Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HISENSE Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

HISENSE Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

Hisense Sero 7 PRO is a 7", 1280 x 800 High Definition touchscreen powered by NVIDIA's Tegra 3 quad-core processor and runs Android 4.2 (Jelly Bean) Operating System.
Average Customer Rating:
4.465 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(445 Reviews) 407
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
308
4 stars
93
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation92%408 out of 445reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
232 Questions | 734 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
308
4 stars
93
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

A feature rich, well made, well reviewed tablet

09/04/2013
By ,
Michigan's UP
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For this price I couldn't be happier. The screen is very crisp but the lack of a fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating makes it prone to finger smudges. I clean it with eyeglass cleaner and a Teflon cloth. The Sero is responsive. If you are new to Android, as I am, there is available on the web a PDF that describes the Sero's functions written in very good English. The included front and back cameras are adequate. Any camera is better than no camera. There is a mini HDMI output so if you want the Sero can be displayed on your laptop or computer monitor if they are so equipped. The sound is good and comes from stereo rear speakers. The Sero has a GPS, Bluetooth, and NFC just like the Nexus, but it also includes 5GHz 802.11n where the Nexus is limited to the 2.4GHz band. This means faster wireless but slightly less range. The Sero has a microSD card slot for storage expansion. In most of the ways that matter, the Sero 7 Pro is as good a tablet as the Nexus 7 and for many dollars less. If your on the fence.....get it. I bought two cause my wife likes it more than I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

Well worth the money!

07/01/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a great deal on a 7" tablet, look no further. The Sero Pro has it all! My wife and I already had an Ipad and wanted an additional tablet since we often wanted to use it at the same time. We didn't want to spend a lot on the second tablet since we felt we somewhat overpaid on the Ipad. Don't get me wrong, we love our Ipad but they are simply too much money. We decided $150 was our limit and had actually ordered the 7" Samsung Tab 2 (refurbished). Then I discovered the Hisense Sero Pro. It appeared to have all the same features and more. I was unable to find anything that matched it. This tablet even has the following, some of which weren't on the others,,,
* a 1280x800 IPS screen (very crisp and responsive I might add!)
* a micro sd slot
* GPS (Real GPS, which works as well as my Garmin)
* mini HDMI (mirrors what you see on the tablet when connected to a tv)
* micro USB
* a 2 mp front facing camera
* a rear 5 mp camera with auto focus AND a FLASH (The pics I have taken are on par with most good camera phones. It also does decent video. My Ipad does better but consider the cost. Anyway, it serves its purpose more than adequately).
* NFC (Near Field Communication) Interesting feature and useful to some folks but not needed for us at this point in time.
* Bluetooth 3.0
* Stereo Speakers (plenty loud)
* Of course a speedy Tegra3 Quad Core processor
I really like the fact that there are no proprietary cables needed. Also, the battery life is great.
The overall build quality feels good for the price. I'm not sure what kind of glass it has but fingerprints are not a big problem since we wash our hands often. (Yes, keeping your hands washed helps keep the screen clean. Amazing right?)
This is our first Android device and needless to say, my wife and I are very satisfied to date and we recommend this tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+543points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Northern Virginia
Now that you've owned it for a month
Posted 07/30/2013
Do you still like the Sero 7 Pro?
How does it do with the internet? Does it ever get slow and laggy?
Is it sensitive to finger taps or do you sometimes have to tap on the icon or keyboard several times to get it to register.
Thanks for your help.
+1point
Customer Avatar
nice review... and more!
Posted 07/28/2013
You did a nice job reviewing this excellent device. I would add that the device also supports OTG. So, you can attach usb devices like a flash drive and you can read and write to them, use usb keyboards and lots of other devices. In addition, this means that it appears as an external drive when attached to a PC or laptop via usb... while it's charging! HiSense really did their homework and made a great, flexible, affordable tablet that sets a bar for knowing what the customer wants... a bar that Apple, Samsung, or Google have yet to reach!
PS. Don't panic if you run your Sero's battery down dead, like I did (it took 12 hours to do this!) If that happens to you and you plug the Sero in to charge it, you will get a black and white animated screen of a battery charging. Even if fully charged, it won't go back to normal operation and it seems there is nothing you can do to get back to an operational tablet... a normal restart brings up the same b&w screen. But if you press and hold the power button down an exxxttttrrrra long time, the Sero will go back into a normal reboot and be back to its excellent self.
+8points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 43 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

6 Months and Problems

05/06/2014
By ,
VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased last fall. About 3 months ago found that media (music and videos) placed on SD card were not showing up in the gallery. Neither were pictures taken with the camera. When I plugged the tablet into my laptop USB port and searched for the "new" drive, the SD card did not show up.
Soon after Wi-Fi would not engage when selected. It had worked fine up until then. You could go to setting and try to turn on wi-fi but it would not turn on. You had to power down the tablet and power back on and then it MAY allow you to turn the wi-fi on. Sometimes it would take 3 power downs. I have contacted Hisense and will be returning it for repair/replacement. I understand they will have it back to me in around 10 days. I have to pay for shipping. I would not buy another one of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7

06/11/2014
By ,
mesquite
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my 8 yr old for Christmas. Great little tablet. Fast, great pictures etc. The only reason I could not give it 5 stars all the way is, ever since we got the tablet we have had problems charging it and now 6 months later we are trying to send it back to Hisense to be repaired which seems to be a big hassle in itself...... the charging port is loose and now will not charge at all. am hoping this is the problem with the tablet not holding a charge at all. Our poor little guy was having to play on it plugged in. He never complained so we didn't know there was a problem until it just stopped working all together. Hisense customer support is not all that great in my opinion, if they don't get all the info they requested they will just sit until YOU call back to see what is taking so long for them to contact you....After a month of waiting for shipping instructions on how to ship this tablet back to be worked on they are swearing they didn't get a copy of the receipt which was in jpeg format on the email. funny I maied myself a copy and it was there, I am just glad a got a extended policy through walmart, I am just hoping I don't have ti use it. I don't have much hope Hisense will repair my tablet....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

Hisense Sero 7 Pro

05/24/2013
By ,
Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just, seen on Gizmodo about this tablet and decided to go to walmart and see it for myself. I was amazed how nice it is. Has all the features that the Nexus 7 has and more. Expandable memory slot and rear camera and latest jellybean 4.2 is what made me get it.
I benchmarked the Hisense 7 pro with passmark and the scores are right on mark with the nexus 7's scores.
Also, another plus. price. $50.00 less
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+183points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

Excellent little tablet

08/08/2013
By ,
Hermitage, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had been wanting to get a tablet for awhile and didn't know which one to get (didn't want to spend a lot on one). Then my birthday came and I got some money so I looked seriously into one. That's when I found this Hisense tablet. I looked at the reviews and a lot of them were really good, so I decided to buy it, and even though I have only had it for a day, I'm glad I got it. There are a few drawbacks that I've seen so far, so that's why I only gave it 4 stars, but overall its a great tablet for the price.
Pros:
- Vivid screen with great resolution.
- Relatively easy to navigate (I figured most of it out within an hour or so, without instructions).
- Access to Google Play store and thousands of apps.
- Expandable memory.
- Both cameras shoot good quality photos.
- Voice activation feature (search without typing)
Cons:
- Apps can build up without you really realizing it, causing the unit to slow a bit, although apps are very easy to close.
- Screen gets smudged easily (lots of fingerprints).
- The door on the MicroSD slot is a little loose.
As I've said I have only played on it a bit, but so far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

Gives the Nexus 7 a run for its money!

05/28/2013
By ,
AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read several reviews of this tablet from trusted sources such as CNET. This tablet is almost identical to the Nexus 7 in every way, but this tablet's memory is expandable and it has other options such as rear camera and HDMI out (and $50 dollars less). We purchased the tablet on Memorial day, and it looks, feels and operates just like my wife's Nexus 7. Set-up was easy, and it comes with several pre-loaded apps including google apps. Everything seems to work great so far. This tablet has no problem playing games or watching movies from Netflix, Vudu or Flixter. We also installed Overdrive from the app store and downloaded e-books from our public library with no issues. If you are worried about the brand, I wouldn't be. Hisense has been very big in Asia for a long time; it is just now starting to be known here in the U.S. If you are thinking about the $99 LT version or this $150 Pro version, go with the Pro version. You get a lot more for your $50 bucks: More memory, better processor, longer batter life (almost double), front and rear cameras and HDMI out. You can buy a mini-HDMI out cable from on-line auction sites or that other large on-line-only store for less than $5 which will allow you to hook the tablet up to your HDTV. This is really nice for when you want to watch Netflix on a larger screen. So, when comparing 7 inch tablets to all other 7 inch tablets, this is probably the best performance you can get for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Johns Creek
Excellent Review
Posted 05/30/2013
Thank you for your excellent review. Also the Pro version has GPS which the light does not as well as android 4.2 vs. 4.1 on the LT. If there is anything that Hisense can do to make your experience better, our contact information is one the back of the quick start guide.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 48 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

Low priced super tablet

11/03/2013
By ,
Derby NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a tablet but did not have any experience with them. After reviewing the specs and reading the reviews I chose the Sero Pro 7. I am very happy with its performance. IMHO at $129 nothing can touch it. Some people have complained that almost half of the 8GB of storage is used by the system. I don't consider this a problem. If you need more a 32GB SDHC card is an inexpensive add on. The quad core processor zips through any task you give it. The screen is bright and responsive to the touch. Front and rear cameras are not the greatest but neither are those in the other tablets. This is not a toy. You can do a lot of serious stuff with this tablet. Oh yes, it is loaded with just about any sensor you can think of. Comes with Android Jelly Bean 4.2.1 which is one step behind 4.2.2 but the difference between the two is insignificant.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

Not for folks needing to use USB with a tablet

08/24/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Sero Pro 7 tablet because it had a bright screen with no glare, was fast, quad core, and had both blue tooth and wifi. It also has a micro sd slot for expansion and the micro USB charger.
I thought it would be great as it is supposed to be able to use the micro USB port to connect to cameras and other devices.
It will not connect to cameras, memory card readers, flash and jump drives, some desktop computers. I was only able to connect it to the charger and to a Toshiba laptop. So I returned it figuring the first one was defective. The second had the same issues. I contacted Hisense support and the only thing they would say was that the devices must be incompatible with the Sero Pro. A friend of mine also bought one and has the same issues. What are the chances that 3 Sero Pro Tablets are defective?
I returned my second one and bought a Nextbook Dual core. No probems with using the micro usb adapters to connect memory card readers, flash and jump drives, cameras, laptops, and desktop computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
-21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

Best $150 I've ever spent

05/28/2013
By ,
tennesse
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought the original 8gb nexus 7 when it came out, then later got the 32 gb flavor. then this came out... i was very skeptical about it, but also very curious. so honestly, I purchased this with full intentions of playing with it for a few days and then returning it. never really heard of hisense. but after playing with it for about six hours straight, i can confidently say this may be the best 7" tablet EVER made. I haven't had a single problem with it. games run better than the nexus 7 and basically every app is compatible. I'm keeping this guy. if you're thinking about getting it, just do it. you have 15 days to return it if you hate it. but i honestly love this more than my nexus 7
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
37334 Fayetteville, TN
where city in tennessee
Posted 05/30/2013
I have searched a 200 mile radius of my zip and it can't find any store that has them
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 51 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

Same CPU / GPU / RAM as the Asus Nexus 7

05/27/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Sero 7 Pro tablet has gotten a lot of attention in the Android technical community as it has the identical Nvidia CPU/GPU as the Google Asus Nexus 7 tablet that was introduced 9 months ago. 1GB of RAM is nice as Android applications work much better than the older generations of budget tablets that have only 512MB.
Not mentioned by the vendor, it DOES have a working GPS chip! Makes this an interesting tablet for GPS car navigation as you can also use the rear facing camera to record those driving in front of you (dashboard camera).
Popular website REDDIT has a /r/Sero7 subreddit for organized information sharing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/28/2013
This actually has a higher version of the Tegra 3. This has the T30 model, while the Nexus 7 has the T30L.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 52 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

Excellent Tablet especially for the $$

12/11/2013
By ,
Northern NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband got this for me for an early xmas gift. He took alot of time researching tablets to try to find the one that's good quality for the right price. This tablet DEF meets those expectations. It comes with basically everything the Nexus has and NEEDS and is cheaper in cost. It is fast, it has the ability to hook up via HDMI to tv (which we tried and it worked on the tv) and most importantly, it comes with the ability to expand the storage and I believe that is very key. The camera on this isn't super great but it does the job and even comes with flash. I will warn of one issue that I came across and found very little on internet... IF YOU SIT anywhere near another computer with this tablet (and possibly certain electronic devices) and the screen goes crazy and starts doing things on its own, there is nothing wrong with the tablet... just move away from the computer or device and prob will be fixed!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

hisence sero pro 7

05/26/2013
By ,
AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tablet has what the nexus 7 should of had. Micro sd card slot, back camera takes good pictures, and mini hdmi port. Does have gps
Almost identical in size to the nexus 7
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mars
Posted 06/13/2013
do you mean doe or does not as this is what I am looking for in a tablet?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 54 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

All of the bells and whistles at reasonable price

10/23/2013
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To all who have opened Pandora's Box on the frantic search for a decent tablet, this product is the answer you have been looking for. After spending many hours reviewing reviews, and product specifications, I would have to say this is the best bang for your buck. I do have a technical background in computers, whether aviation, home, or business, and I will not hesitate to say there are many companies out there looking to fill their pockets, and not much more. I have also come to the conclusion, after countless hours of reviews, that there is no such thing as a perfect tablet; Some have this, but leave out that. However, I would have to say that the ladies and gentleman at HISENSE took notes, and tried their best to come up with a product that gives most consumers the best value possible. If anyone out there is thinking of a good Christmas present, this one is it. Try Apple, Sony, Nexus, or Kindle; You will find that greed has ruined otherwise decent products, and avoid proprietary cables, and ports at all cost. This wonderful tablet produced by HISENSE does not make cheap attempts to gain additional profit at our expense. I have only had mine a few hours, but I am totally enjoying it. If you are in the dark about tablets, then I suggest spending some time researching various companies and sites. In the end, it will come down to whether you are looking for functionality, or simply a brand name. I am enjoying my new purchase, and wish all of you the best on your journey.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

Amazing Value!

11/21/2013
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I was shopping around for tablets, I had my heart set on the Galaxy Tab 2.
I tried it out and liked it and was pretty convinced that was the one I'd go with.
I decided to try out the Hisense Sero 7 Pro just for S&G and I'm SO glad I did.
I looked at the specs on the back of the packaging and was surprised to see that the Sero 7 Pro specs SURPASSED those of the Galaxy Tab 2 in almost every category. It's specs are comparable to the Google Nexus 7, which at the time was over $100 MORE!
This tablet runs smoothly and the screen is VERY responsive (which is the only reason I didn't go with the Sero 7 LT. The screen was a little laggy for my tastes....I'm impatient!). I rave and rave about this tablet to anyone that asks.
If you are in the market for a tablet, this one is a GREAT bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

Sero 7 Pro is an excellent tablet & a good value.

05/26/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review is for those choosing between the Hisense Sero 7 Pro and Nexus 7. We own both and have drawn up a quick comparison.
What do you give up by paying $50 less for the Sero? The truth is not a lot. In fact, you actually gain a number of features. For brevity’s sake, we'll focus on just the differences between the two tablets. Let’s look at the Sero’s drawbacks.
The Sero 7 Pro has only 8GB of RAM with less than 5GB free (but balances that with a microSD card slot capable of handling 32GB cards). Other disadvantages include a slightly smaller battery (4000 vs. 4325 mAH) and a slightly heavier, larger, and thicker body (about 13 ounces vs. 12 ounces; 7.96" x 4.95" x 0.42" vs. 7.81" x 4.72" x 0.41"). Another negative is that, being brand new, the Sero 7 Pro has no 3rd-party accessories made for it like cases. Finally, while the build quality is good, its durability and longevity are unknown.
Now, let’s move on to the positives. The Sero 7 Pro has many advantages over the Nexus 7. It comes with a mini-HDMI out, a microSD card slot, more powerful cameras (2.0MP front and 5.0MP rear camera with flash (flash is not very powerful) vs. a 1.2MP on the front of the Nexus 7). The Tegra 3 processor is also slightly more powerful (1.3 versus 1.2 GHz). A key difference for us was its dual-band wifi (2.4/5.0 GHz 802.11 a/b/g/n) compared to the Nexus 7’s single band (2.4 GHz 802.11 b/g/n). This lets us put it on a different frequency than our crowded 2.4 GHz band.
The following are our impressions using both the Sero 7 Pro and the Nexus 7 and YMMV. The 1280x800 touchscreens are about the same quality, which is quite a coup for Hisense. The speakers in the Sero 7 Pro, however, are not quite as good as the ones in the Nexus 7. We also don’t like the default sounds that the Sero makes when tapping the screens. In addition, the Nexus 7 has been updated to Android 4.2.2 while the Sero comes with 4.2.1 so expect that Google will always push updates out for the Nexus first. Overall, both tablets provide a good “pure” Android experience.
There were no problems using the Google Play Store. We installed and used the Kindle, myON, Audible, and Netflix apps without a problem. As an aside, we thought it was interesting that you can uninstall the Walmart, Sam’s Club, Vudu, and other apps that Hisense bundles with the Sero 7 Pro.
We tested the mini-HDMI, the microSD card slot, and the Bluetooth on our unit. Everything worked flawlessly. We really enjoyed using the included Kingsoft Office app with an HDMI monitor and Motorola Bluetooth Keyboard/Trackpad. The trackpad let us zip around as if we were using an ASUS Transformer. Awesome!
We hope Wal-Mart will come out soon with screen protectors and cases for the Sero as well as Bluetooth accessories. The bottom line is that if you want to save $50 over a Nexus 7, the Sero 7 Pro is an excellent tablet. Grab one today before they are all gone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+395points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Customer Avatar
Worcester, Ma
you can get 3rd party accesories.
Posted 09/25/2013
Amazon sells covers for these for about $12 (cheaper than anywhere!). Screen protectors, mine came with one on but the $ store usually has them in stock (and if you do it right, no bubbles). Bought this after a $69 "testing" tablet and love it! But take note, if you use a screen protector, a stylist will skip and may not register what you think.
0points
Customer Avatar
Raleigh, nc
Tablet Case
Posted 08/24/2013
Thanks for the review! Have you found a good inexpensive case for it?
Thanks
0points
Customer Avatar
columbus,ohio
sero 7 pro
Posted 08/09/2013
I'm not on all of this language of what you talking about. So just answer a couple questions for me. What is this? trackpad?
We really enjoyed using the included Kingsoft Office app with an HDMI monitor and Motorola Bluetooth Keyboard/Trackpad. The trackpad let us zip around as if we were using an ASUS Transformer. Awesome
This one also, how do you do this on it?
key difference for us was its dual-band wifi (2.4/5.0 GHz 802.11 a/b/g/n# compared to the Nexus 7’s single band #2.4 GHz 802.11 b/g/n). This lets us put it on a different frequency than our crowded 2.4 GHz band.
I hope you see his to answer my questions. or some one else will see it.
-2points
Customer Avatar
Toronto-Canada
In the bright day light ...
Posted 07/20/2013
I am not sure , if this device's screen is readable in bright day-light ?
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/18/2013
I'm glad to see that you tested the micro SD slot. We purchased a 32 GB micro SD card for our Hisense but now can't figure out how to move movies purchased & downloaded from Google Movie Play onto the micro sd card. Any ideas?
0points
Customer Avatar
How does battery life compare to the Nexus 7?
Posted 06/18/2013
How does battery life compare to the Nexus 7?
0points
Customer Avatar
Houston, TX
Posted 06/02/2013
Correction: Vudu cannot be uninstalled.
Addition: I-Blason and USA Gear make cases for the Sero 7 Pro. Also, some B&N Nook Color cases may fit depending on the design.
+1point
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Review 57 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

High-end 7" tablet at low-end price!

08/10/2013
By ,
Hemet, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing extensive research on small tablets, I planned to purchase a 32g Google Nexus 7 as it was the highest rated 7" Android tablet. Then I discovered the Sero 7 Pro for $50 less and features that are equal or better than the Nexus. Unfamiliar with the name, I took a chance and bought the Sero 7 and I'm so glad I did! It runs Android 4.2.2 Jelly Bean with a 1.3 GHz Tegra 3 quad 4 processor, faster than Nexus. The 1280 x 800 HD, capacitive touch display is crisp and responsive. Probably the best feature is it's micro SD slot enabling you to add up to 32G ROM to the 1G RAM which is sorely lacking in the Nexus. Plus the Sero 7 has a 5 MP with flash rear and 2 MP front cameras. Nexus does not. This tablet feels solid and comfortable in your hand, but is slightly heavier than the Nexus. Overall, the Sero 7 Pro is a great tablet at any price and I would definitely recommend it to those in the market for a 7" Android device.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

i like it, but it has 1 BIG problem...

06/28/2014
By ,
wichita, ks
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I like it, good pict, sound, and customer service, but it has A problem : 1) YOU CANNOT MOVE THE APPS TO THE Micro-SDCARD. the only thing that you can move are the pictures and music., and I am not talking about the factory installed apps, I am talking about the apps that you buy in the appstore. So if you think to buy this tablet, think twice, because it only has 8 Gb of storage, and without been able to transfer, you will need to install app, play and then uninstall. So good luck and think twice!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

BY FAR THE BIGGEST BANG FOR THE BUCK

01/12/2014
By ,
undisclosed
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I was skeptical due to the price...149.99 had me leery .I had not intended on spending more than 100.00 ..but i tried 5 other tablets...each one had something wrong..slow. bad cameras...short battery life..freezing up...none had all the features working correctly..until the Hisense Sero Pro 7..Finally a tablet that had it all..even a flash on the back camera..this is the best device i have ever owned...does everything and more...I don't have to charge this up every few hours..I would recommend purchasing this to anyone that's looking for a smaller sized tablet..You get what you pay for..spend under 100.00 u will be disappointed...I was 5 times...Im so glad i decided to spend just a little more..I'm sure this blows away all the competition tablets at 249.00 or less....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Hisense Sero 7 Pro 7" Tablet Quad Core Processor with 8GB Memory, M470BSA

Phenomenal Product

03/04/2014
By ,
Rye Brook, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an iPad and bought this Hisense Sero Pro 7" for my wife not knowing how it would compare. I love the Hisense. It's screen is brighter and more detailed, and the photos I take with the Hisense are far superior In fact, the Hisense has a flash, does panorama shots and a lot more -- all in truly high definition. You get so much packed into this little device it's astounding. I added a free phone app to it (tracfone) and I can make free calls to anywhere in the world whenever I'm in a hotspot. You can't beat this product for value, range of useful features and overall performance. The iPad is nice, but I like the Hisense (which is a lot cheaper) much more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 408 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next