Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Mainstays Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet provides a smooth way to make your meals with its aluminum and ceramic construction. This pan is easy to clean after use. This 10" skillet is just the size for preparing various types of dishes for your family. It is also PTFE and PFOA free.
Average Customer Rating:
4.365 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation85%63 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 39 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Makes Cooking and Cleaning Up Faster and Easier!

08/09/2014
By ,
Bristol, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started out purchasing a companion mini saucepan because I was having problems with reheating leftovers in my stainless steel pans-namely, sticking! I noticed not much stuck to the little saucepan and cleaning it was a breeze. I then went on to purchase this skillet. Wow! Sauteeing and cleaning up is so much faster and easier. The food comes out great and very little effort in cleaning the pan afterwards. Plus the color looks great. It made me regret not purchasing the 12 piece set I saw last year in store on clearance. Well...I was going down the cookware aisle recently to see what other similar pans they had available and...I see the 12 piece set! There's one so I grab it. It was 10.00 more than last year (oh well) but I believe this is a discontinued item so I felt lucky to find it and I know I love the performance. Used them last night for the first time and they were a breeze to use and clean up. If you like this pan, grab the 12 piece set if you find it in store. You won't regret it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bristol, VT
These are virtually indestructible!
Posted 08/31/2014
This is coming from one who can easily burn up a pan! I accidentally let the water boil out of the saucepan (from the 12 piece set of the same kind as the skillet) and it was all burnt on the bottom surface of the inside of the pan. I soaked for 24 hours and it came right up and looks and performs as good as new. These are one of the bargains of the century. I don't know why they stopped making the entire set. They are superb!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Excellent Affordable Pan

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got lucky at Walmart about 3 years ago and found a Farberware Professional stainless steel cookware dirt cheap. I have been using that faithfully for three years. However, I needed something nonstick, for pancakes, eggs,stir fry, anything that can get stuck to the pan. I finally caved when I found this pan on clearance from even the already low price and bought it.
I cannot stop using this pan. It is excellent. My store is now sold out but I am considering buying another! I cannot say enough good things about it.
When i'm done cooking, I can literally wipe with a paper towel and it's clean. I have had it for a few weeks with heavy use and have no scratches or imperfections anywhere on the pan. Only thing I've noticed is a very slight loosening of the handle but that is it! I think it will hold up nicely and for the price you cannot beat it. Similar pans are double the price and sold right next to this item. It compares to anything else out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

A nice little pan at a great price.

09/05/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to try a ceramic pan instead of the teflon pans I have always used in the past. The pan is a little thinner than most teflon coated aluminum pans so I was a bit worried that it might heat unevenly or overheat. I use it on gas burners and have not had either problem, in fact, using the burner on high does not seem to be any different than other pans I have used. I cook everything in this pan including rice and pastas (with a glass lid). There is no stick and it is very easy to clean, and the bottom has a nice gripping surface. I would be willing to pay a little more for a fitted lid but unfortunately it does not come with one. It seems like pans do not come with lids anymore. I am very pleased with this inexpensive pan and plan to buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Great Skillet for all-purpose cooking

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW -- what a nice frying pan... so light-weight and beautiful in color.
I read this Walmart review online; I was not looking to buy a new frying pan but due to review and cheap price (under $10 pan), I went ahead and made the purchase. And so far, I'm happy that I did.
COOKING: very light-weight pan but NOT cheaply made. Heats fast and cooks evenly on a "low flame." You do not need to cook a high heat. AND PLEASE, for piece of mind - do not use metal utensils when frying - as the surface will scratch easily. Teflon or wooded utensils IS what I use.
CLEAN UP: let pan cool down then wipe out pan or HAND-WASH (no need to put in dishwasher) pan when making sauce-based recipes. A word of advise, do not use scrubbers or scrub pads; no need to use if you cook on low flame.
As I said, I'm happy with the ceramic product and plan to buy a saute pan and a cooking set, when it comes available.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Great little skillet - excellent value

11/10/2013
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pan on a whim. Usually buy high quality pans that cost $100 or more. Long-time cook. Saw this skillet in Walmart for under $10 and decided to give it a try because it's PTFE- and PFOA-free. Been using it for a couple of months now, and Wow!
1) Really is non-stick
2) Cleans up so easily
3) Blue color is pretty and handle is sturdy and comfortable
4) Lightweight and easy to handle
5) Cooks evenly - eggs, sauteed veggies, bacon and sausages, all turn out great
6) Sits flat on my stove and hasn't warped - because it's light it heats quickly and I rarely need to turn the heat up past medium
All in all, a great little skillet at an amazing price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

04/02/2014
By ,
Douglassville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one in blue. I wanted a non-stick skillet but I don't have much luck with Teflon. For some reason all my Teflon pans get scratched up so easily and I figure ingesting Teflon cannot be a good thing....I end up throwing a lot of them away. Which is bad for the environment. So I thought I'd try this. It works great! It cleans up in a snap!!!!! AND as an added bonus it is so lightweight that I can easily handle it. Not all of my pots/pans are that way and I have to be super careful. I just LOVE the bright blue color! I hope to find this pan in a larger size someday, but will definitely be adding at least 1 more 10" one to my household!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Super Skillet

05/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had this item for a while now and prepare everything in it from bacon and eggs to steaks and never any issues with it. Cleans up with minimal effort every time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Satisfaction Guaranteed!!

05/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this frying pan to anyone!
I wanted to try ceramic pan before I invested in a set. I fell in love with the pan- - my next purchase will be a whole set of this cookware!! Try it, you'll fall in love too!! !
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Best no stick for the buck

05/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great nonstick for the low price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Better than an iron skillet!

05/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best skillet I have owned in my 79 years!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Love it!

04/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got the skillet to fry eggs in, I love it!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

low quality, but for the price. why not

08/30/2013
By ,
Pensacola, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The pan has a nice non-stick surface so far. My big problem is that the pan warped and now it doesn't sit flat on any surface, it kinda roles. If I had to make this purchase now, I would spend a few more bucks to get a thicker pan.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

An inexpensive way to try out ceramic cookware

12/02/2013
By ,
Maryland
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this pan as a test of ceramic cookware, but didn't expect much from the relatively thin aluminum with a thin ceramic coating. Was pleased with the pan at first, so slippery that I had a hard time flipping bacon or eggs with a plastic spatula. Cleaned up great although over time the paint on the bottom chips. After about six months of almost daily use, the pan is not quite as slippery as it used to be and the white surface is starting to show some un-removable staining, even after using only plastic spatulas and hand washing with a non-abrasive cloth and hot, soapy water. I suspect the life span of this $10 pan is about a year. I really wanted to get away from teflon, but I think I will refrain from replacing this pan with a more expensive, thicker aluminum ceramic pan and go back to cast iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Extra-Ordinary Fry Pan / Clean with a paper towel

11/09/2013
By ,
Waupun, Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheese will not stick to this wonderful pan.
Turn the pan and it glides out onto my plate.
Wipe lightly with a paper towel and it is completely clean. AMAZING
Thank YOU!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

So far so good

07/11/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok, so I've only used it once... BUT, It did a great job frying those potatoes. I wanted a cheap non-stick pan, that wasn't teflon coated and this fit the bill. So far, I am thrilled by it's non-sticky-ness and easy clean up and I'm glad that I gave it a place in my home
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

90 day Torture testing gets a pass+

08/17/2013
By ,
Roanoke, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this pan with the intention of seeing what abuse it could take, writing off the $10 as the cost of my curiosity. It has been used almost daily for about three months with almost no consideration to the interior coating. I should say that before the first use, I "seasoned" the coating by applying a thin film of pure vegetable shortening and then heating on a middle burner setting for ten minutes. Then I let it cool completely and wiped away any visible shortening.
We have 4 cooks in the house, all of whom have tried to wear this blue jewel down. Yes, we have used metal spoons and spatulas as often as plastic or hi-temp silicon. The lack of scratches from the metal utensils may be due to having only solid stainless ones with any sharp edges ground smooth. It has cooked perk chops, steaks, burgers, chicken, stir-fries, hash browns, omelets, fried eggs, fish sticks, grilled cheese - whatever. Because the aluminum is really quite thin, it heats quickly, and overheats just as quickly. I find setting the burner at 1/3 to 1/2 of the heat I would use for a "good" skillet cooks just as effectively, avoids scorching, and saves energy. But this is a torture test, so when the pan was new and we used the "normal" burner settings, a number of things scorched to black, and some of those stuck. In one case I thought the white ceramic was going to be permanently stained, but I put a paste of Bon Ami powdered cleanser on it for about 15 minutes, applied a little elbow grease and the pan looked brand new again. Anytime the pan needed more than a wipe to clean it, it has been re-seasoned with the shortening.
For all of the abuse visited upon this pan, the only damage has been to the pretty blue exterior.
Tips for happiness with this line of cookware are:
1) Get some Bon Ami so you can scour it without scratching it.
2) Season the surface lightly when you give it a strong cleaning.
3) Save energy by keeping the burner setting low.
I now own 5 pans with the white ceramic interior coating. All are the same thin, cheap, energy-saving aluminum construction. Handled properly, they are an excellent value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Very good

02/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it to cook eggs in. Was using a greenware pan and it ended up not working so great after the first year. This is just as good as those pans for a lot cheaper. I cook everything in olive oil and nothing stuck to this. Got the blue and it is beautiful. The handle sparkles too.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Ceramic finish is nice, but only lasted 5 months.

01/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The inside stains after multiple uses. I purchased the red one and the red paint came off on my hand towels/paper towels every time I hand washed it...which was quite often. It lasted 5 months. If you need something inexpensive it works fine. I did like the ceramic finish. I was pleased with it's performance for the first couple of months. That's why I gave it a 2 star, but as far as durability goes, it's not going to last. I would recommend investing in something a little better quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet
07/18/2013
By ,
Gulf breeze Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the pan heated manly in the middle of the pan and it became scorched even on low heat
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Springfield, Missouri
Exactly what I wanted in a pan
Posted 08/02/2013
Having vowed never to buy Teflon again after experiencing the stuff flaking off into my food, I was happy to find a non-stick, non-Teflon pan for only $10. After cooking with it a few times, I felt I had discovered a miracle. I agree with the person who said it would be nice if the pan had a lid, but usually when I need a lid I just use one from my other cookware. The sizes aren't right, but they do the job.
Now, I won't say that food never sticks to this pan, because if I am cooking food too hot or if I get distracted and let something burn, it will stick. But I consider that to be my fault, not the pan's fault. And, no matter how stuck and burned the food is, this pan is always a breeze to clean, which is exactly what I love about it. Just let it soak for 10 min., then you can easily loosen the food with a nylon spatula and rinse it, then the rest cleans out easily with a scrubby sponge.
Also, after having read reviews about ceramic pans scorching, I was a little worried about that, but I have accidentally left the pan on the stove with nothing in it a few times now and it hasn't scorched. There are a few light scratches on the white surface (shallow enough that they don't go completely through the surface) now from about 6 months of use, but it still works just fine for me.
To the manufacturer: please make a lid for this pan!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Mainstays 10" Non-Stick Skillet

Great non stick surface

03/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to replace an Earthpan that was not very durable and lost its non stick abilities some time ago. The Mainstays blue pan is very vibrant. Most importantly using a little butter, I have cooked scrambled and over easy eggs, and salmon patties. Everything easily slid around the pan with no hint of sticking. The primary reason for this purchase was for cooking over easy eggs. This pan works better than I remember the more expensive pan ever working. I would recommend this to family/friends and hope that it is durable, but if not, then replacing will be okay due to the low price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next