Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for As Seen On Tv As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

As Seen On Tv As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

For portable cooking with precise temperature control, the NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop is a smart choice. It features a lightweight design and uses less energy than other similar products. The NuWave induction cooktop stays cool to the touch, and it can boil water in 90 seconds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation82%28 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 67 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Not what I expected

12/27/2013
By ,
Lumberton, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
From the advertising I had thought the Nuwave induction cooktop would allow precise temperature control just by entering the desired temperature and pressing the start button. It does heat very quickly and it is a very handy size. The wattage is about the maximum that a 15 amp circuit can handle so I doubt that any other brands would offer faster heating. If you need portability and you don't need tight temperature control, it would be fine.
I filled the skillet with water and tested the temperature with a lab grade thermometer. I could never get any reasonable correlation of the set temperature and the water temperature, not even close. This unit seems designed to provide 5 temperature/power ranges offering little more precision than 5 ranges can offer.
My other complaint is that if you lift the pan off the cooktop, to toss and mix the food as it cooks, the unit will not resume heating the pan until you hit the "Start" button again.
This was my first attempt with induction cooking. It may be my last.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
baytown.tx
Robert Hopp, Bayowm,tx.
Posted 04/28/2014
I bought on as a set with pans. I love mine. while temp is questionable I found it better than using a gas or electric stove. It does not produce heat like cooking over a stove were as such as like the area around stove would heat up or room would get warm. Cooking over a hot stove can be tiring. As far as wattage is concerned If i use my electric skillet at 350 deg. I cannot use microwave, and refrigerator at same time. due to wattage exceeds the capacity of he breaker on that circuit. { i live in 70 year old house } the pic uses lower wattage at 350 deg. than electric skillet so i don't have this problem. also when frying, if you use gas or electric stove or electric hot plate care must be taken, because if grease boils over on to flame or elements you can have a grease fire. because the nuwave pic has no flames or open elements this issue is avoided. as far as the issue of taking the pan off the cook top an it shuts down is just a safety feature and I got used to it after a while. While I love this thing to death, the only draw back is you have to use pans that are induction capable. ( ex. steel, stainless steel, and iron.) if a magnet doesn't stick to it it will not work. other wise pan must have induction symbol on it
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Even better than I expected.

04/06/2014
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased one and was so happy with it's performance that I went out and bought another. I think some of the negative comments seen here stem from a lack of knowledge of the item. For example complaining that the cooktop shuts down when you lift the pan. All you need to do is press the pause button, lift the pan, put it back and press the pause again and everything starts right up where you left off. Easy. I like the speed and the features. No complaints since, so far, it's done what they claim it will do. I also bought the 7 pc pots, pans and covers set. Very solid and well made. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

I love this Nuwave induction cooker!

12/14/2013
By ,
Bethany, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If what you want is temperature controlled induction cooking with excellent temperature control this is a great product. It's easy to use, clean, and with the enclosed pan assures you have at least one piece of cookware compatible with it. The red circle on the surface indicates the size of the coil, so the pan's bottom outside the coil's diameter won't transfer heat unless you are cooking with oil. Heating of the pan is fast, but I wouldn't expect to boil water in 90 seconds like the demo says. If the pan is lifted from the surface it shuts off until you hit the start button. It's a safety feature I learned about when an oil spatter startled me and I lifted the pan from the induction plate. My range is a gas range, so I loved setting the temp and not having to worry about overheating the food. The Nuwave induction cooker will be my first choice for cooking since it is so easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Saves time and energy for the busy family.

04/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so impressed - it actually works for me. If I get a call I can lower the temp (immediately) so nothing boils. My granddaughters can be turned loose to make grilled cheese without the burns. I could sell NU Waves like hotcakes. It's true the OIL doesn't burn - I am amazed. I would offer one piece of advice though that the stainless steel pots with aluminum core will give an error reading. TIP: take a magnet to shop for additional pans..
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

doesn't seem to be working right ??

05/21/2014
By ,
sedan, ks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This thing worked great when first brought home. lately it doesn't seem to be cooking right Tonight it seemed to be taking forever to cook a burger. The read-out said 375 degrees but a restaurant grade thermometer would never get above 150-160 degrees. It appeared to be rather unreliable. in the manual this type of occurrence is never addressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

No surprise when product failed to work

05/01/2014
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Like I said, no surprise- but what I don't understand is all the wonderful reviews on the Walmart website of this product yet everywhere else on the internet there are hundreds of complaints about this product. It's nothing like advertised and the cheap plastic didn't last long at all, so where are all of these reviews coming from Walmart?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Denver, CO
Good reviews are true.
Posted 06/29/2014
I purchased my NuWave induction cook top 2 years ago from the TV Infomercial and it worked like a charm from the moment I took it out of the box. I did not experience the problem of the unit shutting off when the pan was removed to stir or for what-ever reason. The unit would beep but when I placed the pan back on the unit it picked up right where it left off, I did not have to press anything. I have seen very few complaints about the NuWave and most were from people who did not really understand what they bought or how to use it properly.
0points
Customer Avatar
Yuma
Posted 06/11/2014
I have two and I love them. That's all I use. I love the safety. Especially in a mobile home.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Tampa, FL
Maybe bad luck with that version?
Posted 06/03/2014
I have had my PIC for almost 2 years and it works perfectly still.
But this was the Nuwave PIC original not PIC 2.
I did buy a PIC 2 recently for the cookware deal but because my original works so well I did not plan to bother using the new one.
Maybe the newer model has problems though I hope it doesn't as I wanted to re-sell my new one to offset the cost of my pans.
0points
Customer Avatar
mid Ohio. USA!
great reviews only here
Posted 05/15/2014
it is rather curious isn't it..lol. wondered the same thing.
+1point
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 7 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Fantastic Cooktop

11/11/2013
By ,
OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 of these when they came out on TV and got a small set of pans to go with them. We love them, No, not all of your cookware will work on them. They have lowered our power bill too. Most things cook much faster, it just takes time to figure out what temps you want for what. This is where the book comes in handy. You can also do step cooking with them. We have had ours about 9 months so have had plenty of time to get lots of use out of them.
If you purchase cookware just make sure it's also for induction cooking. Wearever has a lot of cookware that will work on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Great Product

08/28/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second precision induction cooktop. The first one I purchased off of the tv. When the first one went out I was delighted to find that wal-mart carried this. Although it is basically the same price as on tv, you still get by cheaper, especially on the shipping. On tv charged 69.00 to just ship the product to me and they also try to talk you into a lot more products that you don't need.
With all the above said The induction cooktop is one great product and I just love it. I gave my sister one for christmas last year and her whole family loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

A Great product

07/26/2013
By ,
Hardy, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about the claims made by they ads for this product but I wanted to try it.
First a was pleasantly surprised when I found it came with a pan that I wasn't expecting. And second It does heat things super fast and the base only get's hot where the pan touches.
There is just one thing you need to be aware of. This cook top only works the items that a magnet will stick to. So if you have other cookware that a magnet won't stick to the bottom of then it won't work with this cook top.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Works Great!

08/20/2013
By ,
Peoria, AZ.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item is perfect- but remember - if a magnet doesnt stick to the bottom of your pan it wont work with this item..
The new wave does come with a skillet but it is a medium/small skillet.
Overall very good item
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Good for low or medium power cooking

09/20/2013
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is fine. Its 1300 W power at the highest temperature is only equivalent to the medium high of a convention electric cook top temperature. It's better for slow cooking, but not good for fry cooking.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Best product Ever

08/12/2013
By ,
Danville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is without a doubt the best purchase I've ever made! I used to own the original nuwave but this nuwave 2 is truly better and is worth every penny. And the worst part is I would have paid more! The way I give my rating for 5 stars is that I ask myself if someone took it away from me, would I miss it? Yes, without a doubt! So, I give the Nuwave 2 a five stars!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Cannnot set temperature as advertised

05/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The cooktop allows you to set power ranges, but you cannot set a temperature the cooktop will hold. Thsi is no different than any other cooktop.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Exactly what I wanted for my RV.

10/19/2013
By ,
mariposa,ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only problem is I have to unplug it to turn it off completely. Would love to keep it plugged in and have a master electrical disconnect. Otherwise it is a great product. I would buy it again in the future as it is a much better way to cook and save energy too.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

grate kitchen tool!

11/13/2013
By ,
west va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used my nu-wave oven for years ,now i use my Pic every day its fast and easy to use, grate kitchen tool I don't use my stove very much anymore .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Heats up fast

10/02/2013
By ,
East Falmouth, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this NuWave. I have a piece of junk stove my landlord got from the dump and I don't use it. I love heating up the food fast. The skillet it came with is nonstick and I am happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

NewWave2

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We received our NewWave 2 today and used it tonight. It worked as advertised. I cooked a dinner of Stir fry on it and it rook no time for the meal to cook. I was surprised at how precise the cooking temperature was. It will take more time for me to get used to it as my little attempt tonight didn't even scratch the surface of what the NeWave2 can do. I look forward to playing with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Average

01/15/2014
By ,
Ogden, Utah
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not as good as on TV. it works OK, the cooktop dose get Hot while in use, not as on TV. it doesn't have an Off button You have to unplug it to turn it off. but it is a little faster than my gas stove.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Very nice

12/05/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I love it. Will soon buy the Oven Pro as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Awesome product

02/27/2014
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this cook top does everything they say it does
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next