Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kent International 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kent International 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

A great first bike for any boy, this Tonka Mighty Tough 12-inch features a quality, dual-suspension frame and comes with heavy-duty training wheels to help him learn and gain confidence. Also features cushiony air tires for a bump-less ride and a fully enclosed safety chain cover so his pants will never get caught or covered with chain grease. Play it safe! Always wear a helmet and safety pads when you ride. See our recommendations below.
Average Customer Rating:
4.435 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
24
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation87%100 out of 115reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
24
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike
07/24/2008
By ,
Heartland, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the bike less then 3 months ago and the crank broke. I've searched everywhere for the replacemen parts and no one has them. Prior to the bike breaking my son loved it. I would hate to invest in another and it happens again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Ton-ka Tough

11/23/2007
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My son picked this one out at the store and loved the way it looked. It worked well with training wheels but when he was ready to take the training wheels off it was so heavy that he could not manage the extreme weight. He became very discouraged when his younger brother got a differant bike and started riding sooner and faster. I donated the (Ton) ka and got him the lighter bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Tonka Tanks

09/02/2007
By ,
Western New York
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My son received this as a gift when he was three years old. It's SO cute and he loved the look of it, but look at it was about all he could do. The thing weighs a TON! He couldn't pedal it, and by the time he's strong enough to get it going he will be too big for it. Too bad!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Review 4 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

great looks, cheap construction

05/04/2009
By ,
Ann Arbor, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this bike for my 4 year old son last fall, he used it for few hrs only and several parts became loose. I fixed them twice but now the whole excel is out of place.
I will try to return (I have lost the receipt)...lets see. Don't buy unless you know how to fix it or have an service plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Review 5 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Not good for child with short legs

08/14/2009
By ,
Concord, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this bike for our 2.5 year old after reading tons of reviews on various bikes. It seemed like a good fit for our needs for a rough and tough bike but made for a preschool age child.
However, when we received the bike, the bike was scratched up, the sprocket was bent, and the chain won't work properly. But the worst part is that the box states that a child's legs must be at least 19 inches long. Well that is listed no where on this site! Our son is quite tall for his age (38 inches) but he's got short legs.
So after all of our research, my husband spending time trying to fix the various damaged pieces, and then looking at it and thinking the seat seemed high for our son, we then noticed the height requirements on the box. Never even got to ride his new bike :( We will be returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 6 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

way too heavy

09/13/2008
By ,
Vegas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
my son received this for his 4th birthday. he is a tall boy and quite strong and can barely manage to move the pedals....
way too heavy :-( its going back and we're getting him a different bike. its a shame cause he loves it but can't ride it
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 7 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

seat too high!

11/17/2008
By ,
Tampa, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the bike is a very cool looking bike, but that seat is just too high! My 3 year old grandson could barely sit on it and his fee could hardly touch the pedals. His center of gravity was way off, made him unstable. He can ride other 12" bikes no problem. He's on the tall side, maybe we should have waited until he was four.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 8 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike
12/28/2008
By ,
Bullard, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My son loves the bike, but the handlebars and seat need to lower one more adjustment and they don't.
By the time he fits the seat and handlebars he will need a bigger bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Much higher than other 12" bikes

09/28/2008
By ,
Austin, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this bike because I thought it would be a good starter bike for my 3 year old. The product description says it's for 2-4 year olds. My son is 3 and a half, and it pretty tall for his age, but is not even close to the minimum recommended leg length (22" inseam) for this bike. It seems like they took a 16" bike frame, and put 12" wheels on it. I've seen 16" bikes with lower minimum seat heights. Why? I don't get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 10 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Not put together great

10/01/2008
By ,
WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We got this bike and it was already partially put together which wasn't done very well. It was crooked and one of the training wheels were loose and unable to tighten or loosen. My husband luckily fixed it. The bike was supposed to come with handle bar brakes...it didn't. My son is getting it for his 3rd bday in a few days, so hopefully all goes well with it. I definitely won't buy a bike online again due to having complications with it and not having anyone to reach about it!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 11 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

replacement bike parts

06/26/2008
By ,
manlius, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this as a birthday gift. Is excellent product - unless you need to replace tire/tube. Patches did not work and so far I have not been able to find replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike
05/01/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We brought this bike for my first son when he was 1... A little too young. Now he wants something faster. More like the big kids! The bike is extremely heavy and bulky, but he likes it. Great first bike, but is too heavy for me (and him).
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 13 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Cute but downfalls

08/07/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beautiful bike and I got it off Craigslist, so I don't feel bad for spending the $35 I did. But reading these reviews...yes, it's heavy! 31 lbs. Heavier than my husband's mt. bike! Yes, the seat is too high for the lower end of this age group. Again, didn't spend the $60, so my husband took a saw to the metal seat post and took a 1/2 inch off the bottom. Now, my almost 3 yr. old can pedal. Good construction, but Tonka may have a few things to improve on with their next model.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 14 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

little bike

12/31/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the reflector was broken.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 15 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Bike

01/02/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bike was to big for my 3 year old. He is taller than most boys in his class, but the bike was still to big.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Tough Little bike

09/03/2008
By ,
McKinney,TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great bike for the rough and tough little boy. Although we have had this bike for now, I am having a hard time finding replacement tires for it! But it is a very sturdy and well built bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Boys 12" Bike

06/13/2008
By ,
Alaska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son likes his Tonka bike. :) He also likes the water bottle that comes with this bike. I received this bike with a little flat tire in the back. But no problem. Fixed with a tire pump. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

three year old loves it

06/15/2008
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my son for his 3rd birthday. It's sturdy, the tires are real and my husband says it was easy to put together. Only thing is, it's quite heavy, so not easy to carry around and the pedals are just out of my son's reach. A pair of pedal blocks would've been nice to have been included.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Terrific Bike

11/30/2007
By ,
Elizabethtown, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is a little heavy, but that has proven to make it easier for my 3 old to balance. He loves it! Glad I made the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Great product!

12/30/2008
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this bike for my 2&1/2 year old son...its a little too big for him right now, but I am hoping by this upcoming spring he will be able to peddle by himself. The bike was easy to put together and is made of good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next