Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Hoover Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

The FH50900 Power Hoover Carpet Washer deep cleans on the double. You can lift tough, deep-down dirt up and out of your carpet with the product's specially designed DualSpin power brushes. This electric carpet cleaner is lightweight, too, so you can quickly and easily pick up and go wherever messes go. This powerful item cleans carpets and rugs without damaging them. Fingertip controls allow you to control the application of detergent, so you can give something a once-over or focus on a problem spot.
Average Customer Rating:
3.738 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(214 Reviews) 214
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
48
3 stars
20
2 stars
14
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation74%151 out of 205reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 93 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
48
3 stars
20
2 stars
14
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

worked well, until it broke during first use

12/05/2013
By ,
Ruth, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This carpet washer cleaned my carpets very well up until the belt broke during the first use. I removed the belt cover and, not only was it broken, but the wheel that it sits on is melted and sideways. This type of issue shows the poor quality of the machine. I see by the reviews on the Hoover website that I am not the only one with this problem. I just wish I would have read them before I made this purchase. This machine should be taken off the market until this issue is fixed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+112points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 02/15/2014
sounds like to me that you overheated it...and let too much buildup accumulate. hopefully you vacuumed thoroughly befroehand...and maybe a new vacuum is in also in order..with any carpet cleaner you need to stop and cleanout builtup debris. I am sure this machine is not meant to do a whole house full of carpeting in one day...maybe one room a day...give the thing a rest...you have to realize it is not to be treated like a more expensive or industrial machine
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Excellent Value!

11/16/2013
By ,
miami
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Hoover was shipped quickly. Hubby put it together fast and away I went. Easy to fill the cleaning tank (it doesn't last too long, though) and easy to drain/clean the dirty tank. I have two 8x10 area rugs used by my toddler granddaughter and small poodle: one oriental and one short shag. As recommended, I vacuumed thoroughly first. The shorter Oriental Rug was faster to clean than the short shag. The head is small and it does take some patience to clean everything well. Suction was better than expected, filling 50% of the dirty water tank. Happy to note that the water did not seep through to the floor on either rug. The rugs look great and smell fresh!
Only CON is that when taking the cleaner off of the carpet, there is quite a bit of dirty water residue that drips out from the rollers and plastic head that dirties the floor (hope it wasn't also going on the carpet I just cleaned!). Doesn't appear to be good for large areas as it would take forever. But for my needs, it is perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

cleans good, not really amazing

03/30/2014
By ,
texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It does clean well, picks up alot more than my vacuum cleaner. I mainly used it on my area rug that had a few stains and removed some of them. My rug does look alot better now. It removed a stain from my carpet and made other stains less noticeable. I think it could have been a little bit better of a product. After filling the solution tank up, I have a hard time getting it back in, it's a tight space. Also I wouldn't recommend filling the solution tank up all the way with water, about 3/4 full. It will leak. It leaked quite a bit the second time I used it. Leaked water through the holes in the back, and I had to fill it up again. It nearly leaked all the way out while I was trying to get the solution tank in. So I had to pull it out so I can fill it back up. I've been pulling the empty dirty water tank out first and then trying to put the solution tank in. Then putting the dirty water tank back in. I'm glad to having a cleaner rug and it looking better. Still working on removing a couple of the stains though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Perfect for small spaces

10/23/2013
By ,
Pacifica, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This carpet washer is actually smaller and lighter than my regular vacuum which was a huge selling point. Perfect for apartment dwellers but great for larger spaces as well. It was really easy to put together and came with the first bottle of cleaner. I don't know that this would be the best item for spot cleaning stains but it does a great job of generally sanitizing and cleaning carpet and area rugs. I have multiple pets and have a large 8x10 shag area rug that I had yet to clean. I wasn't sure how something so small would do on a shag carpet, but it was super easy to use and definitely left me with a dirty tank of water. It felt like a lot more water left the tank than returned dirty, but the carpet wasn't that saturated when I was done and it was fully dry by the next morning. The day after I cleaned my carpet our dog had an accident on our couch and we used it to clean the cushion (with skepticism from me) and much to my suprise it worked great and left the cushion spot and smell free. Definitely recommend this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

good for the price

03/02/2014
By ,
huntington wv
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
keep in mind you get what you pay for. if you are expecting to buy this machine for less than 100 dollars and take it home and use it on filthy carpet that hasnt been cleaned in a long time or never, this is not the machine for you. also keep in mind the commercial, that carpet is already clean just vacuumed and when you go over it in a different direction you will get the affect that it is being cleaned.
pros: cheap, light (good for someone like me who has back problems) easy to put together, easy to use, (fill, and empty) great for inbetween deep cleanings.
cons: smaller so it takes abit longer to do larger areas, the cord is not very long , it leaks when not in use( set it on a towel or rag) but my older one leaked aslo (hoovr power scrub)
done great on a few pet stains i had, and used it in my kitchen on an area rug that i was ready to throw out, and actually cleand it very well.
the key to any carpet cleaner is to make sure you vacuum well befor using it. and using a good deep cleaning vacuum, sorry hoover but i do prefer the shark for vacuuming.
also keep in mind just because it is light and makes you want to go fast, keep it slow and steady.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Buy this over the Bissell lightweight

04/14/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Bissell one and this Hoover lightweight carpet cleaner. This outperformed the Bissell hands down. It's not as messy to empty the dirty water tank and the suction sounds gives you a clear indication when you need to empty it. It's less than $100 so I can't expect the tanks to be too big. I spent nearly 4 hours doing my entire apartment (1000 sq. feet) and the results are FABOLOUS. My carpet looks brand new and is baby soft again. I took my time and emptied/refilled over 10 times but it definitely paid off. This is a project and not something you'll want to do all the time. I have kids and they left so many juice stains on my carpet all of which are gone except for a really old koolaid stain. This took dirt out that the Bissell did not. A GOOD BUY, I RECOMMEND.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

light weight, easy to use

01/08/2014
By ,
Huntsville al
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my new carpet cleaner! It is light weight, easy to use, and was easy to put together. I vacuumed my carpets with my Dyson vacuum before I cleaned my carpets. I was shocked at how much pet hair, the Hoover carpet cleaner picked up from my carpet. The down side was it left the hair in clumps, and I had to pick it up with a paper towel when I was done cleaning my carpets. I did notice that dirty water dripped out from the rollers when I stopped the machine, and left it in one place. Not a lot, I just need to remember to stop the machine on the tile floors, when I am finished with the carpets, so the dirty water does not dirty the carpets I just cleaned. If you are looking for something that is easy to use, and light weight, I think you will like the Hover. It didn’t take me long to clean my living room rug. With this machine, I could very easily clean my carpets once a week without my back hurting.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Excellent carpet cleaner

01/02/2014
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent carpet cleaner--light weight (a real plus), easy to use, does a really good job. Can't be beat for the price and experience. I saw some other reviews where people had issues with the belts breaking--I think that might happen because it picks up carpet fiber and pet hair (we have 5 cats) and during the cleaning process I had to stop it occasionally and pull the fiber and hair out of the rollers (I could see it through the top, between the rollers and the clear top). If that built up it I imagine it would break the belt. But I don't count that as a minus because it brushed up the carpets really well and got out a lot of dirt that my older, heavier Hoover didn't (because it had the circular, flat brushes that never worked well and finally broke on it!). Very good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Does a great job

11/08/2013
By ,
oklahoma,ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to put together. Its a light weight simple cleaner. Which is what I wanted. Its looks awesome in person. I love it. It did a great job at cleaning my carpet. I was really impressed! The suction on this machine is awesome. I do however have two complaints. First, the same day I received the cleaner I had cleaned 3 rooms but once I got to the 4th room I noticed the spinners weren't spinning. The belt broke! :( Can't find replacement belt at Walmart store or online. You will have to go to the hoover website to order it. Second, the cleaning of the suction area is not to fun. Sometimes you suck up a lot of loose carpet or hair etc. and it gets stuck, most machines you can pop the top plastic cover to clean. Which is easier because it happens a lot and suction doesn't work as great if you have a lot of guck stuck under it. On this machine however you have to completely take apart underneath to clean under the plastic top. Which is only seven screws but it usually happens during cleaning and I had to stop to clean it and start back again. Anyways I know I am rambling but it was a pain!lol. All in all it did a awesome job at cleaning my carpet and I don't regret buying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Dissatisfied... Very Dissatisfied

02/13/2014
By ,
Marietta, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this item on a whim from the store. They didn't have a model of it set up, so I really wasn't sure what to expect. I couldn't believe that it is smaller than my vacuum. Firstly the machine is built cheap. All of the plastics are cheap feeling. I figure this it to keep the product light weight. But that in turn is a problem in itself. The machine is so light weight that it doesn't pick up the water it lays down. Which is another problem. It doesn't lay the water down equally. Half of the path was nearly dry the other half is soaking wet. It takes twice as long to shampoo the carpets because only half of the path is wet so I ended up having to go over the path 2 times. By the time I was done the carpets were still soaked. and I had to go back over them again to try to pick up the extra water (and it didn't help at all). This is not the first shampooer I have used, so this is not a new process to me. By the end of it I was so frustrated with the half of a room I did that I dumped the dirty water, left the clean water in the tank to come back to finish later. When I came back the clean water tank was empty and there was a huge puddle on my kitchen floor from the clean tank leaking. I checked the tank and it is cracked. Needless to say this item is being returned to the store today. I getting my money back and buying something that has a model and better reviews. I wouldn't recommend this machine to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hillsboro, TN
Billie
Posted 03/31/2014
I too had great expectations and the dumb thing broke soon as I got it! 2 weeks of only spot cleaning!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Great for the price

10/02/2013
By ,
Rutledge, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job, light weight, easy to clean, cheap, and efficient.
I have a toddler and two dogs I needed something to freshen up the floors.
This works well for what I need it for. It got rid of the stains and and lifted away a lot of nasty things from my carpet. The clean water tank is a little small, cleans a 10x10 bedroom, the suction is not super powerful but it does suck up about 50% of the water so it's not bad.
The prep instructions say vacuum throughly and I can not stress this enough.
My dirty water canister leaks a tad but nothing serious. I dump it immediately after every use so this is not exactly a problem for me.
For the price it is great. Absolutely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Best Carpet Washer I've Ever Had, Money Well Spent

04/29/2014
By ,
Greenwood, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this carpet washer! It was under $100 off the shelf in store, easy and quick to put together, very lightweight - lighter than my vacuum cleaner, and works wonderfully! And it is so quiet! I read the other reviews, and I don't have any of those problems out of mine. I had to throw away my old carpet washer, which cost me $250, because it leaked and the upholstery attachment stopped spraying water. I didn't realize how much gunk it was leaving behind on my carpet until I tried this Hoover. I have two dogs, two cats, three kids, and a messy husband in my home, so I had some pretty bad stains on my carpet. This carpet washer got up every last stain with only two passes, and it only took about 20 minutes to clean all the carpet downstairs. It left it smelling fresh and looking brand new, and my carpet is white! The tanks are easy to fill and empty, even into a small sink. It only took one and a half tanks to clean all the carpet, and it uses very little cleaning solution. Not only is the appliance itself a great value, but it helps to stretch your money even further by getting the most out of the cleaning solution. I used the Hoover pet cleaning solution. This was one of the best purchases I have ever made. It was money very well spent. If this carpet washer ever breaks, I'll go buy the same one to replace it! The only downside to this one is that it has no upholstery attachment. However, this being my third carpet washer, I have realized it is better to have one simple lightweight one for the carpets and a separate hand-held portable one just for upholstery and vehicles. You'll only spend about $200 total for both - that's cheaper than either of my first two carpet washers - and you won't have the headache of trying to lug a big heavy appliance up and down stairs and outside for vehicles or, with some, take the appliance apart and put it back together every time you want to attach the hose for upholstery cleaning. I am very happy with this purchase. I wish I had made it sooner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Great Shampooer but I had a problem early on that

06/17/2014
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all let me say I just love this carpet washer. I am a petite person and it is light enough for me to use without getting tired or sore like the big home models that I have previously owned. Depending on the size of the space you are cleaning you will have to empty the tank (2.75 quarts) quite a bit. It also cleans better than the larger professional models that I have previously owned. But that may be due to the fact that I can actually use this one and it is not an effort to push/pull. My carpet hasn't been cleaned in years and I have all sorts of stains from traffic to coffee spills, to food, to left over stains from the previous owners of my home. It got up every thing. The only exception is the coffee stains. But even with those it lighten them up to where they are not nearly as noticeable. To those who say the carpet leaks, all carpet shampooers have water below the brushes that will spill out when you turn it off. Just make sure you have a towel to rest it on and this will take up the liquid. Also, you will need to use a strainer when emptying the dirty water container. It will have some carpet fibers and you don't want to spend the money you saved on this unit on paying a plumber.
Now the reason why I gave this a 1 rating. It may seem cruel esp when I love this unit so much. I received this unit on a Wednesday. So I stayed up late that night and cleaned my loft area it is about 200 square feet. I have my office, exercise equip, and a TV in this area and it is also the entrance to every room upstairs. I was amazed at how well the machine cleaned the carpet. The next night I stayed up late to do my master bedroom. This room is about 300 - 400 square feet. Same thing I was amazed at how well the machine did on the traffic area as well as food stains and crayon stains from the previous owners children. I had been working on the children stains for years without success. So I was really pleased. Hoover recommends that after shampooing you rinse the carpet to remove all the shampoo residue. I was about 1/3 way into the rinsing process for the bedroom when the brushes stopped rotating. The belt broke there I was with a unit that was less than 48 hours old and the belt broke from normal usage. There was no wear on the belt and I did not smell rubber prior to the breakage.
I contacted hoover and they offered to send out a new belt at no charge to me. But that didn't help my situation. She gave me the name of several retailers near my home that carried hoover products. I went to two of them and neither carried the belt for this model. So I drove across town to my local Walmart. They didn't even carry the belt for this model in the store. They sell the washer but do not carry the replacement belt. I was completely undone. I would have understood if they were out of stock . But to not carry a belt for a product that is a walmart exclusive is irresponsible. They don't even have the belt available on walmart.com. If I didn't like this shampooer so much I would just return it to the store an be done with it. Walmart could have least have hoover include an extra belt with the machine. I did read the reviews and saw where there were others who had this to happen early in their ownership as well. I went to Hoover's site and see where the belt is available for a little less than 2.00 dollars and unlike other belts it only fits this model. So I stocked up.
Sorry this post is so long. I really love this machine. As a small woman, it is exactly what I needed to be able to clean my carpet at home. And I have owned the very large professional grade shampooers before. I just wanted to get the word out on the situation concerning the belts. Don't be afraid to purchase this machine. But if you like it and decide to keep it; invest in purchasing your belts ahead of time.
I must say that my ownership is still very new. I still have 5 more rooms to clean. (waiting on the belts to arrive by mail) If I find that the belts continue to break frequently after little usage, I will be returning the product to the store. I hope my very long review is helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Left dark dirt streaks!!!

06/11/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is very lightweight and was hoping it would do at least an "ok" job. I wasn't expecting miracles at all, but this made my carpet worse. This left dark dirt streaks on our beige carpet. I cleaned underneath it a couple times to wipe the dirt off, but it kept doing it. I now have to go buy another carpet cleaner to get rid of what this carpet cleaner did. It seems the cleaner stays wet underneath and drags the dirt with it. If you want lightweight and decent, go for Bissell's ReadyClean PowerBrush Deep Cleaner.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
From HooverUSA06/16/2014
Hi Florida, we always recommend that you clean the underside of your unit, along with the wheels and brushes. Also, a deliberate pace works best when extracting. One foot every one second should do it. If you have any questions or concerns, please email ian.mccormick@ttifloorcare.com and we would be happy to help. Thanks!Hoover
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

I like it

05/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unfortunately I cudnt clean the carpet for 3 months so it had become rough and hard.. When I 1st time used this cleaner without water.. It pulled in a lot of hair and I instantly felt it brushed and opened the fur of the carpet pretty well.. then I used it with water and the shampoo tat came with it.. Wow it cleaned the carpet so well! There was unbelievably so much of dirt chunk filled inside the dirt tank and in the bristles..
Warning: When you install the water tank filled with clean water, u cnt wait for half a min also.. u hv to start moving the cleaner otherwise a a lot of water starts spilling out from bottom and soaks in carpet.. I moved it over those wet patches several times to get it kind of dried..
I gv 1 star less because its mentioned in manual that if I press the button and move it ahead then the water is sprinkled in carpet and i have to release the button n pull the cleaner back to soak up water.. but without touching button the water starts dripping..
Moreover I felt my carpet was so soft and clean with just 1 use of it..
Cons: It took me about 20mins to clean my 2 bedroom apt but next 30mins went in cleaning the vacuum cleaner itself.. I hated tat part!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Great Carpet Washer

10/08/2013
By ,
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a one bedroom apartment and I thought the Carpet Washer did an exceptional job. I am very happy with my purchase. This is not a big washer so if you buy this washer and have a big area don't complain because you were cheap and bought a smaller unit then you knew you need. To anyone thinking about this Carpet Washer buy with confidence.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Works for me

04/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have five cats, so my carpet acquires lots of areas that needed cleaned. I got tired of borrowing my son's carpet cleaner which, although it did a fine job, is very heavy, so my son had to carry it upstairs. It was also heavy to push while washing the carpet. I purchased this carpet washer because it is light-weight, and my hope was that it would also do the job. The day that I bought it, I washed my upstairs carpet. I would say that the Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer did as good a job as my son's more expensive, bigger cleaner. This cleaner didn't break the piggy bank and doesn't break my back, either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

GOOD PRODUCT FOR NOW

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE DOUBLE ROLLOR BEATER IS THE KICKER,CLEANS VERY DEEP THE FIRST TIME.IT IS WORKING BETTER THAN ARE PREVIESE BISSEAL THAT WAS A LOT MORE MONEY.FOUND OUT THE DESIGN HAS A FLAW ON THEBEATER WHEEL DRIVE,THE REALLY TOOK ALITTLE EFFERT IN DESIGNING A GOOD DRIVE FOR A GOOD MACHINE.WE PURCHASED THIS ONE FOR THE NAME/THE DRIVE ASSEMBLY .HOPE IT LAST LONGER THAN THE PRICEY ONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Please read for an honest review

10/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used many carpet cleaners. I have even used a Rug Doctor. So, simply put....
Pro
1 $
2 Comes with hoover carpet cleaner
3 Easy fill tank
4 Has a built in measuring cap
5 Easy to use/light weight
6 Semi-easy dispose tank
Con
1 Using 1 clean fill tank, it picks up 1/4th of soiled water.
2 Left a bit of debris
For a more in depth review:
However, taking the pro's with the con's from reviews just like mine, I purchased this product anyway. I used this carpet cleaner on my "pet's room" because I have cats that for some reason decided to urinate in the same spot over and over again, instead of using their litter box. Even after giving it a good scrub with urine stain remover from Petco (which is supposed to ease the mark) they continued to do this.
Using this product:
I did half of my room (with the urine). I vacuumed thoroughly, with my hoover wind tunnel air. Then sprayed my carpet with the Urine Stain Remover and started with my carpet cleaner, it picked up 1/4th of the water I used in the fill tank. Even though I vacuumed, after cleaning half of the carpet; it would leave behind clumps of debris. In order to keep the machine clean (because it is not a vacuum), I had to stop and pick the clumps up before continuing. It might have to do with the carpet itself. It's old and warn. I enjoyed using this product. I did the rest of the room. I didn't have to make too many trips to the sink to fill the container or dump the dirty water. Maybe filled it twice and dumped the debris once for the entire room.
Afterwards:
It took maybe 5 hours to dry (which normally takes about 1-2 days). I left the ceiling fan on and the door open. After cleaning the carpet I didn't know how well it would work, but after walking around on the carpet barefoot, it feels like it is NEW. I've very happy with this product. For the price I'd give it a 98% rating. I just didn't enjoy having to pick up the debris. And the urine stain and scent is COMPLETELY GONE! YAY.
IN REGARDS TO OTHER REVIEWS:
I don't know how much water you use but it doesn't take much to clean the carpet so you should not need a lot of other fans or what not. It also matters what time of day and outside temp when you clean carpet. Keep this in mind. It should not be rainy or too humid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
central,ohio
Posted 02/21/2014
Thanks for the descriptive review! I Have to say though that even the expensive carpet cleaners leave behind debris, it is because your vacuum didnt get it all, my moms that I borrow is a Bissel Proheat Plus(think that is what it is) and it too will leave behind clumps of pet hair. To me, that is a good thing, it shows me that it is sucking it up out of the carpet! :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Hoover Dual Power Carpet Washer, FH50900

Awesome small machine!

07/12/2014
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had many steam cleaners in the past including other Hoover cleaners. They always break or quit working after a short while! The little machine is a great buy for your money, it might not last too long,but it works better than most big ones. I would rather buy smaller and spend less money, then buy an expensive bigger one that will break down in no time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next