. It's less than $100 so I can't expect the tanks to be too big. I spent nearly 4 hours doing my entire apartment (1000 sq. feet) and the results are FABOLOUS. My carpet looks brand new and is baby soft again. I took my time and emptied/refilled over 10 times but it definitely paid off. This is a project and not something you'll want to do all the time. I have kids and they left so many juice stains on my carpet all of which are gone except for a really old koolaid stain. This took dirt out that the Bissell did not. A GOOD BUY, I RECOMMEND.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Well worth the money

03/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband happened to pick this up at the store about 3 months ago. I was skeptical, wondering if it was worth it. WELL, less than a week later the 90 lb. dog came down with a bad tummy and vomited all over,- this lasted almost a week. After we got him cured, the new cat got a sinus infection and decided that she didn't feel like using the cat box. So I have been using this cleaner more than my regular vac. It has been a godsend and my rugs have never looked so good. I have no complaints at all, it is really lightweight, easy to use , and so far after many many uses still works and looks like new. Just remember, if you have pets, like I do, to clean it after every use. I put mine in the bathtub and use the hand sprayer to get all the hair off the rollers on the bottom.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 227 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next