Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shakespeare Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Shakespeare Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo

This Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo is well-suited for both beginning and experienced anglers. This medium-action rod features a multi-disc drag system that offers consistent pull. The reel is constructed from graphite, making it lightweight and corrosion resistant. Equipped with stainless steel guides with aluminum oxide inserts, it delivers smooth and accurate casts. The Shakespeare spinning combo also has an E-Z cast trigger and will make a wonderful addition to an angler's fishing tackle.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation75%9 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo

Invest in a better reel.

10/27/2012
By ,
Greenville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I recently moved to a new state and am getting back into fishing. I picked up this combo from my local Walmart. I don't know how long it was on the shelf, but once I started using it I learned two things: 1) the pre-spooled line is junk, and 2) the Shakespeare reel on this combo is basically junk. The line had crazy memory, snagged and unspooled and broke several times. After a few lost lures I respooled with good 10-lb mono. As for the reel, the bail was very loose and had problems opening and closing. The EZ cast feature made casting much harder so I never used it. And the drag setting was very loose. It would never stay on my intended setting. So I just bought a better reel instead. The price for this combo is great, but expect to buy new line and maybe a new reel. The rod is the only part that's worth anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 2 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo

Nice for a noob!

05/15/2012
By ,
Denver Co
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not fished in over 20 years. I am the kind of person that likes to master something new or different. I had the old closed face reel and liked it but wanted a challenge. This is not too hard to master and the ugly stick has taken the beeting I have dished out. The Reel is nice but like it was mentioned the "Easy Cast" lever is in a terrible space. I took it off and have no issues so this is fantastic for me. You feel all the hits well and the action is great. Good choice and enjoy the rod/reel combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 3 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo

a great rod&reel combo

06/27/2012
By ,
Huntington ,WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was the first combo i ever bought by myself and it has not let me down yet i am a avid fisherman who goes fishing around 3 times a week and i have caught up to a 20 lbs blue cat om it and it held up wonderfully the ez cast option is amazing for 1 handed casts and i have never had any problems with it not closing or the line getting behind the ez cast trigger overall i love it and will continue to use it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 4 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo

Good but...

07/19/2012
By ,
Sartell, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really was wanting this rod and reel combo, it seemed perfect for the price and a fishing buddy of mine bought one and loved it so why not right? I had to go to a Walmart an hour away because the one a mile away would never have this rod and reel combo in stock so after two weeks of waiting I went to the other Walmart. I went out and had a good time with it, I do not know why the ez-cast system should be named a cast crippler, this thing is great for cast and retrieve fishing. As soon as I have the lure in it is right back in the water. It was so easy to cast with and no time lag at all, I caught numerous 17 inch or bigger large mouth bass to prove so. After coming home from that trip I noticed the reel was a little loose on the rod, so naturally I tightened it. I do not have he-man strength however after tightening down the reel holder I went back to check the wiggle room and the coupler broke. Upon further inspection you can clearly see that it is just plastic whereas other rods have this piece made of metal. Nothing electrical tape and a lighter can't fix and for 30 bucks what do you expect but for a stick to be unbreakable I would think Ugly Stik would invest in just a little aluminum to wrap around the reel couplers to keep them from cracking and breaking. Otherwise a good setup for seasoned fishermen or new comers, just don't try to get rid of the wiggle room and don't give up on the ez-cast system with a little practice it will be hard to go back to an open face without one, however, if it just doesn't work for you just take it off, only one screw holds it on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 5 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo

Good for the price.

04/21/2012
By ,
Greensboro, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this ugly stik online and got it shipped to the store. When i got to walmart i noticed the reel handle was missing. I told the customer service lady and she said it is sold seprately?!?! I bought the same product from another walmart and have had no problems with it yet. I like this ugly stik but i do not like the customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 6 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo
11/27/2012
By ,
South Padre Island, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I reeled in a 29 inch black drum, 18 inch trout and numerous trout that were under the limit. The rod was bent in half the whole 20 minutes I spent fighting that drum and with the same line that comes with it! Very impressive! I bought this rod and reel combo mainly for the rod to use it for casting while bay fishing. I did not like the fact that the reel spins back half a turn. Very annoying.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 7 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo
04/19/2012
By ,
Meadville
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Ugly Stick fishing pole itself is an awesome thing,no problems with it. My quarrel is with the Shakespeare reel that comes with this combo. The E-Z Cast trigger that is on this should be called the "Cast Crippler" because 90% of my casts failed,the E-Z Cast trigger gets hung on the bail and wont close. Also the line will get stuck behind this trigger if the bail should work properly and close. If you don't look every time,the line will wind behind the spool resulting in problems. I think I am going to take the trigger off and see if that helps.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 8 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo

good quality rod and ok reel

06/26/2013
By ,
mansfield ,oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got it at my local store for 24$......the rod was awesome the reel is pretty good . the day I bout it I cought a 7 lb catfish and a 5lb catfish .great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo

Don't waste your time

07/02/2012
By ,
Green Bay, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love to fish, but like most people i try to get what i need on as little money as possible. Thats why i figured this cheap ugly stik would be a great fit for a modest fisherman like myself, but boy did I think wrong. Ugly Stik claims that it is the strongest and most sensitive pole on the market, so i am trying to figure out why my rod snapped the day that i bought it. Why have a 7 year warranty on this product, it only lasted me 7 minutes!!! It broke right above the handle due to me pulling on it about half as hard as i pull on my cheap $20 shakespeare that i got from walmart. i honestly thought the pole was defective, but i guess it is just a lousy product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Review 10 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo
09/03/2013
By ,
Boise, Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got exactly what I was expecting, and for the money, this rod and reel are great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Combo
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5