Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Acer Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

Acer Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

The Chill Silver V5-122P-0408 Acer 11.6" Laptop PC delivers full PC performance in a thin and mobile package. At less than 1" slim and just over 3 lbs, the Chill Silver V5-122P-0408 Acer 11.6" Laptop PC features reliable AMD Dual-Core processing and an 11.6" HD Touch display that makes the most of Windows 8 letting you touch, swipe and tap your way through the web. With a full-size keyboard and superb connectivity, you can stay productive wherever you are!
Average Customer Rating:
3.267 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation67%10 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

Not what I expected

04/14/2014
By ,
Hood River, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this based on good reviews and the fact that it came with Windows 8 already installed. But, if you don't have access to a wireless connection you could have difficulty using this product. The outside of the box stated that you could connect via ethernet. There is a micro port for this purpose so I bought an adapter since none was included in the package. The port is not a standard size. There was little documentation and I could not find website support nor info from Acer or Gateway on where I could find an appropriate adapter for this purpose. Tried the usual box stores to no avail.
Also, just as frustrating, is the fact that I cannot use the touch screen nor the mouse on pull down menus on sites that use older software.
The cover is plastic and scratches easily.
In short because I do not have a wireless connection, and I have to use a website that has older technology for my work. I find I cannot use this at all. I can't take it back now so it was a waste of $348.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

Excellent laptop for simple usage-Slow but fixable

03/10/2014
By ,
Independence Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally bought this mini laptop for traveling so I could watch movies on it and surf the web when I am on the go and when I got it I fell in love! It has allot of memory and HDD space being that it is a tiny 11.6' laptop! (I chose the smallest one of the 3)
I will admit it was incredibly leggy when I got it home and most of that was McAfee doing all kinds of updates. I uninstalled McAfee and went to run msconfig and disabled allot of the non windows programs to lower the CPU usage and boy that sped up the computer like crazy! Went from 99% CPU usage to 14% and now everything is incredibly fast and I am 99% satisfied. I would be completely satisfied if it had an HDMI port but I am sure I can find a compatible cord for my TV or maybe the acer website has a USB to HDMI cord or something like that.
I highly recommend this mini laptop!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

Slow Slow Slow

07/15/2013
By ,
Alexandria Va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I set this machine initially up and it seemed quite easy and the actual feel of the machine seemed like exactly what I had wanted. Then I began navigating Windows 8 which was a bit time consuming as I had yet to play with this, but I was moving through this as well. Then the fun began, on the tiles page every app I opened took between 45 seconds to a minute to open and I didn't see a way to close them short of going through task manager, which also took over a minute to open. Again this could be the unfamiliarity of Windows 8. I then thought perhaps opening an app initially took this long, but reopening took the same amount of time. Then it was on to the internet. Opening pages was as if I were back on dial up. I tested my internet speed with two other laptops and the issue clearly was with the Acer. The final straw came when I attempted to connect this machine wirelessly to my printer. Again I had three total computers all hooked up wirelessly. No matter what I did I could not connect. So I took this back and will try to find something new.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
More knowlage
Posted 07/20/2013
Part of the problem was you didn't know how to use Windows 8 (youtube helps) The other part would be that yes the computer would be a little slow. Dual core Processors are old and not that fast. I suggest researching these things before buying. Better luck next time.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

Sleek and does it all

03/07/2014
By ,
Roanoke rapids, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a pc technician and I like small laptops and large phones. I don't understand why anyone would want a 17" laptop, (my lap isn't even that big), but I completely understand having a large phone that you can't cram into your pocket. Anyway, this is a nice laptop, I like it. But NEVER, never let this laptop go into sleep mode, there will be no battery left. Shut it down completely or change the settings so that it will hibernate when you close the lid or maybe shutdown when you press the power button. (hibernate saves your computer state, shuts down, and boots exactly as you had it.) There were issues with this laptop downloading or using apps which were nearly all resolved with the free update to 8.1 and other updates. Apps had to be updated before use, I found that irritating as they wouldn't update until I did the system updates (and there was no indication that it needed system updates first, it just stayed downloading apps forever). There is no backlight on this model. The power plug is 2 prong, but is large and round and slighty runs into the space of another socket, but I resolve it by using a portable surge protector (an extension cord would work too). It comes with a vga port cable for the Acer port which I find completely useless (why would I plug it into a larger screen?) It should have been an ethernet or USB cable instead. After a complete shutdown it boots and is ready in 5-15 seconds (not including the first boot time of about 5 minutes). It does sometimes boot in 5 seconds. It boots from hibernation in 15 seconds. It runs quietly and won't ever disturb anyone unless your playing music (the music would be your fault, use the audio jack). It has a 10-point touchscreen and I don't know why anyone would feel the need to touch the screen with all of their fingers and 2 thumbs. why? It's 11.6 inches, but matches the size of an 8x11" sheet of paper exactly (because screens are measured diagonally, not horizontally). I still can't purchase an app because it says my internet speed is too slow and I'll point out that I have high speed cable internet. Oh well, I'll never buy an app then. The webcam is good. It captures movement well without the horrible blur that my $25 webcam had. I haven't tested the microphone. This is my first experience with windows 8, so I get to play with the ability to use 2 apps side by side or an app and whatever is running on the desktop. The battery life is a short 3 hours, but you can't keep it plugged in all the time (batteries need to exercise their power cells in order to hold a charge for when you need those 3 hours). I have installed World of Warcraft not knowing if this little laptop could run it and it does. (Unlike most games World of Warcraft is graphics card and RAM dependent, not processor dependent) I put the game settings on low and join dungeons to my heart's content with zero noticeable lag. The framerate gets as high as 27 and averages at 15 (with or without my favorite addons). I can do dungeons with the best of them, I don't think I'd try a raid. I'm considering buying a cooling pad as the fans do get blowing and blow very hot (burning hot, yet quiet) air from the side vent when I play for over 2 hours and I worry about it's tiny componets getting overheated.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

Great size and value!

03/27/2014
By ,
san mateo, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had been looking for a small laptop for a decent price and so far have not been disappointed! Some of the other reviews mentioned hours of downloading updates to window's 8. I have not had the same experience at all. Also being new to window's 8, I have found the adjustment easier by using a mouse instead of the touch screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

It's just awesome ^.^

03/12/2014
By ,
Eagle Pass, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is great for a beginner like myself so yeah...It's easy and cheap!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

Great Notebook for Basic Needs

07/29/2013
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This notebook is very good to do basic functions, such as school work, navigating, listening to music, etc. At first, the computer was really slow in performance (opening apps, programs, etc.). However, I found what was slowing down this nice computer. After uninstalling the McAfee Anti-Virus everything started running as intended. Windows 8 comes with full Defender Security suite which is much faster and better. I recommend removing McAfee if you want to boost your performance. Either way, this is only a trial version (McAfee) and it is useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Roanoke rapids, NC
Not entirely basic
Posted 03/07/2014
I play World of Warcraft on this with settings on low and have yet to notice any lag beyond the initial environment loading at login. I bought it to work on documents and am surprised that it can run the game. This laptop loads webpages slow, not nearly as slow as dial-up (does anyone still use dial-up?). I'll be trying to avoid browsing the internet on it. It streams video from Netflix smoothly, though. It does open apps slow, but since this is my first Windows 8 experience I don't know if apps are supposed to take 20-40 seconds to open or not. I uninstalled McAfee (along with apps I never plan to use) since I have a subscription with Norton. I plan to upgrade the RAM if I can find where the heck they hid it. Maybe I'll pull the instructions out of the box.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

not good

04/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
to slow, updates on its own...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

not worth it

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
computer is really small and no dvd player.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

Well worth the money

07/29/2013
By ,
Philippines
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The features that come with this notebook make it a good buy for the money. I quite happy with this product. Recommend to all. Good value
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

Fantastic sleekbook

03/28/2014
By ,
Milan, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Acer Sleekbook meets all my expectations. It is definately the best little laptop I have ever owned
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

Returning it.

03/06/2014
By ,
Denver, CO.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wouldn't accept any plug ins or use my on line account.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8

Great portable NB for school

07/31/2013
By ,
laguna beach, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little Touch NB for carrying around to class. Getting used to Windows 8 slowly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Acer Sleekbook Silver 11.6" V5-122P-0862 Touch Laptop PC with AMD A4-1250 Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, Touchscreen and Windows 8
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5