Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Generic West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

This West Bend 900-Watt Microwave contains all the benefits and features you will need to cook a variety of foods. The ten power levels and one-touch cooking features ensure that you can easily prepare anything from popcorn to pizza. It comes with a digital clock, and the 99-minute timer will let you prepare a variety of meals for your family. This 0.9-cubic-foot microwave runs on 900W of power. It features a handle door and a child-safety lock for peace of mind. Its sleek and modern style will blend well with your kitchen appliances and decor. This microwave is just what you need to reheat leftovers, defrost frozen foods, cook meals and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.537 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(259 Reviews) 247
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
185
4 stars
55
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation93%240 out of 259reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 169 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
185
4 stars
55
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

great little microwave

11/07/2013
By ,
georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i needed a microwave, i have shopped around and most were highly priced for what i needed .plus having to lug it home was not an option , i saw this one, the reviews were good. so i gave it a go . it is a tad smaller then the one i had. which is fine i used it mainly for defrosting meat and making popcorn and snacks for my son. it would indeed be great for a college student, the rv or a small apartment .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY

03/10/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went online to WalMart site, Target, Home Depot, Lowe's, Sears websites...read reviews on about 10 different microwaves. People complain that "it died right out of the box" or "died within 2 days" or "the BEEP was too loud"..... I say "wah, wah".
This microwave had good reviews so I bought it. I'm telling you, people, READ NO FURTHER! Go NOW and buy this one. It is WONDERFUL. It is quiet, simple to operate, powerful 900W, beautiful on my countertop. Do not think about it....don't even pray about it...GO BUY IT NOW.
I bought the black one with stainless steel front. It's absolutely beautiful. And most SS microwaves are $10 to $20 more. Not this one. $59!!!! So again I say, BUY IT NOW!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Great microwave, exceeds expectations

12/05/2013
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this microwave in stainless steel/black at a local Walmart for my office. It’s powerful, yet very quiet. I love the one-touch cook options. Unlike other low-price, small microwaves this one has a pull handle instead of an annoying push button to open the door. It also actually weighs enough that the microwave stays still when you pull open the door. So far, I'm very pleased with this purchase. I can't yet speak to its durability as I just purchased it two months ago, but so far so good.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Plaistow, NH
Posted 04/08/2014
I love that you mentioned the microwave weighs enough that it stays still when you pull open the door, that is a huge pet peeve of mine with our current microwave - drives me bonkers! I love it when people add in specific details like that, thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

made an excellent replacement

02/11/2014
By ,
Bronx NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this in the black with stainless steel. My family loves it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

As good as the other reviews said!

03/16/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The old one broke...I shopped around (I needed it delivered) and this microwave oven was the right size, the right power, definitely the right price, and I liked the way it looked too.
Super fast shipping....UPS DIDN'T deliver it to the door...left it at the bottom of the stairs in clear view from the street, but there's no way to complain to them online, so just mentioning here. Fortunately a kind neighbor carried it up the outside stairs.
I like the fact that there's a handle and you use that to pull the door open. I really don't trust the 'push to open' buttons...they stick sometimes.
I haven't used it on challenging tasks but for general use it's been efficent, quiet (when running) and I still like the way it looks.
While there's space on all sides, I like the vent on the top..seems to evacuate steam better so I don't have to leave the door open (one oven I had the coating on the top (inside) flaked off from the residual steam...yuck).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Great price for a low-wattage microwave!

07/20/2013
By ,
Upstate New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this microwave when ours suddenly died. We picked it for the color...in anticipation of switching microwaves with our newlyweds. Their primary kitchen color is red. My only disappointment is with the color, since it is advertised as a red microwave. It only has two small red strips on front. (Thus, the reason for the "average" appearance rating.) Having purchased it online, I couldn't tell from the illustration that it was the extent of the red. I was expecting the side panels to carry the color. (walmart.com has since added more choices to their inventory.)
Since we only use a microwave for warming drinks and food, I don't feel that I can give a fair assessment. However, I like that it has a quiet motor and looks like a more expensive unit. The "finish" alert is loud and rings five times, even if you open the door while it is ringing. It also sounds a periodic reminder, until you remove the contents.
If you don't need a high-power unit, I would recommend this model. You can't beat the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Typical microwave - would recommend.

03/28/2014
By ,
Augusta, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I expect few things in a microwave. As long as it heats evenly, I'm generally happy. On that, this does just fine, so I'm satisfied.
It has one-touch buttons (1-6 minutes), a 30 second one-touch button and a few presets, all things that are standard these days in microwaves. It also has a child lock - it isn't on the machine itself, it's only mentioned in the manual but I tested it out and it works.
If you're confused about the size like I was, know it's a pretty standard family-sized microwave, it's not one of those tiny dorm-sized machines or those gigantic commercial microwaves.
I got the silver model, which looks good. The strips of color are only on the front and door and don't wrap around. The rest of the body is black. I had mine delivered and it was packaged very well, no damage, dents or anything of concern.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Great little microwave!

12/05/2013
By ,
Peeples Valley, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this microwave a few months back and thought I would wait awhile to see if there were things I didn't like. Well, I have found only one! The fact that it beeps 5 times when it is done is a little much but when I don't feel like hearing it, I just push stop before it counts down. Very minor compared to all the other great features. I love the 30 sec. on the start button. Push start and you get an instant 30 sec. and the instant 1,2,and 3 minute timers as well. I don't miss having 1000 watts either! This is perfect for everything I do. I have thawed frozen steak, chicken and burgers. I have cooked vegetables and casseroles in it. Everything has come out perfect. And did I say it is beautiful? It matches all my other red stuff in the kitchen. Good purchase! Good price! Good quality!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Excellent Microwave To Own

10/07/2013
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent microwave to own. I went to different stores around where I live and they wanted to much money. I went to Target.com and after the price,tax,shipping it comes out to be around $60.00. Besybuy.com is just about the same amount. I also went to amazon.com and they wanted less money for this same exact microwave but i decided not to order it from amazon.com because it was going to take an additional 5 days to process the order and then they will ship it on the 6th day and then it was going to take another 10-14 days for me to finally recieve this microwave. I then came to the walmart.com website and I found this microwave and the price,tax,shipping the grand total came out to $45.00 - $50.00. I really love this microwave. It is a 900 watt microwave and it has great features and this is also a great microwave for Senior Citizens and the elderly, beacuse it is extreamly easy for them to use. If you need a microwave, you better purchase this WestBend 0.9 Cubic Feet, 900-Watt Microwave, I promise all of you, YOU WILL LOVE THIS MICROWAVE!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Quiet; compact; time-sluggish.

01/09/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handsome product. I bought it based upon other customer reviews as a replacement for a Galanz microwave that fizzled at just 6 months. Love this one: it's quiet, with easy-to interpret/use features. However, it does seem to take nearly twice as long to heat stuff up as the ones that have preceded it ~ perhaps because it's only a 900 watt. From here on out, I think I won't settle for any under 1000 watts. But other than that, which I can adapt to, it's worked wonderfully so far (about 1 week).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Super for anybody to use..and great price

09/21/2013
By ,
new england
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked at this here online and then went to the store and bought this exact same make and model..this does have a 30 second feature , its on the start button..and the dimensions posted here are incorrect...the outside dimensions are smaller than listed here, making it even better for saving some counter space..I believe they are 19L x 12W x 10H....and the product has a glass turntable inside to rotate your dishes and foods for even heating, which is not listed here....the oven works great as I knew it would..the only thing I don't like is that if U need to reset the clock and hit the stop button, then U need to reboot it and unplug it before U can reset the correct time again, but that's a minor detail and no big deal as long as you know that..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Bought it because...

04/04/2014
By ,
Great Plains Area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it because: was a familiar national brand, price was within range of how much I wanted to spend. Bought it because: had enough power and features. Two features that mattered to me: has an actual door handle and had a carousel(which wasn't listed in the specs.)Now, before one thinks that should not be a concern, it had been some time since last purchase of microwave. At that time, had personally used some(in break rooms)with NO carousels. Had to physically move food item in them to ensure thorough cooking. Other features that mattered: size and weight. But the most important reason: need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

West Bend Runs hot

04/10/2014
By ,
Binghamton, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this a few days ago and what I'm concerned about is that while in use, the outside of the box get almost too hot to touch especially near the vents and top front. Has anyone else experienced this? I've never had a micro before that got hot on the outside of the unit.
Most of the reviews are quite optimistic, but no mention of the outside being too hot.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

great for the $$$$

03/23/2014
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a microwave asap...read the reviews for this product and decided to go for it...it is awesome! Love the style and it has a turntable so that is a plus! Works well and for the price it can't be beat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Buyer Beware

01/09/2014
By ,
houston
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this microwave at the end of October 2013 and it broke (stop heating) before the 1st of January 2014.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Stay away from this one

03/09/2014
By ,
Kansas City, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this Microwave in the store about a year ago. At first it was wonderful, heated better than other .9CF microwaves I have had in the past. It has been used daily since I got it with no issues until today. I put my lunch in the microwave to warm up and set the timer for 3 minutes. When I opened the microwave, the food was cold as when I took it out of the fridge. No warning, it worked last night, but not today. No popping, sparking, crackling - nothing to warn me, just quit working.
I read the reviews, and it appears that many of the one star reviews indicate the thing just stops working after a few months. I guess I'll try another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Perfect for my needs.

04/04/2014
By ,
Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a countertop and doesnt take up much room. Just what
I was looking for. Quick warm ups, popcorn, and small plates.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Nice to have a working "nuker" again!

10/31/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old microwave was well over ten years old, and had just three buttons working on the control panel. Then it stopped cooking stuff. Went online to check out a replacement. Chose the West Bend in black and silver; I'm not a fan of red. Lots of nice features on this microwave, and its measurements assured me it would fit in the same space in the kitchen. It works beautifully! I'm especially fond of the "Potato" button -- does my potatoes perfectly! Great product with lots of very nice features, and the price was excellent!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
baytown, tx
Love it, but have a problem
Posted 02/05/2014
I love this microwave, but I cannot get the glass plate to stay in place, no matter how I try. I don't know if it's me, or it's defective. Anyone else with this problem? I would love some feedback on this. Thank You
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

I AM THINKING OF BUYING MYSELF ONE

03/02/2014
By ,
Saint Pauls NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter and her husband and they loved it. It was larger than I expected but that was okay. My daughter said he boiled her cup of coffee the first time he used it. LOL It was just lots better than the old one. I think I may order me one too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Looks good but average build quality

02/03/2014
By ,
Chicago
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the design, and microwaves work! I bought it in the red color. What I don't like is the build. It doesn't stand properly on four legs, and one of the legs is short. The door is so light that it doesn't get that tight when you close. Don't worry microwaves won;t leak, but you still want door to be really tight. Even after closing, I can feel the move.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 248 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next