Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Generic Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

This Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill Driver features Ni-Cd technology for long life on a single charge. Featuring a 20-position torque clutch, it's easy to get just the right amount of force behind each item that you drill. This powerful portable drill saves time and effort with a 3/8" keyless chuck for quick bit changes. The variable speed trigger gives you smooth, accurate control for drilling by fastening through multiple layers of assorted material while helping to prevent "over-drilling" as density changes. This item includes a built-in work light for working in hard-to-see places. A simple forward and reverse switch makes putting in and taking out fasteners simple with this 12V drill. The double-end driver bit that's included with this device will help you get started right away. When the battery of the Ultra Steel drill dies, you can recharge it easily using the charging stand and adapter.
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation84%38 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 56 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Great Drill for 25 Dollars

04/13/2014
By ,
Cape Coral, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I went to the store looking for a drill I was really contemplating whether I wanted to spend the extra 30 dollars for a Black and Decker drill or just take my chance on the 25 dollar drill. I thought what the heck for twenty five dollars I'll take the chance and if I don't work I'll throw it away and buy a Black & Decker. Well I just use this around the house for some basic things and maybe if need to rebuild a cabinet or something. Now I have had this handy little drill for a little over a year and it has not failed me yet. One thing I really like is it has a l.e.d. light on it that lights up the area you are drilling when pull the trigger. I did not see this on any of the Black and Decker drills. Now I am sure it will not last 10 years like a Black and Decker; howerver, for 25 dollars if it last two years I will be happy. The only thing I did notice is if you charge it and leave the battery off the charger after two days it will be dead so I just leave it on the charger and take it off once in a while for a couple of days while not using it. For 25 bucks worth the money and has served me well!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Need Extra Battery for this Drill?

02/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you have read the reviews on this Ultra Steel 12 Cordless Drill/Driver you can see that the all round performance is good, especially when you consider the value of it's price at $17.19.
Nevertheless, consumers reviews acknowledge the fact that there is NO Replacement battery to use as a secondary back-up power source, if the primary battery's charge is depleted. Reviews comment that a spare battery is not available anywhere, even from the manufacturer.
However, this statement is not entirely true. You can purchase a replacement battery for back-up, and it is sold at a very reasonable price when compared to the standard average price of replacement Ni-cad batteries on the market today.
For a great price you can purchase a secondary battery, that comes with charger and it's only $17.19. In addition to the battery and charger, a new drill is also included, and sold at your local Walmart store..
It is listed as "Ultra Steel 12 Cordless Drill/Driver" and you can purchase it for the price of $17.19, at - Walmart #: 551142549.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

This drill works better than expected!!!

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this drill to replace an old drill I had with a built-in none changeable battery. I liked the drill also because it has a light to light up your work area. I used this to put in and remove screws for locks and doors. When it worked great for that, I then used it in my car for unscrewing the factory screws to remove old radio. Finally...it was time for the real work...
I used this drill in combination with my drill bit sets, to make the holes in the wall through the wooded studs to mount a TV!
Worked great on ALL of these projects...only charged the battery ONCE when I first got it and these jobs all spanned over a week!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

cordless drill

05/22/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
for a tool that i don,t use everyday, works great,
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Good for the money

05/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's great if you need an inexpensive Drew.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Totally Surprised! Very impressed!

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rarely am moved by a product enough to bother to review it... but Wow! This is the little drill that could! It's very light, but very powerful. I doubt your going to drive 8" lag bolts through a 4x4 with it... but for dry wall or a decking... This is one tough little unit! I just redid my 50 foot dock with inch & a half treated lumber, and it made it 3/4 the way on the charge out of the box! That was counter sinking the heck out of 2" deck screws. Then I used it to do drywall in a 12x14 room and it made it all the way to the last sheet before it died! My craftsmans (which I've had for 7 years) batteries are toast, waiting for replacement batteries. So I grabbed this unit for $14 at Wal-Mart to fill in. I like this $14 drill better than that $150 craftsman! Love it even.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Nice features, but lacks in power

12/04/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted to try this, because it's smaller in size than the 18v units. The rubberized handle, smallish battery, (somewhat dim)led light and overall feel were nicer than the price would suggest. The charger was very nice as well, with an led charge level indicator. I returned it, because, when fully charged, it just didn't have the torque I was looking for. I instead bought the 18v B&D unit for 10 bucks more at Walmart. Yes, it's more bulky, but the thing is a beast in the power department. Another thing I like far more about the B&D unit, is that the power button can gradually be pushed, greatly metering the power and speed. On the UltraSteel, it was basically on and off, without the precision of the B&D. The other reason I traded over, was that my last B&D bought around 2003, just died last year. I just don't know about the UltraSteel's longevity.The ultrasteel did feel better in my hand though. Also, while the UltraSteel charger was full featured, while the B&D simply comes with a cord, and basically no way to tell when it's fully charged. I would have happily kept this drill, if I used it only for light duty work.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
From Ultra Steel Product Expert12/08/2014
Pokechopsnapplesauce-

Glad to hear you like the fit and features of the Ultra Steel 12v Cordless Drill/Driver. I definitely understand that some task require a bit more "power." Walmart now offers the new Ultra Steel 18v Cordless Drill/Driver with two speed setting to ensure that you have the right drill for the job. Great features and value!Matt
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

good

05/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

great drill

05/21/2014
By ,
saratoga springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this drill for only twenty bucks was a little worried about the price but to my surprise it is an excellent drill with a lot of features
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Cheap and Works Great!

07/04/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap and Works Great! I'm a Scrapper and it takes longer to unscrew and take apart items the ol' time way...lol...this drill is nice!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Best for the buck.

03/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great cordless drill. I re-model the whole kitchen with it and still working perfect.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Good Price, decent product for my needs

05/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can find nothing wrong with this product, was what I expected and needed. I do not use a lot but nice to have something around when needed..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

very good product

05/21/2014
By ,
illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
for the price i paid, i think i cannot get any better product. works great and get the job done. i bought it for drilling the kitchen cabinets to install handle in them. it workedddd..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

wast of money

03/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i just bought the drill and the instructions are not helpful you can not loosen the piece to use it as a driver. this is a big wast of money. I do not recommend this
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

more than i expected

03/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for the price this drill is awesome
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Could not get in touch with manufacturer

01/21/2014
By ,
Sanibel Fl.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted to buy a second battery but the manufacturer will not respond to my online requests.
Because of that I do not recommend this drill. It seems to work fine but if it fails where will that leave me?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Littleton, colorado
suggestion
Posted 06/05/2014
If it fails, just buy another drill. The price of a battery from the Mfr.
will probably cost (almost) as much as a new drill anyway. (You'll also
have to pay for shipping).
In fact, why wait until it fails. Buy a another drill now. Then you'll have
not only a spare battery, but a spare complete drill.
0points
Customer Avatar
second battery
Posted 02/22/2014
It's only about $20 bucks for the whole thing. Just buy another drill and have a extra battery and charger. Another battery will probably cost more than that.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

poor

02/14/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this drill two days ago and when I got home and took it out of the box it looked at least a year old it is wore scratched all over and the battery charger didn't work either so I'm taken it back hopefully get my money back.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Great drill

12/16/2013
By ,
Cleveland,Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great drill, easy to use and durable. my husband loves the drill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

good for house use

02/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
for the money it does the job
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

12v cordless drill

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 3 years my drill finally gave out battery won't stay charged needed some thing quick before I looked into buying a better drill and am presently surprised how good this works for so little money battery holds a good charge after about 6 recharges power is not bad for price at all would definitely recommend to any one
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next