Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dell Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Dell Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

The Dell 15.6" Inspiron Laptop PC (i15RV-1333BLK) has everything you need to compute on the go. This Dell Laptop with Windows 8 helps you complete your tasks in a user-friendly way. Connect with friends and family on the built-in webcam. This laptop comes with a Core i3 Processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(644 Reviews) 610
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
321
4 stars
214
3 stars
46
2 stars
25
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation87%560 out of 644reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
109 Questions | 307 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
321
4 stars
214
3 stars
46
2 stars
25
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

This Dell laptop is the bomb!

10/22/2013
By ,
Buckeye, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
okay, I had to buy me another laptop because I stepped on my Dell Studio 17 and the hinge broke. I was looking for the best deal so I shopped all the major laptop dealers... I came across this dell 15 at my local walmart. I have had now two weeks. it by far is the best bang for the buck. it comes with i3 intel chip and 6 Ram with 500 HD. the accessories are incredible... SD card reader, camera, windows 8, plenty of USB ports. Watching videos in HD is awesome. It took me a while to get used to windows 8, but not I got down pat. I highly recommend this laptop to anyone who is looking for a good laptop for a fantastic price... thanks for reading my review...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+365points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/10/2014
Does this have 4 or 6 gb of memory???
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great buy!

10/10/2013
By ,
West Chester, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking into getting a mac book pro but after thought i really couldn't afford it! I was in Walmart and happened to walk by it and the sleek textured design caught my eye, it is so thin and nice it is definitely not going out of style any time soon! It is super affordable and Walmart has the best deal yet! For 6gb you cant get better than that. The screen is a perfect size for movies and much more. The program is Windows 8, a lot of people have been complaining on reviews but dell provides a walk through and shows every little detail on how to work it! I was a pro with Windows 8 on my second day of the laptop!! Also there is no light underneath the keyboard but the laptop screen shines right on it so no worries. This is definitely a great alternative for a mac book and maybe even better for me! Only reason why i gave this laptop 4 out of 5 stars is because the clicker is so loud, it sounds cheap, but other than that it is great quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+116points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great computer from a sceptic of these reviews.

03/07/2014
By ,
Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very sceptical about buying this computer after reading the reviews. I have always believed that the reviews were always written by employees or competitors. I am just your normal end user with a little knowledge of computers. I have always purchased HP's in the past and this computer smokes them in performance and quality. This computer is a great buy for the price. High RAM, good processor, hard drive etc...Let me address what people keep posting on these reviews.
Windows 8 complaints. I come from using windows 7 and this was the first time I saw windows 8 and I love it. Not sure why people are complaining. It reminds me of a phone where you download your own apps and you still have your normal desktop too.
Flimsy design complaints. Its a slim design computer compared to some but its fine. You should never lift a computer by its screen. lol
Hope this helps someone who has doubts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Tough to go from XP to Windows 8

12/06/2013
By ,
Nashua
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's so much faster than XP, but right now, I'm a bit frustrated with it. There are virtually no directions on how to "get" anywhere. I have downloaded Windows 8 for Dummies which comes free, but am still trying to find the time to read it. It's been weeks of trial and error, learning how to "favorite" an item and then learning where it is! I don't like not having the time in the lower right hand corner. I don't like that I can't copy or print a selection except in Word. I don't like that I can't print 2 pages of a book on one page. I don't like that when the system falls asleep I lose my music that I want to leave ON for background! All these were offered on XP. Where'd they go? This is an improvement? I don't like that all you have to do is "hover" the curser over some site, and soon you're there without ever having "clicked" on it. It will take a lot of getting used to and right now I am not really happy. "Microsoft Word" used to be programmed on computers, now you have to go out and buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/08/2014
Try downloading "CLASSIC SHELL"....it is free and makes windows 8 operate like windows 7. I could not tolerate win 8 without it.
0points
Customer Avatar
Philadelphia, PA
Look for the desktop
Posted 02/16/2014
Look around and make sure to update that baby to the Windows desktop.
If you haven't already ran windows update you want to get the one with the "Windows 7 desktop" and that's more like Windows XP than Windows 8 right now. The update is not labeled as such but after you've performed it, you want to look around for the desktop.
0points
Customer Avatar
Jefferson City, MO
Really?
Posted 02/10/2014
When was the last time Microsoft Word was built into a Windows OS? Not in XP... maybe you purchased a PC in the past that had a full version of Word bundled with it but to my knowledge Word has never been programmed into the OS. Notepad and Wordpad have always been programmed into the OS... (and still are).
-1point
Customer Avatar
OC
Frustrating Windows 8
Posted 12/26/2013
It took me some time to adjust.
I customized my desktop by copying all my favorite links/apps. Try familiarizing yourself with the shortcut keys. ie windows key and i (letter i, takes you to signnoff options.
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 5 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

*important: use a microsoft email on start-up

09/11/2013
By ,
st. joe, mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
loving this new laptop so far, but please avoid the conundrum i stumbled into from entering my gmail address as my primary user account email. with Windows 8, many apps WILL NOT WORK (including the MicroSoft Store) when you enter anything other than a MicroSoft email (outlook/hotmail). trying to go back and change it IS NOT EASY if you're not proficient with Win8.
other than that little snag... i love this laptop! great specs for a great price!
waiting for my copy of "WINDOWS 8 FOR DUMMIES" to arrive from amazon so i can get a better feel for what this machine is capable of. it looks amazing! very thin (under 1" when closed). the textured outer-shell feels sturdy and not cheap. the touchpad buttons don't seem to be too loud (contrary to what i've read in other reviews here.) having multiple 3.0 usb ports is a BIG bonus as i plan to run multiple webcams simultaneously for a podcast.
the intel core i3-3227u processor should be able to handle that without any issues.
if any problems arise, i will come back and edit this review... but so far I AM DIGGING THIS LAPTOP!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+135points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jacksonville Fl.
Gmail & Windows 8 Apps
Posted 11/02/2013
I was recently setting one of these :[15RV-1333] for my mom who has Gmail. I found out that You can create a Microsoft account while using your Gmail address and than even create a Outlook mail page using your Gmail address. It will be like a clone of the Gmail except it's on the Outlook format which I think is better anyhow. All the time You're keeping, and using your same Gmail address.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Issues with it hibernating all the time!

02/08/2014
By ,
Minneapolis,MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised at how I managed to get this up and running. Windows 8 still frustrates me though, but it's supposed to be faster and more secure so I'm going with it. After trying to change the settings so the computer didn't go into hibernation mode after a few minutes and having my tech savy kids help me, I finally gave in and called Dell. After over an hour and having a tech remote in to my machine he said the problem was fixed and he also did some upgrades that were supposed to make my computer faster. Well after logging onto Pandora and thinking I'd be able to listen to music without my computer going into hibernation, it did it again. It is so annoying to have to type in my password every few minutes as I have a recipe up or am reading an article. Dell said they would be calling in a few days to see how things are going and I will be giving them an earful. This is a ridiculous feature with Windows 8! Other than that the laptop itself has been working fine and is much faster than my old Toshiba was.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Orlando Florida
Rating is wrong
Posted 04/02/2014
You're taking stars away from the product that is working fine, just Windows is giving you trouble, not the hardware itself. :(
Just go into your settings and you can adjust the settings to disable hibernation all together.
+3points
Customer Avatar
Windows Hibernation (or Sleep)
Posted 04/01/2014
This is a common Power setting in all Windows versions. Go into Settings | Power Settings and make your choices.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Wow! Stunning...

02/28/2014
By ,
Rensselaer, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I am of a younger category. I previously owned a Toshiba Satellite C655D-S5518, it was a okay computer got the job done. I primarily use my laptop for Windows Office, being a high school student can get rough, and also for my Pre-Med/Pre-College courses. This laptop has flawless speed. The value is excellent. I have nothing to complain about. To people skeptical of Windows 8 don't be, it is not that hard to set up DELL WALKS YOU ALL THROUGH IT. In my house, we love electronics, and I have been dealing with computers 10 years of my life. This is by far the most flawless computer I ever seen. It beats out my neighbor's HP Envy 17.3 W/ AMD A6 Chip. If you can find this product you should go for it, the price point is amazing. And you should go with Walmart's 28 dollar warranty for 2 years covers everything except theft and losing it! Love my choice going with Dell and Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great budget laptop

07/14/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After owning several MacBook's I decided I wanted something different and more affordable. I had previously checked this computer out at my local Wal Mart and was impressed with its design and quality. It felt and looked more expensive and similarly priced HP's and it had better specifications. I've had this computer for a day now and it has been flawless. The screen is bright and crisp, the processor is perfect for browsing the web and viewing videos on YouTube, lots of storage, it's lightweight for it's size and it doesn't feel like a cheap laptop even though it is. This is my first Dell laptop and I'm extremely impressed. I've always owned Dell desktops and they have always been workhorses and this laptop is no exception. I would recommend this product to anybody who is looking for a good computer who wants the most features for the least amount of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+193points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
LI-NY
Is this a touchscreen
Posted 12/20/2013
Specs specifically state:
Screen Type: LED Backlight, ComfyView Full HD Touchscreen Display
0points
Customer Avatar
08520
Speed? not on this particular model
Posted 12/08/2013
Regardless of whether you're using an ISP and a broadband modem/router etc., the Dell spec for the processor speed is 1.5 ghz--with Win 8...that's low!!
Walmart has the processor speed at 1.9 ghz
if you're looking for a real budget laptop, I think there are still other great choices offered by WalMart somewhere in this price range......
My reccommendation: 2.4ghz min. considering all the hardware that is included by Dell. Be careful when looking at other models...A lot of new models are no longer coming with DVD-RW drives; #2...Make sure the PC has a removable battery in it's spec. There are times when you're trying to troubleshoot hardware problems specifically, that removal of the battery and reinsertion of it, will resolve the problem. You do not want a machine with an IRREPLACEABLE BATTERY!
Good luck ;)
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Very happy!

10/07/2013
By ,
Acworth, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money, this is a fabulous laptop! It can be a little frustrating while trying to get adjusted to Windows 8, but once you learn it you will like it! It would be better with a touchscreen, but still okay otherwise. If you purchase this laptop, it DOES have a scroll on the mouse pad, you must go into your settings and turn it on. I've read so many reviews where people have said there is not a scroll bar, yes, there is, and it works great, turn it on! Also, instead of clicking the left mouse button, all you do is tap the mouse pad, you don't have to actually click the left mouse button any longer. Hope this helps, I wanted to share a few little things I learned about it. Oh, one more thing that may help you, Windows Defender is already installed on your laptop, unistall McAfee and then you will be able to turn on Windows Defender.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Laptop Is Fine ... But

02/19/2014
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had the laptop 2 weeks and it is fine. I just don't like Windows 8.1. I don't need my laptop password protected and I finally found the means to eliminate that problem. Unfortunately it will take me back to when I originally turned it on and I find a message in the "action center" I must verify my password. I use Firefox and Microsoft doesn't like that at all that may be some of my problem, using another browser instead of IE. And what little programming genius at Microsoft came up with "charms?" I just wish I could get Windows 7 on this laptop. You can tell I don't like change, which is part of the electronic world I know. But are the changes always for the better!
In addition I find on January 31 when I purchased the laptop I paid $398, received delivery on Feb, 5 and now it has been reduced by one hundred dollars! I understand their price reduction system but I could sure use that $100. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Easy solution to get that $100!
Posted 02/27/2014
I would just go to Wal-Mart, I think they have a thing where if they drop the price within 30 days they'll give you the difference. (Don't bother with anyone but a manager, they'll need one anyway) If they don't or won't then just save your stuff off of that computer, then tell them you'd like to return it, then just rebuy it at the lower price. You can tell them and they may just give you the money rather than have to deal with returning it to manufacturer since you're going to just go buy the same one. Or just do it. Either way, you get your $100! :D
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Perfect for our use.

12/29/2013
By ,
Barnesville, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased another Dell with 4GB Memory and 500GB Hard Drive from another site. Ran across this with basically the same features but with 6GB Memory for the same price. Returned the other one. Soon after setup I downloaded Windows 8.1 upgrade (free). It took awhile to learn the navigation features of 8.1 but everyday, it gets much simpler. I might add that the download took over 24 hrs. to complete. I read many reviews about the Windows 8.1 download and the reviews indicated it could take anywhere from a couple of hours to several hours. So I decided to be patient. I can't imagine that this is the norm but it could of been a result of my setup, router, modem and etc.
It fits our needs perfectly, some movies, web surfing, e-mails and etc.
I just retired and every morning I enjoy a cup of Joe and my new computer. RECOMMEND.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
8.1 Download Time
Posted 02/10/2014
It took 5 hours for 8.1 to download on my Dell.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

great computer except for one thing

03/25/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do want to stress that the computer works beautifully, and it was a lot easier to transfer files and learn the system than I thought it would be. It's an excellent value.
However, I do wish that it would have been made clear that there is a big change in that no version of Microsoft Word is included with Windows 8--you have to buy it now. Also, although it says this machine will play DVDs, they neglect to tell you it will doesn't come with a DVD player OF ANY KIND anymore. You can download a free version with lots of advertising, which I tried. None of the free ones worked for me. I don't feel like buying a DVD player either. It's very aggravating to have a DVD drive and not be able to play any DVDs. My old laptop which I replaced (also a Dell) had MSWord and Windows Media Player installed in it for free. A BIG CHANGE with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

It's great and it's a bargian.

02/16/2014
By ,
Fort Fairfield, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money, this is a fabulous laptop! It can be a little frustrating while trying to get adjusted to Windows 8, but once you learn it you will like it! It would be better with a touchscreen, but still okay otherwise. If you purchase this laptop, it DOES have a scroll on the mouse pad, you must go into your settings and turn it on. I've read so many reviews where people have said there is not a scroll bar, yes, there is, and it works great, turn it on! Also, instead of clicking the left mouse button, all you do is tap the mouse pad, you don't have to actually click the left mouse button any longer. Hope this helps, I wanted to share a few little things I learned about it. Oh, one more thing that may help you, Windows Defender is already installed on your laptop, unistall McAfee and then you will be able to turn on Windows Defender. I make my homework on searching for laptops with my expectations, search all company's that sales computers and laptops pc, and they all were over price. But I receive an email from Walmart.com with a special sale on Laptops, and there it was; I went to walmart and bought it. A new Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System for $398.00 well that's my price for a new Laptop. I'm LOVING IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tampa, Fl.
Different stores in the town, different prices
Posted 02/23/2014
I just bought the one at Wal-Mart with the price of $298.00 in Feb. 19, 2014. Before I placed an order online, I learn that most of Wal-Mart stores in Tampa, Fl. had the price of $398.00, but just only one Wal-Mart in town offered at the price of $298.00 for a new Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System. Just FYI, jayjay562011.
0points
Customer Avatar
Nashua, NH
price reduced to $298
Posted 02/21/2014
You paid $398 for your Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK? i just got mine on 2/20/14 for $298 from walmart.com. Great laptop for greater price.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Excellent Basic Laptop

08/22/2013
By ,
Lansing, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this laptop for my daughter to use for college. I work on and use laptops all of the time, and will say you get a lot of "bang for the buck" with this Dell, including a somewhat new processor, plenty of system memory and hard drive storage, a webcam, DVD drive, newer wireless technology and two USB 3.0 ports. The screen size is more than adequate, with a nice high definition display. The laptop is fairly thin when closed, and quite light for its size. The only thing that concerns me is the smaller 4-cell battery, but so far there have been no issues with charging and running off the battery; just hope the battery lasts a decent amount of time! Still for this kind of money ($400 out the door), you can't really go wrong; my daughter loves this laptop and uses it all of the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Resolution 1366x768 not 1920x1080 + Windows 8 tips

09/19/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm happy with the product, but the resolution is listed incorrectly under the Specifications section of the walmart.com web page (at least as of 9/19/13).
Yes, Windows 8 is pretty confusing to get started with (I'm coming from XP). Here are 2 hints that would have helped me enormously:
- When on main Windows 8 home page, just start typing the name of the application you want to bring up -- it brings up a list of applications that match what you type (even things like Control Panel) Oh, and to get a more familiar desktop, just type "desktop"!
- To close an application, click on the top of it and drag it to the very bottom of the screen.
Good luck!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
08520
Windows 8 vs. WIn XP
Posted 12/08/2013
lwkp...I have found the easiest and least bothersome way of dealing with all of Win 8 and the tiles, is to work directgly from the DESKTOP...Press the Windows Key + D
If you upgrade to WIn 8.1 (I believe it is a free upgrade for once), they have added back the START and few other old handy items someone overlooked....Working form your desktop, you can have all of your shortcuts right there, it's definitely faster, and you can use your own preferred applications...
+1point
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/17/2013
download classic start to help with some of the issues of using windows 8
google: windows 8 classic start or you can go to www.ninite.com and download it for free.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Dell is still the best

09/16/2013
By ,
21157
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this 2 weeks ago to replace a tower Dell Pc which I had for 9 years. I almost went for a HP since my current & last employers have. Glad I did not. There is no way you can get this amount of computer that is reliable for this price. And anytime you have a question there is instant chat online with a Dell rep. This thing is fast, quiet, and has all you need. I don't mind win 8. It's up to date & easy to use. Just have to learn.
It has plenty of USB's, HDMI, sound jack for speakers, & a huge clear screen. I bought the LG 24" monitor & the Cannon MG3220. For everything it was 700 bucks. Steal of a deal. Only drawback if you even want to call it that is there are no pin connections for the older VGA monitor. That's why I went with the LG. Why buy a cable when the monitor was 178 bucks @ BJ's? It also doesn't have the standard docking station. Dell wanted 170 bucks & I found a used one on Ebay for 45 bucks.
I am absolutely 100% pleased with my purchase but with anything new, it takes a little time to learn. It really was easy to setup. No problems whatsoever. And I love the black color. Hands down this thing can't be beat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

My first week with the computer

04/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First off, I would like to mention the fact that I do love this computer. This is my 4th Dell computer and they are very nice computers. My previous laptop needed a new charger port and with replacing that meant replacing the mother board so I made the decision that it was time for a new computer all together. Making this transit to Windows 8 has been a little different, but nothing too hard to figure out after playing around with it for a while.
The only con that I have discovered from this computer is that it leaves prints on the mouse pad and on the top of the computer as if my fingers/hands are completely oily. I know the material this computer is made of is it little different and I like the body style however i'm a little OCD and with my brand new computer having oily prints all over it from barely touching it isn't a perk of this body style. I feel like i'm constantly trying to clean the prints away.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Good laptop for the price

08/08/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great basic laptop. In fact with 6GB Ram, it's better than average for students or anyone needing a research laptop. It's a bare bones design, but doesn't feel cheap at all. If you can read, Windows 8 is easy to navigate, no biggie.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great Computer, Great Price!

08/10/2013
By ,
Huntington Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this laptop on a budged of $400 bucks so I wasn't sure how well it would perform. Surprisingly windows 8 runs extremely well. I haven't had any lag at all. Also you can watch full HD 1080p videos without lag. Sound system is better than most laptops ive ever heard. The RAM and HDD space is more than enough. Also, even with the low specs (intel core i3, intel HD 3000) I was able to run Team Fortress 2, Tribes Ascend, Uberstrike, Minecraft, Blacklight Retribution, and many more of my favorite games. This is a great buy and you cant miss the price. The specs aren't the best but Dell configured it in a nice way that allows great multitasking, graphics, and amazing performance in games, programs, apps and everything I have used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
TnT
WRONG RESOLUTION LISTED NOT 1920*1080!
Posted 11/09/2013
This laptop has a resolution of 1366*768 not 1920*1080 as stated by Walmart. I am so glad i contacted Dell and asked them before purchasing. I am looking for at least 1600*900. thank goodness i read the comments
0points
Customer Avatar
Redwood Valley, CA
Intel Graphics
Posted 08/13/2013
It actually has Intel HD 4000 graphics, I just bought one up here in Ukiah in Northwestern California last week.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for Dell Black Matte 15.6" Inspiron i15RV-1333BLK Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-3227U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Good computer if it would work!

11/16/2013
By ,
Plymouth, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This computer would be great except for one problem: if I move it or pick it up, it sometimes just shuts down suddenly. I've never had such a problem and I'm trying to figure out what course of action to take since it's still under warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
same here!
Posted 02/15/2014
So many times if mine is sitting on something and I pick it up, the screen just goes crazy and I have to force it to shut down and start over. Looks like this is some kind of issue with this model!
0points
Customer Avatar
Illinois
I agree with AnotherScienceNerd
Posted 01/15/2014
I'm having the same problem. I actually didn't think about the problem possibly being with me moving the laptop, but after reading this I'm starting to think there could be something to it. This laptop will restart over and over again suddenly and without notice. It does seem to happen when I'm using it on my lap rather than a table or desk. This laptop will probably be going back.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 271 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next