Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Hewlett Packard HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Do it all, without fail with the Silver 17-e049wm HP Pavilion 17.3" Laptop with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor. Confidently tackle work and play, using a PC tested for total reliability. View stunning color and graphics on a large display. Enjoy the convenience of multiple connectivity ports, a built-in DVD player and a numeric keypad.
Average Customer Rating:
4.406 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
35
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation91%117 out of 128reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions | 117 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
35
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Hard drive disk failure error (301)

03/29/2014
By ,
Fremont, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've wanting an hp laptop for long time. I finally got one I was so happy got home I started to try it out it was fine a couple of weeks then few days later every time I turn on my hp Pacino 17-e049wm laptop dos pops up sayin had disk error (301)n it say contact manufacure. I'm a desktop builder but not a software expert. So I try to do is try do make a restore point n restore it but same thing still have same error. N think I'm out of the walmart warranty. Only through manufacture one for 1 yr.
I wish I can have some help.
P.S. I love the Lappy it's a great system just this error is really irritating.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great features, especially for the money

03/05/2014
By ,
Minnesota, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had my computer for about a week, but I am in love! It's fast and has all the power I need. I am still getting used to the quirks of Windows 8 -- it's really easy to accidentally switch screens, but that's not the computer's fault in any way.
I opted for this Pavilion without the touchscreen in order to get the cd/dvd player and I am really glad I did. The touchpad is very responsive and much easier to clean than the screen would be!
I also like the larger keyboard with the dedicated number keys. It's so much easier to 10-key than to have to shift. Everything fits very well and was pretty easy to adapt to when typing.
One recommendation I would make is that if you buy this computer, make sure you have a case that will fit a 17.3 laptop. The Walmart store didn't have many options for this larger size available
in the store, and the local office supply places had very expensive options for this laptop size. It would have been easier to just order it at the same time as I ordered the computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Excellent! Plays SWTOR at MAX graphics.

12/01/2013
By ,
Carmel, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop is AMAZING for the price (598). NOTHING comes close to the specs unless you go up at least another $300 (Minimum). This laptop will Play Star Wars the Old Republic on "Very High" (max) graphic settings without a hitch. I can't speak of longevity since I've only had it for a few days, but in terms of performance this laptop is outstanding. I did a lot of research to try to find another laptop that would compare but none come close in this price range. One word of caution, this is not a laptop that is meant to be used for very long away from an outlet. I mainly use it for gaming, so with that in mind I will say that the battery is drained in about 2 hours (max) and sometimes less. I do have screen brightness maxed out and my pc set up for performance on the graphics, so I went into it knowing that I was going to be eating battery. I suppose it could last longer with moderate settings. I love the fact that I can now game wherever I choose (friends houses or mine, etc). Run and get this laptop!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great value for the hardware

01/22/2014
By ,
Rochester
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this yesterday, booted it and played with Winows 8 for an hour trying to get a feel for it. Couldn't figure out why it had to keep switching between app center and desktop for many functions but decided to upgrade to 8.1. Took an hour to download the update then another 30 minutes to install it and finally got presented with an OS worse than 8.0.. I had enough after five hours of "setting up" my laptop. I spent another hour creating boot discs then I inserted my Fedora 20 disc. Booted up in no time, then I proceeded to install it. Took LESS THAN 10 minutes to completely install, another 5 minutes downloading and installing updates and finally 30 minutes adjusting it to my taste as it was on my previous laptop. Less than an hour for Linux to install, setup and use. Over five hours for Windows 8.1. The machine itself is great, just dump the OS for something better, much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Winder, GA
Hey Rochester !
Posted 01/22/2014
I can get to my 8.1 (old familiar) desktop from powerup in 12sec & everything works great!
However your Fedora certainly intrigues me. Maybe I can do a dual boot ?
+8points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great Laptop, Great Price

03/17/2014
By ,
Southeast Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop has pretty much everything I need in a computer. It has enough RAM, processing speed and storage space to meet all of my computing needs, and then some. I was actually really surprised when I found it online at that price. I would have expected to pay at least another couple hundred for one comparable. I also love that it has a big 17" screen, which is great for watching movies, YouTube videos, etc. Put it all together - large screen, lots of memory, lots of processing power, loads of storage space and a price below $800- and you've got one heck of a deal. It's a nice little laptop and well worth the price. And Windows 8.1 isn't too bad, once you get used to it, but it DOES take some getting used to. All in all, it's a great deal and I would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone who wants a great little laptop but doesn't want to spend a fortune to get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Excelent Computer for an Excelent price!

11/13/2013
By ,
Menomonie, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought this computer and it has surprised me with its A10 processor being as fast or even faster than my "Gaming Laptop" (Using I7). Just looking at the Specs of a computer like this you would almost think its was a $1000 build.
Pros: With a AMD A10 and 8 Gbs of RAM this is defiantly enough to run most modern games at medium-high settings as well casual multi-tasking.
Cons: Windows 8 can get a little bother some when you accidently bump the Touch pad you will switch apps like from your desktop to your Email if you have it open. However this isn't much of a problem if you don't have any other apps open your you can just disable the transition altogether.
With the massive screen Its almost scary to move it because it is a little heavier than most Laptops and most times does not fit in regular sized laptop cases.
Overall the Pavilion 17-e049wm is a great medium between power and price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bergen County, New Jersey
What is walmart getting for this coputer?
Posted 03/12/2014
It says you have to go to the store for the price????? Does thid computer come in a touchscreen?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Big, Fast and Ready to Go

12/29/2013
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had concerns about getting a new computer because of all the bad hype regarding windows 8 but after doing lots of research I realized if I didn't want to continue waiting 20 minutes for my old Dell to boot, I needed to get a new laptop and deal with the new OS.
This HP had much more to offer than others which cost considerably more.
With it's 17.3" screen, I don't even need my reading glasses.
With the 8GB ram it runs circles around the others I looked at.
I'm not a big gamer but after playing the pinball came I've become a believer. This machine operates flawlessly.
The only thing I would change is not having Norton pre-installed. I deleted it first thing and recommend everyone do the same. Norton has always had a tendency to take over and it doesn't play well with others. Once rid of Norton you are able to open Windows Defender, which is free forever and does a fine job. This is just a suggestion, everyone has their own likes and dislikes.
As far as win8 goes, there is a slight learning curve but I didn't find it as horrendous as some have made it out to be. It's not better or worse, just a little different.
I would definitely recommend this laptop, it setup in minutes, the screen is huge and beautiful and the price can't be beat for what's under the hood.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Superior to the HP Envy and DV7 of the same price

08/14/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compared to the popular HP Envy DV7-7227cl ($643) and the HP Envy 17-j027cl ($699), this laptop is a slightly less luxurious workhorse. For single threaded tasks, the 3rd gen i5 of the Envy 17 is considerably faster, but when you start working with multiple threads, the elite quadcore AMD A10-5750m is a powerhouse that far exceeds the i5 benchmark speeds. As for the AMD quadcore A10-4600m featured on the DV7, it also falls short in both single and multi threaded tasks. With that in mind, lets move on to to graphics cards. The Intel graphics 4000 of the envy 17 is a joke compared to the AMD Radeon HD 7660G of the DV7, which is far inferior to the AMD Radeon HD 8650G in this unassuming little bugger. (which works exceptionally well with most current pc games at mid to high level graphics settings) With 8gb of memory (as opposed to 6gb on the Envy 17) this desktop replacement is a clear choice for anyone looking for a well rounded laptop in this price range. It's only disadvantage to the DV7 and Envy 17 is the lack of beats audio. However, the DTS-HD master audio is quite impressive in its own right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Can't beat it for the price.

12/13/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Laptop ran much slower than I had anticipated; actually about same speed as my 9 year old XP machine. Checked system event errors, and there were approx 100 dating back to 2012. Could be the build year. After making my backup discs, I did a system 'refresh', and it is now running at least 80% faster than before, and no recorded errors. Because it is Win8, HP was smart enough to add 'Quick Start' on desktop which is almost like the start graphic on XP and Win7. Actually Win8 is no big deal. If you are into blogs, photo sharing, facebook, etc. than you will probably never leave the 'start' screen. If you use the machine for productivity like I do, then just go straight to the desktop and set it up just the way you like it. Sadly you won't be able to use programs that you have relied on for 7 to 10 years. That's why I kept my XP machine, it ran everything I had. Anyway I feel it is great for the price, screen colors are terrific, calculations are done in a split second, no idea about frame rate. Buy one, you won't be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great for Work and Gaming... The Battery However..

10/16/2013
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great laptop. The price was PERFECT for my budget and it has met all of my expectations. If you like playing games such as Grand Theft Auto IV, The Sims 3, Assassins Creed, Skyrim, E.C.T., you will be happy, as this computer plays most modern games at medium-high settings such as the ones I listed above. Since I am a college student, this computer was perfect for making projects and writing papers. The processor is fast and the graphics card is amazing. HOWEVER the battery life on this computer is rather bad.
Depending on what you are doing on the laptop (like playing games) it will eat away at the battery life fast. If you like playing games on a PC I give you about 3hrs, 4hrs for browsing the internet, videos, and documents programs. The look of this laptop is basic and the screen is HUGE! I would not recommend taking it out of the house unless you actually need it (as you do not want to damage it, it is big, and weighs about 6-8 pounds). If you are looking for a truly portable computer then the biggest screen size I would recommend is 15 inches, as 17 inches comes across as massive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fair Oaks, CA
Thank You!
Posted 02/25/2014
I was concerned about how well this PC will play Skyrim, and you answered exactly what I wanted to know. You are awesome.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

8.1 rocks on this Laptop !!

12/31/2013
By ,
Winder, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didn't care for 8.0 but Love 8.1 !
The upgrade was free & took only 3 hours over WIFI.
Boots up in 12 seconds !
Bought this on a whim at my local Walmart.
I saw it was an AMD 8g A10 quad CPU with a 4g Radeon GPU for under a grand!
and decided "MUST HAVE" !
I've been able to setup the Desktop any way I want !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

More Bang For My Buck Than Actually Expected

01/01/2014
By ,
Oxford, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an entry level gaming laptop, and after a few months of research decided on the HP Silver Pavilion 17-e049wm. Walmart by far had the best price. I have to say, not only have I not been disappointed, but pleasantly surprised. The AMD Elite A10-5750 can handle a lot more than advertised, even without overclocking with the built in boost technology. I decided to go all in, and the first game I tested was Assassin's Creed® IV: Black Flag. With a few minor tweaks to bring the settings into the medium range, it played really well. So I decided to up the ante, and tried Crysis 3®. I had to drop the in game settings to all lows, but to my surprise it played with no stutter. This incredibly priced laptop plays games on par with other laptops in the $1,500 range. I've been playing Fallout: New Vegas®, heavily moded for photo realistic graphics, for a week now, and I couldn't be happier. If you're looking for an entry level gaming laptop you can't go wrong buying the one priced at entry levels, but performing like a mid level. The display is beautiful, and the APU if outstanding. Oh, did I mention it plays back full 1080p video with no frame dropping, or that video encoding is blistering fast? In my encoding test, I converted two movies to DVD, AT THE SAME TIME, and the entire process of both 1 1/2 hour movies finished in 36 minutes. It encoded one 3 hour movie into a 720p MKV in only 1 hour. I know my review is getting a little convoluted, but I want to mention one more thing. Online streaming video plays with no stutter, or frame dropping. I tested both Netflix®, and Amazon® Prime Streaming Video, with the HP Silver Pavilion 17-e049wm connected to a 37" LCD TV through the HDMI connection. All in all, I have never owned a better laptop for the price Walmart offers it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great Notebook for work and slight gaming!

11/24/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this laptop for school a few months back, and as someone who normally just builds desktops for my gaming, i cant say how happy i am that this will do the majority of my games fairly well. At 600$ you cant beat it, im currently playing games like BF4 at 720p on low and getting 30-45 fps which is fairly smooth, its not the best but its better than xbox360 and ps3 and it works well enough for me, although it does make me wish i had my real desktop pc at school with me. For the most part its a good notebook but dont expect to play brand new games so well on it, at least not without cranking the settings down. the AMD A-10 5750m is a dream in mobile APU's. this processor has a max rated temp of 105 Celsius, ive never pushed more than 75. Overall i recommend this laptop to students, minor gamers, and people who use pcs for business.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Absolutely GREAT Laptop

02/08/2014
By ,
Ames, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never write reviews for anything I buy but for this laptop, I HAD to. This thing is amazing. The laptop is a real joy to use. The screen is beautiful and you'll find yourself watching many different youtube videos at first just to test out the HD graphics and speed of everything. Everything feels instant--you never have to wait again with this laptop. I really love the way HP Support Assistant tells you all the driver updates you need and does it for free so you dont have to go through the pain of searching for them online or trying to pay to get a driver update program. The HP cool sense is amazing. ive never had a laptop this low temperature. The webcam is pretty great. I was able to take a picture of my receipt and read all the characters on it with no blur. I heard bad reviews about the HD Tru-Vision camera but after skyping with my friend, I really have no idea what they were talking about when they said you will look like a dark beast. Of course you could buy a external camera if you want even higher quality video but this one suffices for regular use. They also said it was really laggy but I never had problems with that either. I was a little worried about windows 8 but after watching some youtube videos and getting used to it as well as updating to 8.1 (highly recommended), its actually a pretty great operating system. i dont know why people complain about not having the traditional start menu. on windows 7 when would you actually use that thing? i know with me i just pin my programs to the tool bar or desktop background. Also with the 8.1 update, you can right click the start button and it allows you to access the main components like the control panel and stuff. also with the search command, having a "start menu" is point less. just push window command+s, type in what you want, and boom its open. its actually faster than using the start menu. i also really like the keyboard. its great for adults and has thin keys that allow you to type fast.
I dont have any experience with gaming on this thing, but I know with everything else you do it runs flawlessly and is definitely a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Awesome price for this laptop

02/09/2014
By ,
Houston, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price for this laptop was awesome for the size screen and latest AMD processor. I got this laptop solely for gaming. On WoW the graphics run on ultra and are AMAZING! NO LAG!! Windows 8 was not as bad as people made it out to be at all. Its pretty simple once you get the feel of it. My only problem is the touchpad mouse. When I'm playing games and using w,a,s,d my mouse will just stop working and I cant use it till I stop pressing a key, which really sucks for gaming. Otherwise, very nice (: I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a fast, graphically amazing and affordable laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Battlefield 4 Rocks on this laptop!!!

02/20/2014
By ,
Escanaba, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The main thing I have to say is that gaming is awesome on this laptop! I have not found a game yet that I cannot run on this machine. For the price, you are not going to find anything else that can do this kind of gaming or use for media unless you want to spend atleast 1000 dollars. I am a college student and this awesome machine does absolutely everything I need it to do. You can't go wrong with this laptop. I highly recommend it for any gamer that is on the go. Also the xbox 360 controller sync's super fast. I can sit anywhere plug an xbox controller in, sit back and game it up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Overall: Pretty Awesome

01/18/2014
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You get an amazing amount of performance for the price you are paying. This sleek design, great functionality, and excellent specs make this computer what it is. Everything has run smoothly so far, no complications; the only thing I have to get used to is the Windows 8 Interface. Overall - excellent laptop, would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

So far, I LOVE it!

12/10/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Needed another new laptop after the 15" Gateway I've only had for a couple years died which was also $600. This is the 4th laptop I've owned and I'm not too knowledgeable when it comes to cpu specs just wanted to get the best value for my dollar. I'm so thankful for all the reviews on Walmart.com which was the deciding factor on getting this laptop. I've only had it for a few days, but so far I'm SUPER happy with it!
It's very fast. I work from home sometimes using a remote connection and it has ALWAYS been slow no matter what cpu I use, but this one it is just like I'm at work...sometimes seems even FASTER than at work which is crazy! Also, the sound is excellent! All my other laptops I can hardly hear videos even with them turned all the way up, but not this one! One thing I don't like is that you have to use the "fn" key for the function keys which I use a lot for my job, but other than that I really happy with my purchase.
Time will tell how long it will stay fast #we all know how that goes#, but I'm optimistic. I paid $1,000 for my other HP this size & I feel this one is much better & I'm getting used to Windows 8. Walmart also had the best price I could find and it was in stock at my local store.
Highly recommended and thanks to everyone else for their feedback!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
You can reconfigure the laptop
Posted 02/13/2014
When you first boot the laptop if you go into the bios and you can reconfigure where you don't need to use the fn Key for the function keys..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

GREAT laptop, GREAT price!!!

03/09/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
REALLY appreciate the processing speed (old laptop and desktop are both nearly 10 years old).
Having read a number of reviews and their suggestions (thanks, y'all) I dumped Norton and as many of the games as I could figure out how to get rid of, downloaded Wiindows 8.1, and installed Classic Shell. Until I happen upon something else to make my Pavilion experience easier/better, I think I've got it pretty much where I want it.
Things to be aware of: the touch pad is VERY sensitive - I have a bad tendency to let a finger rest on the left click tab and when using the touch pad at the same time, "exciting" things keep happening (screen magnification changes, the Windows 8 vertical bar on the right shows up, etc.) but it's all good.
Overall, VERY pleased with the purchase especially since WalMart was moving on from this model (049M) so I got it at $498.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Run...Don't Walk...And Buy It!

10/19/2013
By ,
Memphis,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered my notebook recently and received it within 1 week. The performance blew my away. This machine can multitask with relative ease and has power and speed to boot. I was able to connect and move my files from my old computer. I rarely write reviews on websites but I was so impressed with the laptop that I had to write a review. This is an extremely smart buy and hurry before Walmart raises the price. You are getting top of the line computer for roughly half the price. A great buy for a family or a college student.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next