Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hewlett Packard HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

We believe an everyday laptop should be anything but ordinary. That's why we gave the HP Pavilion Sleekbook a thin and light design that goes where you do. Email from the comfort of your couch. Plan a budget over a bite to eat. Connect with friends on social networks from just about anywhere. All with the new fast and fluid Windows 8. Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store
Average Customer Rating:
3.741 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation74%20 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great Laptop for the price

10/16/2013
By ,
Lititz, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So this laptop is stylish, affordable, and quite fast for the price. It comes with a turbo boost processor, but in order to activate the turbo mode it requires downloading amd overdrive, which is free from amd's website. Once turbo boost is set, this laptop is very fast. I have had startup times of 7 seconds. The graphics on this notebook are quite good, not quite top of the line. It can play a massive amount of games with the Radeon hd graphics including Elder Scrolls V and Batman: Arkham City. This is a significant value for the money spent. The speakers are also awesome, producing clear and great sound. The fact that this laptop does not have a cd/dvd drive does not bother me at all since it's other feathers are outstanding and the external drives start at $10. This computer is also feather light, weighing only 4 pounds, which makes it very portable. So, if you're looking for an affordable quad core laptop with decent multimedia capability, I definitely recommend this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hp pavilion 15-b119wm
Posted 01/10/2014
How did you get the overdrive to operate? Having problems with no success in forums.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Surprisingly good

08/08/2013
By ,
Burleson, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I basically got this particular model because it was in my budget (below $500) and it had the best specs of the other similarly priced models. I was fully expecting a mediocre computer, and wow, I set my expectations WAY too low. This little machine is fast and responsive. I'm in the process of downgrading and installing Windows 7 (I'm really not a fan of Windows 8) and I think this will be perfect for me as soon as I get an OS that I like.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 3 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
08/20/2013
By ,
IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I suppose it's not bad for the price. It does not have a DVD drive (I did not realize that before buying it). The graphics are pretty good, but the processor is very slow. I saw it displayed at my local store, with a comment that it was good for gaming - that is not true. Of course, the price should probably tell you that. For general use, nothing fancy, it should be okay.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 4 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Does not have a CD/DVD Player

08/28/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This computer is probably part of the new wave of the future. Your music and movies apparently must be completely downloaded from the internet as there is no cd/dvd player with this computer.
In order to do a "restore system" before you sign on the internet or anything, you must first purchase a flashdrive that is "at least 32gb." I was not expecting that either and cannot use it until I buy a storage device for this laptop. Not happy that I have to buy another device for this.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+8points
Review 5 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

It's not bad for what you pay

10/10/2013
By ,
Cambridge, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for college and this thing is pretty fast and another thing I noticed it runs very cool whereas my old one was basically a heater for the house lol. It comes with a feature where if you drop it, it detects the motion and locks the drive protecting the information, haven't quite tried out that future yet...I've noticed that windows 8 takes up a lot more space then windows 7 did so bear that in mind, also this does not come with a cd drive and guess what wal mart doesn't sell them anymore they're obsolete! The screen gets pretty bright and the sound gets pretty loud also the speaker grill goes from end to end so it must be pretty good I can't really tell a difference. Battery life is so so I haven't really run it from beginning to end I just do a assignment then put it away. I would purchase this if you want this for college, or want some speed and do not mind the fact that it doesn't have a cd drive or you could try to find one online. Oh and one more thing the design is beautiful but it is a fingerprint magnet so keep a microfiber cloth handy unless that doesn't bother you
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Lite On 8x Ultra Slim External Portable Drive DVD/CD-RW Writer
4.1 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Review 6 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Good laptop for a Great Price!!

10/01/2013
By ,
ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My old 2009 HP G6 laptop died at 830 at night so I was in need of a laptop fast! i got online walmart.com and found this listing for this HP. I prefer HP due to the beauty of the products and the placement of certain attributes so i had my mind set on a HP. My husband ran up to our local Walmart store and not only did they have THIS exact laptop but it was on sale for only 350! Set up was very simple with the new windows 8 as i have always been on window 7 and earlier so i was kinda skeptical. I was happily surprised! This laptop has a really seek black shiny cover(shows every fingerprint) but that ok if you dont take it outside much. The keyboard is sealed , wide for fatter larger fingers like mine so it is very comfy for me to reach the button and it has the full numeric keypad too! this was a big sell for me since i work from home and i deal with alot of numbers and such. the speakers are nice and loud. cord is still good and long. the only real issue i have had is the number lock button doesnt have a on off light so you really dont know the number pad is off unless you type first. other than that it is very fast with 6gb and just looks sweet on my laptop table.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

It's a laptop

08/21/2013
By ,
Santa Clarita, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a good buy. I compared several laptops from many different places in person and online and this was the best laptop I found for the price I was willing to pay. However I bought it when it was on rollback. If you read the description and do you homework you will see that this is a good laptop. It is not the fastest most amazing one on the market but, it is a good value. I got it to use on campus at my college. It is convenient, faster than an old desktop, and mobile. Everything works good, I have had no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 8 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Not what I expected but good

08/24/2013
By ,
Portsmouth, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the look of the computer and it runs great. My disappointments are there is no DVD/CD drive and there is no scroll bar on the mouse pad. I did not realize before buying this computer that it did not come with these functions.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Specs incorrect

08/10/2013
By ,
Pleasanton, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this under the pretense of having a 2.4GHz processor, but when I turned it on, I found the processor speed said 1.6GHz.
This needs to be fixed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
It does.
Posted 08/07/2014
The specifications say that it has up to 2.4ghz turbo boost.
0points
Customer Avatar
IL
Posted 08/21/2013
I contacted HP about this issue. They directed me to an AMD site to download a turbo booster program. I have no idea how to use the program, and it has numerous warnings that using the program may destroy your computer. So unless you are some kind of computer expert, I guess you are stuck with the very poor 1.6.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/14/2013
The AMD processors use a power boost mechanism that switches their buss speed. The reviewer did not understand this, and the specs are correctly listed.
+4points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 10 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

No CD ROM but great slim laptop

09/27/2013
By ,
Belmont, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All in all, this is a great Slim laptop. Runs very nice, doesn't get hot like my other laptop did, which was a HP as well. It can run several things at once without affecting performance. It is lightweight and very portable.
However, There is no CD ROM. But most people tend to download everything straight off the internet now anyways so this doesnt really bother most people. I would still like to have one for just in case I need it but I can live without it.
Also, within 2 days I had to call HP to get a replacement power cord. After about a hour on the phone, I got one sent to me free of charge. The cord isn't very sturdy and a decent bump could easily damage it. Ours was defective straight out of the box, however, it lasted long enough for the replacement to get here and the new one isn't defective. plus I received my replacement within 2 days (it could have been next day but not real sure). I was very happy with their fast shipping. Also, the cord should be covered if you get the extended warranty when you purchase it.
Side note-I would not recommend this laptop for parents with kids. Only because it is slimmer than other laptops and a decent fall (kids accidentally dropping it) would probably damage it. I have kids and I know accidents happen (which is why I ended up having to get a new laptop).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

GREAT LAPTOP FOR A GREAT PRICE!

11/08/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this laptop. It is fast, portable, and well built.
My family had an HP Pavillion ZE2000, it just died about 4 months ago, and it was 9 years old.
I also have a 6 year old Compaq Presario CQ60 and it still works good. Even though the screen stopped working, I just cut it off and it still works!
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS LAPTOP!!!!!!!
KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK HP!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
08/14/2013
By ,
il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have tried several hp computers and I have
returned all of them.cheap,poor quality
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-16points
Review 13 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
09/28/2013
By ,
Sanford, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I need a computer for school, my husband broke the desktop so i decided to get this one. I think its a good product. I only have a few problems with it. The first is that it doesn't have a place to put CDs or DVDs. The second is that I really HATE windows 8. And one other thing, walmart.com has it on roll back and it still cost over $400 but in store its on rollback for $350
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great Laptop

10/18/2013
By ,
Orleans, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this laptop, it is my first time with a windows 8 computer and I love it. The only problem I have with this laptop is that it doesn't have a disc drive, so you have to spring for an external one later. Other then that I love it and have had no problems with it at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Very unsatisfied

08/30/2013
By ,
Arab, AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was expecting a much faster computer since it has more memory than my old computer but it is slower than my old one, probably because with windows 8 it has more to go through before you can even get started. I hate Windows 8.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 16 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great notebook for the price

11/11/2013
By ,
Germany, APO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I researched other stores for the same product and others didn't compare to features and price - including shipping cost. I also received the product on time. Thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

When my Computer Arrive my buttons was broke on it

08/08/2013
By ,
South Philly
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Let alone from my buttons bring broke on it, the mouse pad was Horrible, I couldn't closes windows on it, But I did return the first one, the second one is much better, But still don't get five stars from me....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-15points
Review 18 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
09/07/2013
By ,
Sun valley, ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The mouse pad did not work, had o return it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 19 for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
09/11/2013
By ,
Detroit, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No cd drive, not coo
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Ratings-Only Reviews for HP Sparkling Black 15.6" Pavilion 15-b119wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4555M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5