Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Phillips Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Phillips Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

Philips LED brilliance makes a beautifully slim television. Wireless NetTV is available for any room. Enjoy Netflix, YouTube, Vudu, Pandora, Facebook, Hulu and more. Connect your PC or Mac wirelessly to your television with WirelessConnect. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Philips 39" Smart LED HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.46 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation70%26 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

Great tv. Wifi a big bonus. No Amazon Video

03/04/2014
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This television has been a great addition to our home. The picture is good from all angles, with flexible brightness and contrast to adjust to our tastes. The sound is good, even though we have this TV in a cabinet, the remote is easy to use, and the stand was easy to assemble. The biggest plus for us is the many connections...plenty of HDMI inputs for our XBox and other gadgets, as well as the older video/audio RCA connections for older electronics. The USB is also handy.
The television connects easily to your WIFI network, and is preloaded with apps including Netflix, which was a big reason we selected this tv. All the kids easily use the remote to access the shows they want on Netflix, including my 7-year-old. However, they do complain that the search function on the TV app is more difficult to use than the ROKU version, and gives less complete results.
Two shortcomings...First, the television does not have an app for Amazon instant video, which is too bad. Also, I would characterize the TV overall as sluggish, with what feel like lengthy response times when changing channels, or switching input modes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

Love this TV

07/13/2013
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We weren't familiar with this TV and there were not many reviews online, but we thought we had 90 days to see if we liked it and it was a great value for the money.
We haven't even tweaked all of the fine settings on it because we have enjoyed it so much. Same for all of the smart TV features. We have only used Netflix, but will eventually try some of the other extensive apps.
The sound is very adequate for us, it will blow you out if turned up to the max. I had been looking at 42" models but this 39" is great for our room. But I admit we had been watching a 19" so anything close to this size was a great improvement.
Again we have not tweaked the fine tuning adjustments, but the channels with non HD are nearly as good as those with HD.
When we first got it, thought we were having a big problem, but the hookup to cable box was loose and resulted in lousy picture quality.
I love the convenience of having a smart TV rather than using an external source. Much easier to use than those, at least from the ones I have seen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 3 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

a smart tv that just isn t that smart

01/18/2014
By ,
Sewell, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read a few reviews on this TV before I bought it as a replacement for my bedroom TV. I was looking for a no hassle smart TV to watch Netflix, Hulu Plus, HBO GO and other internet content. Yes, I was struck by the price and after reading all of the information contained on the Philips box I made the purchase. I noticed that all the reviews good and bad mentioned the lousy remote, ok I can live with that and yes it is one of the worst I have ever used. The real problem with the TV is that there aren't really any apps. It is preloaded with the usual Pandora, Netflix, Hulu Plus, You Tube and Vudu, beyond that it is slim pickins. The TV is very slow with both loading the program and with remote commands. 2 weeks ago it automatically updated the software and now Hulu Plus locks up before the program even begins. It also leads you to believe that you can control and mirror your tablet....but hold up not so! I did get WiFi Media Connect to finally work for the MAC computer, but unfortunately the delay is so bad between computer keystrokes and what mirrors on screen that it is useless. Video playback via MediaConnect is a joke also as the audio and video signals are at least 5 seconds behind one another. Bad Chinese movies dub English better then MediaConnect. Many features that Philips uses worldwide are disabled on this TV. I really thought I did my homework as I am a gadget guy, but I must say Philips pulled the wool over my eyes on this one! I should have bought a DumbTV and a Roku box, I would have been much happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Western, PA
MediaConnect
Posted 02/05/2014
To make it work, you need the software and instructions included in this link: http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/wmc.pl?language=en&country=US
0points
Customer Avatar
MediaConnect on Mac
Posted 01/21/2014
How did you make this work? Do you have a link you can share? I have not had any luck.
I too am sincerely disappointed with the poor selection of apps and the overall capabilities of this smart tv. Great TV if you do not care about anything other than netflix.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

DO NOT buy this TV!

02/10/2014
By ,
Marietta, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this TV today and returned it within 4 hours after my purchase. The interface is horrific. The only usefull apps for this TV are Netflix, hulu+, and YouTube. No amazon prime, ect. The remote is horrible. There is no volume bar to tell you how high your volume is, you just continue to push the button until it sounds right. Do not buy this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 5 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

Does not have enough apps poor picture quaility

02/15/2014
By ,
Worcester ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I took this home to set this up and it looked great out of the box perfect size 39' for my bedroom.bra
Then when I turned it on everything look fine easy to setup and simple remote but I saw only a limited amount of apps such as Netflix,youtube,vudu etc and just a few games I was disappointed with this tv.So I started watching tv on my cable box via hd channels and the color was very poor and I adjusted a few features and nothing changed so I returned it to walmart right away and they exchanged it for another tv without a problem.Do not buy this brand!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

Love this TV.

02/04/2014
By ,
Carlisle PA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional picture quality, no problems with sound. It is very new so still getting used to all its capabilities. I do not use additional speaker bar, friends that have them get sound distortion. For the price I am well happy. the 39 inch is a great size for my living room.room. Iit looks sleek and was easy to hook up to my WIFI. Booklet that came with, was a little complex reading. Other than that, couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

Not to shabby. Just one problem.

06/19/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this tv today and it really looks great and the price was pretty good. The only bad thing is the sound is a little weak and the remote that it came with didn't work and turned out to be defective. Also the buttons setup isn't that great being underneath the front edge of the tv. Other than that stuff this tv is a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+21points
Review 8 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

Philips 39" Smart LED TV

06/03/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Philips 39" Smart LED TV was purchased for a family room at the lake. We wanted a "smart" big screen TV, but did not want to spend the money we would on a TV at home. This Philips TV meets and exceeds that goal. The color and picture is excellent, and its many options are still being explored. Most importantly, the Walmart price on this TV was very aggressive. We are extremely pleased with the quality and value of this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+56points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Broken Arrow`
engineered to fail
Posted 09/09/2013
Great resolution on HD - great colors & contrast - total fail after three years - better buy the warranty plan
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

Bed room tv

03/05/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this tv about a week ago. The price and size were exactly what I was looking for. It took some time to set up a wireless connection. I had to google connection problems with Philips TV's. Turns out a simple change to my router setting did the trick.
Like a few other reviews I read on here it is true that the remote is difficult to use. Not because it's complicated but because the buttons do not give a smooth reaction when pressed. Example: scrolling through Netflix movies is hard to get the button to change movie titles. It literally takes 4 to 5 button presses for the remote to work.
The picture quality is at times good when watching HD movies but it seems like when there are a lot of browns, tans and skin tones appear more orange. Even with color adjustments. If you are watching cartoons it's a great picture. Human skin tones not so much.
I bought this for a bedroom tv so having the sleep mode so difficult to find buried in the options menu makes it not user friendly if you use that option. This is the first tv I've had that doesn't have a sleep button on the remote.
All in all for the $339 I paid for the tv it's not bad. For a bedroom tv it works good. Perfect size.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 10 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

A good bargain!

03/07/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Other smart tv's offer more options. I'm disappointed that many features aren't available on it. Otherwise, it has an excellent picture quality, and sounds good
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

Great TV for the $$$$

03/14/2014
By ,
North Prairie, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd Phillips TV purchase. I've had such good luck with the 1st one I decided when the time came for me to buy another TV for a different room, I would stick with what I've been happy with. The TV has a great picture, is basically plug and play and very easy to set up. I haven't experimented with the internet capability or the movie watching, because we usually just watch basic cable on it, but it seems to be a great TV for a very decent price. I would recommend this TV to family, friends, anyone. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention the fantastic store pickup option. Love that! The TV was ready for pickup within a couple hours. Such a nice way to shop!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

:/

02/23/2014
By ,
calexico
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I regret having bought much youtube and movies online freezes and does not support many video formats via USB
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

Sleep feature is impossible to get to!

02/08/2014
By ,
Rhode Island
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A great tv at a great price but if you use the sleep feature regularly this is not the tv for you. You have to go to options, then select net tv, then select settings, then find sleep on the right and program it. I am wide awake by the time I find it.
Smart features are fun but when I put my laptop on the tv it changes all the fonts on my laptop. It is fun that you can watch videos and pictures but wish it would not change the fonts. Had to restore my laptop to a previous time to get them back.
I did return the tv and will keep looking for one that meets my needs but it really played well and was a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 14 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

Used In Store Pickup & worked great!

09/20/2013
By ,
Northeast Md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great tv/monitor for the price. I used in store pickup and the system worked without a hitch and was convenient since it was on sale.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

great tv

08/03/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this tv three weeks ago. Only complaint is the picture quality at times does not look great especially while watching Netflix. Then other times it looks good. Sound sounds very good.
Walmart has the best price compared to amazon and best buy.
Overall we are happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 16 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

wrong abput TV

07/05/2013
By ,
Beaumtn, texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this Phillips TV because almost every brand I have had has been Phillips and they are long lasting Great TVS. This one the Color is off and seems so grainy. I have tried to get it adjusted correctly, but it does not help. Will be bringing back to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 17 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

I hate it!

01/21/2014
By ,
Nogales, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV because the one I wanted wasn't available at the store and I could not come back another day since I'm from Mexico. Price was kinda fair for all the features it has, but none of them are worth it! Picture quality is bad, sound as well, the remote is a joke! Is the most unfriendly TV I ever had. I will have to make a special trip to AZ to return it! :(
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 18 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

Good for everyone

02/06/2014
By ,
Aspen Hill,MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good features and easy to manipulate
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

I was not impressed

01/23/2014
By ,
Washington, DC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted a 1080P led TV that would fit in my armoire and this TV fit perfectly. The picture is nice but not as good as a Samsung. The speaker cracked shortly after and sounded so bad that I got it and I ended up having to buy a sound bar to listen while I watched TV. I am looking for a Samsung that will fit then this is going nto the guest room.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Philips 39PFL2608/F7 39" 1080p 60Hz Class Smart LED HDTV

Great product

02/01/2014
By ,
fb pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tv. Smart is right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next