Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbie Barbie Dreamhouse

Barbie Barbie Dreamhouse

Barbie's new home has three great stories for play! Hit the kitchen on the first floor to create an amazing meal with the luxe stainless steel appliances, blender and light-up oven. Girls can flip the table in the dining room to go from breakfast to dinner with no fuss. On the second floor, Barbie and her guests can use the spacious bathroom that features all sorts of realistic touches when kid-activated, such as a light-up mirror, "flushing" toilet and someone singing in the shower. Head to the bedroom for a place to rest Barbie doll's head. The divine canopy bed pulls out to reveal a trundle bed, perfect for sleepovers. And a puppy bed means Barbie doll's pet can sleep comfortably cuddled as well. Take the elevator to the third floor for fab fun! The living room has a television that "flips" channels and a great balcony to provide the perfect spot to soak up the Malibu sun. Or visit Barbie doll's ultimate closet to get ready for a night out.
Average Customer Rating:
3.698 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(285 Reviews) 284
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
90
3 stars
33
2 stars
25
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation76%212 out of 280reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 122 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
90
3 stars
33
2 stars
25
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Damaged

12/22/2013
By ,
Weesatche,Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Item was received with box damage,tore open , bent & appeared to have moisture damage the label was wrinkled. Doors will not close, elevator does not work. The item was received as pictures below show
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Barbie Dreamhouse

An ultimate collection for kids

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barbie's Dream House is my daughter's dream toy. She is so happy to have it and said to me, "Papa, this is the best gift that I've ever had". Yes, it is a very nice collection for the kids. They can keep it until they become older.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Barbie dream house

05/04/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Love the finished product. HAted the assembly process. Instructions are terrible needs a instructional DVD. I gave up and went to YouTube and found instructions there. I would like the elevators to slide easier and the furniture to be sturdier. My granddaughter loves it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Barbie Dreamhouse

After a difficult assembly, so worth every penny!

09/29/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As with most toys these days, assembly was quite complicated until we found a YouTube video that helped tremendously. This Dreamhouse is all you could ever want in a Barbie creation for young and old. Lots of little parts, which actually make it even more fun! The sounds are fantastic, wish there were more. Once put together, it's very sturdy, enough so that we can move it from room to room. To use with Barbies or any doll that size for that matter, our daughter will be enjoying this for so many years.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Fun for all Ages

09/19/2013
By ,
Chatham, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a member of One2One Network, I received a free Barbie Dreamhouse
to review, and all opinions are my own.
The first thing my 4 year old daughter noticed about the new 2013
Barbie Dreamhouse is how big it is. She stands just a few inches
taller than the assembled house, which is life-size for Barbie dolls.
We both love this feature because both of my girls can play side-by-
side and I can even join in on the fun with plenty of room inside the
house to explore.
Assembly
Assembling any child’s toy is probably my least favorite “mom chore”.
There’s always a dozens of pieces and the new 2013 Barbie Dreamhouse
was no exception. The included assembly instructions really need an
update. Currently they offer just photos with few written
instructions making the assembly process difficult to understand. I
found myself extremely frustrated and ready to wave the white flag
several times. There is an online instruction video available that
offers a great deal of help for some of the trickier parts – like
assembling the main elevator. Unfortunately, that video doesn’t cover
ALL of the steps. Using both you can probably assemble the Dreamhouse
in about an hour.
Inside the Barbie Dreamhouse
The real fun begins as soon as Barbie walks through the double doors
on the first floor. There’s a working doorbell that’s battery powered
and a manually operated elevator that takes Barbie through each floor
of the house. As she travels through the six rooms, each with a
unique theme, you’ll discover fun features. In the kitchen there’s a
blender button that makes noise, in the bathroom a flushing toilet, a
flip screen tv in the living room and more. I don’t want to give away
all of the secrets because they’re a lot of fun to discover on your
own.
While there are so many features of the Barbie Dreamhouse that we
love, there have been some issues along the way. Aside from the
assembly instructions being difficult to understand, in the first
week we had several parts break easily. The front doors tend to fall
off quite easily and some of the white railings like the one in the
bathroom and the balcony fall off. We also find that the main
elevator get’s stuck between floors. While it’s not necessarily a
problem, it should be noted that the Barbie Dreamhouse comes with a
lot of smart parts and accessories (food for the fridge, hangers,
dishes, cups, etc) . These can make imaginative play a lot of fun for
kids but frustrating for parents when they small parts get spread
throughout the house and easily lost.
Overall, our 4 and 6 year old daughters have had a lot of fun playing
with the Dreamhouse. It’s a huge improvement over the 2012 Dreamhouse
that I think most kids will fall in love with.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Lots of fun for kids, hope it lasts a long time!

09/23/2013
By ,
Southampton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dreamhouse is tailor-made for Barbie and I must say that it is impressive.
We arrived home from the beach one summer day to find the big pink box sitting on our doorstep. My daughter was beyond excited - the box was almost bigger than her! A few days later, daddy got to work and assembled Barbie's new home. He had a hard time putting this together, but it's all worth it in the end seeing how much the kids and their friends enjoy playing with it.
The 3 1/3 foot tall, six-room playhouse is very detailed and extravagant, proving the Barbie is doing quite well for herself. There is a doorbell, the toilet flushes, the television flips channels, there are even hangers in the closet and a turkey for the oven. Barbie's house is equipped with two elevators that work by pulling strings.
I wasn't expecting my 16 month-old son to enjoy the playhouse as much if not more than my daughter. He absolutely loves the musical aspect to it and will dance to the music and sounds. My daughter also loves the sounds throughout the house but she especially likes that this house is made just for Barbie.
Because of the small parts - and there are many - this toy is recommended for children over the age of three. I removed all of the small pieces that were loose so that Ryan can't get to them. The playhouse is not as sturdy as I would like it to be but the kids are loving it. I just hope that it holds up to their abuse!
I participated in this sponsored campaign for One2One Network. I received monetary compensation and product to facilitate my review, but all opinions stated are my own.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Difficult Assembly, Fun Play

09/11/2013
By ,
New York
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received a free Barbie Dreamhouse as part of a One2One Network review campaign and all opinions are my own.
Before my daughter could get to exploring, I had to assemble the house. I knew this would be a challenging task when I saw the included one sheet featuring Barbie and a flustered Ken, poking fun at the number of parts and stickers involved.
I took one look at the printed instructions and jumped immediately to the Barbie Dreamhouse Assembly Instructional Video. A little over an hour later, I had the house mostly assembled. The lower side walls keep popping off, as do the front doors. The main elevator sticks just below the third floor. There is an included sheet that says that if the elevator is "immobile," I should "force" it back into place. After another half hour, I had all the stickers on and the furniture assembled.
All that effort was definitely worth the look on my little girl's face.
She's fairly tall for her age (7 years old and over four feet tall) and the Dreamhouse is huge!
She immediately went right for the elevator and loved the jeweled pulls that operate it. When I asked her about her favorite feature, she said, "ELEVATOR! ELEVATOR, ELEVATOR!" After she had the elevator figured out, she decided to take her dolls (Belle and Mulan Barbie) through a typical day: waking up (there's a trundle bed for guests), brushing teeth and showering (she said the toilet makes it extra realistic), making and eating breakfast, getting dressed, and relaxing on the balcony (another favorite feature). She really loved the closet elevator idea, too. Heck, I'd like a dressing room like that!
In Barbie's kitchen, there's a recycling bin--a cute touch that shows how Barbie is keeping up with the times.
As a parent, I appreciate that most of the little food, decoration, and other prop accessories (and there are tons) can be snapped onto tables and counter tops and mantles. My daughter has spent about an hour rearranging and redecorating and giving her dolls elevator rides. And she's eager to find all the sounds and lights throughout the house.
With lots of time, attention to detail, and a little improvisation, you can "build" this Dreamhouse for your Barbie fan, who is sure to get hours of enjoyment playing with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Worst Product Ever - Ruined Christmas

12/26/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the main Christmas gift my daughter was looking forward to from "Santa". The fact that it came out of the box broken is not even the worst part. The instructions are utterly worthless. It is a single page of tiny pictures with no words - completely incomprehensible. They even include a 2nd set of color "instructions" that completely mock the customer. One item states "Use these simple instructions for hours......hours of fun". Nothing simple about it & yes, you will spend frustrating hours attempting to assemble. The last picture on this 2nd set of instructions states along the lines "don't give up, keep going. After assembly, then enjoy putting on a 1,000 stickers." Instead of mocking the customer, Mattel should fix the problem. Put together a comprehensive set of instructions with full-size pictures & words. Don't rely on people to figure it out either on their own or watching YouTube videos. Needless to say, we returned it despite the utter disappointment of our daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Barbie Dreamhouse

What a HUGE WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!

12/28/2013
By ,
Midlothian,Va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this for my daughter who is 4 1/2. This is all she asked for for Christmas. It took my husband hours to put it together. Then another hour for us to finish with stickers and adding the little pieces on Christmas Eve. The elevator has never worked right, after it was played with for an hour or so, it now is broken! A piece on the wall falls off continuously! The doors fall off continuously ! The sad part is, she really likes it! She loves the flushing toliet, singing shower and the elevator(that
Does not work) This was $149.00!!!!!!! A complete waste of money! I am now trying to convince her that Santa has it set up with Walmart that you can return the toys if they are broken so you can get a new or different one? What are you supposed to tell a 4 year old that so believes in Santa? We are hoping to take this back and exchange for a wooden dollhouse! Just waiting on her approval! It is a cute product, but someone needs to make things better!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Barbie Dreamhouse

A girls dream come true!!

09/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 6 year old daughter plays with her dolls all the time, and having the barbie dream house is the best thing that ever happened. It is pretty big and 3 feet high, it has two elevators which she finds to be pretty cool since one of the elevators goes to and from the dressing room and bathroom. The kitchen comes with utensils, food and many small gadgets. This Barbie dream house is definitely a girls dream come true.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Barbie Dreamhouse

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

12/30/2013
By ,
Norwich,CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is horrible that Mattel is putting their name on an inferior product! When we opened the box, the stickers were already peeling off. The instructions were horrible! It wasn't until I called Mattel about another issue that they said they put an instructional video on Youtube. That would have been good to know when we were putting it together. The Dream House is more of a Nightmare. If you had or ever played with a Dream house from the 80's you will be very disappointed. The plastic is VERY cheap. for $150+ you would expect it to be made from a sturdy plastic. It will be broken within 6 months. From the time of assembly the elevator won't work. The front doors popped off the first day. The supports for the bed and table broke when I was putting it together and not using a lot of force. Mattel is replacing my unit but I have no doubt that it will be the same issue. I told them I would give them one more chance. DO yourself a favor and go to ebay or craig's list and buy an original dream house. It will be worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Over the Top Pink Awesomeness

09/17/2013
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a member of One2One Network,and received a free Barbie Dreamhouse to review. All opinions are my own.
We're somewhat new to Barbie~anything, as I had to pack away all Barbie paraphernalia a couple years ago with babies in the house, and we usually keep toys simple around here. My big girls (ages 10 and 6) are beyond excited! We could barely get past the box. "It has a flat screen tv! It has an elevator! It has a doorbell! This is way nicer than our house, mom!" Well, of course.
Because we STILL have little people in the house, I'm excited about the "lock" feature for the small items, keeping them in place and not scattered all over the floor. All the different sounds in the house were a fun surprise, too, that make the whole experience interactive. My girls could play for hours, dreaming up scenarios from morning until night, with the dreamhouse.
As expected with a huge toy, lots of pieces, and many details, assembly is quite time consuming. There is a helpful youtube video out there, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Barbie Dreamhouse

hours of fun

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter received this as an early birthday present and hasn't stopped playing with it. Assembly was tricky but we found a video online that helped a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Barbie Dreamhouse

B+ your child will love it!!!

05/15/2014
By ,
Tampa, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My little girl loves this barbie dream house! She loves all the sounds it makes and she loves the working elevators, colors, stickers, and accessories. The packaging was done well and all parts were included and all parts fit together properly upon assembly.
Child complaint- four servings but two chairs (My child had to add TWO other chairs from another play set for everyone to eat with four plates etc that came with dream house)
Parent complaint- Assembly was over 6 hours. You may want to plan ahead and not assemble in front of your child. Also for the price the manufacturer is cutting corners but not adding lights. The chandelier could really use an upgrade with an LED light or something, it is made of cheap plastic you have to piece together during assembly.
Overall I would buy again my child loves it and we can overlook these few items because the overall house is amazing, fun to play with, and designed for easy access and fun play.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Hours of fun!

12/30/2013
By ,
Chicago IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter absolutely loves this. Glad I found it just in time for Santa to deliver it.
This item was sold out everywhere I found it on site to store. Place my order. Turns out the store must have already sold the last one, because walmart showed the store had it, they ordered it from the manufacturer and had it expressed shipped to store at no charge to me so it would arrive in time for xmas. That was great.
The reviews about assembly are correct. Do not use the manual to assemble. Use the YouTube video and it is simple as pie. Had it assembled in an hour.
No problem with the elevator's working or anything.
Tons of small parts so be careful with small children.
The price is a little high for this item as it is not made very sturdy, but the joy my daughter gets playing with it is priceless. I do recommend this product.
Hope this review helped.
Happy New Year!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Barbie Dreamhouse

My 4 year old LOVES it!

09/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is a lot of assembly required and I mean ALOT!!! But it was all worth it to see her face light up when she realized how tall and pretty it was. It is very large. You will need a large space to keep it in.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Barbie Dreamhouse

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

12/25/2013
By ,
Inverness, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had high hopes for this dollhouse, but it didn't meet my expectations. For the price, it is a real let down. The whole thing is cheap plastic, not durable whatsoever. The bed post broke during assembly and the elevators do not work correctly. You have to have it just so, or it won't function at all (gets stuck). My daughter wanted this so bad for Christmas. We bought it for her, and she plays with it, it's Barbie, so she'll play with anything Barbie. Anything Barbie she is pleased with. But what I assume that will happen pretty soon, is that the elevators won't function at all. Also, good luck with the instructions. They weren't clear at all. It took my husband 2 hours to assemble. My biggest complaint honestly, is that it is just such cheap flimsy, thin plastic that it will break so easily. We have only had this since this morning. Plus, the little grip on the fashion elevator, broke away from the string at the top. It was like that when we assembled. Sad we already have to super glue less than having it for 24 hours. I regret this purchase. It was a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Don't waste your money ..... plastic junk !!!!!!

08/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this barbie house for our daughter today. Have spent HOURS trying to get it assembled !!!
The directions that came with it are HORRIBLE !!!!!! It is a bunch of pictures that are terrible to follow. This is not the first barbie house I have put together.... It is actually the third, and this one is by far the absolute worst !!!! I even searched the internet and found a YouTube video to help with assembly!!! It seems very cheap and flimsy and the one thing that it "boasts" the center elevator I can not get to work properly.
I will be writing to Mattel to complain about this cheap plastic junk !!!!!
Don't waste your money on this toy if you want to keep your sanity.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Barbie Dreamhouse

barbie dreamhouse - not a great dream

08/29/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For all the hype & cost, this house should be better made. the elevator strings are worthless after using it a few times, IF you can get it assembled correctly. I bought this house for a 7 year old, so it was used properly. it is truly not worth the price. If you can get it on a black friday special... go for it. But at $148. it would be better to by the wooden houses - they go together better, and are better made, and fit the barbie dolls.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Barbie Dreamhouse
09/05/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter has last year's (or the year before's maybe?) Barbie Dreamhouse. There are some definite improvements to this newer product. The curved pink faux-glass elevator is much more fab than the old elevator. The closet in the upstairs bedroom is great! We never had anything to do with all the barbie clothing hangers before... now there is a solution! My daughter loved the pet bed and the living rooms built in wall seat. The pictures on the walls were awesome too. Only downgrade from the old dream house is that this one lacks a hot tub and the upstairs deck is so much smaller and weaker. Overall awesome though.
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 245 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next