Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Exxel Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Exxel Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Take the Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag on your next weekend trek. This double layer sleeping bag features a cozy double layered mummy design to keep your head and shoulders warm. It has a diamond ripstop polyester outer layer and inner lining to help reduce scratches and tears. This sleeping bag stores in the included compression stuff sack and plumps up to a full-size, comfortable bag at night. At just over 3 lbs, this camping sleeping bag is a good choice for lightweight travel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation94%34 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Summer Lightweight

11/24/2008
By ,
upstate New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After some experimenting with this bag in controlled climate conditions I'd say it's a 50 degree bag. The loft is a total of barely 1 inch, about 1/2 inch on both the top and bottom layer.
A 50 degree rating lines up with the US Army values posted at sites on-line which rate a bag with 1 1/2 inches of loft at 40 degrees, 2 inches at 30 degrees, 2 1/2 inches at 20 degrees, etc. For every 1/2 inch of loft a bag gains or loses 10 degrees.
The technical features on this inexpensive bag are impressive. As a consequence of its thin insulation it packs down very small; about the size of a loaf of bread. This makes it a good bag for lightweight backpackers who camp in the summer and don't mind wearing long underwear to bed if the temperature falls below 50. At 40 degrees I could feel the cold pressing in, and if I'd been tired from hiking it would have been taxing to stay warm
I'm 6 foot 3 inches and weigh 190 pounds. This bag will fit a person a couple inches taller than me and is roomy enough for comfort.
Viewed as a layering piece in a sleeping setup this is a good choice for lightweight backpacking.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+36points
Review 2 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

decent bag for the price

03/30/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this bag because I was taking my wife on her first backpacking trip and did not want to make a huge investment in case this was her last backpacking trip as well as her first.... I had her use my North Face 15* bag in case this bag did not meet its temp rating as the forecast was for overnight lows of 35 during our trip. I stayed warm with temps inside the tent dipping to 38* wearing only a tshirt and shorts inside the bag. Although not as roomy as other mummy bags I have used I was able to turn over easily in this bag as I am a side/stomach sleeper.
My only complaint with this bag is the fact that it is tough to zip, the zipper continuously gets caught in the fabric of the bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Review 3 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Wow... great value!

02/17/2010
By ,
Brentwood, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was looking for a good bag to take on motorcycle trips. Reasonably warm (I don't plan on riding to the Arctic Circle anytime soon), very compact, and long enough for me (I'm 6'4"). I was skeptical, but bought it anyway. After receiving it and testing it out... it's AWESOME! Long enough, seems like it will be plenty warm enough for my needs, very well made, and not hard to get back into it's little compression bag. Great value - even looks good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Review 4 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

good purchase

09/07/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i am a picky shopper, and i am happy with this purchase. it's a good sleeping bag given the price. i agree with some the reviews said it's a bit on the light side so makes it a good warm weather camping bag. it's very light weight good for carrying around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 5 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag
09/22/2009
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an impressive bag for the price. I hike and camp quite a bit and I've used this bag 4 times in the 3 weeks since I got it. The weight and size are fantastic. The bag compresses down to a tiny package in its own stuff sack, but gets 2/3 to 1/2 size in a "real" compression sack (big plus when I have to carry 3 sleeping bags for my kids).
The bag has been warm camping near treeline in NH and MA where temperatures have dropped into the 40's at night (although this was with a bivy sack for 3 of 4 times used). I did not expect such a light bag to be so useful....and for the price, you can't really go wrong.
PS On one trip the foot area of the bag got wet during rain and I was still comfortable all night. IOW the bag still insulated well when wet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 6 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag
08/13/2009
By ,
Tulsa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This seems to be a great value for the price. Size and weight are great. Perfect for our backpack trip in New Mexico. Stayed plenty warm although the temp did not get to 30, took a small liner just in case and never used it. At 5'10" and 160lb I had no problems, but it is a "form fitting" bag plenty of length for someone taller, I imagine a "stout" person would find this alright, but if you are too heavy, this may get to snug for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 7 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Could be better

07/14/2010
By ,
Appleton, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this sleeping bag for it's weight & compressed size, after using it 3 nights in a row - the stuff sack ripped down the side seam. Now it is sort of useless to us without the stuff sack as we are motorcycle travelers and every square inch matters when packing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 8 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Great for boy scouts

04/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my son to take back packing with the boy scouts. It was light weight, warm at night and easy to repackage. Very much worth the cost!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 9 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Great lightweight bag

08/02/2011
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I took this bag camping on a hot, humid Iowa night thinking that I would just sleep on top of it. I ended up sleeping in it and I think it actually kept me cooler. The insulation is fairly thin so I wouldn't suggest using it when it's below 40. I was very careful with the zippers because I've had cheap bags before and they are usually prone to zipper problems but I didn't have any with this one (yet). I found that it rolls nicely right up into the hood and you can use the draw string to keep it from unrolling. The zipper, plus a velcro strap, plus the draw string allow the opening to be pulled snug around your face when you're inside it. I'm 5'7" so I had no problem with the length, although I didn't pay attention to how much extra I had.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 10 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Good Value ... for cool (but not cold) use.

11/12/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a recent backpacking trip in the Smokies. Overall, I was very pleased with it. It's fairly light and compact, and was plenty warm for any camping out I plan to do (probably nothing below 40 degrees). However, a friend used it one night for temps in the 30's and said it was pretty cold.
While it has held up okay so far, the quality seems a bit lacking. For as little as I'll use it, it will probably be fine. However, if you plan to use a bag often, you may want to spend a little more to get a better bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Works for me...

06/08/2010
By ,
Orange County/L.A. area, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do much of my camping and backpacking in Southern California, so cold weather is rarely an issue. Not sure how well this bag would have worked in 30 degree weather, but it worked just fine for me. I don't think I'm willing to test it out in 30 degree weather, rather use another, thicker bag.
I am, however, over 6-feet tall, so size was definitely an issue. I have had bags in the past that were too small, and this one was plenty big for me.
All-in-all, it's a great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 12 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

This bag is tight both in fit and finish.

04/06/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality of construction on this TIGHT fitting bag is top shelf. It packs really well and materials are very comfortable. However It is rated rather optimistically at 30 degrees. The tight fit leaves room for me, 6'3" slim build, and nothing else. It makes using an extra layer of clothing, liner or even a hot watter bottle a real pain. The construction also gives great static electricity shows as you try to shuffle around in it. A good bag that I will probably use during the early summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 13 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Great value

04/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bag for the money. I've used it twice where the temp dropped into the high 40's. It kept me plenty warm. I agree with others that it is probably not a true 30 degree bag. I'm 6'3" and it fits me fine. It is also compresses very small and is lightweight (2.9lbs). It worked great for backpacking. Excellent warmer weather bag for the money!
It was about $10 cheaper than Amazon and it shipped fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Awesome for the price...

06/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great bag for the price. Can't beat the deal. You can tell it's a little bit lower in quality than some other bags, but what do you expect for the price?
Just did a three day hike and temps got down to 32-35. A little cool on my feet, but then two pairs of socks did the trick.
Packed down super small and light! Easy to re-pack each morning.
A great bag I will be recommending to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Great Value

04/09/2008
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great compact 3 season bag. I have used it down to around 25 degrees - not recommended as it is only rated at 30 degrees. We have 3 of these as my two sons and I are involved in Boy Scouts and use them every month. So far the bags are holding up well. They also pack up pretty small and don't weigh too much, which is good for backpacking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
-1point
Review 16 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Compact but not too warm

05/06/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very compact little sleeping bag that is lightweight and great for backpacking in warm weather. However, I would not recommend it for chilly nights. The sleeping bag is longer than ones i've had in the past, and I feel like that makes for a slight waste in space/weight, however other than that, I really have no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Excellent for a tall person backpacking

07/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am taking my 2nd week long backpacking trip in Canada, and the 1st time around I had a packable sleeping bag that was too short for me. I am 6 foot 1 and this bag would easily fit someone up to 6 foot 4 or even taller. Very compact, nice stuff sack and I am looking forward to using it on this trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Very convenient

01/11/2010
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have used it a couple times now. When it was 40 degrees outside I was a little cold. The bag is ridiculously compact. It's not very spacious inside but I suppose that's not the goal. Overall, highly recommended (and excellent value).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 19 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag
09/03/2010
By ,
Dana Point,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter needed a compact sleeping bag when traveling to Australia. This sleeping bag was able to fit in her luggage with no problem and was easy to carry around. It got a little cold under 40 degree weather, but it was fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Micro Tek Ultra-Compact Mummy 30-Degree Sleeping Bag

Great for the money

04/13/2010
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really impressed by this bag; I thought it was going to be really thin and cheap, but it's actually good quality and warm. It's relatively easy to put back into the compression sack too. Overall, great buy for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next