Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Poulan Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

Poulan Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

Though it's "featherlite" at only 3 pounds, its performance is anything but. Powerful 25 cc engine eases through the toughest shrubs. Also features a 17-inch cutting path, TNG VI dual-exit head and a long, 52-inch shaft with an adjustable handle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation90%18 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

Works Great.

05/29/2008
By ,
Gardner, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this at a local WalMart and have to say it is one of the best string trimmers I have owned. It is lite weight and well balanced.
I have a bad back and with the long shaft I am able to stand up straight when I am weed eating, instead of being bent over with the curved shaft models.
It is also very easy to start.
I would recommend this product to anyone that is looking for a new string trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

Affordable and Great

07/06/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a gas trimmer because i didn't want a corded one because of the limits as to where they can go, and the cordless are limited by battery life, so i started looking around. This weed eater was cheap, had good power, and got good rating at consumer reports. I bought it and got it started pretty quickly off the cold (even though it did take a little effort). I used it to knock out some extremely tall weeds on my property. The weeds wrapped around it one time which i thought was pretty good for 90 dollars. I then used it for trimming and it performed great. I stopped for a little while and came back to it and the trimmer started in one pull. This trimmer is lightweight, can handle the heavy stuff, and trim the light stuff nicely. If you don't want to spend the 150 to 200 dollars on the echo, husqvarna, or stihl then you cant go wrong with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

a major pain to start

04/22/2009
By ,
lufkin, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i liked the idea of a gas weed eater, but other than being cordless this machine is a pain. It takes a lot to start it, and for almost 100.00 i expected more. We could have purchased a much cheaper one for the same quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

Weed Eater

05/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great powerful product. Saves your back..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

Very displeased!

08/10/2008
By ,
Muscatine, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product because I owned a Weed Eater brand prior to it. I read reviews and this seemed like a slam dunk. The unit does start easy and is very well balanced. The problem? The head rotates counter-clockwise! I am right handed and have NEVER seen a weed eater cutter rotate clounter clockwise. If you are right handed and walking left to right as the manual says you will get blasted with material! I thought maybe it was put together wrong until I saw the blade on the shield that cuts the line was made for a counter clockwise rotation. Also, walking left to right on a unit going this way lesses the cutting effectiveness. I took it back today and paid to have my old one repaired. STAY AWAY FOR THIS THING!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

Hard to Do Better in a String Trimmers

06/07/2008
By ,
Western NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When my seven year old gas trimmer started to need parts replaced, I started looking before I got stuck. The old unit was a standard WeedEater curved shaft that survived two new constructed homes and tough mountain terrain. I can't imagine anything any tougher in the US. It tamed both properties and I got a lot out of my $79.00 investment.
Even though I wanted to get another WeedEater, money was not the object and i decided to look arund online a read reviews.
At the end of the day a Popular Mechanics review had me looking at the SST. However owner reviews were sparse and not too positive. I decided after looking that there was not much more you can get with a trimmer and the weight difference was obvious. So I bought the SST. After one run around heavy brush in the back and refined flower / shrub displays in the front, I am 100% satisfied and highly recommend the product. Its powerful, its quiet and its easy on string. Its also pretty low emissions for those of us who must use gas tools at our chagrin.
Overall value is outstanding. One tip for any sting trimmer. Do not assume full choke is needed to start. I read all these tales of people who go crazy starting things. This unit likes to be in partial choke after you try a few in full choke. Don't flood it with the primer and its starts right up. Once running adjust the choke as you trigger it, for smooth power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

Very Good Trimmer

04/28/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really like this trimmer. When I pulled it out of the box and noticed there was no shoulder strap, I immediately started trying to figure out how I would get one attached. However, after the first use, it is very lightweight and balanced and does not need the extra support. Was a little quirky to get started first time out, but once up and running, it runs very smoothly without much vibration. Only real complaint is that even as a straight shaft, it is a little shorter than I would prefer (I'm about 6'1"). Overall a very good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

SST Gas Trimmer

09/06/2009
By ,
Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros & Cons.
It was hard to start at first and sometimes wants to die out.probably the gas mixture? It has to be mixed just right.The auto feed feature is very touchy and releases the line faster then you may wish. When it runs right,it does a good job. I had an older weedeater before this one and it was much easier to crank and ran much better.Over all, this is a good value.Just expect to have a few cranking problems until you get the right fuel mixture.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

Well Worth It

02/08/2009
By ,
ft worth tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a landscaper for many years i've used MANY of the high end brands but starting my own business a year ago i bought cheap. I bought this trimmer in march of 08 and mow up to 12 yards a day 5 days a week and this sucker is still kickin. I've never had it repaired and only have had to replace a $10 air filter. This year i'm upgrading my mowers and chansaws but my truck and my trimmer are here to stay. A great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

Easy to use

05/21/2009
By ,
Chesapeake, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item so I could start weed eating our yard so my husband wouldn't have to and so I could also weed eat my parents yard. I've used it 4 times so far and every time it has started right up and done a great job. It is lightweight and easy to handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

Good WeedEater

07/08/2008
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only complaint is that when you do tall grass or weeds. The weeds wrap around the shaft and stall the trimmer. If they could make a shield that would not allow this it would make the trimmer great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

Weed Eater Featherlite SST Gas Trimmer

04/29/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Extremely lightweight. Easy to handle. Seems to have no problem on light weeds, but is a little sluggish on the larger stuff.
However, would highly recommened for anyone trimming light grass.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

Does the job!

05/17/2009
By ,
KC , MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The weed eater does the job but could have better handling on it. I do like it though and for the price it does great. i would def recommend this product.
thanks
blessings
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

He likes it!!!!

03/23/2009
By ,
Bossier City, Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my husband and he loves it. Its very easy to work and light weight as well. If my husband is happy than I am happy too!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer
04/09/2009
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The shaft is just long enough and the unit itself light enough that it does not put a great strain on your back. Very good product!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer

Fuel line

06/29/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ive had mine 5 years and the fuel line just now messed up.Its been a pretty good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer
04/14/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only one problem, fuel line in fuel tank is not a good idea.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Weed Eater Featherlite 17" 25cc Gas Trimmer
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5