Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hewlett Packard HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

With convenient expandability options, the black HP Pavilion 500 Desktop PC, 500-017C is the versatile PC that will grow as your needs do. With its clean modern style, it'll fit seamlessly anywhere you put it. With fast processors, strong graphics and more storage, you've found your ideal PC in this black HP Pavilion 500 Desktop PC, 500-017C.
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation88%15 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Easy setup

08/30/2013
By ,
Yucca Valley Ca .
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very fast pc , easy walk through setup , very quiet running , but the Windows 8 os takes a bit of getting use too , might be a lot to take in if you are new to computers . Utube has never looked so good , awesome streaming plenty of power to run games in Facebook !!! Love it !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 2 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Great value for the money

09/12/2013
By ,
Hendersonville NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought a pc from another company and it was DOA. It would never even boot up. I was leery about this one, because of this experience, but I was very pleased with the performance of this machine from the beginning. It is fast, quiet, runs smoothly and has many great extras included in the programming. I was impressed with the ease of setup and the performance of the cpu. For this amount of money, this is an outstanding value. The only glitch was an incompatibility of printer driver for my laser printer, but his is not the fault of the pc, but of Windows 8. Nothing wrong at all with this computer that I can see. Well worth the investment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 3 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)
09/04/2013
By ,
KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with this. Lots of storage. Fast. Only problem iswith Windows 8. Hard to navigate and a lot of "hidden" programs that are hard to find.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 4 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Great computer and extended warranty

10/24/2013
By ,
Upatoi, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer is fast and reliable. I enjoy Windows 8 and its creativity daily. The A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, and 1TB Hard Drive with a three year extended warranty really sealed the deal for me. The speed and memory is what I was looking for at a reasonable price. I am satisfied with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 5 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Nice computer

10/20/2013
By ,
Rogers,AR.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This computer is okay. I think I like my old one just a tad better though. One thing I am disappointed about this computer is that it didn't have the connection for my old wireless keyboard and wireless mouse. This new computer only has USB ports to connect them up to and my old one you had to plug them into the color coded plug-ins. So now I'll have to buy new ones if I want to go back to having wireless ones. (Which I do prefer!) As far as the Windows 8 being on here, I have no problems with it. I took the computer to my computer tech. and he installed the old windows 7 start up page on it for me, other then that there's not much difference. This computer does seem faster on looking things up on the web sites. So yes, I would recommend this to my friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brookfield, IL
options for old keyboard
Posted 11/25/2013
I do have suggestion. You can contact a place called "TigerDirect" & you can get an additional plug that attaches to your old keyboard, that will allow you to plug into the new connections & work. What it allows you to do is to change from those "pin" connectors to USB connection. I hope that helps & good luck.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

I'm still in the learning process with Windows 8

09/14/2013
By ,
Murfreesboro, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far it meets all of my expectations--very pleased
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Great computer, bad operating system!

11/17/2013
By ,
Littleton, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great computer! The only problem was with Windows 8. Really a piece of junk compared to Windows 7. We upgraded it to Windows 8.1 last week and I set it to boot to the desktop. Some improvement. Windows 8 was made more for Tablets and not at all for PCs. Very bad on Microsoft's part for those of us who love using a PC at home and at work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compatibility
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

I have only used it for a week. It is fast!

11/29/2013
By ,
Waldorf,Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lot of computer for the price. All I can tell you at this time is the computer is fast and easy to
set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compatibility
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)
09/27/2013
By ,
New Braunfels, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great buy for the money, although I'm still learning to live with windows eight.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Unbelievable! Love it!

12/03/2013
By ,
Middle Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a senior lady and I took this out of the box and had it set up and running immediately. Switching from XP to Windows 8 had me a little worried about the learning curve, but after a single day, I had it down pat. I love the speed, and everything about it. I even "pinned" a gob of sites I visit daily to the bar at the bottom. I had delivery on a Tuesday, after I placed the order over the weekend. Probably the hardest part was backing up the dying computer. I definitely recommend this desktop - quiet, sleek, fast. If this old lady can fly through setting it up and learning, anyone can. Well worth the bucks. Kudos Wally World!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compatibility
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Why bother:Computer wouldn't work.

12/07/2013
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got my computer 3 days before it was suppose to arrive-awesome. However, got the computer hooked up and it won't power on. Power is running to the computer, but the computer won't push power to my monitor, keyboard, or mouse. The only thing that runs is the fan. Also the AMD graphics card appears to be integrated-which is not mentioned in the description. Tried multiple monitor connections, keyboards, and mice-the problem is the computer. I had high hopes when I ordered it, but not anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Compatibility
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Unsatisfactory performance

11/29/2013
By ,
Bradenton, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I still have not gotten it setup. Too many problems along the way and don't have them resolved. Definitely not the best computer I've ever purchased. Also the keyboard is very cheaply made. Keys stick.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 13 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Awesome for running virtual machines!

12/03/2013
By ,
Superior, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed an inexpensive way to run multiple virtual machines. I bought an extra 8 GB memory and this system flies!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compatibility
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Fast Quiet Cool

11/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Im loving this computer it handles big programs like flash and after effects. Its quiet and I like it so far
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

Good desk top to advance to Windows 8 on.

12/06/2013
By ,
home
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleased to get this computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compatibility
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)

good

12/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compatibility
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for HP Black Pavilion 500-017C Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-5500 Accelerated Processor, 8GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 Operating System (Monitor Not Included)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5