Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Danby Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Danby Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

This Danby 30-pint dehumidifier covers approximately 2,000 square feet and is ENERGY STAR-qualified. The electronic controls, two fan speeds and low-temperature feature make this dehumidifier easy to use. This electronic dehumidifier continues to operate until the temperature reaches 44 degrees F, so you can stay cool and dry while reducing energy consumption. This ecofriendly, quiet dehumidifier can dehumidify up to 2,000 square feet, making it perfect for dehumidifying your bedroom, home office or living room. It has castors for easy portability, so you can always just pick it up and bring it to whatever room you happen to be in to save money and energy by only dehumidifying the room that you are using. Enjoy complete control over you environment's humidity with the Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.049 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation85%69 out of 81reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Fan NEVER shuts off, not disclosed in description

01/14/2014
By ,
Newark, DE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this for a great price, unboxed it to discover a label taped to the front saying that "it is normal for the fan to run continuously", it NEVER turns off, even when the set humidity level is reached! How this is Energy Star is beyond me! The only way to turn the fan off is to shut the unit off, so if it's in your basement you'd have to run there frequently to do this. And of course you have to reset the humidity level each time you turn it back on!! How long do you think the fan will last never turning off?? My last dehumidifier lasted almost 25 years, doubtful this one will do a fraction of that. What really irritates me is that none of this is disclosed on Walmart's or Danby's website.
Returned it and went to Home Depot and got the GE 30 pint unit, which allows the fan to run for a few minutes after reaching the set humidity level to dry off the coils, then shuts off. Now that was a well thought-out way to do it. Paid about $20 more for the GE but I know I will make that up in lower electric bills!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 2 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Great for unfinished basement

08/28/2013
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an unfinshed / unliveable old basement that just has washer/dryer and furnace/water heater approx. 850 sq ft. It has always been very wet and very musty. Finally bought a dehumidifier after weeks of research. Was going to buy the 50 pint model, but according to all the specs this 30 pint should do the job for the square footage. ( plus, you cannot beat the price) Right out of the box it was so simple to set up. I bought this model exclusively due to the included 6 ft hose that I could hook up and directly drain it to my sump pump ! I have now haad it for 2 weeks and have to say it is doing it's job! The humidity level was 73 before I hooked it up, within 7 days the humidity is down to 60, and there is no musty smell at all in my basement. the best thing is I can run it 24/7 and never have to empty the bucket as the moisture is flowing directly to my sump pump. I do not hear it running at all. It does make the basement a bit warmer (maybe 5-10 degrees), but the basement is not used for anything but laundry. Love this dehumidifer, not sure if the 50 pint would have removed more moisture faster or not, but this 30 pinter is certainly doing the job ! Very Happy with this purchase !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 3 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

The best I have found

08/16/2013
By ,
Sanford, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little unit is ideal. It is very, very quiet. Have it in a basement about 300 square feet (small). Controls humidity ay 50% plus or minus a couple. Have fan on low speed. I like the the temperature and humidity display. Note the fan runs ALL the time (how else would you move the air around?). For $19 you get an extra 3 years of full warranty, a no brainer for a full five years. All the others I have tried failed shortly within a year or two. Frigidaire just bought back my second one that went bad. Walmart's price is also the best and shipping to home is fast.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 4 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier
07/12/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works as expected. In the 1st 6 hours it removed over 1 gallon of water from the air and reduced the humidity 15%. It does put out some heat but that is to be expected of all dehumidifiers that do not have an outside air ventilation system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 5 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

good little machine

08/09/2013
By ,
Chattanooga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After around two weeks, I think I should have gotten a bigger capacity dehumidifer, but this 30 pt one is doing a good job. I got it for the main living area in my house, and it fills up twice a day. I just make sure to empty it in the morning and in the evenings. It is much more comfortable in the house now than it was before. I have been able to raise the AC 3* warmer and stay cool!
After reading some of the other reviews I was worried it would be noisy, but that is not the case at all. This one just hums along (so far). Maybe I just got a "quiet" one.
Can't really comment about dependability yet, as I haven't had it very long, but got a two year warranty from the manufacturer. We'll see.
Overall? Very satisfied with this Danby dehumidifier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 6 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier
08/31/2013
By ,
Oberlin, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first product came very fast, but unfortunately, the sensor was malfunctioning and I had to return it to Walmart. This, however, was a very easy process, so I ordered a second one hoping for better results. The next one also arrived quickly, and this time, without any problems. It is a very nice unit: quiet operation, removes large volumes of moisture from the air in a short amount of time. It has lived up to all it promised. It does put off a lot of heat as it does it's job, so if you have it in a small space, be prepared for the temp in your room to rise considerably while this is operating. I needed to remove humidity from an older home that has an earthen crawl space beneath the floors and tends to collect moisture easily. I am glad I made this purchase and would highly recommend it. My musty smells are gone and the dampness has been removed. I would purchase this again and it is a great price from Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 7 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier
07/22/2013
By ,
Siler City, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We put this in our basement and it started working immediately removing the moisture out of the air. It runs very quiet. Does put out lot of warm air, so it will heat the room up..Shipped right away from Walmart and in great condition..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 8 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

dehumidifier

07/28/2013
By ,
Midland, Mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought it on july 10th. it shipped at the walmart ready to pickup on july 12th so i use it for in the basement its been 2 wks. Mold didnt disappear yet so i have to use bleach to wash it. but dehumidifier helped to stop mold from growing more. better than worse. if u have mold in the basement then i recommend u to buy it. hard to see water fill or not. it have blow out on the top and suck air in only front. its different than i tho. i tho only suck air in till i opened the product. its little heavy when water is full. but its nice to carry easy and pour water out. first day it will get water full twice a day till 2 wks later less water once in each 2 days. hope this help. im not great at english.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 9 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Great Dehumidifier!

07/25/2013
By ,
Erie, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After working for about 12 hours, the Danby decreased the humidity in our basement from 78% to 64%. I was really impressed by how quickly it works. It does give off a little heat, so it's not perfect to have in a living area that is already hot (like our upstairs bedroom), but it does what it's supposed to. I guess if I wanted cool air, I would have bought an air conditioner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 10 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Really does the job !!!!

09/09/2013
By ,
Monticello, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 15" of rain in July we had a problem with a WET basement. Not enough for a sump pump but just enough that the wet concrete would not dry and the drywall was growing mold. YUCK !!!!
Bought this unit and it's amazing. Ran it 24/7 for about a month, never had any problems with it, and like I said .... it REALLY does the job !!!! I actually bought it because of the reviews so here's another good one. One person said that the handle on the water container broke but ours works just fine. For those (like me) who did not know anything about dehumidifiers when it says 30 pints it means in a 24 hour period it will remove up to 30 pints (not that the unit holds 30 pints. The water bucket holds about 5 quarts and if my math was correct it takes about 9 hours to fill). Again I would not hesitate to recommend this little "workhorse" !! ...and FYI I did my homework and Walmart had the best price with free shipping. You can't beat that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Quality of Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifie

08/19/2013
By ,
Calhoun GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Central heat / air pump went out & could not afford a new one for the apartment; I purchased a window unit and after that a Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier, my bed sheets were feeling 'water logged' I had no idea what the problem was - after researching ; knew I needed a dehumidifier, searched for the best deal, best operation one. I settled on the Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier; it is fantastic. It will pull water out of air efficiently - lately I am emptying the bucket twice daily! I had no ide there was that much H2O in the air!! Amazing.
Unit is quiet; efficient, very satisfied w/ unit!! Recommend to anyone!! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Works great

08/20/2013
By ,
Hudson, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I attached the hose that came with the dehumidifier and drain the water into the washer drain pipe in the basement. The humidifier is put on a shelf and is higher than the water drain, of course. It works flawlessly and my basement is made liveable again. It was so humid and funky smelling before. I did have to wipe down everything with bleach to get rid of the mold, but after that, all is well. I highly recommend this product. It's completely maintenance free with this set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier
08/29/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Dehumidifier to replace a much older one. It has meet all of my expectations so far. It has kept my basement at a nice temp/humidity level. I would recommend this item to anyone that is looking for a good value for the money. I was pleased that it came with a drain line. So all i had to do was hook it up put it in the drain and plug in the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Very good low cost dehumidifier

09/04/2013
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the dehumidifier for use in my basement. When I picked up the product from the store I could tell it had been repackaged, meaning someone else had probably returned this unit.
Pros:
Setup was very easy, just power it up and set the fan speed and humidity setting. Within one day it had filled the bucket with water.
Cons:
The instruction alluded there was a PVC hose included that could be used for continual draining. There was none in the box. I connected an old washer hose which initially did not allow for draining. Found I had tightened it too much. Loosened the connection until water would not leak and it started draining okay.
Unit is noisy at times. The water bucket simply slides in and after a few hours of use becomes a little loose and something inside starts to rattle. I had a couple of small bungee cords and wrapped them around the unit to keep the bucket tight.
Fan runs all the time to circulate air.
I have the humidity setting set for 55% but the compressor is still running even when the display said the current humidity was at 52%. I may end up returning this unit for another of the same model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Great Product

01/14/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what we were looking for. We got this for our RV and are happy with it so far. No more water on the windows when we are in places with high humidity. And it does not take up a lot of space!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Okay, but already making a strange noise.

07/21/2013
By ,
Central MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My husband and I live in MA and it's been quite humid this summer (2013). We purchased this item for our 800 square foot living room/kitchen area, and after running the dehumidifier for approx. 3 days continously (with a setting goal of 50% and the fan/motor on high), we are already noticing a strange rattling noise when it's on. If you do the gentle "technical" tap that my Mechanical Engineer husband taught me, it stops rattling for about 2-4 seconds, & then starts again. The tank will fill in about 4-6 hours if on high, set at 50% humidity, on a really humid/wet day. I'm hesitant to recommend the product fully, because I have no idea what that rattle is going to lead to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 17 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Excellent Dehumidifier

08/30/2013
By ,
VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this in our basement which is from the 1800's and made of laid stone. It works great and really removes the dampness quickly. It currently operates in a 1000 sqft and does a superb job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier
08/30/2013
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product for the price. Especially like the timer function.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Good Dehumidifier

08/30/2013
By ,
OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice and small, very quiet. I gave it 4 of 5 stars because sometimes the fan will make a loud rattling noise until I move the unit but I think thats because the unit is on thick carpet and us thus not level. On a level floor it probably wouldn't do that. Has a digital thermometer which tells you the room temp and also has a digital humidistat to show you what humidity you have it on, and what the actual humidity is, which is really nice. The fan has high and low which is nice, I keep it on low, the fan is always running even when the room reaches the set humidity which I like to keep air moving in the basement. Comes with a nice long hose to make it easy to drain. Overall really happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Danby ArcticAire 30-Pint Dehumidifier

Unit does Not condensate at all.

02/09/2014
By ,
Mooresville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am returning this unit for refund as it does not condensate any moisture from the air; not one drop collected. Customer Service has limited contact hours via telephone..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next