Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vivitar Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Vivitar Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

The Camelio Android OS Tablet PC is a very unique device that allows you to customize and personalize it with your favorite characters. Up to five users can easily create their own profile on each tablet and customize their account with Camelio "Personality Packs" (sold separately). Personality packs allow users to customize wallpaper, widgets, lock screens, camera and photo editor and a themed bumper case. This makes the HD video tablet easy to share with the whole family, as each user gets what they need out of the same device. In addition, licensed games, video, music and books are also included and vary by theme, so all users gets to play what they like. It is equipped with a variety of features, including built-in WiFi, a camera, HD Video, touchscreen and parental controls. The Camelio Android OS Tablet PC also includes many pre-loaded content for apps, games, music, video, art and other educational tools.
Average Customer Rating:
3.257 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation64%21 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Get your kid off your smartphone for under $100!!!

09/20/2013
By ,
San Francisco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally, the under $100 tablet I have been waiting for! I've tried a couple in the past and had difficulty connecting to wifi or downloading games. This is a FULLY functional Android tablet and will keep most kids happy for a long time! Every single app that I can get for my Android Smartphone can be downloaded onto this tablet from Google Play which has THOUSANDS of free apps. Minecraft, Plants vs. Zombies, Cut the Rope, Temple Run, FlowFree, Minion Rush, Netflix, Kindle, YouTube, etc. My daughters even use Quizlet on this tablet for school. Gmail and Chrome work just as you would expect. Surprisingly even has both a front and rear camera. Buy this for your kids for Christmas!
Having said that, it is definitely NOT the Google Nexus or iPad. The screen is harder to read and not as touch-sensitive as more expensive tablets. Being only 4G storage will fill up quickly, which you can easily manage by deleting apps you no longer use. The marketed "parental control" is nothing special, it only allows you to restrict access to certain applications. Much better to download one of the free Parental-control Internet Apps from Google Play, which allows kids to go only to websites you specify and simply uninstall any apps you don't want your kids to have access to (since they are mostly free you can simply reinstall them if needed later).
This tablet is a MUCH better value than the LeapPad. You can customize it for the younger kids with all the games and apps they like, and as they grow older remove those and add in Geography and Language apps to use for school. Besides games you can have your kids use it to track chores, allowance, reading logs, dictionary/thesaurus, read books/textbooks, listen to music, watch movies, create their own videos, the uses are endless!
We also got one of the character kits to customize this with...the best part of that is having the protective case but the character themes are an added bonus my daughter loves!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Excellent family tablet with the best characters!!

08/12/2013
By ,
Howell, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the camelio to take back my ipad back from the kids. Boy do they enjoy this tablet! I bought three app kits (barbie, monster high and WWE) and they seem to satisfy my children ages 3-12! I will definitely buy some more app kits!
On the hardware/software side this is a great value. The other day I used the camelio to check my email and it was a great experience! for a 99$ price it is for sure worth it!
What a perfect gift!!! It will keep the whole family satisfied!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

I really love the idea

11/05/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really love the idea of this tablet, the ability to customize and it has Google play with parental controls. However, I noticed that the colors are not very crisp and vibrant, so I changed them in settings. I then became aware that the tablet was automatically changing them back to facory settings. Same thing with Wallpaper, if you don't have a theme pack. You set the wallpaper and it stays for a time and reverts back to factory wallpaper. I also noticed that the apps I added and arranged on the four tabs were getting mixed around and moved from the home tabs. Not sure why this is but it gets annoying to keep changing them to how my kids want them. And I cannot get over how faded the coloring is. Wanted to love this tablet but I don't think it will work for my kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Fantastic Value

10/14/2013
By ,
california
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My daughter enjoyed using and playing with her Camelio. It was easy and quick to setup, downloading apps was a breeze and we even bought a sleeve that protected it in case she dropped it. I was never afraid it was going to break. My only complaint about the Camelio is the screen eventually couldn't recognize the touch or swipe of the finger. The screen wasn't frozen because you can see the Camelio updating software or connecting to our wi-fi but we couldn't open any of the apps or folders. We restarted the machine in the hopes of fixing the problem but that didn't work. We'll exchange it for another one because my daughter really likes using this tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Great for Kids

09/25/2013
By ,
bay area
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This tablet is great for kids (4yr+) for games (learning & fun) and watching tv shows/movies. For the price it's a great value and easy to travel with. It has parental controls on the device which is a nice feature for concerned parents out there. You can also use it for taking pictures and video. The camera can be used two ways, which is nice as well. It was very easy to start using right away. Enter your WIFI info and everything instantly connects and you're on your way!
Cons of the tablet is the display is just ok, you don't get bright vibrant images compared to some other tablets, but that can be taken into consideration with the cost. Also did not find it to be very fast, but again that is why this is best suited for kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

great value!

08/12/2013
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value and pretty great product. Ive had it for a week now and I am very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nc
Posted 06/10/2014
brought it for christmas and yes it worked for abt 5 1/2 months now it wont charge come on or nothing smh
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Fell apart in 3 months

04/04/2014
By ,
Austin, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Santa bought this at another store for my grandson. He loved it!!!! It did what is was supposed to do, had nice features and a good quality for Net flicks but it is made like junk. Within 3 weeks the charger broke and we had to buy another one. Then less than 3 months, the outlet on the tablet where it charges fell into the tablet...no more use. My grandson was devastated. He wrote a letter to Santa and asked if it had a warranty or if Santa could remake it. I had invested a lot in it as the Batman app was $30 more, etc etc. Luckily the other store took it back for a store credit. I have now purchased it from Walmart with an extended warranty to keep Santa in good standing but I am afraid that is a warranty I will be using, over and over. My grandson is a scholarly little boy who treats his toys with respect. This was a bad product. Stay away. There must be better ones out there for children.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

absolutely hate this tablet

02/14/2014
By ,
belton, mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we went into walmart looking to buy the kurio tablet online it showed it in our local store and of course we get there and they dont have it so we went with this one as it had some of the same features parental controls was my number one have to have it does not work fully i had it on for all things except my daughters apps and she would have email up or end up on youtube and so on (shes only 3) the only way i can think she got into them is the ads on the apps but i have browsers locked and all but it didnt matter if she entered it thru an app. also the charging port is lose from day one and it does not hold a charge for very long at all i am returning this product very disappointed and will exchange it for the kurio tablet!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet
08/26/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This tablet might be good for families on a budget that need a starter tablet, or anyone who wants a kids tablet with features like a camera and a sd card slot. I Liked that it had the latest version of android and access to google play store. The touch screen was not as responsive as we are accustomed to and this frustrated my 10 year old son. He also wanted more freedom to customize the widgets without as much juvenility.
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet
08/23/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how this keeps my son entertained. He really loves it and learned how to use it quickly.
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

3 Defective Tablets in 6 weeks!!!!!

12/17/2013
By ,
Conover, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In 6 weeks I am on my fourth Camelio tablet. I have two boys who both had gotten one. The first one broke by mishandling it so I do not blame Camelio for that however 2 tablets after that have been defective (ie. touchscreen stopped working after 2 weeks and the other tablet stays frozen on the Camelio startup and will not go to homepage). I am returning the 3rd tablet today since it is frozen and has been for 4 days. I hope the store will allow me to exchange for a different tablet and not require an exact exchange. I will say other than the defects this has potential to be a good tablet. However I have another tablet for the same price that has never had any problems, just saying.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Kid Friendly Tablet!!

09/09/2013
By ,
San Bruno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tablet was perfect for my 5 year old niece. It was lightweight, easy to use and provided a lot of entertainment. Swiping between screens wasn't too fluid, but it's great for kids and for the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Just What I'm Looking For

10/15/2013
By ,
Waianae, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family loves our Camelio Tablet PC. If you're looking for a good one, this is it. Look no more. You'll love it and I'm sure you will never be dissappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet
08/01/2013
By ,
Fremont, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son love this. The touch screen is not sensitive but good for kids.
Since it android based, we can easily find the apps on the net. No setup problem. It automatically find the wireless. Not a delicate product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
3 stars?
Posted 08/06/2013
I bought the XO Kids Tablet but I was looking at this too for my neice. Im confused why you gave it only 3 stars if your son loves it? For $99 and the character pack for $29 i'm not expecting an ipad, just something that is easy to use for kids and adults, but maybe i'm missing something? can u provide more detail?
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Great entry price point tablet

10/06/2013
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a great first tablet at a good price. Great for the car or even just hanging out. So many free apps that can be easily downloaded. JUst the right size and the camera is adequate even for SKYPE.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Kid Friendly

09/26/2013
By ,
San Bruno, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good starter tablet for kids, for those on a budget and don't want to spend for iPad. Keeps kids entertained. Camera didn't work so well (picture was blurry). The app with the frames and borders were interesting for the kids to play with.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Fabulous Tablet!

09/26/2013
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this tablet for my son. He likes this tablet. It's lightweight and user friendly to use. I could easily install the app that my kid needs. I would really recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

Buy something else...Anything else!

12/22/2013
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought two of these tablets, 1 hello kitty theme kit and 1 my little pony theme kit. Vivitar doesn't tell you that the theme kit serial number is for one time use. In case you don't know, the serial number is used to activate the wallpapers and change several other apps into the theme you purchased. I always test electronics before giving them as gifts. The problems I've had are present on both tablets.
I downloaded several apps and immediately noticed the shortcuts to the apps kept disappearing when switching from a horizontal view to a vertical view. I should have returned it all to the store at that moment, but no, I called Vivitar instead on 12/9/13. At this point, I only had the my little pony tablet in my possession. The hello kitty tablet was in another state with my sister. I explained this to the rep. He says it's fine and to call them back when I have the other tablet to be walked through for the fix. Vivitar notified me that the fix is to reset the tablet to factory settings. I let the rep know that I have already installed the theme kits. I'm told it's no problem and they will replace the theme kits by mail. He walks me through it, I re-downloaded the apps and everything seemed ok.
Since the hello kitty tablet was in another state, I got my sister to call to get it reset to factory settings and remind them to replace the hello kitty theme kit. The rep gets nasty with my sister because he doesn't want to replace the theme kit. At this point, I called back to remind them of what they told me. And I should not have to lose money because both tablets were defective out of the box. The theme kits cost around $30 each, so that was $60 I spent on personalization products that I couldn't use because I can't re-install the theme kits with the original serial numbers. The rep speaks to his manager and they say they are shipping a second replacement theme kit.
It is now 3 days before Christmas and I have yet to receive the replacement theme kits!
So tonight I've been trying to use my own background photos. I have both tablets in my possession now. The tablets force me to crop my background photo no matter what size it is. I am forced to crop only a small portion of the photo for use. This is annoying, but I thought I could work around it. The big problem now is that the tablets automatically revert back to the default Vivitar theme. No matter what background you choose (be it yours or pre-installed backgrounds), after a minute or so, it reverts to default theme pack. UGH!!
And guess what...my shortcuts are now disappearing every time an app does an automatic update!
Save your money, Save your time, Buy something else.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

JUNK!!!!

05/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this for my 4 year old that respects his things and knows if he brakes them he dont get new ones. We only had it for 3 weeks and have had to call the factory to have it replaced. First it dont want to charge properly and then after that the charging port fell into the tablet and there was no way of charging it anymore. They dont have alot of memory on them either and to put a chip in them is worthless cause the tablet wont save anything on them. They are more frustrating than anything else. Wish I would have spent a little more money and got him a better tablet.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Camelio 7" Android 1GB Family Tablet

needs improvement

11/06/2013
By ,
nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
thought it was a good buy but video quality is bad.....nad keys are too sensitive,also apps close unexpectedly...among other issues,bought it for my five year old....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next