Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for West Bend West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

West Bend West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

This West Bend 900-Watt Microwave contains all the benefits and features you will need to cook a variety of foods. The ten power levels and one-touch cooking features ensure that you can easily prepare anything from popcorn to pizza. It comes with a digital clock, and the 99-minute timer will let you prepare a variety of meals for your family. This 0.9-cubic-foot microwave runs on 900W of power. It features a handle door and a child-safety lock for peace of mind. Its sleek and modern style will blend well with your kitchen appliances and decor. This microwave is just what you need to reheat leftovers, defrost frozen foods, cook meals and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(784 Reviews) 771
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
523
4 stars
166
3 stars
25
2 stars
14
1 star
56
Customer Recommendation91%711 out of 784reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
107 Questions | 415 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
523
4 stars
166
3 stars
25
2 stars
14
1 star
56
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

just the perfect size for my kitchen

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
when i read the reviews for this microwave, they made it seem small, but its just the perfect size for my kitchen and i have taken some pictures for you to see, this is a great choice
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+214points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Microwave
Posted 08/22/2014
Hi, I just wanted to ask you a question about your microwave. Since I see you have postged pictures.I have just recently bought the same microwave and noticed a screw on the right side of the microwave it is in plain view just at the middle at the bottom right side of the microwave. It is silver at that and my microwave is black on that side so you can really notice it. Do you also have a silver screw on the right side of your microwave in plain view?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

great little microwave

11/07/2013
By ,
georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i needed a microwave, i have shopped around and most were highly priced for what i needed .plus having to lug it home was not an option , i saw this one, the reviews were good. so i gave it a go . it is a tad smaller then the one i had. which is fine i used it mainly for defrosting meat and making popcorn and snacks for my son. it would indeed be great for a college student, the rv or a small apartment .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+211points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY

03/10/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went online to WalMart site, Target, Home Depot, Lowe's, Sears websites...read reviews on about 10 different microwaves. People complain that "it died right out of the box" or "died within 2 days" or "the BEEP was too loud"..... I say "wah, wah".
This microwave had good reviews so I bought it. I'm telling you, people, READ NO FURTHER! Go NOW and buy this one. It is WONDERFUL. It is quiet, simple to operate, powerful 900W, beautiful on my countertop. Do not think about it....don't even pray about it...GO BUY IT NOW.
I bought the black one with stainless steel front. It's absolutely beautiful. And most SS microwaves are $10 to $20 more. Not this one. $59!!!! So again I say, BUY IT NOW!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+559points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Great microwave, exceeds expectations

12/05/2013
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this microwave in stainless steel/black at a local Walmart for my office. It’s powerful, yet very quiet. I love the one-touch cook options. Unlike other low-price, small microwaves this one has a pull handle instead of an annoying push button to open the door. It also actually weighs enough that the microwave stays still when you pull open the door. So far, I'm very pleased with this purchase. I can't yet speak to its durability as I just purchased it two months ago, but so far so good.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+364points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Plaistow, NH
Posted 04/08/2014
I love that you mentioned the microwave weighs enough that it stays still when you pull open the door, that is a huge pet peeve of mine with our current microwave - drives me bonkers! I love it when people add in specific details like that, thanks!
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Looks great, easy to use.

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This microwave looks wonderful on my counter. I previously had a 1200 microwave, and this one is 700, so I knew it would take slightly longer to heat or cook. It does take a little longer, but only about a minute or so, and I have not really missed the 1200. I am very happy with this purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
INDIANA
It is 900 watts
Posted 09/07/2014
It is a 900 watt microwave
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

made an excellent replacement

02/11/2014
By ,
Bronx NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this in the black with stainless steel. My family loves it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

cheap price and quality

04/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This microwave is nice looking in my kitchen, but thats about it!!!!
Its very loud and very low quality!!!
Idont recommend buying it!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Even the most expensive microwaves put out lemons.
Posted 05/31/2014
After my expensive GE Profile died after about a year, I replaced it with this little guy and it's a MUCH better microwave for my money. It's so quiet that I hardly know it's on sometimes because I'm remembering the previous one. Sounds like you got a lemon.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Great price for a low-wattage microwave!

07/20/2013
By ,
Upstate New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this microwave when ours suddenly died. We picked it for the color...in anticipation of switching microwaves with our newlyweds. Their primary kitchen color is red. My only disappointment is with the color, since it is advertised as a red microwave. It only has two small red strips on front. (Thus, the reason for the "average" appearance rating.) Having purchased it online, I couldn't tell from the illustration that it was the extent of the red. I was expecting the side panels to carry the color. (walmart.com has since added more choices to their inventory.)
Since we only use a microwave for warming drinks and food, I don't feel that I can give a fair assessment. However, I like that it has a quiet motor and looks like a more expensive unit. The "finish" alert is loud and rings five times, even if you open the door while it is ringing. It also sounds a periodic reminder, until you remove the contents.
If you don't need a high-power unit, I would recommend this model. You can't beat the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+163points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Not too big, but not too little either!

05/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you've ever had your microwave die, you understand the "can't live without it" syndrome. I was really caught off-guard because I had a fairly new, high-end GE Profile. The Walmart rating system was a BIG help. I couldn't believe the low cost of this West Bend - it's so attractive and very easy to use - although one word of warning if you try to use it before reading the instructions (yeah, no one does that.) In setting the clock, make sure your first digit is a '1' or a '0', for example 04:22. We're about to move to a home that has a built-in microwave, but this one is coming with us because it will also look cool in the new man cave. :-) Another plus, it works very similarly to our new house's built-in GE (for example, the handy express numbers) so I won't be confused by going back and forth. I ordered this online at night and picked it up the next morning at the local Walmart so it was a good shopping experience as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

As good as the other reviews said!

03/16/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The old one broke...I shopped around (I needed it delivered) and this microwave oven was the right size, the right power, definitely the right price, and I liked the way it looked too.
Super fast shipping....UPS DIDN'T deliver it to the door...left it at the bottom of the stairs in clear view from the street, but there's no way to complain to them online, so just mentioning here. Fortunately a kind neighbor carried it up the outside stairs.
I like the fact that there's a handle and you use that to pull the door open. I really don't trust the 'push to open' buttons...they stick sometimes.
I haven't used it on challenging tasks but for general use it's been efficent, quiet (when running) and I still like the way it looks.
While there's space on all sides, I like the vent on the top..seems to evacuate steam better so I don't have to leave the door open (one oven I had the coating on the top (inside) flaked off from the residual steam...yuck).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/18/2014
WE BOUGHT THIS TO REPLACE A LARGER MICROWAVE. THIS ONE IS VERY LOUD. WHEN YOU OPEN THE DOOR THE MICROWAVE ALMOST COMES OFF THE COUNTER. THE GLASS PLATE BROKE WHILE MAKING POCORN AND IT HAS BEEN THREE MONTHS AND WESTBEND KEEPS GIVING US THE RUN AROUND ABOUT REPLACING IT. WE ARE TOLD REPEATEDLY THAT IT IS ON BACK ORDER OR THEY DO NOT EVEN RETURN CALL WHEN THEY SAY THEY WILL. SO MUCH FOR THE THREE DAY GUARANTEE. STILL WAITING FOR REPLACEMENT. I WILL NEVER BUY WESTBEND AGAIN.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Excellent Microwave To Own

10/07/2013
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent microwave to own. I went to different stores around where I live and they wanted to much money. I went to Target.com and after the price,tax,shipping it comes out to be around $60.00. Besybuy.com is just about the same amount. I also went to amazon.com and they wanted less money for this same exact microwave but i decided not to order it from amazon.com because it was going to take an additional 5 days to process the order and then they will ship it on the 6th day and then it was going to take another 10-14 days for me to finally recieve this microwave. I then came to the walmart.com website and I found this microwave and the price,tax,shipping the grand total came out to $45.00 - $50.00. I really love this microwave. It is a 900 watt microwave and it has great features and this is also a great microwave for Senior Citizens and the elderly, beacuse it is extreamly easy for them to use. If you need a microwave, you better purchase this WestBend 0.9 Cubic Feet, 900-Watt Microwave, I promise all of you, YOU WILL LOVE THIS MICROWAVE!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Fabulous little microwave

11/19/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My beloved microwave recently died and even though I did not want to, I parted ways with it. I did a lot of research and since I was not trying to spend a fortune on a microwave oven, my options were pretty limited. Enter this little gem here. I found the West Bend on here and after studying the features and description, I also realized that it came in different colors. I opted for the red version and ordered. Only a few days later I met my new room mate. This microwave is great and powerful. Compared to my dinosaur microwave, this one is very quiet. So quiet that the first few times I had to literally walk up close to make sure it was actually working. The display is easy to understand and it has a built-in clock which was super easy to set. My latest venture is mug cakes and I find that this microwave oven does an excellent job baking my little wonder deserts. I am so happy with this microwave I almost wish my old one had died sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Quick and easy cooking

07/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light weight but durable. The handle is great to open the door. Warms food really fast. It's the best microwave I've ever used.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Works great and looks really good also!

07/14/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my micro many months ago, and waited to write my review, as to see how well it held up. We use this daily and it's doing just awesome! I love the features this on has and I love the over all "feel" of this one. I looks like one of the more expensive ones and has that more sturdy feel to it. My ex had seen mine and he purchased one also. He really puts a micro though a lot of abuse, since he's rough on even closing the door, etc. He also has a huge bug problem in his house and most micro's have died within weeks due to this. Not this one! I am shocked to see it's still working just as well as the day it arrived. So, in closing, if you are looking for one tough as nails micro, that can handle the abuse and keep working, this is your machine! It's awesome and the price is a great value, considering the look and feel, along with the performance of this micro. You can't go wrong buying this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Just Perfect!

07/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a small microwave with some power for it's size. I came across this one on the Walmart site almost right away. It was perfect for what I was looking for, not too big along with lots of power and very efficient. I am beyond pleased with this West Bend Microwave. Serves my purpose and more. I saw it came in red and that was just icing on the cake!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Extremely happy with this Microwave and shipping

07/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a disabled veteran with no transportation other than the bus. I went to the local Walmart store to check out the microwaves. I saw this one and liked it. Got home and went online, purchased it and had it shipped to my home. I ordered in the afternoon and the next morning it was sitting on my deck. The microwave itself is very good. Heats very fast and quietly. I would highly recommend this microwave to everyone. I highly commend and thank Walmart for their fast and free shipping!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Excellent Buy

07/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice size for warming or cooking small amounts. It works great for the two of us. It stays in place when the door is opened. No complaints, I really like it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

What "I" wanted to know before purchasing ......

06/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the RED model 900 watts, .9 cubic feet ... Not small inside, and has the power of a full-sized microwave ... Dimensions are slightly different than AD states ... In inches: 19 wide x 15 deep if counting the back vent sticking out behind (cabinet part is only 13) x 11.5 tall ... Red color is only on the front panel that you see in pic, the rest of the cabinet is black (sides also), except the back which is all white
Inside dimensions: 11.5 wide x 12 deep x 8 tall (so if your coffee mug is taller, won't fit) ... Holds a large dinner plate with extra room ... (Also I have a large foldable splatter guard which fits on top of plate) .... Then, I cooked with a large Pyrex casserole dish & lid on top, plenty of room)
Vents, to help decide if this unit fits your specific counter/shelf placement: TOP has vents from left rear to slightly past the middle, so you must be careful NOT to block these by setting items on top ... LEFT side vents (bottom to mid-way up) ... Then on the white BACK, has venting on the right side, just below the plugs cord ... Entire BOTTOM has air holes as well, and is supported by 4 rubber feet, so not a problem
Plug in cord is grey ... It is not the flat 3 prong head, but rather the normal 3 prong that most people see often, so it protrudes from wall slightly
Door has a 2 latch PULL .... Not those hard to open push button types, which is one main reason I choose this design ... Inside the oven: Interior is off-white/cream color... Has a carousel .... LIGHT inside when door is open, also when cooking ... Beeps 5 times when cook is complete ... Has a kitchen timer too, but, you cannot cook while timer is functioning! ... Numbers on digital pad are green
Has MEMORY function up to 3 separate programmed times ... Power settings for reducing levels ... START + 30 seconds feature ... Full minute increments can be achieved by simply touching numbers 1-6 ... (example: you wish to run the oven 3 min, simply tap "3" and it will begin cooking) ... Under a minute, first press "TIME COOK" then your seconds desired, then START (I dislike this myself) ... Too many steps top heat a slice of bread .... All in all, I'm happy with this microwave, no regrets.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Typical microwave - would recommend.

03/28/2014
By ,
Augusta, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I expect few things in a microwave. As long as it heats evenly, I'm generally happy. On that, this does just fine, so I'm satisfied.
It has one-touch buttons (1-6 minutes), a 30 second one-touch button and a few presets, all things that are standard these days in microwaves. It also has a child lock - it isn't on the machine itself, it's only mentioned in the manual but I tested it out and it works.
If you're confused about the size like I was, know it's a pretty standard family-sized microwave, it's not one of those tiny dorm-sized machines or those gigantic commercial microwaves.
I got the silver model, which looks good. The strips of color are only on the front and door and don't wrap around. The rest of the body is black. I had mine delivered and it was packaged very well, no damage, dents or anything of concern.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+141points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for West Bend 0.9-cu. ft. 900-Watt Microwave

Wowww! What an Awesome microwave for $59!!

06/09/2014
By ,
Gainesville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So my 1993 above stove Kenmore finally died. What to do, needed a microwave stat. First I evaluated how I actually use it - #1 use reheating coffee, second food, third defrost, that's about it - I saw no point in immediately replacing an expensive above stove unit and decided on a countertop in the meantime. This one caught my eye because of the red, and the reviews, and the size - seemingly not too big.
Well, this microwave is perfect. It is extremely powerful, it looks GREAT, it is not too big on the counter but it's quite large inside in case you wanted to reheat a big dinner plate, a full casserole, etc. - lots of space. It has 3 memory functions you can program in, it does dual-stage cooking (i.e. 3 min at 50% power then 4 min at 70% power) and is just really smart and nice.
So then I go to work the next day and recognize that we have had the Exact Same microwave but in silver not red for over a year -- and that sealed this review. We ABUSE that thing and it works just fine. I almost never heat on full power because the 900w is just too much! I would absolutely recommend this brand, no questions. Our work one has been just awesome and I love my red one at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 772 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  39 Next