Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for As Seen On Tv As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

As Seen On Tv As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

For portable cooking with precise temperature control, the NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop is a smart choice. It features a lightweight design and uses less energy than other similar products. The NuWave induction cooktop stays cool to the touch, and it can boil water in 90 seconds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.146 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation80%33 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 82 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Not what I expected

12/27/2013
By ,
Lumberton, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
From the advertising I had thought the Nuwave induction cooktop would allow precise temperature control just by entering the desired temperature and pressing the start button. It does heat very quickly and it is a very handy size. The wattage is about the maximum that a 15 amp circuit can handle so I doubt that any other brands would offer faster heating. If you need portability and you don't need tight temperature control, it would be fine.
I filled the skillet with water and tested the temperature with a lab grade thermometer. I could never get any reasonable correlation of the set temperature and the water temperature, not even close. This unit seems designed to provide 5 temperature/power ranges offering little more precision than 5 ranges can offer.
My other complaint is that if you lift the pan off the cooktop, to toss and mix the food as it cooks, the unit will not resume heating the pan until you hit the "Start" button again.
This was my first attempt with induction cooking. It may be my last.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
baytown.tx
Robert Hopp, Bayowm,tx.
Posted 04/28/2014
I bought on as a set with pans. I love mine. while temp is questionable I found it better than using a gas or electric stove. It does not produce heat like cooking over a stove were as such as like the area around stove would heat up or room would get warm. Cooking over a hot stove can be tiring. As far as wattage is concerned If i use my electric skillet at 350 deg. I cannot use microwave, and refrigerator at same time. due to wattage exceeds the capacity of he breaker on that circuit. { i live in 70 year old house } the pic uses lower wattage at 350 deg. than electric skillet so i don't have this problem. also when frying, if you use gas or electric stove or electric hot plate care must be taken, because if grease boils over on to flame or elements you can have a grease fire. because the nuwave pic has no flames or open elements this issue is avoided. as far as the issue of taking the pan off the cook top an it shuts down is just a safety feature and I got used to it after a while. While I love this thing to death, the only draw back is you have to use pans that are induction capable. ( ex. steel, stainless steel, and iron.) if a magnet doesn't stick to it it will not work. other wise pan must have induction symbol on it
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

LUV this item

08/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my grandson headed for college, I gave it a trial run and loved it. Cooks like a dream, love the pan that came with it, kept me from trying to find cookware for the cooktop which saved me money. This is a bargain.
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

I love this Nuwave induction cooker!

12/14/2013
By ,
Bethany, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If what you want is temperature controlled induction cooking with excellent temperature control this is a great product. It's easy to use, clean, and with the enclosed pan assures you have at least one piece of cookware compatible with it. The red circle on the surface indicates the size of the coil, so the pan's bottom outside the coil's diameter won't transfer heat unless you are cooking with oil. Heating of the pan is fast, but I wouldn't expect to boil water in 90 seconds like the demo says. If the pan is lifted from the surface it shuts off until you hit the start button. It's a safety feature I learned about when an oil spatter startled me and I lifted the pan from the induction plate. My range is a gas range, so I loved setting the temp and not having to worry about overheating the food. The Nuwave induction cooker will be my first choice for cooking since it is so easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Usage:Every few days
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

great product great idea

08/22/2014
By ,
mc crory arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an extra burner for the patio and got more than I expected, the only thing is that you must use a pan that is metal not aluminum which is not a problem. And the pan can't be too big the surface area where the heat is is smaller than a big burner. However it is a great item and I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Even better than I expected.

04/06/2014
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased one and was so happy with it's performance that I went out and bought another. I think some of the negative comments seen here stem from a lack of knowledge of the item. For example complaining that the cooktop shuts down when you lift the pan. All you need to do is press the pause button, lift the pan, put it back and press the pause again and everything starts right up where you left off. Easy. I like the speed and the features. No complaints since, so far, it's done what they claim it will do. I also bought the 7 pc pots, pans and covers set. Very solid and well made. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Saves time and energy for the busy family.

04/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so impressed - it actually works for me. If I get a call I can lower the temp (immediately) so nothing boils. My granddaughters can be turned loose to make grilled cheese without the burns. I could sell NU Waves like hotcakes. It's true the OIL doesn't burn - I am amazed. I would offer one piece of advice though that the stainless steel pots with aluminum core will give an error reading. TIP: take a magnet to shop for additional pans..
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Fantastic Cooktop

11/11/2013
By ,
OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 of these when they came out on TV and got a small set of pans to go with them. We love them, No, not all of your cookware will work on them. They have lowered our power bill too. Most things cook much faster, it just takes time to figure out what temps you want for what. This is where the book comes in handy. You can also do step cooking with them. We have had ours about 9 months so have had plenty of time to get lots of use out of them.
If you purchase cookware just make sure it's also for induction cooking. Wearever has a lot of cookware that will work on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Great Product

08/28/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second precision induction cooktop. The first one I purchased off of the tv. When the first one went out I was delighted to find that wal-mart carried this. Although it is basically the same price as on tv, you still get by cheaper, especially on the shipping. On tv charged 69.00 to just ship the product to me and they also try to talk you into a lot more products that you don't need.
With all the above said The induction cooktop is one great product and I just love it. I gave my sister one for christmas last year and her whole family loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

doesn't seem to be working right ??

05/21/2014
By ,
sedan, ks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This thing worked great when first brought home. lately it doesn't seem to be cooking right Tonight it seemed to be taking forever to cook a burger. The read-out said 375 degrees but a restaurant grade thermometer would never get above 150-160 degrees. It appeared to be rather unreliable. in the manual this type of occurrence is never addressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

A Great product

07/26/2013
By ,
Hardy, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about the claims made by they ads for this product but I wanted to try it.
First a was pleasantly surprised when I found it came with a pan that I wasn't expecting. And second It does heat things super fast and the base only get's hot where the pan touches.
There is just one thing you need to be aware of. This cook top only works the items that a magnet will stick to. So if you have other cookware that a magnet won't stick to the bottom of then it won't work with this cook top.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

No surprise when product failed to work

05/01/2014
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Like I said, no surprise- but what I don't understand is all the wonderful reviews on the Walmart website of this product yet everywhere else on the internet there are hundreds of complaints about this product. It's nothing like advertised and the cheap plastic didn't last long at all, so where are all of these reviews coming from Walmart?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Denver, CO
Good reviews are true.
Posted 06/29/2014
I purchased my NuWave induction cook top 2 years ago from the TV Infomercial and it worked like a charm from the moment I took it out of the box. I did not experience the problem of the unit shutting off when the pan was removed to stir or for what-ever reason. The unit would beep but when I placed the pan back on the unit it picked up right where it left off, I did not have to press anything. I have seen very few complaints about the NuWave and most were from people who did not really understand what they bought or how to use it properly.
0points
Customer Avatar
Yuma
Posted 06/11/2014
I have two and I love them. That's all I use. I love the safety. Especially in a mobile home.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Tampa, FL
Maybe bad luck with that version?
Posted 06/03/2014
I have had my PIC for almost 2 years and it works perfectly still.
But this was the Nuwave PIC original not PIC 2.
I did buy a PIC 2 recently for the cookware deal but because my original works so well I did not plan to bother using the new one.
Maybe the newer model has problems though I hope it doesn't as I wanted to re-sell my new one to offset the cost of my pans.
0points
Customer Avatar
mid Ohio. USA!
great reviews only here
Posted 05/15/2014
it is rather curious isn't it..lol. wondered the same thing.
+1point
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 12 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

No

08/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned it too my local walmart fan didnt work we waited for half hour water didnt boil very sad
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Works Great!

08/20/2013
By ,
Peoria, AZ.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item is perfect- but remember - if a magnet doesnt stick to the bottom of your pan it wont work with this item..
The new wave does come with a skillet but it is a medium/small skillet.
Overall very good item
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Good for low or medium power cooking

09/20/2013
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is fine. Its 1300 W power at the highest temperature is only equivalent to the medium high of a convention electric cook top temperature. It's better for slow cooking, but not good for fry cooking.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Best product Ever

08/12/2013
By ,
Danville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is without a doubt the best purchase I've ever made! I used to own the original nuwave but this nuwave 2 is truly better and is worth every penny. And the worst part is I would have paid more! The way I give my rating for 5 stars is that I ask myself if someone took it away from me, would I miss it? Yes, without a doubt! So, I give the Nuwave 2 a five stars!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Works great. Compact, portable, heats up fast

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compact, portable, heats up fast. Stores nice and neat in the carry case (purchased separately). Great prices at Walmart
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

didn't stay hot,sent it back

09/20/2014
By ,
ms
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not good at all
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

missing an item I feel is necessary

09/15/2014
By ,
Norwalk, ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I realy like this useful appliance and will cherish it for as long as it lasts, however now I have to make a carrier since it did not come with a carry case like in the commercial. If it is meant to be used on the road etc, it should come with it by default.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Easy to Use

09/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it so far. It came without the manual, so I had to call the company and they will send it to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for As Seen on TV NuWave Precision Induction Cooktop

Exactly what I wanted for my RV.

10/19/2013
By ,
mariposa,ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only problem is I have to unplug it to turn it off completely. Would love to keep it plugged in and have a master electrical disconnect. Otherwise it is a great product. I would buy it again in the future as it is a much better way to cook and save energy too.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next