Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Goodyear Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Goodyear Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16

Average Customer Rating:
3.067 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation47%7 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16

Excellent economy tire

02/27/2011
By ,
Bellefontaine, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I begin going into greater detail, I want to state that I have one handicap. I have been using The Viva 2 tires on my car for nearly the entire time I have been driving, so I have few to compare them with. But in my experience, they have always done me well.
I will start off by saying that these tires will easily exceed their warranty, if your car is properly aligned after purchase, and you rotate them as required. The previous set I had exceeded 70K, and still passed the tread depth test! These tires saw a LOT of tar and chip country road as well, which tend to increase wear on tires. The only reason I had to replace them when I did was due to some upcoming changes in my life that require a significant amount of financial investment, so I wanted to get the tires out of the way.
In the rain and snow, these tires have always demonstrated great stopping power. They have always played very nice with my Traction Control system, and never once have let me down when a deer ran out in front of me. Also, they provide a comfortably quiet ride. I have never once encountered a serious manufacturing issue with them. The price is practically unbeatable, at least in my locality. The next cheapest set of tires installed that I could find was a 40K warranty Kelly Tire at a locally owned and operated tire center. They wanted 376 dollars to install and balance a set of four of these 40K warranty tires, including disposal fees. At wal-mart, I paid just over 378 dollars to have a set of four 60K Viva 2 tires installed. This includes lifetime balance and rotate, and for an additional fee, you can get an assistance program as well. I opted out because I am a AAA member.
After owning two previous sets of these tires, and seeing how they have always exceeded their warranty with ease, I decided to pay the extra two dollars. By paying this extra two dollars, I not only purchased an excellent economy tire, but will receive lifetime balance and rotate as well. The other tire center did not include lifetime rotate or balance. I actually wanted a set of high-rated Yokohama tires, however, my financial situation combined with personal experience with the Viva 2 dictated otherwise. I would highly recommend these as an economical replacement option on your vehicle when the time comes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+661points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Clayton NC
Wish I had pain $500 for Michelins than $300
Posted 07/20/2013
For these. They seem to do okay in the rain, handle okay, and ride okay...but they make a hallow thump when going over railroad tracks and expansion joints. they are also very loud! They supposedly last for 60k and WalMart has a no-return policy unless the tires are defective.
0points
Customer Avatar
Manistee Michigan (Ludington Home Store)
no help
Posted 06/26/2013
same review as the last tire I checked?????
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16

Excellent dependable tire

08/27/2012
By ,
Silver Point TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been driving since 1979 and tried many brands of tires over the year's and there are some good brands besides Goodyear. But I have always been able to depend on Goodyear to be a long lasting tire. I bought a set of the Goodyear Viva's 2 for my 2001 Crown Vic in July of 2009 just before a trip from Nebraska to Tennessee. I have made two long distance trips fom Nebraska to TN and one to Indiana besides our daily driving. I rotate the tires regularly and just got done doing it today. I have over 37k miles on the tires and they still have a lot of tread on them. They are a great riding tire and have worn evenly, but that is because we keep the front in aligment. (key to tires lasting beside balancing). I have read the negative comments on here, but like in all things made you can come across a lemon now and then. For me, these tires have lived up to what I expect out of a Goodyear tire. I highly recommened them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 3 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16

Less costly. Meets or beats a competitve tire.

10/08/2011
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good tire for its value. A fantastically smooth ride. Be sure they are inflated properly. The tech over inflated mine and the initial ride was not so good, My husband checked the tire pressure and saw that they were highly over inflated. Very smooth ride thereafter. Go for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kansas
Not Good on wet pavement
Posted 01/07/2012
If you live in a very dry climate this would be a good tire. This tire tends to hydroplane when raining. Many times i've tried to stop at the stop lights when raining and it just does not want to stick to the pavement and just slides. Also slides around corners occasionaly when wet.I would not recomend in the snow, no traction.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16
11/25/2011
By ,
Pampa, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have driven my grand prix with these VIVA 2 tires since April 2011. We made two trips to California and back on these tires. They do not look like they have any wear on them. I am very pleased of these tires. Still no vibration or noise.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 5 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16
10/02/2011
By ,
MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A good buy for an economy type tire. It does have a quiet ride however it is not a very smooth ride on rural roads or city streets. Even at slow speeds, that is 25-40 mph, the bumps are quite noticable. On the interstate at high speeds they performed well. By the way, these were mounted on a Grand Marquis LS.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Review 6 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16
11/19/2011
By ,
Guymon, Ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Switcthed from goodyear eagle to viva. In less than 10 mi. a very noticeable difference in ride. The viva has a smother softer ride and less road noise with the same air pressures. Not sure how long they will last, but for $200.00 less than the eagles, I need to give'em a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 7 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16
04/29/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tread not quite as good as expected for Goodyear. ALSO, this Goodyear tire is made specifically and only for Walmart so if you are out of town or stranded and need a new tire to replace it, it can ONLY be purchased at Walmart. It is no different than just a "generic" tire...but the price is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+96points
Review 8 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16

Horrible.

09/17/2012
By ,
Cleveland OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had them 18k miles, 16 months. Vibration problems, took them to an expert, both fronts are out of round! Shot. Good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 9 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16

Traction is very bad, the specs don't even list it

01/06/2012
By ,
chicago, il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Traction control is very bad, they always slip even on slight rainy conditions. The specs on the tire are not complete either. On top of that, I was told by my mechanic that i have change a pair of tires already because they are defective. Defective meaning the steel inside the rubber may be broken which will make slight bulge and bumpy ride. Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 10 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16
01/31/2012
By ,
bula,ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the cheapest tire goodyear ever made . you can get better handling and wet traction on a tractor. im so not happy with this tire i put 35000 miles freeway and they need to be replaced
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 11 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16

Junk

01/11/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After 30,000 miles, despite rotation every 5,000 miles and balancing every 10,000, all four tires are severely cupped. Road noise is terrible. This is my second, and last, set.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+12points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
MA
30k on Walmart tires, pretty good!
Posted 05/05/2013
You got what you paid for. Most people wish for 30k.
0points
Customer Avatar
Raleigh, NC
Not so fast...
Posted 11/12/2012
I'm not saying they are great tires, but cupping is an alignment problem, not the tires...
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16

Horrible Tire

04/24/2012
By ,
Sebastian, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
They will not replace these tires or even offer you more than an $8.00 discount on these tires when they are bald after 18 months. Do yourself a favor and steer clear of these people.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16
07/24/2012
By ,
Baltimore
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a 1998 Ford Crown Vic. The tires want handle the weight, the tires makes the car handle like your driving on under inflated tires.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16

Thank you Walmart this model tire is much improved

07/23/2012
By ,
Dingmans Ferry PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The previous model goodyear tire was a great disappointment but I am sure that Walmart did real good on this tire and the value of saving me the money.The tire is a real deal value it really holds up and is a comfortable ride. Deville Cadillac. All so My Walmart Tire shop people are the best. It was a late night but my Walmart Tire Mechanics stayed past their clock out time and took care of what was a very expired tire. My family and my self are safe from what could have been serious trouble. Thank you Very Much. Great tire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Ratings-Only Reviews for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5