Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Generic Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

This Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill Driver features Ni-Cd technology for long life on a single charge. Featuring a 20-position torque clutch, it's easy to get just the right amount of force behind each item that you drill. This powerful portable drill saves time and effort with a 3/8" keyless chuck for quick bit changes. The variable speed trigger gives you smooth, accurate control for drilling by fastening through multiple layers of assorted material while helping to prevent "over-drilling" as density changes. This item includes a built-in work light for working in hard-to-see places. A simple forward and reverse switch makes putting in and taking out fasteners simple with this 12V drill. The double-end driver bit that's included with this device will help you get started right away. When the battery of the Ultra Steel drill dies, you can recharge it easily using the charging stand and adapter.
Average Customer Rating:
4.121 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation84%49 out of 58reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Need Extra Battery for this Drill?

02/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you have read the reviews on this Ultra Steel 12 Cordless Drill/Driver you can see that the all round performance is good, especially when you consider the value of it's price at $17.19.
Nevertheless, consumers reviews acknowledge the fact that there is NO Replacement battery to use as a secondary back-up power source, if the primary battery's charge is depleted. Reviews comment that a spare battery is not available anywhere, even from the manufacturer.
However, this statement is not entirely true. You can purchase a replacement battery for back-up, and it is sold at a very reasonable price when compared to the standard average price of replacement Ni-cad batteries on the market today.
For a great price you can purchase a secondary battery, that comes with charger and it's only $17.19. In addition to the battery and charger, a new drill is also included, and sold at your local Walmart store..
It is listed as "Ultra Steel 12 Cordless Drill/Driver" and you can purchase it for the price of $17.19, at - Walmart #: 551142549.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Great Drill for 25 Dollars

04/13/2014
By ,
Cape Coral, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I went to the store looking for a drill I was really contemplating whether I wanted to spend the extra 30 dollars for a Black and Decker drill or just take my chance on the 25 dollar drill. I thought what the heck for twenty five dollars I'll take the chance and if I don't work I'll throw it away and buy a Black & Decker. Well I just use this around the house for some basic things and maybe if need to rebuild a cabinet or something. Now I have had this handy little drill for a little over a year and it has not failed me yet. One thing I really like is it has a l.e.d. light on it that lights up the area you are drilling when pull the trigger. I did not see this on any of the Black and Decker drills. Now I am sure it will not last 10 years like a Black and Decker; howerver, for 25 dollars if it last two years I will be happy. The only thing I did notice is if you charge it and leave the battery off the charger after two days it will be dead so I just leave it on the charger and take it off once in a while for a couple of days while not using it. For 25 bucks worth the money and has served me well!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

This drill works better than expected!!!

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this drill to replace an old drill I had with a built-in none changeable battery. I liked the drill also because it has a light to light up your work area. I used this to put in and remove screws for locks and doors. When it worked great for that, I then used it in my car for unscrewing the factory screws to remove old radio. Finally...it was time for the real work...
I used this drill in combination with my drill bit sets, to make the holes in the wall through the wooded studs to mount a TV!
Worked great on ALL of these projects...only charged the battery ONCE when I first got it and these jobs all spanned over a week!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Totally Surprised! Very impressed!

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rarely am moved by a product enough to bother to review it... but Wow! This is the little drill that could! It's very light, but very powerful. I doubt your going to drive 8" lag bolts through a 4x4 with it... but for dry wall or a decking... This is one tough little unit! I just redid my 50 foot dock with inch & a half treated lumber, and it made it 3/4 the way on the charge out of the box! That was counter sinking the heck out of 2" deck screws. Then I used it to do drywall in a 12x14 room and it made it all the way to the last sheet before it died! My craftsmans (which I've had for 7 years) batteries are toast, waiting for replacement batteries. So I grabbed this unit for $14 at Wal-Mart to fill in. I like this $14 drill better than that $150 craftsman! Love it even.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

EZ

06/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
better than hand tool's .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

This drill works great!

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a smaller drill/driver that came as a part of a home tool kit I had previously purchased from Walmart. It worked fine but was not adequate for larger jobs. I purchased the Ultrasteel 12V cordless drill/driver when my daughter needed a stronger driver to put together a bed she was building. After reading the reviews and since I didn't want to spend a lot of money, I purchased this drill. We are both very satisfied with the performance and encourage you to read the reviews on all products before purchasing. They are very helpful and will save you a lot of time and effort.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Cordless Drill

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Works great

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For my home needs it is perfect
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Excellent Value!

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gets it done in half the price. I have used it ti drill holes and also as a driver and it works really well. The battery lasts a long time too.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Nice features, but lacks in power

12/04/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted to try this, because it's smaller in size than the 18v units. The rubberized handle, smallish battery, (somewhat dim)led light and overall feel were nicer than the price would suggest. The charger was very nice as well, with an led charge level indicator. I returned it, because, when fully charged, it just didn't have the torque I was looking for. I instead bought the 18v B&D unit for 10 bucks more at Walmart. Yes, it's more bulky, but the thing is a beast in the power department. Another thing I like far more about the B&D unit, is that the power button can gradually be pushed, greatly metering the power and speed. On the UltraSteel, it was basically on and off, without the precision of the B&D. The other reason I traded over, was that my last B&D bought around 2003, just died last year. I just don't know about the UltraSteel's longevity.The ultrasteel did feel better in my hand though. Also, while the UltraSteel charger was full featured, while the B&D simply comes with a cord, and basically no way to tell when it's fully charged. I would have happily kept this drill, if I used it only for light duty work.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
From Ultra Steel Product Expert12/08/2014
Pokechopsnapplesauce-

Glad to hear you like the fit and features of the Ultra Steel 12v Cordless Drill/Driver. I definitely understand that some task require a bit more "power." Walmart now offers the new Ultra Steel 18v Cordless Drill/Driver with two speed setting to ensure that you have the right drill for the job. Great features and value!Matt
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Very good one for the price

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It feels like a little bigger and heavier than other 12V ones, but it's quite good one for the price. I believe nothing can beat the price. I've used it several times only but the quality seems quite good. Don't know yet how long the battery lasts. Other than that, I am very satisfied with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

06/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Much better than expected. I bought this as my older Black & Decker has seen it's last days. I had that drill for many years years but it dies not hold a charge for long. So I did not want to spend a lot on a cordless drill. I have a plug in drill that is for bigger projects or for more power. So I needed a cordless for those times where you can't have a cord drill. This is really a good drill. No complaints. Love the light also. It comes in very handy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Great little drill

06/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this mainly for twisting, and or straightening Kanthal wire when making coils for e-cigarette atomizers, and the occasional quick fix for things around the house. Very good little drill, the built in light it pretty handy, and the way I use it, the battery lasts for a long time. Very good deal for the money
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

very easy to use

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works well
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

drill

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent, very powerful and easy to use
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Affordable and it works!

05/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was kind of hesitant about it due to the price but took the chance either way. Happy to report that price doesn't always define quality! It works very well and lasts charged for quite some time. I definitely won't judge a book by it's cover ever again!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

great drill

05/21/2014
By ,
saratoga springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this drill for only twenty bucks was a little worried about the price but to my surprise it is an excellent drill with a lot of features
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

ultra steel 12V cordless Drill/Driver

05/30/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is comfortable in your hand, but not very powerful. Would re-think if had to buy again. I use this drill inside for small/medium jobs. It is adequate for small, light jobs, but too weak for anything larger.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Don't Waste your Money

05/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This drill is not powerful enough !
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

cordless drill

05/22/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
for a tool that i don,t use everyday, works great,
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1 2 3 Next