Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Microsoft Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Microsoft Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Made with VaporMg, Surface is precision crafted to be tough yet elegant, without excessive bulk. At 1.5 pounds, with a watch-like finish that's incredibly smooth, and durable, Surface is a delight to hold and touch. Integrated Kickstand provides uncompromised support and flexibility. Flip out the Kickstand for hands-free entertainment. Whether you're watching a movie, or shooting video, Surface stands on its own. Work anywhere, anytime with Windows RT and Office 2013 RT Keep tabs on news, friends, and entertainment with pre-loaded Microsoft apps. Visit the Windows Store to discover more apps and games. Front and rear-facing 720p HD video cameras. Capture life from all sides with LifeCam. The rear camera is angled to shoot straight ahead when the Kickstand is flipped out. The Kickstand also enables hands-free Skype video chat or recording. Custom lens design and an ambient light sensor maximize light intake while providing sharp focus so you'll never miss a shot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.208 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation85%82 out of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Great tablet/computer for my pocket

11/13/2013
By ,
western South Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a senior citizen who waits for the new model before I buy the older one - because that's when the deals start coming out on the market. This version of the Microsoft Surface is perfect for my needs. It's faster than my three year old laptop. I love the size, the clarity of the screen, the brightness of the colors, the lightness of the weight. The touch keyboard is a kick. I'm still learning about all it's aspects so I've given it 4 stars. In all likelyhood I'll be giving it 5 stars once I've had a bit more time to spend with it. Oh yes, the shipping was speedy and Microsoft has the 68 page manual online as a PDF.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+132points
Review 2 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Great mixture of tablet and PC

11/15/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that I can write reports in Microsoft office on the couch without balancing a laptop on my lap. I can also read my kindle books and watch movies on my surface. I have not touched my laptop or kindle fire since I bought the surface. It is like having both at my fingers. I was surprised by the battery life. Last so much long then my laptop. Overall I'm impressed with the surface.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+93points
Review 3 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Best For College Students

09/05/2013
By ,
26101
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is more portable than a laptop, without paying for games you will not be as tempted to play games rather than work. Youtube works fine and with the keyboard Pearson (an online set of college programs) works great. Its nice opening more tabs than an Ipad and the USB port is amazing for a tablet. I only recommend tablet for people who need a highly portable work/college tablet rather than a laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+106points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Las Vegas
Concerns
Posted 02/19/2014
So Pearson works just as good as if you were running it on a laptop? Also, Microsoft Word is the same program as on a normal computer? I'm a college student and that's the main reason I want this tablet.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Great Tablet

08/29/2013
By ,
Massapequa Park, N. Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought about an Ipad but when i saw this tablet, I changed my mind. The quality of this tablet is outstanding. Windows RT takes a bit getting used to it. Not too many tablets have a USB and a micro sd slot as this this has. Some people didn't like the power fit onto the connector. To me it's just fine. I recommend the warranty. One little accident and your tablet could be doomed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+112points
Review 5 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Great Productivity Tool, A Bit Confusing Updating

01/18/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I will begin stating that it is a bit confusing updating to Win 8.1 on this tablet (I had a Windows whiz help me out). What you have to do is check the Windows store for necessary updates for your computer. If you have about 15 or so updates (which is what is most likely when you get this product), then it is best to restart your tablet so that the updates can happen. After that, go back to the Windows store, and the first thing you will see is an update to Win 8.1. Select the update for Win 8.1, wait a few minutes, and your tablet will restart again. After updating to Windows 8.1, you will have an improved Windows Store (with searching capabilities) and an overall better OS.
After going through this update process, I have gotten a lot from my Surface. Having Office on my tablet is really nice, and Internet Explorer is not bad on here (of course, avoid any potentially malicious sites). I really like having the little rubber type-pad, and it makes sense to have this if you'll be using Word. This product is very light, which makes it easier on my back when taking it to class. I also enjoy the ability to have two pages open at the same time (for example, having an internet site and a PDF open at the same time on split-screen). This makes things easier for me as a student, because I don't have to track back as often when doing homework with internet references. Overall, a good productivity tablet, but get the Win 8.1 update first to get the most out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 6 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Outstanding tablet

11/22/2013
By ,
Lake Stevens, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great tablet. Because my cell phone is Windows based the tablet has been pretty easy to setup and use. Although finding info on issues related to operations is difficult to find and understand.
Battery life is ok, not amazing but ok.
Still trying to figure out how to transfer contacts from 2007 Outlook to the new e mail addresses. Fine tuning seems difficult. But, I am enjoying using the machine. It would be nice if Surface was compatible with other tablet formats.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 7 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Versatile and rugged

09/14/2013
By ,
Edinburg, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Microsoft Surface rt eliminate the need for me to carry my laptop around. It all I needed a tablet for. I can easily connect to my laptop via in-built remote desktop or third party apps like teamviewer to use legacy apps like matlab and solidworks. Its got excellent battery life and last for a day on moderate use. it connects to my Epson printer wirelessly without me setting it up since I'm connected to the same wifi and also via usb. with windows 8.1 update , I got scan native scan support for the printer, and all this works with any printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Waveland Ms
Microsoft Surface 32 GB with Black Touch Cover
Posted 01/13/2014
Hey bro, I was interested in buying myself one of these. I'm curious though, when you commented and said that you upgraded to windows 8.1, was that from windows RT? I cant find a surface this size with 8.1 instead of RT. Thanks for your time, ill be looking for your response. God Bless!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Smaller & lighter than a laptop

03/06/2014
By ,
Bradford, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Watching colleagues using tablets at meeting piqued my interest in a tablet. Not on the Apple bandwagon, and used to a Windows environment, I researched the Surface. I did want to invest a lot of money in something that was not in my comfort zone. I bought a Surface RT. I am still fumbling with tiles, I am a long time mouse and keyboard user. This will allow me to have information and data at my fingertips, instead of carrying a lot of paper. I use a USB flash memory stick. This works well whether you have wireless access or not.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 9 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Better than expected.

09/21/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised, I love the fact that you turn it on and it is ready to go. Glad it had the MS Office installed, and that you can purchase additional software if needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Review 10 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

So Far, Somewhat Disappointed

01/28/2014
By ,
Hastings, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this Surface RT during the Black Friday sales, for $250 at BestBuy (without a touch cover). I have since bought a blue skulls design limited edition touch cover, as well as a very good deal on a black TYPE Cover on eBay. So far, the Touch Cover has been much nicer than I expected. I thought the flat surface would be too hard to get used to, but amazingly, I have not made ANY typing mistakes, and I don't have to move slowly or make sure that I press each key. It seems to go very smoothly when I type just as fast as I do on my regular laptop. Not to mention the blue color and skulls artistic design is quite sharp!
I bought this tablet because of the obvious perks of having the detachable keyboard, and the smooth, heavy-duty metal casing on the tablet. I like the larger size, instead of the usual 7" tablets. I do like Windows 7, but it is taking a while to try and get used to the very different Windows 8 RT interface. I wish I could make the Surface accept a Win7 OS.
The WORST part about having the RT operating system, is that it will NOT accept any of the usual programs or allow you to install anything unless it comes from the very limited Microsoft App Store. I have had a very difficult time with finding good 'apps' to replace the programs I am used to using, especially a decent video player that will play more than just the .mp4 format. I also wanted to have PC games on my tablet that I already have on my PC, but I cannot install any of them. This program restriction is the Surface Tablet's biggest downfall.
So far, I haven't used my Surface for more than 12 hours since I bought it, and all the disappointments have turned me off of the excitement I had in first opening the box and trying it.
I would give the operation and use of the tablet a 4 out of 10.
The sharp style, outer design, and nice keyboard options, as well as the VERY nice multi-use USB port, the availability of the expandable storage with the included micro-SD slot, and the handy 'kick-stand' on the back, I would give a 8/10.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Review 11 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Great for school

09/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife uses this tablet for school and so far it does most of what she needs and it only weighs around 1 pound. The only so far is that it is the RT version of windows and she needs to use the firefox browser for some of her school stuff (which isn't supported).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Review 12 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

The greatest thing ever!

08/25/2013
By ,
Bentonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works exactly as I expected. I love everything about it, size, weight ease of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 13 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Just what I was looking for!

11/24/2013
By ,
Seminole,Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The things I like are it's light weight, comes on quickly, and it has a USB port, that I can plug in my wireless mouse. !4 years with Microsoft Windows programs. I can continue with things I understand!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 14 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

RT Redefines the Tablet.

09/07/2013
By ,
saint augustine, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing has more than met my expectations. I am really impressed with it's responsiveness and battery life too. It is true you cannot install traditional applications on RT products but it is great with the growing app store and Internet Explorer. I use My desktop for Gaming and am a hardware junkie but I could use this thing all day, every day....don't forget about the free music streaming from xbox live!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 15 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Great!

11/05/2013
By ,
Long Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camera quality could improve, but overall its a great product. Especially for college students, Im in college and its perfect to have with you. Its nice and small and light weight. Just perfect, I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 16 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Huge disappointment

10/04/2013
By ,
Miami
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sadly, I must share this message... I have always been a strong supporter of Microsoft and everything this brand has brought to my life.. The Office suite remains to be the number one supporter of all my present professional needs, and the basis of any further future development. I happen to be such a Microsoft supporter that I longed for, and waited for Microsoft to develop a tablet with iPad qualities and with the benefits of the Office suite. Surface was launched and I was very eager to get one once the usual hiccups with a new product were covered. I gathered it would be about a year. I recently purchased a Surface and was very excited about it. It's been two weeks since I got my Surface and I am definitely not satisfied at all. I am actually returning it and writing this review. Reasons: Lose connectivity very often, running system very slow, it freezes, no response, things you don'y expect to happen with iPad standards in mind. Very limited in apps and the few available are not versatile. Inability to sync simple but very important features like yahoo calendar, mail; very slow connectivity speed; simply not easy or user friendly to get around. Sadly, I must say I am ready to exchange my "Surfy" for an iPad.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 17 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Did not meet expectatiins

11/12/2013
By ,
Reidsville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased because it had keyboard and USB. Spent 4+ hours with phone tech to set up email. (Won't work with pop servers). Exchange set up without help in minutes. You can not download iTunes to sync your phone like you can with a Dell or other laptop. I was told there was enough space and operating power, but only apps from their store can be downloaded. Rep said you could sync an android phone. When I asked for help clearing the tablet to return it, I was put on hold. 30 minutes later I had figured it out so I hung up. Took it over 2 hours to wipe clean. Remember if you buy electronics online from walmart there is fine print allowing only 15 days to return. I got there day 15 and the store service was very good. In short, surface doesn't do whT it says it can do.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 18 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover
09/26/2013
By ,
Clifton, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did not have a smart phone before I brought this, so I believe I had a little more figuring out to do. So far so good. I'm not saying that I have everything figured out, but it is going OK. The size is its great advantage, I like to take it to the football games and download my video of the first half and watch it doing half time. I'm 62 so I did not grow up with computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 19 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Good Tablet if you don't play Face Book games.

12/03/2013
By ,
Georgetown, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The set up with my Dell XPS Touch Portable was amazing! Loved the Surface with the exception that I could not play my casino Face Book Games. Returned for refund. Ordered a Surface 2 64GB.
Got it this morning. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for Microsoft Surface with 32GB Memory, Windows RT and Black Touch Cover

Getting an Ipad is better.

11/28/2013
By ,
Tracy, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have recently purchased this tablet because I found the IPad Air a bit pricey, but after just 5 hours of use, I can tell you that this is a fail for a tablet and I promptly returned it to get the IPad air. Here are the cons to it:
-Windows RT: This is a con because it is the watered down version of Windows 8 that the tablet runs so there is limited functionality and to top it off, it is very slow when running two or more applications
- lack of apps: This was the main reason why I ditched the Microsoft Surface and got the Ipad Air since the amount of apps available are not even close to the ones available in the Apple Appstore
- heavy: After lifting the Ipad Air, you can just feel the lightness, but when you go back home to return the surface, that thing feels heavy.
I have also tried the surface 2 and both the surface and its predecessor fail in comparison to the IPad Air because once you use the Ipad Air, you can never go back to using the slower, Microsoft Surface family. However, microsoft office works well on the goo, but this tablet computer should be used by the older generation.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-24points
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next