Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Acer Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Acer Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Continually updated, always new, the Acer Iron Gray 11.6" Chromebook, C710-2856 keeps getting better and better. It starts in seconds, has virus protection built in and runs your favorite Google apps plus thousands more. At about an inch thin and 3 lbs light, this Acer Iron Gray 11.6" Chromebook, C710-2856 goes wherever you go and keeps your files safe and secure in the cloud.
Average Customer Rating:
3.879 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation79%112 out of 141reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Best Chrome Book Laptop Ever

08/30/2013
By ,
Monticello, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had so many laptop computers but they all just seemed the same to me but this is something much more different and much more awesome first I searched on Walmart's website to see witch computer I wanna buy but all the other ones looked so boring and looked kinda slow to have so I came across this one and read about it and actually liked it and the price was just great loved it so gwwdmt to Walmart today and bought it. It's fast it's great it's a little heavy but not that heavy the screen size is perfect and I just love it so much it's the perfect computer for anyone I'm so happy that I bought it I'm going to stick with this one for a good long while.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+60points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
question about chromebook
Posted 01/06/2014
I don't have a chrome book but I had a concern. I am going to get a laptop tomorrow at walmart and this one meets my expectations. It is very cheap. Anyway my concern is about the printing situation. The printer we have is a HP photo smart C5500 series all in one. It says it comes with wireless printing with Bluetooth and wireless technology. Does that mean it is compatible with the chrome book? I looked up some cloud printers and some got pretty expensive. post back. Thanks!
0points
Customer Avatar
South, Ga
Cloud
Posted 12/15/2013
What happens after two years of free cloud storage? Do they charge then?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Great for me, maybe not for everyone

03/12/2014
By ,
california
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First I gotta say I ordered this item and the touchpad didn't worked, it'd stop moving and then the chromebook would reboot... a lot. I replaced it and this one works just fine.
It works great for me because I already have a desktop, and I mainly work on it, I wanted the chromebook just to take my job with me, maybe take some notes in class.
It doesn't have MS Office but it has some apps to replace Word, Excel and PowerPoint.
So far I've been using it to view ppt presentations, and it's ALMOST as good as, apparently the "ppt-like app" doesn't recognize some images, watermarks, symbols and certain inserts from the original file. The text is good but it was hard to read because of the lack of watermark effect and some formulas were missing because of the symbol inserts.
Anyway, I can always open these files in my PC so its OK. Maybe not so much if this is the ONLY tool you got.
*Internet is great, starts up inmediately, good size, long lasting battery charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 3 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Basic computer for simple use!

12/01/2013
By ,
Clinton, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this computer after giving my full powered HP laptop to my husband for his work through school! I decided to buy this knowing I would only be using it for simple things like internet browsing, emails, ect...I knew I would have to learn the rules associated with a chromebook!! So far, I can say it can be disappointing trying to figure out how to set up an appropriate printer, deciding whether to pay to have music on your chromebook knowing you can't use itunes or preloaded stuff! You can't download files unless they go to google files so I had to get used to that and not being able to play my game club games! I now have to only play google games so there is some getting used to things!! I still have an iPad that I use more so I do some trading off! I've only had it a few weeks so still am trying to learn as much as I can about if I can still do it and how!
The good thing is it's always ready to go, so far hasn't had any problems with overheating, is easy to set up from the box and start typing and was inexpensive to buy! My bookmark from my previous computer showed right up and i think in time, we'll get along just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
new Port Richey FL.
Posted 01/04/2014
I bought this and sending it back because I can not get itgoing
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Surprised

09/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When i first saw this i thought it was small and useless. i started playing with it in the store and was surprised. now it does take some getting use to. my husband has a mac and i am more familiar with that than the new windows 8. i hate windows 8 btw. now the operating system is good once you get use to it. you can get an app on this thing for anything. i mean you can get quickbooks for business for free. the google version of office is good and just the same. don't be worried about the format it saves in in case you were worried about that because they are compatible and if not they have an app to change it and its easy as pie. over all i use this computer for school and just general searching and researching. this is a great computer for anyone doesn't matter if its school home or office. unless you are trying to play a lot of games or make movies are what not. might need something bigger. however if you want to try the new google chrome os give it a shot its really not bad it is so much better than a pc. and the apps are free unless most with a mac.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 5 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Excellent Laptop/Tablet

07/12/2013
By ,
Deltona, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing research for over a year and owning a tablet as well. This was a great change for me.
Its hassle free. No more updates, and systems slow down. This does everything you normally do with your regular laptop and more.
No one really disconnect from the internet. Just because you are using other programs is always there. This little darling takes the middleman out of the equation.
You can save things in your cloud drive or flash drives and sd cards. You won't be able to installed new programs. To tell you the truth, I haven't installed a new program in over 12 years. I can watch Netflix, Crackle and Prime Video with out any problems.
I love my chromebook.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+84points
Review 6 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

LOVE the Chromebook

07/02/2013
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read a lot of your questions in the Q&A section below. Before buying, you need to educate yourself on what a chromebook is and does.
Basically, the chromebook is an internet-browser that looks like a small laptop. It contains the operating system called "Chrome OS" which was created by Google. This is a cloud-centric device. You CANNOT download software onto it; you can only use web applications and exensions available through the Chrome Store. Many are free. For those of you who have apple products, tablets, BlackBerry, or android smartphones, you are already familiar with "app stores".
You must be connected to the internet to utilize the majority of the chromebook's functions. This particular Acer chromebook has Wifi it does not have 3G. That means you must be in a Wifi hotspot...either via your router, or in a public place that allows you to connect to Wifi many coffee shops, libraries, hospitals, airports, and other public areas offer free Wifi for guests. When you turn the machine on, it will scan for Wifi, and offer to connect to the strongest signal. The chromebook does have a few offline capabilities. For example, you can read and respond to Gmail while offline offline #this function is available as an app#. And there are some other offline functions. But for the most part, internet connection is needed to perform most functions. So keep that in mind before purchasing.
For those of you who are already using Google's products and services , i.e. Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Drive#, the chromebook will be an easy transition for you. You MUST have a Gmail email address in order to activate the chromebook , but Gmail is free, so you can easily set up a Gmail account.
Some of you are asking about Facebook, YouTube, Skype, etc. There are specific web apps for Facebook and YouTube in the Chrome Store, and YouTube app is already installed on the chromebook when you receive it.
As far as Skype is concerned, you can access Skype by signing up for an Outlook.com account. On Outlook you can have Facebook, Twitter, and Skype integration. But there is also a comparable web app to Skype called "Google Hangouts" which you can install via the Chrome store. That said, your friends would also have to be using Google Hangouts in order for you to talk to them using this app.
The chromebook is simple, and has built-in virus protection. That means that you don't have to worry about installing anti-virus software. And since you cannot download anything onto it, you can't get a computer virus. That said, there are still some web apps/extensions you can download to protect yourself while internet surfing and browsing. Chrome OS also updates itself everytime you turn on the machine; so you don't have to worry about running updates.
In order to print from your chromebook, you need to use Google Cloud Print, which is also an app. But you also have to have a cloud-ready printer. If you have a classic printer, you might still be able to use it, but you will need to check with your manufacturer to see if it is compatible with Google Cloud Print. Some models are, and some aren't. When I bought my chromebook, I chose to purchase a new printer that has built-in wireless, and is specifically compatible with Google Cloud Print. They are not expensive, and you can find them on Walmart.com.
As far as storage is concerned, Acer now has a 16GB SSD #solid state drive#. But as a perk, this chromebook also comes with 100GB of free storage in Google Drive for up to 2 yrs. It's "cloud storage". Once you get your chromebook, you need to go to Google Drive to activate it. This chromebook also comes with some free interent passes to use while flying.
If you use Chrome on multiple devices, you can "sync" everything. For example, if you use Chrome on your PC and save something to Google Drive, you will be able to view it on your chromebook, and vice versa. Chrome is also available for android, so if you download Chrome on your android, you can also view everything on your phone. Because everything is stored via the internet, you can always access your info on multiple devices with an internet connection. This sync feature is ceratainly handy.
The chromebook has USB ports, so you can use an external mouse if you wish, as well as a portable hard drive. It also has an SD card slot, so you can save things to an SD card if the card is standard format. The chromebook does NOT have an optical drive. Battery life is about 4 hours during normal use.
Remember, the chromebook is small; it only has an 11.6" display. One can argue that it's simply a glorified tablet with a keyboard. But I find that a chromebook can do MUCH more than any tablet can do, at an unbeatable price-point. In fact, since I've owned chromebooks, I don't even like using my Windows PC's anymore. 90% of what I need to do on a daily basis, I can do on a chromebook.
Samsung and Acer are the two popular manufacturers of chromebooks -although HP also has some offerings. Acer just removed the 320GB hard drive and replaced it with a 16GB SSD...that is the model I am reviewing here. I deem this Acer a great value, as they added the SSD without raising the price. In my opinion, the Acer has a more vivid display than the Samsung, and a sturdier chassis. You can also expand the memory and SSD. I think this Acer gives you more bang for your buck.
Why is it so cheap you ask? Again, it is not a conventional PC. It has more limited functionality. And you cannot download software. However, I find that I can do just about anything on the chromebook that I normally do on a Windows PC. There are work-arounds, and you just need to find a comparable app or extension from the Chrome Store to assist you.
If you go to Google's Play Store, and then go to "Devices", you will see the chromebooks that are available, and get a good overview. You can also go to the Chrome Store and look at the apps available before you purchase.
Personally, I highly recommend this Acer Chromebook with the 16GB SSD. It's convenient, portable, user-friendly, has a super-fast startup, and will free you from the burdens of Windows. Cloud computing is the way the world is headed. Ditch your slow, outdated PC and get on trend.
If you have any questions, I can try to help you. Just post a comment under my review and I will respond.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+585points
Read Comments (48)
2 of 5 total pages
Read Comments (48)
Customer Avatar
USA
Printer
Posted 11/21/2013
To make it easy, your grandson would need a wireless "cloud ready" printer that is compatible with Google Cloud Print. Many are sold here on Walmart.com, and they are reasonably-priced. As far as games are concerned, you can only play games that have web interfaces. In other words, they have to be internet-based games that do not require any special software to be downloaded. You cannot download software to a chromebook.
0points
Customer Avatar
Main
chrome book
Posted 11/13/2013
Hi I was reading your review as I am thinking of purchasing this for my grandson for school research projects and reports and did not quite understand the printing issues he would have. Would he need a special Printer for this? Also he is in a game club would he still be able to access his game? not sure if you need it but the game is Roblox. Thank you for any input you can give me.
0points
Customer Avatar
WORCESTER COUNTY, MA.
I play games on facebook
Posted 11/08/2013
Does this connect to facebook like a computer and can I play the games I play? I know chrome has their flash player in the reg computer .. does this also?? My tablet cannot play a lot of games because their is no app for it. thank you
0points
Customer Avatar
USA
Flash Player
Posted 10/19/2013
To my understanding, there is an Adobe Flash Player Plugin for Chrome. You would need to install it in order to utilize Flash.
0points
Customer Avatar
USA
Skype via Outlook
Posted 10/19/2013
To video chat using Skype and your Outlook.com account, you need to install the Skype web plugin. To find the plugin, just do a web search.
0points
Customer Avatar
Latham, NY
POGO GAMES
Posted 10/18/2013
I am in NEED and searching for an answer for this computer. My Mom loves her computer it is part of her daily morning and evening. She loves Facebook for keeping in touch, and AOL. But in the evening she plays two card games on Club POGO, Bridge and Canasta. There is something about these games and what they need to run on that some electronic don't have? Will this Chromebook play these two games. Not sure but I think they run with FLASH and JAVA?
0points
Customer Avatar
USA
Microsoft Word
Posted 09/26/2013
Microsoft Word is only available via Microsoft Office 365, which is a paid service that provides Word via a web app. In other words, you cannot use the traditional Microsoft Word, as it is Windows software that must be downloaded. You cannot download software to a chromebook, so everything you use must be in the form of a web application.
0points
Customer Avatar
Chrome book
Posted 09/20/2013
Does this have or can you get Microsoft words.
0points
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Skype
Posted 09/19/2013
Hi,
You mentioned abt accessing Skype via outlook.com. I did merge my skype account and outlook account. Now, I am able to see my skype contacts under 'People'. However, I don't see the option to make a call(video/voice) . It just shows the contact's address. Pls advice.
0points
Customer Avatar
USA
Power Point, Video, etc.
Posted 09/02/2013
No, a chromebook does not have Power Point. Power Point is windows software; you cannot download any software to a chromebook. However, there are alternate applications you may use which are similar to Power Point. They are available in the Chrome Store. If you are referring to a USB memory stick, yes, you can use one. While a chromebook can certainly stream video, remember that it is only an 11.6" screen (small). Bottom line, if you need Power Point specifically, then a chromebook won't work for you. Browse the apps available in the Chrome Store to see if any of the alternate applications can meet your needs. Just type "Google Chrome" into your search bar, and you will see a link for Google Chrome. Once you click on it, you will see a link for "Web Store".
+1point
2 of 5 total pages
Read Comments (48)
Read Comments (48)
Review 7 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Email and web surfing champion!

07/04/2013
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife is not computer literate and doesn't want to be. However, she does use email and wants me to teach her how to surf the web. She's not into using MicroSoft applications nor storing a lot of data. She just wants to be able to email and surf the web. When she becomes more proficient, there are many free Google Apps that she can use to do a myriad of tasks. So don't be fooled, this computer will do more than just email and surf. But for email and surfing, this computer is PERFECT for her and she loves it. Up and running in less than 10 seconds. She also loves the smaller size because it doesn't take up too much room on her desk. This morning, without me teaching her anything about the computer, she had it turned on and was checking her Gmail account! That's how easy it is to use. Then, with a little coaching, she surfed the web and made her first online purchase, a pair of white dress shoes. Our son would say getting Mom to do that was a miracle! You do have to have a WI-FI signal (modem and router) to use this computer because almost everything is done on the web. CON: The computer we purchased yesterday from Walmart had a flaw in the touch pad. The bottom left corner had some interference and was difficult to press. We took it back today and got another computer and it's just fine. The flaw is why I rated it with 4 stars instead of 5. The trick to buying a computer is to know what you intend to use if for before you buy. All in all, this is a great buy for $199.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+68points
Review 8 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Wonderful Computer Worth The Buy !!!

01/05/2014
By ,
NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had this computer for about 2 weeks and I LOVE it and it is a great size computer if you are going to be traveling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 9 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Great notebook for the elderly just learning.

08/31/2013
By ,
Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a fear of computers until I found this littlle beauty.Now I'mgoing all over the net. I am 72 and work 50 hours a week and can't wait until I get home and play with my new toy. If you have a great fear of computers as I did you have to try the baby. This ACER is so easy to learn and navigate. As the saying goes "Try it you'll like it" Thanks ACER for a great product, and very thin,small and sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 10 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Awesome computer

07/09/2013
By ,
san antonio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Acer chrome book is a great computer for someone looking for a computer to do internet browsing, light gaming, and light productivity. It is not for serious gaming, or serious productivity. Too many bad reviews on chromebooks from people who do not understand what they are buying. It is basically a very fast internet only machine, that also uses tons of apps (chrome app store) to play games and do word processing, spreadsheets, etc...
Due to the fact it doesn't run a bulky OS like windows, it doesn't need much processor power to breeze through websites quickly. Its actually much faster than my Toshiba intel I5 on the internet. It boots up from power off to internet ready in under 10 seconds, and standby to internet ready as fast as you can open the lid. However I tried it out at best buy, and due to the fact they have so many machines running on the wifi at the same time it seemed slow in the store. Trust me it is very fast on a good wifi. I don't even use my laptop anymore, chromebook can startup and get me what I need before my laptop even gets to the boot screen. It's painfully slow to use anything else now unless I have to.
Since it is cloud based, everything is auto updated and configured. No reason to do any maintenance, or setup on anything ever. No matter how much you download or use it, it does not affect the computers speed. Literally you can not do anything besides physically break it to make it go slower, since everything is stored in the cloud, not on your physical computer. It actually just keeps getting faster with every update. It is the only computer I have ever used that gets faster as you use it. No worry about viruses/malware because there is no real operating system to infect, no old files to clean out, no registry to maintain, it is all cloud based.
HD 1080p video runs smooth with no frame rate issues, even in full screen. The webcam is great, and video chat works with no issues. The speakers are a little quiet for my taste, but you can hear everything just fine.
You can download music,pics,files,etc... but not any exe. files. The chrome book only runs internet based apps, and apps from the chrome store. The chrome store has a great selection of apps to meet almost every need. So no playing any games or programs you need to download and run like warcraft. Internet based, and app based games work great though. Kind of like a tablet in that respect.
While it only has a 16gb SSD hard drive, you pretty much only need it to temporarily hold files while you transfer them to the cloud, that is where all your data is stored. The 320GB hard drive is larger but much slower. I opted for the smaller faster 16gb SSD one as I store everything online and it allows the machine to run much faster.
Only downsides are
1. You can't pin favorite websites to the desktop, you have to start the browser then pull them off favorites. I'm sure that will be addressed soon as it seems to be a common complaint.
2. Also you need to have a wireless cloud based printer to print directly from chrome book. Otherwise you need to transfer your file to a different PC to print. While it has USB ports, it has limited plug and play, they won't work with printers...yet. USB mice, cameras, cell phones, hard drives all seem to work fine though.
3. It doesn't work with Java, but then again not much is in Java anymore so it probably doesn't matter.
4. Volume a little low for my taste, but still very audible.
While it is not for everyone, if you're looking for a computer to just browse the internet, watch videos, app and internet based gaming, do word and spreadsheets, video chat, etc... this is the one to get. It is stupid simple to use, auto updates and maintains itself, does everything you probably need it to do quickly and efficiently, and if it doesn't do it there is probably an app for it. It's like a fast tablet PC with a large screen, more power, keyboard, and full browser.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+109points
Review 11 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Chromebook

10/30/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really want this chromebook to function like it should. BUT... the internal microphone does not work at all! You figure for the price it would work as its a basic function to communicate to family and friends?? No mic output? Not too happy and feel shafted on the quality. You should buy this if you only want to web surf and watch videos, not to talk to family and friends... since it does not support skype or chat programs outside of google chrome browser.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 12 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Excellent service and product

01/01/2014
By ,
hempstead, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laptop arrived on time and set up was extremely easy. Excellent service and excellent product...would recommend highly walmart.com!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 13 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System
07/27/2013
By ,
winchester
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing speed for such a small item. Priced right and does exactly the things I wanted. Easy to connect to internet. Good product for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 14 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Chromebook is more than what I thought it would be

08/10/2013
By ,
Cisne, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chromebook has everything for that basic computer person in your life whether it is you or that person I think the chromebook does everything you need. I also think that everyone who is a die hard google fan should have a chromebook by now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 15 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Great little computer.

08/09/2013
By ,
Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like my Chromebook. Had to get used to it not being Windows but I've gotten past that now. I have found myself using it more than my bigger laptop. So far no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 16 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Not a great laptop for college students

01/25/2014
By ,
Alma, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this laptop for the Spring 2014 semester. This laptop is a nightmare. I need Adobe Reader to open some pdf files and am unable to download the files due to Adobe not being supported by Android. The computer suggests going to the Google Store to find an app to support Adobe and what do you know? Those downloads aren't supported either! I need to download Blackboard IM for one of my classes and cannot download it either.
I really, really do not like how there is not a copy and paste option as I must use control + c and control + v to copy and paste. If you are thinking about purchasing this laptop for school and are dazzled by the low price- move along! A device that is supported by Windows will meet your needs better than this hunk of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Orlando, FL
Comment to tians001's comment
Posted 02/13/2014
Hi tians001. I read your comment about how you are unable to open some pdf files and unable to download pdf's with this chromebook model. I mean no disrespect to you, but I wanted to point out that I've used this Acer chromebook daily at work for more than 10 months. Every day I make pdf's using Google Docs then download them. I open them with this chromebook, and proofread them on this chromebook. Then I upload them to court websites and email them to opposing counsel using this chromebook. The courts and opposing counsel are able to open and read my pdf's made on this chromebook and sent from this chromebook. Opposing counsels respond by emailing me pdf's, then the courts decide my motions by emailing me orders in pdf format. I open and read all those pdf's using just this chromebook. I do this all day, every day, for more than 10 months now. So I do not know what you mean when you say this chromebook cannot open or download some pdf's. Over 10 month's time, never once did I have a single problem with even one pdf. Again, I mean no disrespect to you in pointing this out. It's just that my experience has been so very different than yours. Best of luck to you.
0points
Customer Avatar
Miami
You Have To Use Chrome Extensions
Posted 01/28/2014
I used both last night for the few hours that my Chromebook actually worked. You probally need a Java extension for blackboard IM..check the chrome store. There is also a PDF converter in the Chrome Store as well. I was able to do both last night but I can't tell you the names of the extensions because my Chromebook is not working due to Google's OS update..ughhh:( check the store you should be able to do this, that is if your Chromebook is working!!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Very Disappointed!!

01/28/2014
By ,
Miami
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this laptop yesterday and absolutely loved it! Well it's not a laptop, its a Chromebook, a little more functional than my iPad at an amazing value. I bought one for my 20 year old college student last fall and was impressed.. so I decided to get one for myself!
I charged it and used it last night for a few hours. This morning I could not get past the "Chrome" screen. I intended to exchange it. As I was putting it into the box, I noticed the "call Acer" sticker. They walked me through a reset but it still didn't work. After spending a day on the phone with Acer, here is what I have learned.. DON'T BUY THIS!! Apparently Google did an update to the operating system within the last 48hrs and it is causing the Acer 710 Chromebooks to not work! The only option is to send it to Acer to be updated and get it back within 3-4 weeks. That IS NOT an option and I am appalled that they would sell such an item. Acer advised me to get the 720 model...but really? I'm supposed to spend another $150 for something that might not work when Google decides to do an OS update?? REALLY?? My 20 year old's is not working either, I guess I will send it in. As for me, I will purchase a different computer. I didn't expect much for $199 but darn..it should at least work! Now, in all fairness..they are working on this and it MIGHT get resolved soon, but no one knows at this point. I've opted for a refund at this time. How could they sell such a non-working item? It is absurd!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Review 18 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Great purchase!

08/17/2013
By ,
Hialeah, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a fast & reliable way to surf the net without a tablet....this is for you! I've had it for a short amount of time but I have no regrets. This is very light to carry around. The start up is within seconds. You can add apps and I love doing video calls/txt with my google account.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 19 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Horrible and difficult to use

10/04/2013
By ,
Clovis, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Google OS has got to be one of the worse OS ever. I would rather being going back to old school Windows 3.1 than use this. Everything has to be on Google cloud (and they give you 2g free for 2 years), even printing. You would have to set up your printer to work on the cloud before you can print. What's the point in having the USB ports then? I would have to say the only thing marginally user friendly is Google doc, but it won't insert pictures or clip arts. I say don't ever get any of the Chromebooks, no matter how inexpensive it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 20 for Acer Iron Gray 11.6" C710-2856 Chromebook with Intel Celeron 847 Processor and Google Chrome Operating System

Great little addition

08/19/2013
By ,
Forny, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one - thought I would give it a try. Loved it so much I got another one for my husband. Very light weight, easy to use, and ready to use. I got an add on mouse - cause I personally don't like the touchpad style...not that theirs is a problem - just a personal choice. I have recommended to my friends already. Great sound and picture. Super value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next