Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Generic Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

This Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill Driver features Ni-Cd technology for long life on a single charge. Featuring a 20-position torque clutch, it's easy to get just the right amount of force behind each item that you drill. This powerful portable drill saves time and effort with a 3/8" keyless chuck for quick bit changes. The variable speed trigger gives you smooth, accurate control for drilling by fastening through multiple layers of assorted material while helping to prevent "over-drilling" as density changes. This item includes a built-in work light for working in hard-to-see places. A simple forward and reverse switch makes putting in and taking out fasteners simple with this 12V drill. The double-end driver bit that's included with this device will help you get started right away. When the battery of the Ultra Steel drill dies, you can recharge it easily using the charging stand and adapter.
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation85%29 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Nice features, but lacks in power

12/04/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted to try this, because it's smaller in size than the 18v units. The rubberized handle, smallish battery, (somewhat dim)led light and overall feel were nicer than the price would suggest. The charger was very nice as well, with an led charge level indicator. I returned it, because, when fully charged, it just didn't have the torque I was looking for. I instead bought the 18v B&D unit for 10 bucks more at Walmart. Yes, it's more bulky, but the thing is a beast in the power department. Another thing I like far more about the B&D unit, is that the power button can gradually be pushed, greatly metering the power and speed. On the UltraSteel, it was basically on and off, without the precision of the B&D. The other reason I traded over, was that my last B&D bought around 2003, just died last year. I just don't know about the UltraSteel's longevity.The ultrasteel did feel better in my hand though. Also, while the UltraSteel charger was full featured, while the B&D simply comes with a cord, and basically no way to tell when it's fully charged. I would have happily kept this drill, if I used it only for light duty work.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
From Ultra Steel Product Expert12/08/2014
Pokechopsnapplesauce-

Glad to hear you like the fit and features of the Ultra Steel 12v Cordless Drill/Driver. I definitely understand that some task require a bit more "power." Walmart now offers the new Ultra Steel 18v Cordless Drill/Driver with two speed setting to ensure that you have the right drill for the job. Great features and value!Matt
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Great Drill for 25 Dollars

04/13/2014
By ,
Cape Coral, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I went to the store looking for a drill I was really contemplating whether I wanted to spend the extra 30 dollars for a Black and Decker drill or just take my chance on the 25 dollar drill. I thought what the heck for twenty five dollars I'll take the chance and if I don't work I'll throw it away and buy a Black & Decker. Well I just use this around the house for some basic things and maybe if need to rebuild a cabinet or something. Now I have had this handy little drill for a little over a year and it has not failed me yet. One thing I really like is it has a l.e.d. light on it that lights up the area you are drilling when pull the trigger. I did not see this on any of the Black and Decker drills. Now I am sure it will not last 10 years like a Black and Decker; howerver, for 25 dollars if it last two years I will be happy. The only thing I did notice is if you charge it and leave the battery off the charger after two days it will be dead so I just leave it on the charger and take it off once in a while for a couple of days while not using it. For 25 bucks worth the money and has served me well!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

This drill works better than expected!!!

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this drill to replace an old drill I had with a built-in none changeable battery. I liked the drill also because it has a light to light up your work area. I used this to put in and remove screws for locks and doors. When it worked great for that, I then used it in my car for unscrewing the factory screws to remove old radio. Finally...it was time for the real work...
I used this drill in combination with my drill bit sets, to make the holes in the wall through the wooded studs to mount a TV!
Worked great on ALL of these projects...only charged the battery ONCE when I first got it and these jobs all spanned over a week!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Totally Surprised! Very impressed!

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rarely am moved by a product enough to bother to review it... but Wow! This is the little drill that could! It's very light, but very powerful. I doubt your going to drive 8" lag bolts through a 4x4 with it... but for dry wall or a decking... This is one tough little unit! I just redid my 50 foot dock with inch & a half treated lumber, and it made it 3/4 the way on the charge out of the box! That was counter sinking the heck out of 2" deck screws. Then I used it to do drywall in a 12x14 room and it made it all the way to the last sheet before it died! My craftsmans (which I've had for 7 years) batteries are toast, waiting for replacement batteries. So I grabbed this unit for $14 at Wal-Mart to fill in. I like this $14 drill better than that $150 craftsman! Love it even.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

good drill

12/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good for the price point does everything I need it to do around the house
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

not what i expected

12/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not enough power.... for ral use .. had to go back to using my corded drill for real power...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Good Price but surprise!

12/05/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I gave it three stars for price, not giving it five for the fact it does not come with any bits! At all! I've had to place another order for just bits!! I think it should state that!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

love it

12/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it. a great holiday gift
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

great drill

05/21/2014
By ,
saratoga springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this drill for only twenty bucks was a little worried about the price but to my surprise it is an excellent drill with a lot of features
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Good Price, decent product for my needs

05/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can find nothing wrong with this product, was what I expected and needed. I do not use a lot but nice to have something around when needed..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

20 dollars well spent

11/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
$20 well spent the little light that comes on when you screw stuff in is very helpful
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Could not get in touch with manufacturer

01/21/2014
By ,
Sanibel Fl.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted to buy a second battery but the manufacturer will not respond to my online requests.
Because of that I do not recommend this drill. It seems to work fine but if it fails where will that leave me?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Littleton, colorado
suggestion
Posted 06/05/2014
If it fails, just buy another drill. The price of a battery from the Mfr.
will probably cost (almost) as much as a new drill anyway. (You'll also
have to pay for shipping).
In fact, why wait until it fails. Buy a another drill now. Then you'll have
not only a spare battery, but a spare complete drill.
0points
Customer Avatar
second battery
Posted 02/22/2014
It's only about $20 bucks for the whole thing. Just buy another drill and have a extra battery and charger. Another battery will probably cost more than that.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Cheap and Works Great!

07/04/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap and Works Great! I'm a Scrapper and it takes longer to unscrew and take apart items the ol' time way...lol...this drill is nice!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

great little drill

08/31/2014
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little drill. It will do any small job. I used it to take down a metal shed. For stubborn screws I helped it out by applying a little pressure on the trigger and then turned the screw by turning the drill by hand when screws broke loose finished taking them out with the trigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

inexpensive and reasonably tough

10/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this drill was inexpensive enough that I bought one, because I had lost the battery charger for the first one that I bought.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

backup drill

10/11/2014
By ,
Salem Il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A handy little drill , a very good deal
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Great drill for home projects!

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for me to make repairs in my apartment and basic assembly jobs. Great price. Charges quickly and very powerful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

Works better than I expected

10/08/2014
By ,
North Ft Myers, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This drill works excellent and does more than I expected. The light is a nice feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

buy a better product

07/28/2014
By ,
Central Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After only a few times to use the drill/driver the screw holding the
chuck to the body of the tool snapped into. I contacted Ultra Steel
to buy a replacement screw. I was told repair parts were unavailable
that my only recourse was to return the drill/driver to the place of
purchase...... The screw is metric and left hand threads. No
hardware store in my city stocks such.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mpls,mn
buy a better product
Posted 08/18/2014
traveler856...look in the phone book for any power tool supplier for contractors and
they will also list if they do cordless tool repairs.
it is lefthanded metric so just bring it in and let them try a few
i'm willing to bet you they would have one and for probably less than $2,good luck
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Ultra Steel 12V Cordless Drill/Driver

very good product

05/21/2014
By ,
illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
for the price i paid, i think i cannot get any better product. works great and get the job done. i bought it for drilling the kitchen cabinets to install handle in them. it workedddd..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next