Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Goodyear Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S

Goodyear Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S

A leading brand in the auto accessories industry, the Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S provides unrivalled traction across most weather conditions. It is an all-season tire and can be used for different types of vehicles including cars and minivans. This Goodyear tire has tread lugs that are segmented providing extra traction, giving you wonderful grip on the road. It also offers noiseless driving due to the optimized tread pitch and randomized tread element sequence. Additionally, this all-season tire has wide circumferential grooves that help in providing traction in wet weather. Get the Viva 2 tire for your vehicle and sit back to enjoy smooth, noiseless and skid resistant rides.
Average Customer Rating:
3.79 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
18
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation73%77 out of 105reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 0 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
18
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P185/65R14 85S.

My 3rd SET of Viva 2 U.S.A. Built tires.

12/06/2013
By ,
New Mexico U S A
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 3rd set. First set on S-10 pick-up went 50,000 miles. Installed second set 20,000 miles ago and still have over 1/2 tread. (6/32") Just bought third set for wife's auto. NO...will not preform like $300.00 race car tires, and will NOT last like $250.00, 90,000 mile tires. Just SAFE, DEPENDABLE, U.S.A. BUILT Tires, at a fair price for normal driving.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16 97T.

good tires

11/25/2013
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought these tires fo my '99 Grand Marquis in May 2013. So far, put about 5000 miles on them. No issues whatsoever. Tires grip the road and handle just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P185/65R14 85S.

BEWARE..POOR GOODYEAR TIRE

11/12/2013
By ,
High Rockies, Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First and foremost, you get what you pay for. I thought that Goodyear tires were good tires. Great brand name, good reputation. Apparently my first sentence is more accurate than my second. As it turns out these tires are made only for Walmart, who would have known. As a former mechanic I understand a little about tire wear. What causes what... low tire pressure, alignment issues and a few other things can mess with your tires. That being said, none of these issues pertain to my car, a small reliable Saturn, completely stock and far too slow to race.
At first I was happy, they did well reasonably well in the snow and rain. Then about mile 8000 on these tires they seemed to wearing rather fast for a 60K mile limited wear tire. By mile 15K and month number 10 the edges were completely worn out and the wire cording was showing, both the inside and outside of the tires.
Tomorrow I take them in to have them looked at.... lets see what they do.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
New Mexico U S A
Poor Goodyear Tires...N O T!!!
Posted 12/06/2013
We all know that when a tire wears on Both Sides (edges) it is from not rotating and low tire pressure. As far as made for Wal-mart...There must be at least 10 Wal-marts to service these tires to Each ONE Goodyear dealer. So...why go out of your way and find a Goodyear dealer? These tires ARE made in TEXAS U.S.A. and this is the THIRD set I have bought! They give me 50,000 to 55,000 miles of service, then I am still able to sell them to someone for a trailer or something. FOR THE PRICE...THEY ARE TOPS WITH ME!!!
+3points
Customer Avatar
lake station
gdyr viva tire
Posted 11/25/2013
As a former Certified Journeyman Heavy Duty Truck Mechanic myself of 30 years, I too have seen those wear issues you described on the tires on your car, on big rigs, and I am also aware of the causes pf said wear patterns you have described, on big trucks. ( I hate working on cars and therefore do not engage. and everyone thinks a mechanic is a mechanic right? lol). To what do you attribute the wear you are seeing? Poor construction,? Is it the outer sipe, (that is supposed to eject rocks and such), failing, and crumbling off, or could it be hard cornering, just too soft a tread compound, poor quality rubber, bad roads, improper inflation since they were installed, not rotating? 15k mi is quite a bit to put on a set of steer tires even on a small car, without proper rotation and regular inflation checks. I just need a cpl tires to get me thru this winter, then dumping the car. And you couldn't have said it better, you absolutely do get what you pay for. Thanks for your time.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 44 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P215/60R16 94T.

Great Value!!

11/12/2013
By ,
columbia, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
all together about $400 to have all 4 tires and valve stems replaced! hardly any road noise and GREAT traction! i highly recommend this line of tire, great if on a budget! Only down side is the waiting to have them installed-5.5 hours for me- but was worth it for the money saved and the quality of tire. i travel less than 7,000mi a year, so i should be good to go for about 6+ years, an for $400, that aint bad!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P215/60R16 94T.

Good Tires

11/12/2013
By ,
Lumberton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these tires off online and they came the next day. I bought 2 tires and will be back to get 2 more next pay.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire 205/55R16 91H.

Great All Season Tires for the money!.

11/11/2013
By ,
Midland, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these tires for our 2003 Pontiac Vibe, We had Walmart install them while we shopped, and had a bite at the Subway in the store, while we waited. The tires handle great on wet & dry road surfaces. I did a little online shopping at the Discount Tire and Belle Tire online websites, and found these tires at Walmart to be the best tire for the money. These tires have a high speed rating and a 60,000 mile tread life warranty. I work for a local municipality, and replace tires on vehicles daily, so I know a good tire value, when I see one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+126points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P215/60R16 94T.

Bouncing Horrible Ride

11/03/2013
By ,
Southern Il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Prior to putting these tires on my car it had a smooth, cloud-like, ride. Since having the Viva 2s installed the car bounces like you're riding a bull. It seems like the tires were not balanced, even though tech says they were and the lead weights are on the tires.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wisconsin
Bouncing Horrible Ride
Posted 11/25/2013
I am having the same issue with these tires. It's very wobbly when going at a slow speed and when I speed up it's like a jack hammer, pounding the road. I have had them rotated and balanced multiple times which helps a little but it always comes back. Poor quality tire. They are like second quality tires. They have a flaw for sure.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 48 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P185/65R15 86T.

Got less than 25,000 miles out of them

10/26/2013
By ,
Avery County, North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought a set of Goodyear Viva 2 for my 2007 Chevrolet Malibu and had them rotated at least every 5000 b/c I had the lifetime balance & rotation. Walmart wouldn't rotate them on my last visit because they had very little tread left. They never rode well and the 60,000 mile warranty is a joke. Was offered a prorate of less than $5 a tire on a set of new ones. Definitely would not recommend them to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P215/75R15 100S.

great tires on a budget.

10/16/2013
By ,
geneva, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought set of four for my dodge Dakota. very happy with tires. bought spring/2013. price was a selling point. free installation with ship to store at my local walmart/ Madison, ohio. coming up on first rotation soon. also free I believe. price is so much cheaper than all other quotes gathered. walmart has no equal. had four tires, installed for literally the price of two from other local quotes. walmart believes in its customers. that is why I believe in walmart. I must shop on a budget. walmart is as important to me as my friends. I am glad they are a part of my life. thanks for everything and god bless.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P215/60R17 96T.

BUY THEM

10/12/2013
By ,
CHICAGO, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HAVE THE VIVA 2 ON MY OTHER CAR, A MERCURY GRAN MARQUIS. HOLDS UP TO CHICAGO WINTERS AND POTHOLES. JUST PUT A SET ON MY 2009 TAURUS TO REPLACE THE LOUSY CONTINENTALS. GOOD VALUE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P215/60R16 94T.

Multiple tires tend to separate and wobble.

10/09/2013
By ,
Haysville, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These tires are a fair tire. Every time we have had one of these tires replaced it was because of separation problems. But when you cannot afford a better replacement, it's what you have to go with even though these tires have separation issues. And it's kind of borderline whether I would recommend these tires to a friend. The price and the replacement pro-ration is what will keep you in this tire.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P215/60R16 94T.

Fantastic

09/26/2013
By ,
union bridge md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good tire for the money..very low noise and in fact a better tire than the expensive tires that came with the car..Would highly recommend these tires to anyone..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16 97T.

Not what ya pay for

09/04/2013
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Last year my 82 year old father-in-law ask my opinion on buying new tires for his Chevrolet Impala......I said let's go to Wal-Mart and so we did....wound up buying a set of 4, 60,000 mile Goodyear Viva's at full price.
24,000 miles later he's having to replace them again.....and you guessed it, he didn't ask my opinion!
I can tell you that he is meticulous about proper air pressure, rotating his tires and treating his equipment right.
Bottom line, these tires are not any good!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P205/75R14 95S.
08/26/2013
By ,
Port St Lucie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These tires are quiet and have a good ride. This is my second set of these tires. The only thing i don't like is they claim to be a 60,000 mile tire and i only get around 40,000 miles of use out of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P185/65R15 86T.

good traction

08/19/2013
By ,
madisonville, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought 4 of these tires for my prius that I drive 3000 miles a month. Has pretty good traction but feels bouncy and over inflated. Mpg fell from 48 to 42. The tread on the these tires are so deep that hopefully when it starts to wear down the above mentioned will get better got about 1200k on them so far. Will update when I get about 5k.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16 97T.

Smooth ride

08/04/2013
By ,
monroe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just replaced tire on my Honda Civic 2002. Goodyear does not carry this tire at their stores. They wanted to sell me tire that cost twice as much for the same warranty. I had them installed on Saturday at a lull time at my store. They did a great job replacing and getting me back on the road in less than 2 hours. John at the Walmart store was most helpful even though he was having to put up with a irate old man who had no reason to complain as his car was done before mine even though he bought his after I did. Oh well some people. THanks John for the help
The tire road straight in driving and braking even though I do need a alignment this week.
Great tire so far for a teenage drivers car
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P225/60R16 97T.

do not buy

07/29/2013
By ,
statecollege pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
thay seemed good for the first 1000 miles then started vibration walmart re balanced a little better having them replace with less than 10000 miles on them say away do not buy had these on wifes van thay where on van when I bought the van same problem these tires are junk
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P205/70R15 95T.

Good Value.

07/27/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had two sets and have been very pleased with both sets. They are on a 1997 Toyota Camry. I have not ever noticed any noise issue with them and they have preformed very well. They are good on the snowy roads of Idaho.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
+192points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P205/75R14 95S.

VERY NOISY !! but works well and a good value

07/20/2013
By ,
Maryland
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Don't believe the product description. These tires are definitely NOT quiet - they are probably the NOISIEST tires that I have ever owned! They have a high-pitched whine that increases with speed. The noise level seems to have diminished after several thousand miles but is still there - it is a function of the block-style tread pattern. I have had no problems in the four years that they have been on the car and they seem to work well, good traction and smooth ride - but they are VERY NOISY !
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Goodyear Viva 2 Tire P175/65R14 81S
This review is fromGoodyear Viva 2 Tire P185/65R15 86T.

Great Tire from Goodyear for the price.

07/15/2013
By ,
Glendale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Arizona and four months of the year the temps are above 100 degrees. So pavement temps on asphalt can be up to 175 to 200 degrees. That is very hard on tires and causes them to wear faster. I have always used the Goodyear Viva Tire because of the warranty and price. I'm buying four new ones today since the existing tires have just over 50,000 miles on them and I'm driving to WA this weekend. Only problem I had on the last set was a blister formed on one of the tires but I received a new one since it was covered under the warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 100 total reviews