Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Mainstays Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet provides a smooth way to make your meals with its aluminum and ceramic construction. This pan is easy to clean after use. This 10" skillet is just the size for preparing various types of dishes for your family. It is also PTFE and PFOA free.
Average Customer Rating:
4.254 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation81%48 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 39 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Makes Cooking and Cleaning Up Faster and Easier!

08/09/2014
By ,
Bristol, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started out purchasing a companion mini saucepan because I was having problems with reheating leftovers in my stainless steel pans-namely, sticking! I noticed not much stuck to the little saucepan and cleaning it was a breeze. I then went on to purchase this skillet. Wow! Sauteeing and cleaning up is so much faster and easier. The food comes out great and very little effort in cleaning the pan afterwards. Plus the color looks great. It made me regret not purchasing the 12 piece set I saw last year in store on clearance. Well...I was going down the cookware aisle recently to see what other similar pans they had available and...I see the 12 piece set! There's one so I grab it. It was 10.00 more than last year (oh well) but I believe this is a discontinued item so I felt lucky to find it and I know I love the performance. Used them last night for the first time and they were a breeze to use and clean up. If you like this pan, grab the 12 piece set if you find it in store. You won't regret it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bristol, VT
These are virtually indestructible!
Posted 08/31/2014
This is coming from one who can easily burn up a pan! I accidentally let the water boil out of the saucepan (from the 12 piece set of the same kind as the skillet) and it was all burnt on the bottom surface of the inside of the pan. I soaked for 24 hours and it came right up and looks and performs as good as new. These are one of the bargains of the century. I don't know why they stopped making the entire set. They are superb!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Excellent Affordable Pan

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got lucky at Walmart about 3 years ago and found a Farberware Professional stainless steel cookware dirt cheap. I have been using that faithfully for three years. However, I needed something nonstick, for pancakes, eggs,stir fry, anything that can get stuck to the pan. I finally caved when I found this pan on clearance from even the already low price and bought it.
I cannot stop using this pan. It is excellent. My store is now sold out but I am considering buying another! I cannot say enough good things about it.
When i'm done cooking, I can literally wipe with a paper towel and it's clean. I have had it for a few weeks with heavy use and have no scratches or imperfections anywhere on the pan. Only thing I've noticed is a very slight loosening of the handle but that is it! I think it will hold up nicely and for the price you cannot beat it. Similar pans are double the price and sold right next to this item. It compares to anything else out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

A nice little pan at a great price.

09/05/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to try a ceramic pan instead of the teflon pans I have always used in the past. The pan is a little thinner than most teflon coated aluminum pans so I was a bit worried that it might heat unevenly or overheat. I use it on gas burners and have not had either problem, in fact, using the burner on high does not seem to be any different than other pans I have used. I cook everything in this pan including rice and pastas (with a glass lid). There is no stick and it is very easy to clean, and the bottom has a nice gripping surface. I would be willing to pay a little more for a fitted lid but unfortunately it does not come with one. It seems like pans do not come with lids anymore. I am very pleased with this inexpensive pan and plan to buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Great little skillet - excellent value

11/10/2013
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pan on a whim. Usually buy high quality pans that cost $100 or more. Long-time cook. Saw this skillet in Walmart for under $10 and decided to give it a try because it's PTFE- and PFOA-free. Been using it for a couple of months now, and Wow!
1) Really is non-stick
2) Cleans up so easily
3) Blue color is pretty and handle is sturdy and comfortable
4) Lightweight and easy to handle
5) Cooks evenly - eggs, sauteed veggies, bacon and sausages, all turn out great
6) Sits flat on my stove and hasn't warped - because it's light it heats quickly and I rarely need to turn the heat up past medium
All in all, a great little skillet at an amazing price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

beautiful and practical

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Will replace my old plastic coated spans with these.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Great skillet

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our 2nd one like this. Easy to care for. Great cooking. Heats even
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

04/02/2014
By ,
Douglassville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one in blue. I wanted a non-stick skillet but I don't have much luck with Teflon. For some reason all my Teflon pans get scratched up so easily and I figure ingesting Teflon cannot be a good thing....I end up throwing a lot of them away. Which is bad for the environment. So I thought I'd try this. It works great! It cleans up in a snap!!!!! AND as an added bonus it is so lightweight that I can easily handle it. Not all of my pots/pans are that way and I have to be super careful. I just LOVE the bright blue color! I hope to find this pan in a larger size someday, but will definitely be adding at least 1 more 10" one to my household!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Disappointed

09/29/2014
By ,
Hillsville Va
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed. I got the red and it is pretty. But the handle seems to heavy for the pan to sit flat on the stove burner and therefore it never cooks evenly and all the contents runs to one side or another. It was good at first with not sticking, then it starts shredding everything cooked in it. I wont be buying another unfortunately.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Great for frying, need a lid

10/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this online, and tried cooking various dishes and it is absolutely great product!
Easy to wash and great to use...
I wish they had it with a suitable lid for it...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

90 day Torture testing gets a pass+

08/17/2013
By ,
Roanoke, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this pan with the intention of seeing what abuse it could take, writing off the $10 as the cost of my curiosity. It has been used almost daily for about three months with almost no consideration to the interior coating. I should say that before the first use, I "seasoned" the coating by applying a thin film of pure vegetable shortening and then heating on a middle burner setting for ten minutes. Then I let it cool completely and wiped away any visible shortening.
We have 4 cooks in the house, all of whom have tried to wear this blue jewel down. Yes, we have used metal spoons and spatulas as often as plastic or hi-temp silicon. The lack of scratches from the metal utensils may be due to having only solid stainless ones with any sharp edges ground smooth. It has cooked perk chops, steaks, burgers, chicken, stir-fries, hash browns, omelets, fried eggs, fish sticks, grilled cheese - whatever. Because the aluminum is really quite thin, it heats quickly, and overheats just as quickly. I find setting the burner at 1/3 to 1/2 of the heat I would use for a "good" skillet cooks just as effectively, avoids scorching, and saves energy. But this is a torture test, so when the pan was new and we used the "normal" burner settings, a number of things scorched to black, and some of those stuck. In one case I thought the white ceramic was going to be permanently stained, but I put a paste of Bon Ami powdered cleanser on it for about 15 minutes, applied a little elbow grease and the pan looked brand new again. Anytime the pan needed more than a wipe to clean it, it has been re-seasoned with the shortening.
For all of the abuse visited upon this pan, the only damage has been to the pretty blue exterior.
Tips for happiness with this line of cookware are:
1) Get some Bon Ami so you can scour it without scratching it.
2) Season the surface lightly when you give it a strong cleaning.
3) Save energy by keeping the burner setting low.
I now own 5 pans with the white ceramic interior coating. All are the same thin, cheap, energy-saving aluminum construction. Handled properly, they are an excellent value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

An inexpensive way to try out ceramic cookware

12/02/2013
By ,
Maryland
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this pan as a test of ceramic cookware, but didn't expect much from the relatively thin aluminum with a thin ceramic coating. Was pleased with the pan at first, so slippery that I had a hard time flipping bacon or eggs with a plastic spatula. Cleaned up great although over time the paint on the bottom chips. After about six months of almost daily use, the pan is not quite as slippery as it used to be and the white surface is starting to show some un-removable staining, even after using only plastic spatulas and hand washing with a non-abrasive cloth and hot, soapy water. I suspect the life span of this $10 pan is about a year. I really wanted to get away from teflon, but I think I will refrain from replacing this pan with a more expensive, thicker aluminum ceramic pan and go back to cast iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

low quality, but for the price. why not

08/30/2013
By ,
Pensacola, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The pan has a nice non-stick surface so far. My big problem is that the pan warped and now it doesn't sit flat on any surface, it kinda roles. If I had to make this purchase now, I would spend a few more bucks to get a thicker pan.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

love the white coating

10/09/2014
By ,
shopsWithKeyboard
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great non stick surface.
good size
easy to clean
this is my 2nd one
I loved the first one so much I had to hurry and get a 2nd one before the $10 deal was gone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

great frying pan

08/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this pan is easy to clean, cooks evenly and is very light weight. it is a very pretty blue. i could not be more pleased; and such a reasonable price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

So far so good

07/11/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok, so I've only used it once... BUT, It did a great job frying those potatoes. I wanted a cheap non-stick pan, that wasn't teflon coated and this fit the bill. So far, I am thrilled by it's non-sticky-ness and easy clean up and I'm glad that I gave it a place in my home
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Ceramic finish is nice, but only lasted 5 months.

01/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The inside stains after multiple uses. I purchased the red one and the red paint came off on my hand towels/paper towels every time I hand washed it...which was quite often. It lasted 5 months. If you need something inexpensive it works fine. I did like the ceramic finish. I was pleased with it's performance for the first couple of months. That's why I gave it a 2 star, but as far as durability goes, it's not going to last. I would recommend investing in something a little better quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

nice pan

07/27/2013
By ,
utica,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use it to cook salmon. I steam it in the pan. I wish it had a lid, but that was my only complaint. I was amazed at the price. Alot less messy than my other pans and definately easier to clean.Works for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Great fry pan.

03/11/2014
By ,
Reading, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the blue pan, very pretty. Cooked many foods in it and nothing sticks. When I'm finished cooking , I plate the food and before we eat I have the pan wiped out and gently washed with a sponge and Dawn Platinum and left to dry. Takes a max. of 5 seconds and the pan stays perfect. Do be very careful of the outside coating, it scratches easily, but the inside just takes sensible care. Important, use only utensils made for non-stick an no abrasive materials. I've been cooking for over 50 years and would buy this in more sizes if available
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Best Ceramic skillet I ever used

07/14/2014
By ,
detroit, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our old skillet bit the dust and being a one income family, we cannot afford expensive cookware. When I saw this skillet I decided to try it because of the very reasonable price of less than $10. My expectations were not very high because of the cost but I figured it would be fine for now. Not only did this skillet meet my expectations but it exceeded them more than ten fold. In years past I have had very expensive cookware that I paid a fortune for and they were no where near as good as this $10 skillet. The first day we got it my husband made grilled cheese in it and not only did they not stick at all, the surface was so amazing that he even flipped the sandwich without a spatula. The only thing left behind in the skillet was butter residue that easily wiped out with a wet dish towel.
We have made hamburgers, pancakes, cooked chicken and so much more and not one piece of food has stuck to the surface and no scrubbing is needed to clean it. If the other pieces in this line are this good, I will own a whole set of them.
My only suggestion is to not use a metal spatula on it or do not use brillo pads or anything abrasive on it at all as it will ruin the perfect surface it has. Now I still prefer my cast iron skillet for most of my cooking, I could not ask for a better ceramic skillet to add to my cooking arsenal.
I would even purchase this skillet as a gift and feel great about doing so. If you are looking for great cookware at an amazing price, this one is it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Seems well-made, well designed.

12/13/2013
By ,
Bryan, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's what I expected, although mine is the black model, not red. Seems to be well-made, though not U.S.A. It works well for eggs, the only food I've cooked in it as yet. It is my first ceramic-coated versus Teflon®-coated--I have read it is healthier--and it works as well as the Teflon®-coated old one. This one is the next size up (from the old 8" to this 10"), so will take some learning. Should be more versatile than the smaller one. I'm satisfied with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1 2 3 Next