Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fitness Quest Total Gym 1700 Club

Fitness Quest Total Gym 1700 Club

Endorsed by Chuck Norris and Christie Brinkley, the Total Gym 1700 Club offers a complete body workout and the benefits of exercise. It is ideal for everyone from elite athletes to beginning exercisers. The Total Gym Club is light and compact, so it folds easily and fits under most beds. The Total Gym 1700 Club helps strengthen and tone every major muscle group in your body, and it also provides resistance training and cardiovascular workout. A great value, this compact machine includes everything you need to keep fit and toned.
Average Customer Rating:
4.568 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(213 Reviews) 182
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
139
4 stars
66
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation97%207 out of 213reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
139
4 stars
66
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Total Gym 1700 Club

Total Gym

08/15/2007
By ,
West Haven, Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this product. I was in a car accident and injured my back. My physical Therapist suggested using this product for basic exercise. It is working well. This is low impact which is what I needed so I would not re-injure my back. I have a L1 compression fracture which has healed as much as it can as this is a permanent injury. Not even surgery can repair the damage. So I'm using this product to reduce my weight and stay fit.
My only complaint of this product is it is a little heavy which makes it tough to move up and down and I feel you will not want to store this product away as it is very heavy to move. You should buy this only if you are planning to leave it setup. And you need quite a bit of room to keep it setup. About 8 feet in length and about 4 feet wide minimum.
Other than that, it is a pretty solid product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Total Gym 1700 Club

Very Impressed

10/15/2007
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Total Gym 1700 Club!! I looked at the reviews for all the Total Gym products prior to purchasing this model and found that this model is definitely the best for the price and quality. I also received my Gym within a week of ordering, delivered to my door for a $10.00 shipping charge. The DVD that comes with this Gym has a Pilates workout, two strength training workouts and a fitness circuit workout. The workouts seem really short so I usually do two or more together plus add on some more leg work with the leg attachment pulley. I do not have a problem moving the height adjustment bar as some of the other reviewers have had and I am 5'2". Some machines may be stiffer than others though. I did however have my hair caught in the cable pulley. I now wear my hair on the side in a braid. I bought the Gym because I lack in strength training. I do cardio but hardly any strenth. This is a perfect machine for what I need. My arms are starting to feel more toned already.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Total Gym 1700 Club

Works Great!

07/10/2008
By ,
Almost Heaven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Total Gym 1700 Club is everything I expected -and a bit more - from a home exercise machine. Had it for exactly 30 days now and I excercise every day and sometimes twice a day. Because of the many options I can vary my routine and work on certain focus areas. Can't imagine needing more or spending more for a home machine - the 1700 Club delivers for the dollar. Two observations and neither would prevent me from buying the 1700 again. It is NOT a daily fold up and store machine - too heavy for that - at least for one person to wrestle. Have left it up in a spare bedroom from the day I received. Also, the clip mechanism on the cables for the slide board is inadequate. It is awkward to snap off and on. Plus it arrived with rather sharp edges. Easy to replace with another - but the manufacturer should equip with a more user friendly clip. Overall, a good purchase and a great way to excercise easily at home. Walmart home delivery worked well - arrived by FedEx on the third business day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Total Gym 1700 Club

excellent machine

08/04/2007
By ,
West Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gym is very good for basic strength and flexibility work. If you're a power lifter, it probably will disappoint you. If you just want to keep up your strength and tone up, it's perfect.
The only problem with mine is that the height adjustment is tight. It is getting looser with time, but when I say tight, I mean 2 feet on the base and 2 hands on the rails and pulling with all my might. (I'm pretty robust, most people would not be able to move it.)
The value is great. Though, if you plan on putting this under your bed, you had better have at least 11 inches of clearance.
Oh, and at 6'5" and 260#, it feels sturdy though I'm a little too tall for some exercises and have to scrunch up a bit to keep from hitting the top or the bottom of the unit.
I am very happy overall though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Total Gym 1700 Club

You will Sweat!

10/26/2007
By ,
Birch Run Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking at the total gym now for at least a year. I went back and forth between the total gym XL and the body by Jake gravity force. Both machines VERY pricey. Instead of spending $900 & $1800, I went with the older model (1700 club) with the cheap shipping rate that walmart offered. Also it shipped within a few days of placing my order instead of having to wait 4-6 weeks.
Set up was easy. There are some reviews on here that say they had difficulty. I think it depends on the materials that are shipped to you and you yourself. This machine is heavy, but you will get used to it the more you use it. It took me about 30 mins if that to set up. You will need much room for this machine. about 7 feet by 5 feet to do all the exercises.
I just did my first workout on it and I love it and I'm so happy that i went with this machine. I hope this helps others to invest in this machine. I have a gym membership but with gas prices and the distance of the gym, this is in my price range to have it in my home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Total Gym 1700 Club

Total Gym 1700 Club is great!!!

09/03/2007
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews online about this product before making the decision to order. Basically, noone had any substantive negative feedback, and after ordering and using it - I can honestly say that I completely agree. It is an absolutely amazing workout tool, enabling you to work out your arms, abs, and legs. The DVD and included publications are also good, and you can adapt your workout according to your own fitness goals. Being female and about 120 lbs, I personally am not looking for bodybuilder arms, so I tend to focus on abs and legs. Very versatile and sturdy piece of equipment!! I agree with other reviewers who said that unhooking and hooking the arm pulley carbiner is somewhat difficult, but don't worry it gets easier the more you use the equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Total Gym 1700 Club

WOW! what a machine!

08/04/2007
By ,
Milford, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Total Gym 1700 is absolutely what I've been looking. Don't need a gym or all of that other stuffout there, and, yes, I have tried both. This unit does everything the infomercial says it can. Easy setup, and the results soeak for themselves. Truly a great product. You should purchase on here because Wal-Mart offers it cheaper than anyone else, and you can beat the Site to Store program Wal-Mart offers. Got my Total Gym 1700 in less than a week. Thanks Total Gym and Wal-Mart!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Total Gym 1700 Club

It Works!!!

12/26/2007
By ,
Eugene, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an easy to setup product. Called the support line to request the missing DVD. Received the DVD within three days. The demo on the DVD is easy to follow.
The Gym's footprint is larger than I expected. It really requires about 8 ft by 6 ft for easy operation. It will provide toning and some flexibility. The Gym is made in China, as expected.
Overall, the "Total Gym" series of exercise machines have been around for many years and have a reasonable track record.
And, like the heading says --It Works."
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Total Gym 1700 Club

Best exercise machine for the money

10/16/2007
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had one of the original Total Gym's 20+ years ago and used it for over a decade. I've been a big fan of the concept from the first, so when I had space to hold a new model, I ordered it. The new design, while sturdy enough, lacks the solid feel of the original. The extra attachments wobble a bit, and putting them on and taking them off during a workout is a minor pain. Even with those complaints I still think this is the best machine for the money. The Total Gym provides a full body workout and complete range of motion with a minimum of space and weight. I leave mine set up all the time, but it is possible, and fairly easy, to fold it up for storage. The exercise guides and video are easy to follow and allow you to vary your workouts and target specific muscle groups. I have recommended this product to several people and will continue to do so. For the price, you can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Total Gym 1700 Club

Great price, great product!

09/19/2007
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Total Gym and I wish that I had not got rid of my other one a few years ago. Things I wished my previous one had this one does have, which makes me feel better about having to purchase again. It is everything that I expected and more! Highly recommend it to anyone that is new to exercise or experienced. I priced shopped a number of places before I ended up on Walmart.com as a result of an internet search. Walmart's price was by far the best and based on this experience, I will continue to check Walmart.com for future purchases. I would add to those who are considering purchasing one with less features to spend the money on this one. No matter your level of experience, this product has more features and offers a wide variety of routines. These extra routines will not only be better for your overall fitness, but they will also keep you interested when you might otherwise get bored doing the same old thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Total Gym 1700 Club

Broken Parts

03/07/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just received my Total Gym through WalMart yesterday (ordered site to store), and have it out of the box and set up. It looks like it COULD be a good piece of equipment, but...
Either the cardboard box it was shipped in is insufficient to protect the machine, or mine fell off the WalMart truck somewhere in transit. I have several broken plastic parts, including a control knob and worse, a glideboard wheel. The broken glideboard wheel makes my machine drag, so I can't really use the Total Gym.
I don't know if this is common, but mine didn't come with a parts list or contact number for missing parts. I've just paid 350 bucks (and sales tax) for a deficient product, and I don't have any contact information to get it fixed. What do I do? Take it back to the WalMart store?
I can't recommend a product that is unusable on delivery, sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Total Gym 1700 Club

Good equipment

11/04/2007
By ,
Bryan, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my Total Gym within the appropriate delivery dates; arrived on 10/31/07. I was a little worried once I saw the box because it was opened on both ends and looked like it had been through the ringer! But the equipment was not harmed in any way; I don't believe I got the videos (if there were any packed) but I did find the CD and instructions. The Total Gym 1700 is a little longer than I expected it to be, so I'm having to rearrange furniture. It's fairly easy to set up and take down. I have used it a couple of times and can feel the difference the next day. It glides so smoothly that you don't think you are getting a good workout, but watch out--you'll feel it the next day!
The only bad comment I have about it is the cable is sort of hard to unclip from the glider. I have to store the glider in a closet since I have two cats. But I was impressed with it and I have already recommended it to my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Total Gym 1700 Club

Great machine

03/09/2009
By ,
G-town, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Total Gym. It's fun to use, and gives a great workout. My boyfriend was disappointed at first, he was expecting a "bulkier" machine. I don't know where he got that idea from. But the first time we used it, he quickly changed his mind.
Putting it together is a little tricky, but not too hard. And once you get it up, it's pretty quick and easy to change the equipment to change exercises. Lots of variety, and I like the different sets of exercises that are in the booklet.
It comes with a book, and a flip chart that sits on the Total Gym. These both contain exercise demos from beginner to advanced. You can also find more online. There was also a DVD, I believe it's the pilates instructions. But we haven't watched it yet.
We put ours upstairs, and it was pretty hard to get up there since the box was beaten up pretty badly.
All in all, great product, best price we found for a new one, and fast shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Total Gym 1700 Club

Believe the hype

03/08/2009
By ,
Silver City, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every one has seen the infomercial...and wondered if it really works. It does...this machine does not disappoint. This machine takes the place of so many other pieces of other equipment that it makes the price tag extremely affordable. The set up is really easy. I took it out of the box and within minutes my teenage boys were working out on it. It takes up quite a bit of space when in use...take out the enclosed mat and then give yourself about 2 ft. of space on either side to feel really comfortable. When folded up it really doesn't take up much room...even with the additional pieces. The fluidity of motion and the ability to go from the minimum fitness level to maximum level with a quick adjustment makes the workout relatively easy and painless. This machine easily keeps up with everyones fitness level.
It makes the dreaded workout fun. I have a bad back and knees but I don't have to worry about hurting myself. The Total Gym is easy to use and the accessories are easy enough to figure out. Every one in the house has been on it and loves it.
I highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Total Gym 1700 Club

I love my Total Gym

02/20/2008
By ,
Mobile, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I consider myself to be an educated shopper. I never rush in to buy a product and always "do my homework". Buying the Total Gym 1700 was no exception. I wanted a workout machine that would get me the results I set for myself, at a cost that wouldn't kill, and I wanted my workouts to be fun. After reading multiple online reviews I chose the Total Gym 1700. I went with the 1700 vice the lower models because the 1700 accomodates taller people better - I am 6'2". All reviews said that for the money you were not getting anything special above the 1700 apart from maybe a few more accessories and a little sturdier construction. I have used mine darn near everyday - concentrating on various muscle groups and I LOVE it! It's everything I need it to be. I could see it being a pain in the butt to fold up and move out of the way if you needed the room so I just keep mine set up all the time. Apart from that - 5 stars!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Total Gym 1700 Club

excellent product, questionable ads

08/18/2009
By ,
Oceanside, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Total gym 1700 is a great piece of "total exercise" equipment and is built to last.
You have to do your homework though (google) or you'll end up with something inferior (so many models of "total gym") or something you can't afford. Don't buy from the TV phone ad - they'll try to get over $2000.
Bottom line is it's a great product with shady sales tactics and misleading info like "take it out of the box and start excercising" - I got a lot of exercise putting it together. Such a product would sell a lot more if they were just totally honest and up-front.
One thing I would highly recommend is buying an extra quick connect clip (or two) because you have to move the pulley system when doing certain exercises and it's extremely difficult to reach in a tight space. Extra clip(s) solve the problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Total Gym 1700 Club

Great Value

03/27/2009
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unlike some of the other purchasers, my product was in perfect condition right of the box -- nothing cracked, broken or missing. I had two different areas picked out as to where to put it when I brought it home, and while I had judged the width needed correctly, I did NOT anticipate quite enough length, so I ended up having to come up with "Plan C". It IS longer than I really thought about.
I love this machine though!!
I get bored easy with exercise, and this thing really helps keep that from happening, and believe it or not, it really is fun! So far I am really sticking with 5 - 6 days a week, and it has been easy to do that. The price of this unit compared with the "Super Duper Editions" from the Total Gym web site just makes this a smart purchase when you really aren't missing anything you need to get a complete, easy to change-up workout.
REALLY happy with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Total Gym 1700 Club

GREAT!!!!!!!!

11/25/2008
By ,
Savannah, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased my 2nd Total Gym. My first was lost when I moved about a month ago. I can't say enough about the Total Gym. I have bought just about every piece of exercise equipment out there and the Total Gym is the way to go. I would always use the other equipment for about a month and then get bored with it, but the Total Gym is totally different I never get tired of using it and the workouts are fun and most importantly they work. You can really see the results. I was skeptical when I bought my 1st one thinking oh this will be another piece of equipment that will sit in my garage unused but boy was I wrong. I love it. If you are looking for a home gym to buy this is the one you want it is worth every penny. I have to agree with others about the site to store shipping, it is great. They said it wouldn't be here for 2 weeks but I received my in less than a week.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Total Gym 1700 Club

total gym

11/02/2007
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked online and in the stores and for used and I agree, this is the best price around. It came in quickly,set up easily and has alot to offer. I used it two time ( i'm new to exercising so I did not over use it ) and notice a rip in the glide board. Was told I could return it and reorder it, but since I purchased it the price went up by $50.00. I also call the manufacture and was told I would have to pay shipping to send in the glide board and would get a new one in 4-6 weeks Instead we decided to re-enforce the corners with black duct tape- was disappointed with this - other than that fact I think it is a great machine and has a lot to offer - would like to get more DVD workout routines
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Total Gym 1700 Club

Good Bang for the Buck!

04/08/2008
By ,
Southern NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm the type of person that doesn't have the time or motivation to make my way to the gym after a long days work, so when I saw the infomercials on tv for the Total Gym - I thought I just had to get this intersting machine and try it out for myself. I've only owned the machine for a little over two weeks now, and already feel sooo great. Even at the lowest incline: I found that the workout was intense enough that I'll be working at this level for a bit before I move to a higher incline level. (depending on the excercise) I can feel my muscles stretching and elongating and it only takes a few minutes to work yourself up to a good sweat. Assembling the machine wasn't very difficult and with my husband and myself, it took about 5-10 min. I am still making my way through testing all of the attachments and hope to have a better view soon on how helpful they will be to my workout. Overall - my husband and I love this machine and can't wait to get home everyday to use it. Definately worth the money! I may write an updated review on this product in a month or so to see if I am seeing and not just feeling results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 183 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next