Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hewlett Packard HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Do it all, without fail with the Silver 17-e049wm HP Pavilion 17.3" Laptop with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor. Confidently tackle work and play, using a PC tested for total reliability. View stunning color and graphics on a large display. Enjoy the convenience of multiple connectivity ports, a built-in DVD player and a numeric keypad.
Average Customer Rating:
4.406 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
35
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation91%117 out of 128reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
35
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Hard drive disk failure error (301)

03/29/2014
By ,
Fremont, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've wanting an hp laptop for long time. I finally got one I was so happy got home I started to try it out it was fine a couple of weeks then few days later every time I turn on my hp Pacino 17-e049wm laptop dos pops up sayin had disk error (301)n it say contact manufacure. I'm a desktop builder but not a software expert. So I try to do is try do make a restore point n restore it but same thing still have same error. N think I'm out of the walmart warranty. Only through manufacture one for 1 yr.
I wish I can have some help.
P.S. I love the Lappy it's a great system just this error is really irritating.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 2 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Excellent! Plays SWTOR at MAX graphics.

12/01/2013
By ,
Carmel, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop is AMAZING for the price (598). NOTHING comes close to the specs unless you go up at least another $300 (Minimum). This laptop will Play Star Wars the Old Republic on "Very High" (max) graphic settings without a hitch. I can't speak of longevity since I've only had it for a few days, but in terms of performance this laptop is outstanding. I did a lot of research to try to find another laptop that would compare but none come close in this price range. One word of caution, this is not a laptop that is meant to be used for very long away from an outlet. I mainly use it for gaming, so with that in mind I will say that the battery is drained in about 2 hours (max) and sometimes less. I do have screen brightness maxed out and my pc set up for performance on the graphics, so I went into it knowing that I was going to be eating battery. I suppose it could last longer with moderate settings. I love the fact that I can now game wherever I choose (friends houses or mine, etc). Run and get this laptop!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+79points
Review 3 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great features, especially for the money

03/05/2014
By ,
Minnesota, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had my computer for about a week, but I am in love! It's fast and has all the power I need. I am still getting used to the quirks of Windows 8 -- it's really easy to accidentally switch screens, but that's not the computer's fault in any way.
I opted for this Pavilion without the touchscreen in order to get the cd/dvd player and I am really glad I did. The touchpad is very responsive and much easier to clean than the screen would be!
I also like the larger keyboard with the dedicated number keys. It's so much easier to 10-key than to have to shift. Everything fits very well and was pretty easy to adapt to when typing.
One recommendation I would make is that if you buy this computer, make sure you have a case that will fit a 17.3 laptop. The Walmart store didn't have many options for this larger size available
in the store, and the local office supply places had very expensive options for this laptop size. It would have been easier to just order it at the same time as I ordered the computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 4 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great value for the hardware

01/22/2014
By ,
Rochester
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this yesterday, booted it and played with Winows 8 for an hour trying to get a feel for it. Couldn't figure out why it had to keep switching between app center and desktop for many functions but decided to upgrade to 8.1. Took an hour to download the update then another 30 minutes to install it and finally got presented with an OS worse than 8.0.. I had enough after five hours of "setting up" my laptop. I spent another hour creating boot discs then I inserted my Fedora 20 disc. Booted up in no time, then I proceeded to install it. Took LESS THAN 10 minutes to completely install, another 5 minutes downloading and installing updates and finally 30 minutes adjusting it to my taste as it was on my previous laptop. Less than an hour for Linux to install, setup and use. Over five hours for Windows 8.1. The machine itself is great, just dump the OS for something better, much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Winder, GA
Hey Rochester !
Posted 01/22/2014
I can get to my 8.1 (old familiar) desktop from powerup in 12sec & everything works great!
However your Fedora certainly intrigues me. Maybe I can do a dual boot ?
+8points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Excelent Computer for an Excelent price!

11/13/2013
By ,
Menomonie, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought this computer and it has surprised me with its A10 processor being as fast or even faster than my "Gaming Laptop" (Using I7). Just looking at the Specs of a computer like this you would almost think its was a $1000 build.
Pros: With a AMD A10 and 8 Gbs of RAM this is defiantly enough to run most modern games at medium-high settings as well casual multi-tasking.
Cons: Windows 8 can get a little bother some when you accidently bump the Touch pad you will switch apps like from your desktop to your Email if you have it open. However this isn't much of a problem if you don't have any other apps open your you can just disable the transition altogether.
With the massive screen Its almost scary to move it because it is a little heavier than most Laptops and most times does not fit in regular sized laptop cases.
Overall the Pavilion 17-e049wm is a great medium between power and price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+52points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bergen County, New Jersey
What is walmart getting for this coputer?
Posted 03/12/2014
It says you have to go to the store for the price????? Does thid computer come in a touchscreen?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Superior to the HP Envy and DV7 of the same price

08/14/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compared to the popular HP Envy DV7-7227cl ($643) and the HP Envy 17-j027cl ($699), this laptop is a slightly less luxurious workhorse. For single threaded tasks, the 3rd gen i5 of the Envy 17 is considerably faster, but when you start working with multiple threads, the elite quadcore AMD A10-5750m is a powerhouse that far exceeds the i5 benchmark speeds. As for the AMD quadcore A10-4600m featured on the DV7, it also falls short in both single and multi threaded tasks. With that in mind, lets move on to to graphics cards. The Intel graphics 4000 of the envy 17 is a joke compared to the AMD Radeon HD 7660G of the DV7, which is far inferior to the AMD Radeon HD 8650G in this unassuming little bugger. (which works exceptionally well with most current pc games at mid to high level graphics settings) With 8gb of memory (as opposed to 6gb on the Envy 17) this desktop replacement is a clear choice for anyone looking for a well rounded laptop in this price range. It's only disadvantage to the DV7 and Envy 17 is the lack of beats audio. However, the DTS-HD master audio is quite impressive in its own right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Review 7 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Big, Fast and Ready to Go

12/29/2013
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had concerns about getting a new computer because of all the bad hype regarding windows 8 but after doing lots of research I realized if I didn't want to continue waiting 20 minutes for my old Dell to boot, I needed to get a new laptop and deal with the new OS.
This HP had much more to offer than others which cost considerably more.
With it's 17.3" screen, I don't even need my reading glasses.
With the 8GB ram it runs circles around the others I looked at.
I'm not a big gamer but after playing the pinball came I've become a believer. This machine operates flawlessly.
The only thing I would change is not having Norton pre-installed. I deleted it first thing and recommend everyone do the same. Norton has always had a tendency to take over and it doesn't play well with others. Once rid of Norton you are able to open Windows Defender, which is free forever and does a fine job. This is just a suggestion, everyone has their own likes and dislikes.
As far as win8 goes, there is a slight learning curve but I didn't find it as horrendous as some have made it out to be. It's not better or worse, just a little different.
I would definitely recommend this laptop, it setup in minutes, the screen is huge and beautiful and the price can't be beat for what's under the hood.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+53points
Review 8 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great for Work and Gaming... The Battery However..

10/16/2013
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great laptop. The price was PERFECT for my budget and it has met all of my expectations. If you like playing games such as Grand Theft Auto IV, The Sims 3, Assassins Creed, Skyrim, E.C.T., you will be happy, as this computer plays most modern games at medium-high settings such as the ones I listed above. Since I am a college student, this computer was perfect for making projects and writing papers. The processor is fast and the graphics card is amazing. HOWEVER the battery life on this computer is rather bad.
Depending on what you are doing on the laptop (like playing games) it will eat away at the battery life fast. If you like playing games on a PC I give you about 3hrs, 4hrs for browsing the internet, videos, and documents programs. The look of this laptop is basic and the screen is HUGE! I would not recommend taking it out of the house unless you actually need it (as you do not want to damage it, it is big, and weighs about 6-8 pounds). If you are looking for a truly portable computer then the biggest screen size I would recommend is 15 inches, as 17 inches comes across as massive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fair Oaks, CA
Thank You!
Posted 02/25/2014
I was concerned about how well this PC will play Skyrim, and you answered exactly what I wanted to know. You are awesome.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Can't beat it for the price.

12/13/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Laptop ran much slower than I had anticipated; actually about same speed as my 9 year old XP machine. Checked system event errors, and there were approx 100 dating back to 2012. Could be the build year. After making my backup discs, I did a system 'refresh', and it is now running at least 80% faster than before, and no recorded errors. Because it is Win8, HP was smart enough to add 'Quick Start' on desktop which is almost like the start graphic on XP and Win7. Actually Win8 is no big deal. If you are into blogs, photo sharing, facebook, etc. than you will probably never leave the 'start' screen. If you use the machine for productivity like I do, then just go straight to the desktop and set it up just the way you like it. Sadly you won't be able to use programs that you have relied on for 7 to 10 years. That's why I kept my XP machine, it ran everything I had. Anyway I feel it is great for the price, screen colors are terrific, calculations are done in a split second, no idea about frame rate. Buy one, you won't be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great Laptop, Great Price

03/17/2014
By ,
Southeast Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop has pretty much everything I need in a computer. It has enough RAM, processing speed and storage space to meet all of my computing needs, and then some. I was actually really surprised when I found it online at that price. I would have expected to pay at least another couple hundred for one comparable. I also love that it has a big 17" screen, which is great for watching movies, YouTube videos, etc. Put it all together - large screen, lots of memory, lots of processing power, loads of storage space and a price below $800- and you've got one heck of a deal. It's a nice little laptop and well worth the price. And Windows 8.1 isn't too bad, once you get used to it, but it DOES take some getting used to. All in all, it's a great deal and I would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone who wants a great little laptop but doesn't want to spend a fortune to get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

8.1 rocks on this Laptop !!

12/31/2013
By ,
Winder, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didn't care for 8.0 but Love 8.1 !
The upgrade was free & took only 3 hours over WIFI.
Boots up in 12 seconds !
Bought this on a whim at my local Walmart.
I saw it was an AMD 8g A10 quad CPU with a 4g Radeon GPU for under a grand!
and decided "MUST HAVE" !
I've been able to setup the Desktop any way I want !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 12 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

More Bang For My Buck Than Actually Expected

01/01/2014
By ,
Oxford, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an entry level gaming laptop, and after a few months of research decided on the HP Silver Pavilion 17-e049wm. Walmart by far had the best price. I have to say, not only have I not been disappointed, but pleasantly surprised. The AMD Elite A10-5750 can handle a lot more than advertised, even without overclocking with the built in boost technology. I decided to go all in, and the first game I tested was Assassin's Creed® IV: Black Flag. With a few minor tweaks to bring the settings into the medium range, it played really well. So I decided to up the ante, and tried Crysis 3®. I had to drop the in game settings to all lows, but to my surprise it played with no stutter. This incredibly priced laptop plays games on par with other laptops in the $1,500 range. I've been playing Fallout: New Vegas®, heavily moded for photo realistic graphics, for a week now, and I couldn't be happier. If you're looking for an entry level gaming laptop you can't go wrong buying the one priced at entry levels, but performing like a mid level. The display is beautiful, and the APU if outstanding. Oh, did I mention it plays back full 1080p video with no frame dropping, or that video encoding is blistering fast? In my encoding test, I converted two movies to DVD, AT THE SAME TIME, and the entire process of both 1 1/2 hour movies finished in 36 minutes. It encoded one 3 hour movie into a 720p MKV in only 1 hour. I know my review is getting a little convoluted, but I want to mention one more thing. Online streaming video plays with no stutter, or frame dropping. I tested both Netflix®, and Amazon® Prime Streaming Video, with the HP Silver Pavilion 17-e049wm connected to a 37" LCD TV through the HDMI connection. All in all, I have never owned a better laptop for the price Walmart offers it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 13 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great Notebook for work and slight gaming!

11/24/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this laptop for school a few months back, and as someone who normally just builds desktops for my gaming, i cant say how happy i am that this will do the majority of my games fairly well. At 600$ you cant beat it, im currently playing games like BF4 at 720p on low and getting 30-45 fps which is fairly smooth, its not the best but its better than xbox360 and ps3 and it works well enough for me, although it does make me wish i had my real desktop pc at school with me. For the most part its a good notebook but dont expect to play brand new games so well on it, at least not without cranking the settings down. the AMD A-10 5750m is a dream in mobile APU's. this processor has a max rated temp of 105 Celsius, ive never pushed more than 75. Overall i recommend this laptop to students, minor gamers, and people who use pcs for business.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 14 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

great laptop!

08/05/2013
By ,
cleveland oho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not being much on contributing to the reviewing community, I am typing away on this HP laptop.
First thing was the price at $598 much to spend for a casual pick it up and surf. 15 year old son had to test the graphics and it passed with flying colors. Wife happy, and this is certainly is a great purchase! having a hard time getting used to win8 but did not want some touch screen that would fail shortly. This replaced a dual core amd gateway with 4gb ram win 7 2.2 ghz speed and 320gb storage. I compared to all manufactures, and new egg of course.............
with 12 months same as cash, this came to my rescue of a dead gateway. I am not an expert, but pride myself on getting the best bang for the buck. This is it! I am a no-warranty guy so I hope it lasts years. No regrets, its really fast even with the bloatware that I am not going to take off. Even Norton doesn't slow this down. AMD Elite quad core A-10 really impresses me.
The 17 screen really is beautiful and watched movies on the plane on vacation. I would buy another for myself If I had the funds...............sad
Enjoy for the home or great for college!!!
Lots in price range from $340 to $700 will be impossible to chart all the specs. Just need to go by the reviews. My review concludes that for the money its the best on the market. Just hope it lasts!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dallas, TX
Posted 12/12/2013
Why would the touchscreen fail?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Surprise performance from unassuming laptop

07/08/2013
By ,
Kansas City, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is - Wow! This is truly a gaming laptop, however it's being sold at regular prices. These new AMD processors have some really good graphics on board. It should run all the new games at high FPS.
Yea you could spend twice as much to get a "real" gaming laptop. Real only in the marketing sense.
Trust me this laptop is a beast and is probably faster than your desktop you got last year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+78points
Review 16 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
08/11/2013
By ,
delaware
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The good news is that it's lightning fast, screen is great and is probably the best pound for pound buy as of this review. It takes some time to adjust to Windows 8 but once that's done there's much to be said for the APPS driven software. (you can work around the Windows 8 apps shell and use your desktop to afford yourself a more familiar Windows 7 type screen).
The biggest negative are the speakers! Probably the worst I've heard even after adjusting all the sound with Toshiba sound apps. If you like listening to music you'll need to get speakers or headphones to enjoy the sound.
All in all a great buy I recommend you check out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 17 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Good value, not great, but good

07/10/2013
By ,
The Woodlands, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice laptop for the price, its not a high end laptop by any means, but still a good value. I bought it to replace a $1600 Toshiba Qosmio that I returned because I couldn't justify spending that kind of money on something to basically play games on. That being said this in no Qosmio or Asus ROG, but it is a better value. The processor benchmarks nearly as fast as the i7 that I have it replacing, and the graphics card is good for a budget computer, the equivalent of an Nvidia 430 or 530. The advertising is misleading, it states in the spec sheet that it is an AMD card w/4gb of ram, when in reality it only half a gig of dedicated ram, and the remainder is shared with the 8gb of system ram. The build quality is a little less than I had hoped for, the keyboard shroud doesn't fit perfectly and makes the keyboard feel and look a little cheap and the speakers are pretty tinny. Last little gripe is that I swear the power port on the computer is the same as that on my rechargeable beard trimmer, so it also adds to the cheap feel. All in all this is a nice laptop that will run everything I've thrown at, if not at the highest resolution, but it definitely "feels" like a budget computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 18 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Run...Don't Walk...And Buy It!

10/19/2013
By ,
Memphis,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered my notebook recently and received it within 1 week. The performance blew my away. This machine can multitask with relative ease and has power and speed to boot. I was able to connect and move my files from my old computer. I rarely write reviews on websites but I was so impressed with the laptop that I had to write a review. This is an extremely smart buy and hurry before Walmart raises the price. You are getting top of the line computer for roughly half the price. A great buy for a family or a college student.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 19 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

This is the best value currently available period!

07/25/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a very knowledgeable computer buyer/builder. I've bought laptops from Acer, Lenovo, Toshiba and more. It was time for me to buy one for myself. My criteria was simple - best laptop I could get for < $600. I do like to play games, but I also want a PC that can handle some heavy duty tasks as well. I wanted a 17" screen if I could get it as small size isn't that important to me - I'd rather have the screen real estate.
Typically I buy from NewEgg. However, I knew I WANTED to buy an AMD APU as most laptop graphics in this price range are laughable, but I have an AMD A10 on my main PC that I built and know it's a good performer and integrated graphics are - if not awesome - at least reasonable.
Currently on new egg, the CHEAPEST AMD A10 is an ACER 15" for $500 but it's the last-gen A10, only 4gb mem 500gb HD. To get it up to these specs would cost well over $100 more and you'd still be stuck with a 15" screen (fine if that's what you want though). If you look for an A10 with a 17" screen the CHEAPEST is a $1299 MSI (that matches these specs - though admittedly higher res screen). I'm telling you, hardware wise nothing can touch this currently for the price. Zacuke was right - Wow!
I've been working with it for a few days now, replaced the HD with an SSD (from my old laptop) and it's fast. Really fast. Plays Skyrim nicely on Med settings too. I swore off Windows 8 and was preparing to switch to 7 but I thought I'd give Classic Shell a shot before I did so. Makes all the difference. I can now run Windows 8 happily - well, almost happily... my network printer can print under Win 8 but I can't scan or do any other functions. But Win8 isn't bad if you install Classic Shell, have it switch to desktop on login, and remove all the crud "apps". I don't want "apps", I want PROGRAMS. (Old school and happily so).
Speaking of crudware - not terribly full of crudware once you dump Norton and those Bejeweled crudware games. So it doesn't take too long to get it purring. It's not a "looker" PC though - it's a big, gnarly 17" with all it's juiciness under the hood. Externally it looks pretty basic. BTW, it DOES have HD activity LEDs - but they're on the side (odd placement, but who really looks at those things?). It has all the ports you need (hdmi, vga, usb 3.0 on left side, 1 2.0 on right where your mouse goes). trackpad works ok, though I do miss my Lenovo that had a right-side scroll area that mimics a mouse's roller. But then, I usually use a real mouse anyway so no harm there. Arrow key's are rather oddly configured, but I don't use them much anyway. Function keys can be set to require hitting "fn" key for alternat functions (like volume control etc) OR hitting "fn" key for primary functions (F1, F2 etc...) via Bios setting. Good option depending on which use you find most needful.
One thing my old Lenovo had was a switch on the front to disable wireless adapter. This one does the same function via the F12 key in "alternate" mode. Much handier this way as it's very frustrating if you accidentally switch that off and can't figure out why wireless isn't working! All in all, I'm so happy with this laptop I could burst. I honestly think this is priced wrong, but no complaints to report. If you're looking for a good "gamable" if not "gaming" PC with a 17" display, there really is no alternative for < $600. And I suspect this too will cease to be available as the economy improves and the demand supports higher $$$. I had to find a store as it's not available currently online, but that just made it easier to buy (no shipping wait!)
Only think I recommend is an SSD to replace the HD with - IF you need speed more than space like me. Otherwise, 750GB drive is fine, but will bottleneck your potential speed. My Windows Experience is now at 6.7 - up from I think 5.9 before the SSD change, and that's due to the graphics. Disk is now at 7.9. But 6.7 for a laptop at this price range is great, and also remember that Win8 rates on a different scale that Win7. Ok, enough. I'll shut up now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+94points
Review 20 for HP Silver 17.3" Pavilion 17-e049wm Laptop PC with AMD Elite Quad-Core A10-5750M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

So far, I LOVE it!

12/10/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Needed another new laptop after the 15" Gateway I've only had for a couple years died which was also $600. This is the 4th laptop I've owned and I'm not too knowledgeable when it comes to cpu specs just wanted to get the best value for my dollar. I'm so thankful for all the reviews on Walmart.com which was the deciding factor on getting this laptop. I've only had it for a few days, but so far I'm SUPER happy with it!
It's very fast. I work from home sometimes using a remote connection and it has ALWAYS been slow no matter what cpu I use, but this one it is just like I'm at work...sometimes seems even FASTER than at work which is crazy! Also, the sound is excellent! All my other laptops I can hardly hear videos even with them turned all the way up, but not this one! One thing I don't like is that you have to use the "fn" key for the function keys which I use a lot for my job, but other than that I really happy with my purchase.
Time will tell how long it will stay fast #we all know how that goes#, but I'm optimistic. I paid $1,000 for my other HP this size & I feel this one is much better & I'm getting used to Windows 8. Walmart also had the best price I could find and it was in stock at my local store.
Highly recommended and thanks to everyone else for their feedback!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
You can reconfigure the laptop
Posted 02/13/2014
When you first boot the laptop if you go into the bios and you can reconfigure where you don't need to use the fn Key for the function keys..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next