Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kent International 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kent International 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

A great first bike for any boy, this Tonka Mighty Tough 12-inch features a quality, dual-suspension frame and comes with heavy-duty training wheels to help him learn and gain confidence. Also features cushiony air tires for a bump-less ride and a fully enclosed safety chain cover so his pants will never get caught or covered with chain grease. Play it safe! Always wear a helmet and safety pads when you ride. See our recommendations below.
Average Customer Rating:
4.435 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
24
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation87%100 out of 115reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
24
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

very well built

06/10/2008
By ,
LI NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good price ($17 less than Toys r us)
strong, sturdy and yet a good looking bike.
My grandson loves it
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Love this bike!!!

11/06/2008
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My has had this bike since he was 2. He is now 4 and this bike has been crashed, left in the rain, rode on every day in the summer and its in excellent condition!!! My son is hard on toys but this bike is so heavy duty.. we just love it!!!!!! Its very sturdy, the training wheels are still tight...not like how some get loose and wobbly. I definately would recommend this bike to anyone who has a little boy!!! Not to mention all the little boys at the playground are just drawn to it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

a very good product

03/16/2009
By ,
wy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my grandson and he love's it. he still can't fully reach the pedals but will grow into it and he's 2 1/2 the look on his face was worth it and the price was great. it's made real sturdy he climbs on and off no problem.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Wonderful!

08/04/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 3 year old loves this and it's the only gift that he's gotten that he hasn't been able to break! It's very heavy but very sturdy, it took him about a week to balance on it. The training wheels are good and sturdy. Mine is all yellow and very easy to see. I wish they made a girlie version for my daughter when she turns 3.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 5 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

excellent pick

04/19/2008
By ,
philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to buy my son a bike for his 3rd birthday, and I thought I wanted the Spiderman bike, however after seeing it in person and reading the reviews for this bike, the quality of the Tonka bike surpassed the Spiderman bike!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Great Bike!!

11/18/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike. My son got this for his 3rd birthday and could ride it easily. It is now a hand-me-down to my second son who began riding it at 22 months and could pedal it with no problems although steering was a issue!! It is a heavier bike like the other reviews indicate but I didn't experience it being difficult to pedal because of the weight. I think it is a sturdy, well-made bike. The training wells are sturdy as well. I looked at other bikes and they seem cheaply made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 7 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

12/31/2008
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful well-built bike that I got for my 4-years old son. I ordered it Site-to-Store. It came unassembled and Walmart agreed to assemble it for me when I asked. Good product and service!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 8 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Not good for child with short legs

08/14/2009
By ,
Concord, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this bike for our 2.5 year old after reading tons of reviews on various bikes. It seemed like a good fit for our needs for a rough and tough bike but made for a preschool age child.
However, when we received the bike, the bike was scratched up, the sprocket was bent, and the chain won't work properly. But the worst part is that the box states that a child's legs must be at least 19 inches long. Well that is listed no where on this site! Our son is quite tall for his age (38 inches) but he's got short legs.
So after all of our research, my husband spending time trying to fix the various damaged pieces, and then looking at it and thinking the seat seemed high for our son, we then noticed the height requirements on the box. Never even got to ride his new bike :( We will be returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 9 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Awesome Bike!

07/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2 1/2 yr old loves this bike. He loves the colors, the shocks...its just a very 'boy' bike. It is a heavy bike, weather or not it affects his ability to ride the bike I'm not sure since he's a beginner rider and we have a flat driveway, but he seems to be able to peddle it just fine. The seat does adjust, which is great for my growing boy. It's a great bike!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike
03/16/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very cute bike, my little guy likes that it doesn't look like a baby's bike but instead looks like the older kids bikes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 11 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Love this Bike!

10/20/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a few months of research before purchasing this bike for my three-year-old's birthday. This bike is appropriately sized for his age (he is a little taller for a 3-year-old) and will definately grow with him as he learns to ride without the training wheels. I was very disappointed that the box came tattered and torn with many large holes. One of the training wheels came with a broken chunck out of the side(thought this has no effect on how the bike opperates), as well as many scratches and divets on the metal due to the poor, poor condition of the box. We put it together the night before his birthday, so there was no time to return it for lack of esethtics. We love this bike though despite the bumps and bruises. Thanks Tonka for making our three-year-old's year!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Great Bike Great Value

05/01/2009
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bike for my older son when he was almost 3. He used the heck out of it, and we passed it down to my younger son who is now moving on to a bigger bike himself. We are now passing it on to my friend's son who is turning 3 in July. It's still holding up and no worse for the wear. Little rust here and there, little scratched up from some tumbles, but solid as a rock. Definitely got more than our money's worth from this little bike. Also, it is really adorable. The kids all felt like it was really really cool and were excited to ride it. No chance of "outgrowing" it like they might a Diego or Thomas bike before they physically outgrow it. Definite thumbs up from mom, dad and two rough and tumble little boys!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Geat bike!

05/16/2008
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves it, and that's what counts! I love it too! I was disappointed that there were scratches and imperfections on the bike pieces as they came out of the box. Once put together, it looks totally tough and totally awesome. It will end up with scratches and scrapes anyway. But it wasn't that cheap!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Wow! What a bike!

11/03/2008
By ,
Sweetwater, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike was bought by grandparents for our 2 year old son. He absolutely loves his big boy bike! The grandparents loved the price & I love the quality. The other bikes can't compare to this one. They seem cheap. This one is very well made & sturdy. The dual suspension is a great feature. My son rides it just as hard as he can. He likes the water bottle that comes attached with it too. He's drank more water than ever just so he can stop & use it. Tonka needs to make a girl version. I don't want to buy anything less for my little girl!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Nice bike

12/25/2008
By ,
Homosassa Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My mother n law bought this bike for my three year old for xmas. I personally thought she paid too much but she was happy. It is really cute and well made. My father was annoyed because the bike came with the wrong directions but he said even without them the bike only took about 20 minutes to put together. My son loves it though so in the end it was all worth it. My nephew is almost 6 and has had the bike for 3 years and it is still in good condition which is why we went with it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Not put together great

10/01/2008
By ,
WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We got this bike and it was already partially put together which wasn't done very well. It was crooked and one of the training wheels were loose and unable to tighten or loosen. My husband luckily fixed it. The bike was supposed to come with handle bar brakes...it didn't. My son is getting it for his 3rd bday in a few days, so hopefully all goes well with it. I definitely won't buy a bike online again due to having complications with it and not having anyone to reach about it!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 17 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Well-built bike for toddler

12/29/2008
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the bike for my grandson who will soon be 3 years old. The is well built, easy to assemble, and I was pleased with the overall quality.
I only wish they can make the seat more adjustable so that it can be lowered. At this time my grandson cannot reach the pedals, but we hope it is a short matter of time before he will grow into it. As far as the price, it was just average. It was no big sale to get it on-line. This bike was on display at the store for the same price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Cute but downfalls

08/07/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beautiful bike and I got it off Craigslist, so I don't feel bad for spending the $35 I did. But reading these reviews...yes, it's heavy! 31 lbs. Heavier than my husband's mt. bike! Yes, the seat is too high for the lower end of this age group. Again, didn't spend the $60, so my husband took a saw to the metal seat post and took a 1/2 inch off the bottom. Now, my almost 3 yr. old can pedal. Good construction, but Tonka may have a few things to improve on with their next model.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 19 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Sad to have outgrown it!

04/03/2009
By ,
Morgantown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bike for our son's 3rd birthday. He loved it and was able to ride it immediately. We chose to get this bike even though it was more expensive because it was sturdy. He's ridden it for 2 1/2 years. We finally had to break down and buy him a new bike. But it was a great bike and it's still in such great shape - we'll be able to sell it to recoup some of the price we paid for it. It is a well made bike - but it's quite heavy - my only complaint!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for 12" Boys' Tonka Mighty Tough Bike

Very cool looking bike!

07/17/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this bike for my 2 year old nephew. Unfortunately, he still can't quite reach the pedals and he got very frustrated that he cannot ride the bike.
It is very sturdy and he looks so proud while seated on his very cool bike.
Hopefully, he will add a couple or more inches soon.
One more thing, I don't advise buying this online (which I did). Go to the store and bring your kid along to test height, etc, to avoid frustrating and disappointing the child.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next