Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Toshiba Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

The Satin Black Toshiba Laptop PC C55-A5220 has everything you need to compute on the go. Microsoft Windows 8 Operating System lets you complete any task. Connect with friends and family on the Satin Black Toshiba Laptop PC C55-A5220 built-in webcam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.27 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(211 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
124
4 stars
58
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation88%186 out of 211reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 99 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
124
4 stars
58
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

No Complaints!

09/26/2013
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this computer against my husband's better judgment. He is more of a "name brand" sort of guy, where I just wanted something cheap to get the job done -- internet, occasional online TV and video streaming, and some word processing. I was impressed by the price and reviews and optimistic that it would work just fine for what I needed. And it has. It's exceeded my expectations. I worried about the volume issues some reviews expressed, but have NOT found that to be a problem while watching TV/movies online or listening to music (then again, I don't like movie theater noise level that rattles my seat ;)). The only thing I've noticed is that it feels a little flimsier than the more expensive laptops I've owned in the past. It doesn't feel like it's going to fall apart, it just feels "looser" than I'm used to, maybe a little more fragile. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase, and I'm glad I didn't spend $100+ more on a computer that would've done the exact same thing!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

best deal on laptop

08/24/2013
By ,
Tega Cay, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the laptop during the tax free weekend special on sale with windows 8. Wireless and all set up went easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Top Laptop Owned

08/25/2013
By ,
CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My last Walmart Toshiba (4 years old) is still up and running well, outlasting 2 other top name brand laptops by years. I got this new one so my wife could do some necessary stuff on the old one. It doesn't disappoint. Runs fast and easy. No down time at all. No issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

EXCELENT SPECIAL $248 + TAX

08/26/2013
By ,
El paso Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this met my expectations, i was looking for entertainment, videos, music, basic needs, netflix connect to TV, great, I do not know how someone might say it's horrible...the best HDMI port!
I got it for only $248 in the back to school weekend, great purchase! Windows 8 ,I am learnign how to use it, it's like to use a tablet or smartphone or simple use the desktop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great bargain-level PC

08/30/2013
By ,
Duluth, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked this up as a homework-only PC for my son. Performance is far better than expected. Runs MS Office, and Minecraft (homework-only, ha!) without a hitch. Missing some of the bells and whistles of more expensive models, but still comes with a webcam, a generous hard drive, and capable processor. Would recommend for someone looking for a nice, inexpensive laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
08/26/2013
By ,
Beech Grove, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
yeah...i bought this laptop at the great price of $248 - so it definitely will be a disposable laptop and hopefully it will last 2 - 3 years. Even if it lasts for one year that is still less than a dollar a day. And I agree the volume is not great but I will hook it up to some external speakers. In conclusion, excellent price and actually enjoying learning Windows 8 -- sometimes change is good and I am happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great laptop for the price.

08/25/2013
By ,
Charleston, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far this laptop has met or exceeded my expectations. Do not like Windows 8 though. If I had known how much I dislike it, I would have tried to find this laptop in Windows 7.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great Laptop

08/23/2013
By ,
Prosperity, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this laptop. I wish I had bought another one while the price was so good.
Now my grandaughter needs one and I can't find one I can afford like this one.
HEY, WALMART.....How about getting some more for the same price.
I really think the TOSHIBA is the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Nice Laptop, Windows 8 is kind of annoying.

09/14/2013
By ,
De Pere, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this laptop, it works great. I got it for my first semester at college and so far it has not let me down. My only setback is that Windows 8 is a bit confusing and hard to get used to at first. Once you play around for a bit you will get the hang of it. Everything else about the laptop works nicely.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great laptop for the price

08/23/2013
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this laptop...I can't believe the value. It should be more expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

GREAT LAPTOP FOR COLLEGE STUDENT

09/11/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a full time college student and the computer is WONDERFUL! Beyond what I expect. The price was in my budget. Its light-weight, easy to work , and the keypad is so easy to use. I am very glad I made this purchase when I did !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Computer=Good Windows 8=NOT SO GOOD!

08/30/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a GREAT buy for under $250. I was very disappointed with Windows 8. I cussed at Windows 8 for over a week and finally gave up and installed Ubuntu. The only hitch with Ubuntu was the wireless card. I could not find a driver that works with it, so I added a cheap USB dongle from ebay and was up and running in no time. This machine runs great on Ubuntu and I highly recommend it to anyone that needs a cheap laptop. Just trash Windows 8 and install Ubuntu and you are good to go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

does the job

08/29/2013
By ,
greenwood ar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because I didn't want to share my laptop with my grandson. Much of his homework is online and I am on my laptop when he is doing homework. It works great for our purposes. In fact it has the same features that mine does except for windows 8. I have windows 7. It has taken me time to get accustomed to the new set up. He took to it right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Disappointed, but not a total loss

09/10/2013
By ,
Blaine, MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The day I opened the box, I noticed that this laptop is made of cheap materials that could easily break if you drop it more than an inch or so. Good thing I got the Drop, Spills, and Cracked Screens warranty with this! The sound quality is also cheap, and I would not recommend trying to listen to music on this laptop, especially not with your headphones! The volume is also a hit-and-miss. Sometimes the volume is good and you can hear whatever you're playing on this, while other times it is barely discernible no matter how high you crank the volume. The webcam is also quite grainy; I would not recommend it for vlogging. Should be good for Skype though, as long as there are no lights/windows behind you. The mouse also seems to be having some issues.
On the plus side, this computer is fast and should be good for things like schoolwork and other non-audio related stuff. Easy to set things up once you get used to Windows 8. I would recommend this for a new student who needs a starting laptop that is reliable.
Overall, I would not recommend this laptop to anyone who is an avid music player or movie watcher. The volume and sound quality are just not conducive to that. But if you are a student who needs a laptop that is reliable enough for schoolwork and casual web surfing, and possibly a few games, I would recommend this laptop.
Make sure to get the Drops, Spills, and Cracked Screens warranty when you buy this! It's only an extra $28, and I am relatively sure that anyone who buys this laptop will need to utilize that warranty eventually.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great value for school or work!

09/04/2013
By ,
Eldersburg, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a new laptop for my high schooler and was planning to spend $100 more than I paid for this laptop. I am very pleased with the sturdiness of the unit, the large display, and overall versatility. He likes the Windows 8 OS and many apps that are included. Using Microsoft SkyDrive has also helped to eliminate/minimize additional costs usually required for common office programs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

WE HAVE FOUR!!!

02/08/2014
By ,
Hartly, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These laptops are an amazing value and do everything that we "need" them to do. The storage is adequate and the speed is great. I love the 15.6 screen (not too big, not too small), the numbers keys, and it's literally perfect for your lap. The speakers are a little on the low side so I plug a small speaker in or use headphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

terrible Video card drivers? video is awfull

09/03/2013
By ,
redmond
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
procs: excellent performance, keyboard layout -full keyaboard, hdmi output, buildin web camera, usb3 port, solid built, compact size, bright screen, battery life - almost 4 hours!!!
cons:
1.the video is awfull - slow pixels (takes visible seconds to get it in focus), pixels are not sharp - i can compare the video to video played on my 2005 HTC phone with 2.0 mg camera.
i tried to calibrate the screen, check for latest video drivers and etc...
i'm very sawwy user...but nothing helped... high quality video or bad quality video - does look the same - just awfull.
what do we need HDMI output for such terrible video play?????
it is intel(R) 2 gb video card.....supposed to be good...
allow me to assume that drivers for win 8 for this card do have certain way to be completed...i guess...
2. WINDOWS 8 - not well tested by Microsoft.
windows 8 is really bugfull and overloaded with options how to get smth done...mixture of windows 7 and awfull win8 design...
after 2 days of use i had to restart at least 7 times as i was loosing either cursor(just dissappeared (even after installing drivers for touchpad TWICE - i lost my patience with restoring the cursor back)...
or
just windows was handing ....for 2-4 minutes...with no response to keyboard or mouse...
i have not installed any program yet....definitely some windows service or software service that is install from manufacturer was 'handing'....
is not it funny that toshiba is charging for downgrade to win 7 ???? does that say a lot about the quality of win 8?
i've returned the machine and won't be suggesting anybody to waste money on it even it was much cheaper than other toshiba models.
I'd like to say that Toshiba is and will be my choice in mid range laptops.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SATELLITE C55-A5220 SUPPORT
Posted 09/13/2013
alex8888 Toshiba update might cure these problems.
SATELLITE C55-A5220 SUPPORT Toshiba will be releasing updated components via the Toshiba Service Station starting with the October 18, 2013 release of Windows 8.1 by Microsoft. If you are planning on updating your current Windows version to Windows 8.1 you will need to download and install these Toshiba components first. After updating to Windows 8.1 you should run the Toshiba Service Station again to check for and download any additional components. The latest Toshiba components for your computer can also be found at support.toshiba.com. http://support.toshiba.com/support/modelHome?freeText=1200005622
The Toshiba updater just informed me about this update and saw a bunch more on various items that need to be updated on this website.
Also check out http://www.pcworld.com/article/2048508/windows-8-1-review-the-great-compromise.html for the Windows 8.1 update to see if its right for you as the user.
Unfortunately many users are not happy with this windows 8.0 version and people are letting Microsoft know about it.
Hope this helps.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Toshiba C55-A5220 Laptop PC

09/03/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far this Toshiba C55-A5220 Laptop PC is working fine for the three weeks I owned it. I am satisfied with the 15.6" screen, nice crisp display. I’m thinking about expanding to the DDR3 SDRAM system memory 16GB to see what it can do.
Windows 8 recognized my mouse and printer without having me to install the software. The Intel Celeron 1037U Processor is fast enough for what I do, no complaints. The Windows 8 Operating System takes some time to understand from using the OS vista and XP I’m used to.
Support from Microsoft Windows 8 is scattered on Microsoft’s website but this is not unusual.
Surprisingly the 2.0 USB ports are fast, being a newer model it should have came with 3.0 ports although I cannot plug in two of my older thumb drives side by side I had to switch out the mouse USB to the other side of the laptop, no biggie.
$298.00 plus tax, no shipping charge fit the bill. I was shocked at the home delivery; it was delivered to my home in two days. I purchased the 2 Year Drop, Spill and Cracked Screen Service Plan for Laptops for $28.00, (which you should register it right away) for the just in case, I’ll see how that goes.
I like that McAfee Anti-virus Protection was included free for 1-year, the Norton Internet Security 30-day trial subscription is too short time period for me. The McAfee Anti-virus Protection and the Norton Internet Security 30-day trial subscription (which is now September 3, 2013, advertising for $39.99 for one year) is not dogging the laptop speed down.
From shopping around looking for a good processer and fairly size hard drive and some built in perks, Wal-Mart has a good deal on this Toshiba C55-A5220 Laptop PC. I read that it’s a disposable laptop, some had there’s for four years; we will see how it goes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great price, nice features

08/30/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Windows 8 was not that difficult to use. Just a couple of different key strokes to learn and I was off and running. I went to U tube and watched a video about Windows 8 which made it easy. I also bought a Windows 8 mouse with the home built into it. Very satisfied.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Toshiba Satin Black 15.6" C55-A5220 Laptop PC with Intel Celeron 1037U Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Easy to set up and navigate

08/21/2013
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
starting new business.....great deal
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 122 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next