Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Generic West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

This West Bend 900-Watt Microwave contains all the benefits and features you will need to cook a variety of foods. The ten power levels and one-touch cooking features ensure that you can easily prepare anything from popcorn to pizza. It comes with a digital clock, and the 99-minute timer will let you prepare a variety of meals for your family. This 0.9-cubic-foot microwave runs on 900W of power. It features a handle door and a child-safety lock for peace of mind. Its sleek and modern style will blend well with your kitchen appliances and decor. This microwave is just what you need to reheat leftovers, defrost frozen foods, cook meals and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.448 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(386 Reviews) 374
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
263
4 stars
85
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation91%352 out of 386reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 288 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
263
4 stars
85
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

just the perfect size for my kitchen

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
when i read the reviews for this microwave, they made it seem small, but its just the perfect size for my kitchen and i have taken some pictures for you to see, this is a great choice
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

great little microwave

11/07/2013
By ,
georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i needed a microwave, i have shopped around and most were highly priced for what i needed .plus having to lug it home was not an option , i saw this one, the reviews were good. so i gave it a go . it is a tad smaller then the one i had. which is fine i used it mainly for defrosting meat and making popcorn and snacks for my son. it would indeed be great for a college student, the rv or a small apartment .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+155points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY

03/10/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went online to WalMart site, Target, Home Depot, Lowe's, Sears websites...read reviews on about 10 different microwaves. People complain that "it died right out of the box" or "died within 2 days" or "the BEEP was too loud"..... I say "wah, wah".
This microwave had good reviews so I bought it. I'm telling you, people, READ NO FURTHER! Go NOW and buy this one. It is WONDERFUL. It is quiet, simple to operate, powerful 900W, beautiful on my countertop. Do not think about it....don't even pray about it...GO BUY IT NOW.
I bought the black one with stainless steel front. It's absolutely beautiful. And most SS microwaves are $10 to $20 more. Not this one. $59!!!! So again I say, BUY IT NOW!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+126points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Great microwave, exceeds expectations

12/05/2013
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this microwave in stainless steel/black at a local Walmart for my office. It’s powerful, yet very quiet. I love the one-touch cook options. Unlike other low-price, small microwaves this one has a pull handle instead of an annoying push button to open the door. It also actually weighs enough that the microwave stays still when you pull open the door. So far, I'm very pleased with this purchase. I can't yet speak to its durability as I just purchased it two months ago, but so far so good.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+133points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Plaistow, NH
Posted 04/08/2014
I love that you mentioned the microwave weighs enough that it stays still when you pull open the door, that is a huge pet peeve of mine with our current microwave - drives me bonkers! I love it when people add in specific details like that, thanks!
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

made an excellent replacement

02/11/2014
By ,
Bronx NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this in the black with stainless steel. My family loves it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

cheap price and quality

04/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This microwave is nice looking in my kitchen, but thats about it!!!!
Its very loud and very low quality!!!
Idont recommend buying it!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Even the most expensive microwaves put out lemons.
Posted 05/31/2014
After my expensive GE Profile died after about a year, I replaced it with this little guy and it's a MUCH better microwave for my money. It's so quiet that I hardly know it's on sometimes because I'm remembering the previous one. Sounds like you got a lemon.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

As good as the other reviews said!

03/16/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The old one broke...I shopped around (I needed it delivered) and this microwave oven was the right size, the right power, definitely the right price, and I liked the way it looked too.
Super fast shipping....UPS DIDN'T deliver it to the door...left it at the bottom of the stairs in clear view from the street, but there's no way to complain to them online, so just mentioning here. Fortunately a kind neighbor carried it up the outside stairs.
I like the fact that there's a handle and you use that to pull the door open. I really don't trust the 'push to open' buttons...they stick sometimes.
I haven't used it on challenging tasks but for general use it's been efficent, quiet (when running) and I still like the way it looks.
While there's space on all sides, I like the vent on the top..seems to evacuate steam better so I don't have to leave the door open (one oven I had the coating on the top (inside) flaked off from the residual steam...yuck).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/18/2014
WE BOUGHT THIS TO REPLACE A LARGER MICROWAVE. THIS ONE IS VERY LOUD. WHEN YOU OPEN THE DOOR THE MICROWAVE ALMOST COMES OFF THE COUNTER. THE GLASS PLATE BROKE WHILE MAKING POCORN AND IT HAS BEEN THREE MONTHS AND WESTBEND KEEPS GIVING US THE RUN AROUND ABOUT REPLACING IT. WE ARE TOLD REPEATEDLY THAT IT IS ON BACK ORDER OR THEY DO NOT EVEN RETURN CALL WHEN THEY SAY THEY WILL. SO MUCH FOR THE THREE DAY GUARANTEE. STILL WAITING FOR REPLACEMENT. I WILL NEVER BUY WESTBEND AGAIN.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Not too big, but not too little either!

05/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you've ever had your microwave die, you understand the "can't live without it" syndrome. I was really caught off-guard because I had a fairly new, high-end GE Profile. The Walmart rating system was a BIG help. I couldn't believe the low cost of this West Bend - it's so attractive and very easy to use - although one word of warning if you try to use it before reading the instructions (yeah, no one does that.) In setting the clock, make sure your first digit is a '1' or a '0', for example 04:22. We're about to move to a home that has a built-in microwave, but this one is coming with us because it will also look cool in the new man cave. :-) Another plus, it works very similarly to our new house's built-in GE (for example, the handy express numbers) so I won't be confused by going back and forth. I ordered this online at night and picked it up the next morning at the local Walmart so it was a good shopping experience as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Great price for a low-wattage microwave!

07/20/2013
By ,
Upstate New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this microwave when ours suddenly died. We picked it for the color...in anticipation of switching microwaves with our newlyweds. Their primary kitchen color is red. My only disappointment is with the color, since it is advertised as a red microwave. It only has two small red strips on front. (Thus, the reason for the "average" appearance rating.) Having purchased it online, I couldn't tell from the illustration that it was the extent of the red. I was expecting the side panels to carry the color. (walmart.com has since added more choices to their inventory.)
Since we only use a microwave for warming drinks and food, I don't feel that I can give a fair assessment. However, I like that it has a quiet motor and looks like a more expensive unit. The "finish" alert is loud and rings five times, even if you open the door while it is ringing. It also sounds a periodic reminder, until you remove the contents.
If you don't need a high-power unit, I would recommend this model. You can't beat the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Typical microwave - would recommend.

03/28/2014
By ,
Augusta, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I expect few things in a microwave. As long as it heats evenly, I'm generally happy. On that, this does just fine, so I'm satisfied.
It has one-touch buttons (1-6 minutes), a 30 second one-touch button and a few presets, all things that are standard these days in microwaves. It also has a child lock - it isn't on the machine itself, it's only mentioned in the manual but I tested it out and it works.
If you're confused about the size like I was, know it's a pretty standard family-sized microwave, it's not one of those tiny dorm-sized machines or those gigantic commercial microwaves.
I got the silver model, which looks good. The strips of color are only on the front and door and don't wrap around. The rest of the body is black. I had mine delivered and it was packaged very well, no damage, dents or anything of concern.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Works great and looks really good also!

07/14/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my micro many months ago, and waited to write my review, as to see how well it held up. We use this daily and it's doing just awesome! I love the features this on has and I love the over all "feel" of this one. I looks like one of the more expensive ones and has that more sturdy feel to it. My ex had seen mine and he purchased one also. He really puts a micro though a lot of abuse, since he's rough on even closing the door, etc. He also has a huge bug problem in his house and most micro's have died within weeks due to this. Not this one! I am shocked to see it's still working just as well as the day it arrived. So, in closing, if you are looking for one tough as nails micro, that can handle the abuse and keep working, this is your machine! It's awesome and the price is a great value, considering the look and feel, along with the performance of this micro. You can't go wrong buying this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Perfect Microwave!

04/21/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After so many issues and 3 replacement microwaves from emerson, I had enough. I decided to go with a different brand and started researching. I saw this one had very good reviews so I kept it in the back of my mind until I finished researching others. I was going to order online but we needed a microwave immediately so I went to our nearest walmart. They didn't have the one I originally decided to get so I got this one instead as it had everything I wanted and they had it in the black and stainless. I could not be more happy with my purchase. It is super quiet while running, has the express buttons and 30 second cook button as well as a kitchen timer. It's smaller than my the one I just junked, which really gives me much more space and it still does an amazing job cooking everything I usually cook in the microwave. I also love the weighted defrost feature as well as the preset cook buttons for things like pizza, beverages, dinner plate and pop corn. It's easy to clean and I am thrilled it has a door handle instead of the push button. I would rather have the handle as you don't have to worry about it getting stuck and not being able to open it. All around this microwave is wonderful and I DO recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Excellent Microwave To Own

10/07/2013
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent microwave to own. I went to different stores around where I live and they wanted to much money. I went to Target.com and after the price,tax,shipping it comes out to be around $60.00. Besybuy.com is just about the same amount. I also went to amazon.com and they wanted less money for this same exact microwave but i decided not to order it from amazon.com because it was going to take an additional 5 days to process the order and then they will ship it on the 6th day and then it was going to take another 10-14 days for me to finally recieve this microwave. I then came to the walmart.com website and I found this microwave and the price,tax,shipping the grand total came out to $45.00 - $50.00. I really love this microwave. It is a 900 watt microwave and it has great features and this is also a great microwave for Senior Citizens and the elderly, beacuse it is extreamly easy for them to use. If you need a microwave, you better purchase this WestBend 0.9 Cubic Feet, 900-Watt Microwave, I promise all of you, YOU WILL LOVE THIS MICROWAVE!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Wowww! What an Awesome microwave for $59!!

06/09/2014
By ,
Gainesville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So my 1993 above stove Kenmore finally died. What to do, needed a microwave stat. First I evaluated how I actually use it - #1 use reheating coffee, second food, third defrost, that's about it - I saw no point in immediately replacing an expensive above stove unit and decided on a countertop in the meantime. This one caught my eye because of the red, and the reviews, and the size - seemingly not too big.
Well, this microwave is perfect. It is extremely powerful, it looks GREAT, it is not too big on the counter but it's quite large inside in case you wanted to reheat a big dinner plate, a full casserole, etc. - lots of space. It has 3 memory functions you can program in, it does dual-stage cooking (i.e. 3 min at 50% power then 4 min at 70% power) and is just really smart and nice.
So then I go to work the next day and recognize that we have had the Exact Same microwave but in silver not red for over a year -- and that sealed this review. We ABUSE that thing and it works just fine. I almost never heat on full power because the 900w is just too much! I would absolutely recommend this brand, no questions. Our work one has been just awesome and I love my red one at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Great little microwave!

12/05/2013
By ,
Peeples Valley, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this microwave a few months back and thought I would wait awhile to see if there were things I didn't like. Well, I have found only one! The fact that it beeps 5 times when it is done is a little much but when I don't feel like hearing it, I just push stop before it counts down. Very minor compared to all the other great features. I love the 30 sec. on the start button. Push start and you get an instant 30 sec. and the instant 1,2,and 3 minute timers as well. I don't miss having 1000 watts either! This is perfect for everything I do. I have thawed frozen steak, chicken and burgers. I have cooked vegetables and casseroles in it. Everything has come out perfect. And did I say it is beautiful? It matches all my other red stuff in the kitchen. Good purchase! Good price! Good quality!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

You get what you pay for

05/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I WANTED a cheap microwave. I don't use it that often, but I need one for the occasional heating up. This microwave is fine, it works and looks nice, however I've only had it for two weeks and I've noticed that if I use it for any more than about 3 minutes, the top and exterior walls get EXTREMELY hot. Hot enough that the butter on the dish on top of the microwave melted.... and I've kept my butter dish on top of my microwave my entire life. So I'm pretty sure it's slightly unusual.
Other than that, it's a good microwave. Just keep an eye on it if you're going to be using it for more than a couple minutes at a time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Super for anybody to use..and great price

09/21/2013
By ,
new england
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked at this here online and then went to the store and bought this exact same make and model..this does have a 30 second feature , its on the start button..and the dimensions posted here are incorrect...the outside dimensions are smaller than listed here, making it even better for saving some counter space..I believe they are 19L x 12W x 10H....and the product has a glass turntable inside to rotate your dishes and foods for even heating, which is not listed here....the oven works great as I knew it would..the only thing I don't like is that if U need to reset the clock and hit the stop button, then U need to reboot it and unplug it before U can reset the correct time again, but that's a minor detail and no big deal as long as you know that..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Nice looking on the counter.

07/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Must hit a power button before setting seconds time. Can't mute end signal tones. Light stays on when door is open. Bought online but wish I had seen it in the store. Actually works well.
.t
.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

LOVE the Westbend Black Microwave with RED accent!

06/04/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HAPPY WOMAN!
I went online to the Walmart and Amazon sites. I read a lot of reviews on about 5 different microwaves. Most people complaining state that "it died right out of the box" or "died within 2 days" or "the BEEP was too loud," etc. etc. It seems that most people raved about it though, that didn't need to feed a family of 3 or more. Since I rarely have more than 2 guests at a time, I finally narrowed it down to two. Since they were both at Walmart, I headed over there to check it out in person.
It seemed kind of small in the store, but it turned out to be the perfect size and fit where my 10 year old one used to sit. It is wonderful. It is so quiet, simple to operate, powerful, and cooks 2x faster than my old Sharp Carousel did. My old one had a 1 minute "add on" button, and this new one has a 30 second version, which is a good thing because it heats everything up FAST.
Quick Answers:
Yes, it is black on all 3 sides, only the front door is decorated with the red accents.
Yes, there is a light on when the stuff inside is cooking. Goes off whenever you open the door.
No, you can't program it to not beep 3 or 4 times when it finishes, even if you open the door. You can always stand there and push the "stop" button, if it bothers you. I like it!
If it lasts me 5 years, I'll go out and buy one just like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

One thing to watch out for.

04/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this when my full sized 14 year old microwave died, as I did not have the funds for another full size at the time. It has been a very good product even if my casserole dishes won't fit in it. The one thing to watch out for is the protective film over the key pad is not great. I noticed after several months of use that the surface over the START button was beginning to deteriorate. I bought a cheap i-pad protector sheet, cut it to size and placed it over the key pad and clock. So far it is holding up well, but when it shows wear I can always replace it with the other half of the protective cover I cut.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 375 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next