Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vivitar Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Vivitar Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

The Camelio Android OS Tablet PC is a very unique device that allows you to customize and personalize it with your favorite characters. Up to five users can easily create their own profile on each tablet and customize their account with Camelio "Personality Packs" (sold separately). Personality packs allow users to customize wallpaper, widgets, lock screens, camera and photo editor and a themed bumper case. This makes the HD video tablet easy to share with the whole family, as each user gets what they need out of the same device. In addition, licensed games, video, music and books are also included and vary by theme, so all users gets to play what they like. It is equipped with a variety of features, including built-in WiFi, a camera, HD Video, touchscreen and parental controls. The Camelio Android OS Tablet PC also includes many pre-loaded content for apps, games, music, video, art and other educational tools.
Average Customer Rating:
3.394 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation68%21 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Fell apart in 3 months

04/04/2014
By ,
Austin, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Santa bought this at another store for my grandson. He loved it!!!! It did what is was supposed to do, had nice features and a good quality for Net flicks but it is made like junk. Within 3 weeks the charger broke and we had to buy another one. Then less than 3 months, the outlet on the tablet where it charges fell into the tablet...no more use. My grandson was devastated. He wrote a letter to Santa and asked if it had a warranty or if Santa could remake it. I had invested a lot in it as the Batman app was $30 more, etc etc. Luckily the other store took it back for a store credit. I have now purchased it from Walmart with an extended warranty to keep Santa in good standing but I am afraid that is a warranty I will be using, over and over. My grandson is a scholarly little boy who treats his toys with respect. This was a bad product. Stay away. There must be better ones out there for children.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

A nice kids tablet

03/28/2014
By ,
St. Paul mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A nice kids tablet my granddaughter loves it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Not a wise purchase

03/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased three of these items for my daughters. Each of these tablets had different issues with the first 24 hours. 1 of the tablets the power button is broke. 1 of the tablets wont hold a charge at all. The last one the screen is continuously messing up.
I would not recommend to anyone.
I am returning to the store this evening.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Great value, perfect for kids

03/14/2014
By ,
San Francisco, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good for a first-time tablet and for young children
Good for consuming entertainment such as video games, videos and movies. Also includes camera and video capabilities.
Great device for road trips and family trips.
Can’t beat the value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Got it for the Boys

03/02/2014
By ,
WI,U.S
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Camelio Android Family Tablet,takes time to get used too,more like for The Kids as a Second Wi fi Access Source, over all it's Worth it,just takes some getting used too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

A great and cheap tablet for kids

02/17/2014
By ,
Bay Area, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tablet comes with few preloaded games and apps for kids. I downloaded few more games to this tablet . My son loves this tablet and now he does not want my nexus 7.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Very fragile/also freezes

02/16/2014
By ,
Carmichaels, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'll post exactly what we told the company:
I recently purchased 3 of your tablets under the assumption that they would have some type of durability. All 3 are equipped with the protective coverings. My oldest daughter charged her tablet face down. Obviously a mistake. When she went to pick it up she had it on it's side, still touching the carpet mind you, and it fell cracking the screen. My wife called customer service, explained the situation, of course there was nothing that could be done. She asked if we could buy a screen to have it replaced. She was advised to check with a local technician. Our concern is over the frailty of your product. Since your product can't handle something that probably wouldn't crack an egg I suppose I will return the other two and go with either Meep, Nabi or Kurio. I will be certain to give negative feedback to walmart shoppers on their website with a copy of this message so other consumers can be aware of the lack of durability. Thankfully their return policy accommodates returns for unsatisfactory products. Lesson learned. Not even a week and out over $130. You may want to reconsider claiming this is a family tablet since it cannot take any type of bump.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

absolutely hate this tablet

02/14/2014
By ,
belton, mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we went into walmart looking to buy the kurio tablet online it showed it in our local store and of course we get there and they dont have it so we went with this one as it had some of the same features parental controls was my number one have to have it does not work fully i had it on for all things except my daughters apps and she would have email up or end up on youtube and so on (shes only 3) the only way i can think she got into them is the ads on the apps but i have browsers locked and all but it didnt matter if she entered it thru an app. also the charging port is lose from day one and it does not hold a charge for very long at all i am returning this product very disappointed and will exchange it for the kurio tablet!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

it's a good tablet for our family helps us learn

02/04/2014
By ,
elkhart indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lots of things in it to learn about i would recommend it, great thing about it , as a parent have control of what our kids see.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Great tablet for kids!

01/17/2014
By ,
Limeston, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this tablet for my 4 year old granddaughter and she loves it. Easy to setup and has parental controls. Keeps her occupied and learning new things.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

AWESOME

01/03/2014
By ,
St.Ignace, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i read all the reviews as i usually do before i buy anything i am very handy with all electronics so i like to know what i am getting. i ordered the 2 tablets 3 days before xmas and they came the next day as i needed them to. they are very kid friendly i bought them for my 9 and 6 year old and they love it. one did come in broken and we didn't know until the package was opened. we called and they replaced it no problem. that i why i love shopping here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Great for the price

12/30/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this tablet for my 7 year old son and I must say I was impressed even my 16 year old enjoy using it. downloading apps is no problem, easy to use and the sound is good. the camera is not to much to brag about but its good enough for the price and for it to have a front and rear camera I wont be complaining, overall I am happy with my pick I researched other tablets and this was the best pick in the price range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Dissapointing initial experience.

12/27/2013
By ,
St. Louis. MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If it wasn't already bad enough that I paid extra to have this delivered on the Friday before Christmas and didn't recieve it until Christmas Eve, when I finally did track it down and recieve it, it crashed within an hour of trying to set it up. I got 90 percent through the set up process and then error messages start popping up. I cut it off and it never came back on.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

not happy at all.....

12/27/2013
By ,
Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought 2 of these as a christmas gift. both are messing up the day we got them. freezing up. not saving background changes. not keeping shortcuts on screen. constantly messing up.... not just once, but every few minutes... just horrible.. will be returning..... dont waste your time and money.. my kids are very disappointed...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Great Tablet for the whole family

12/23/2013
By ,
rogers, ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although i bought this tablet for my child, I can also use it to get online, get games from the play store which is already installed. Nice tablet, great deal, and customizable. connected to my tmobile hotspot easily.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Buy something else...Anything else!

12/22/2013
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought two of these tablets, 1 hello kitty theme kit and 1 my little pony theme kit. Vivitar doesn't tell you that the theme kit serial number is for one time use. In case you don't know, the serial number is used to activate the wallpapers and change several other apps into the theme you purchased. I always test electronics before giving them as gifts. The problems I've had are present on both tablets.
I downloaded several apps and immediately noticed the shortcuts to the apps kept disappearing when switching from a horizontal view to a vertical view. I should have returned it all to the store at that moment, but no, I called Vivitar instead on 12/9/13. At this point, I only had the my little pony tablet in my possession. The hello kitty tablet was in another state with my sister. I explained this to the rep. He says it's fine and to call them back when I have the other tablet to be walked through for the fix. Vivitar notified me that the fix is to reset the tablet to factory settings. I let the rep know that I have already installed the theme kits. I'm told it's no problem and they will replace the theme kits by mail. He walks me through it, I re-downloaded the apps and everything seemed ok.
Since the hello kitty tablet was in another state, I got my sister to call to get it reset to factory settings and remind them to replace the hello kitty theme kit. The rep gets nasty with my sister because he doesn't want to replace the theme kit. At this point, I called back to remind them of what they told me. And I should not have to lose money because both tablets were defective out of the box. The theme kits cost around $30 each, so that was $60 I spent on personalization products that I couldn't use because I can't re-install the theme kits with the original serial numbers. The rep speaks to his manager and they say they are shipping a second replacement theme kit.
It is now 3 days before Christmas and I have yet to receive the replacement theme kits!
So tonight I've been trying to use my own background photos. I have both tablets in my possession now. The tablets force me to crop my background photo no matter what size it is. I am forced to crop only a small portion of the photo for use. This is annoying, but I thought I could work around it. The big problem now is that the tablets automatically revert back to the default Vivitar theme. No matter what background you choose (be it yours or pre-installed backgrounds), after a minute or so, it reverts to default theme pack. UGH!!
And guess what...my shortcuts are now disappearing every time an app does an automatic update!
Save your money, Save your time, Buy something else.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

3 Defective Tablets in 6 weeks!!!!!

12/17/2013
By ,
Conover, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In 6 weeks I am on my fourth Camelio tablet. I have two boys who both had gotten one. The first one broke by mishandling it so I do not blame Camelio for that however 2 tablets after that have been defective (ie. touchscreen stopped working after 2 weeks and the other tablet stays frozen on the Camelio startup and will not go to homepage). I am returning the 3rd tablet today since it is frozen and has been for 4 days. I hope the store will allow me to exchange for a different tablet and not require an exact exchange. I will say other than the defects this has potential to be a good tablet. However I have another tablet for the same price that has never had any problems, just saying.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Good starter tablet for kids

11/29/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its easy to setup and capability of strong parental controls makes excellent tablet for kids.
My kids both look forward for playing their games on this tablet as soon as back from school.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

needs improvement

11/06/2013
By ,
nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
thought it was a good buy but video quality is bad.....nad keys are too sensitive,also apps close unexpectedly...among other issues,bought it for my five year old....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

I really love the idea

11/05/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really love the idea of this tablet, the ability to customize and it has Google play with parental controls. However, I noticed that the colors are not very crisp and vibrant, so I changed them in settings. I then became aware that the tablet was automatically changing them back to facory settings. Same thing with Wallpaper, if you don't have a theme pack. You set the wallpaper and it stays for a time and reverts back to factory wallpaper. I also noticed that the apps I added and arranged on the four tabs were getting mixed around and moved from the home tabs. Not sure why this is but it gets annoying to keep changing them to how my kids want them. And I cannot get over how faded the coloring is. Wanted to love this tablet but I don't think it will work for my kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next