Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbie Barbie Dreamhouse

Barbie Barbie Dreamhouse

Barbie's new home has three great stories for play! Hit the kitchen on the first floor to create an amazing meal with the luxe stainless steel appliances, blender and light-up oven. Girls can flip the table in the dining room to go from breakfast to dinner with no fuss. On the second floor, Barbie and her guests can use the spacious bathroom that features all sorts of realistic touches when kid-activated, such as a light-up mirror, "flushing" toilet and someone singing in the shower. Head to the bedroom for a place to rest Barbie doll's head. The divine canopy bed pulls out to reveal a trundle bed, perfect for sleepovers. And a puppy bed means Barbie doll's pet can sleep comfortably cuddled as well. Take the elevator to the third floor for fab fun! The living room has a television that "flips" channels and a great balcony to provide the perfect spot to soak up the Malibu sun. Or visit Barbie doll's ultimate closet to get ready for a night out.
Average Customer Rating:
3.644 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(247 Reviews) 246
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
73
3 stars
31
2 stars
24
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation74%179 out of 242reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 93 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
73
3 stars
31
2 stars
24
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Damaged

12/22/2013
By ,
Weesatche,Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Item was received with box damage,tore open , bent & appeared to have moisture damage the label was wrinkled. Doors will not close, elevator does not work. The item was received as pictures below show
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Barbie Dreamhouse

After a difficult assembly, so worth every penny!

09/29/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As with most toys these days, assembly was quite complicated until we found a YouTube video that helped tremendously. This Dreamhouse is all you could ever want in a Barbie creation for young and old. Lots of little parts, which actually make it even more fun! The sounds are fantastic, wish there were more. Once put together, it's very sturdy, enough so that we can move it from room to room. To use with Barbies or any doll that size for that matter, our daughter will be enjoying this for so many years.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Fun for all Ages

09/19/2013
By ,
Chatham, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a member of One2One Network, I received a free Barbie Dreamhouse
to review, and all opinions are my own.
The first thing my 4 year old daughter noticed about the new 2013
Barbie Dreamhouse is how big it is. She stands just a few inches
taller than the assembled house, which is life-size for Barbie dolls.
We both love this feature because both of my girls can play side-by-
side and I can even join in on the fun with plenty of room inside the
house to explore.
Assembly
Assembling any child’s toy is probably my least favorite “mom chore”.
There’s always a dozens of pieces and the new 2013 Barbie Dreamhouse
was no exception. The included assembly instructions really need an
update. Currently they offer just photos with few written
instructions making the assembly process difficult to understand. I
found myself extremely frustrated and ready to wave the white flag
several times. There is an online instruction video available that
offers a great deal of help for some of the trickier parts – like
assembling the main elevator. Unfortunately, that video doesn’t cover
ALL of the steps. Using both you can probably assemble the Dreamhouse
in about an hour.
Inside the Barbie Dreamhouse
The real fun begins as soon as Barbie walks through the double doors
on the first floor. There’s a working doorbell that’s battery powered
and a manually operated elevator that takes Barbie through each floor
of the house. As she travels through the six rooms, each with a
unique theme, you’ll discover fun features. In the kitchen there’s a
blender button that makes noise, in the bathroom a flushing toilet, a
flip screen tv in the living room and more. I don’t want to give away
all of the secrets because they’re a lot of fun to discover on your
own.
While there are so many features of the Barbie Dreamhouse that we
love, there have been some issues along the way. Aside from the
assembly instructions being difficult to understand, in the first
week we had several parts break easily. The front doors tend to fall
off quite easily and some of the white railings like the one in the
bathroom and the balcony fall off. We also find that the main
elevator get’s stuck between floors. While it’s not necessarily a
problem, it should be noted that the Barbie Dreamhouse comes with a
lot of smart parts and accessories (food for the fridge, hangers,
dishes, cups, etc) . These can make imaginative play a lot of fun for
kids but frustrating for parents when they small parts get spread
throughout the house and easily lost.
Overall, our 4 and 6 year old daughters have had a lot of fun playing
with the Dreamhouse. It’s a huge improvement over the 2012 Dreamhouse
that I think most kids will fall in love with.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Lots of fun for kids, hope it lasts a long time!

09/23/2013
By ,
Southampton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dreamhouse is tailor-made for Barbie and I must say that it is impressive.
We arrived home from the beach one summer day to find the big pink box sitting on our doorstep. My daughter was beyond excited - the box was almost bigger than her! A few days later, daddy got to work and assembled Barbie's new home. He had a hard time putting this together, but it's all worth it in the end seeing how much the kids and their friends enjoy playing with it.
The 3 1/3 foot tall, six-room playhouse is very detailed and extravagant, proving the Barbie is doing quite well for herself. There is a doorbell, the toilet flushes, the television flips channels, there are even hangers in the closet and a turkey for the oven. Barbie's house is equipped with two elevators that work by pulling strings.
I wasn't expecting my 16 month-old son to enjoy the playhouse as much if not more than my daughter. He absolutely loves the musical aspect to it and will dance to the music and sounds. My daughter also loves the sounds throughout the house but she especially likes that this house is made just for Barbie.
Because of the small parts - and there are many - this toy is recommended for children over the age of three. I removed all of the small pieces that were loose so that Ryan can't get to them. The playhouse is not as sturdy as I would like it to be but the kids are loving it. I just hope that it holds up to their abuse!
I participated in this sponsored campaign for One2One Network. I received monetary compensation and product to facilitate my review, but all opinions stated are my own.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Difficult Assembly, Fun Play

09/11/2013
By ,
New York
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received a free Barbie Dreamhouse as part of a One2One Network review campaign and all opinions are my own.
Before my daughter could get to exploring, I had to assemble the house. I knew this would be a challenging task when I saw the included one sheet featuring Barbie and a flustered Ken, poking fun at the number of parts and stickers involved.
I took one look at the printed instructions and jumped immediately to the Barbie Dreamhouse Assembly Instructional Video. A little over an hour later, I had the house mostly assembled. The lower side walls keep popping off, as do the front doors. The main elevator sticks just below the third floor. There is an included sheet that says that if the elevator is "immobile," I should "force" it back into place. After another half hour, I had all the stickers on and the furniture assembled.
All that effort was definitely worth the look on my little girl's face.
She's fairly tall for her age (7 years old and over four feet tall) and the Dreamhouse is huge!
She immediately went right for the elevator and loved the jeweled pulls that operate it. When I asked her about her favorite feature, she said, "ELEVATOR! ELEVATOR, ELEVATOR!" After she had the elevator figured out, she decided to take her dolls (Belle and Mulan Barbie) through a typical day: waking up (there's a trundle bed for guests), brushing teeth and showering (she said the toilet makes it extra realistic), making and eating breakfast, getting dressed, and relaxing on the balcony (another favorite feature). She really loved the closet elevator idea, too. Heck, I'd like a dressing room like that!
In Barbie's kitchen, there's a recycling bin--a cute touch that shows how Barbie is keeping up with the times.
As a parent, I appreciate that most of the little food, decoration, and other prop accessories (and there are tons) can be snapped onto tables and counter tops and mantles. My daughter has spent about an hour rearranging and redecorating and giving her dolls elevator rides. And she's eager to find all the sounds and lights throughout the house.
With lots of time, attention to detail, and a little improvisation, you can "build" this Dreamhouse for your Barbie fan, who is sure to get hours of enjoyment playing with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Worst Product Ever - Ruined Christmas

12/26/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the main Christmas gift my daughter was looking forward to from "Santa". The fact that it came out of the box broken is not even the worst part. The instructions are utterly worthless. It is a single page of tiny pictures with no words - completely incomprehensible. They even include a 2nd set of color "instructions" that completely mock the customer. One item states "Use these simple instructions for hours......hours of fun". Nothing simple about it & yes, you will spend frustrating hours attempting to assemble. The last picture on this 2nd set of instructions states along the lines "don't give up, keep going. After assembly, then enjoy putting on a 1,000 stickers." Instead of mocking the customer, Mattel should fix the problem. Put together a comprehensive set of instructions with full-size pictures & words. Don't rely on people to figure it out either on their own or watching YouTube videos. Needless to say, we returned it despite the utter disappointment of our daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Barbie Dreamhouse

What a HUGE WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!

12/28/2013
By ,
Midlothian,Va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this for my daughter who is 4 1/2. This is all she asked for for Christmas. It took my husband hours to put it together. Then another hour for us to finish with stickers and adding the little pieces on Christmas Eve. The elevator has never worked right, after it was played with for an hour or so, it now is broken! A piece on the wall falls off continuously! The doors fall off continuously ! The sad part is, she really likes it! She loves the flushing toliet, singing shower and the elevator(that
Does not work) This was $149.00!!!!!!! A complete waste of money! I am now trying to convince her that Santa has it set up with Walmart that you can return the toys if they are broken so you can get a new or different one? What are you supposed to tell a 4 year old that so believes in Santa? We are hoping to take this back and exchange for a wooden dollhouse! Just waiting on her approval! It is a cute product, but someone needs to make things better!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Barbie Dreamhouse

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

12/30/2013
By ,
Norwich,CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is horrible that Mattel is putting their name on an inferior product! When we opened the box, the stickers were already peeling off. The instructions were horrible! It wasn't until I called Mattel about another issue that they said they put an instructional video on Youtube. That would have been good to know when we were putting it together. The Dream House is more of a Nightmare. If you had or ever played with a Dream house from the 80's you will be very disappointed. The plastic is VERY cheap. for $150+ you would expect it to be made from a sturdy plastic. It will be broken within 6 months. From the time of assembly the elevator won't work. The front doors popped off the first day. The supports for the bed and table broke when I was putting it together and not using a lot of force. Mattel is replacing my unit but I have no doubt that it will be the same issue. I told them I would give them one more chance. DO yourself a favor and go to ebay or craig's list and buy an original dream house. It will be worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Over the Top Pink Awesomeness

09/17/2013
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a member of One2One Network,and received a free Barbie Dreamhouse to review. All opinions are my own.
We're somewhat new to Barbie~anything, as I had to pack away all Barbie paraphernalia a couple years ago with babies in the house, and we usually keep toys simple around here. My big girls (ages 10 and 6) are beyond excited! We could barely get past the box. "It has a flat screen tv! It has an elevator! It has a doorbell! This is way nicer than our house, mom!" Well, of course.
Because we STILL have little people in the house, I'm excited about the "lock" feature for the small items, keeping them in place and not scattered all over the floor. All the different sounds in the house were a fun surprise, too, that make the whole experience interactive. My girls could play for hours, dreaming up scenarios from morning until night, with the dreamhouse.
As expected with a huge toy, lots of pieces, and many details, assembly is quite time consuming. There is a helpful youtube video out there, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Damaged.

12/21/2013
By ,
Iowa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My rating will be poor due to my experiance with walmart. I Did "send to store " and when i picked it up, it hade a 2in hole punched into the Front of the box. After taking it out-of-the-box and putting it together, I noticed that The plastic has a moderate size gash on the second floor and three of stickers where badly damaged. I was already half way through assembly, and was not going to tear it down drive back to store, return it and hope they have another one in time for Christmas.
Now to details, the instructions are vague, but there are some nice You Tube video's that make the daunting task of assembly Manageable. I would assemble this on a table. It helps to have it at eye level. The sound effects are fun. The plastic is sturdy except the balcony. It kind of just snaps into the side and hangs there with no support. The main Elevator sticks at each floor, but may become better with use. Any little girl would love this. The colors are playful and Inviting.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Barbie Dreamhouse

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

12/25/2013
By ,
Inverness, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had high hopes for this dollhouse, but it didn't meet my expectations. For the price, it is a real let down. The whole thing is cheap plastic, not durable whatsoever. The bed post broke during assembly and the elevators do not work correctly. You have to have it just so, or it won't function at all (gets stuck). My daughter wanted this so bad for Christmas. We bought it for her, and she plays with it, it's Barbie, so she'll play with anything Barbie. Anything Barbie she is pleased with. But what I assume that will happen pretty soon, is that the elevators won't function at all. Also, good luck with the instructions. They weren't clear at all. It took my husband 2 hours to assemble. My biggest complaint honestly, is that it is just such cheap flimsy, thin plastic that it will break so easily. We have only had this since this morning. Plus, the little grip on the fashion elevator, broke away from the string at the top. It was like that when we assembled. Sad we already have to super glue less than having it for 24 hours. I regret this purchase. It was a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Barbie Dreamhouse

gift givers BEWARE!!

11/18/2013
By ,
CT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Gift givers BEWARE!! This product is delivered in the original packaging! It ruined the Santa gift!!!!
Will review again once I get it together, just wanted to give a heads up so it does't happen to anyone else!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
virginia
Posted 12/18/2013
it states that on the product information page.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Barbie Dreamhouse
09/05/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter has last year's (or the year before's maybe?) Barbie Dreamhouse. There are some definite improvements to this newer product. The curved pink faux-glass elevator is much more fab than the old elevator. The closet in the upstairs bedroom is great! We never had anything to do with all the barbie clothing hangers before... now there is a solution! My daughter loved the pet bed and the living rooms built in wall seat. The pictures on the walls were awesome too. Only downgrade from the old dream house is that this one lacks a hot tub and the upstairs deck is so much smaller and weaker. Overall awesome though.
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Poor Craftsmanship & Instructions on Mattels Part!

03/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is not worth the box it came in. Instructions were extremely vague and one part of the instructions was sarcastic. It was missing the main parts of the house, the post which held it up. My granddaughter has been very disappointed with this product!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Hours of fun!

12/30/2013
By ,
Chicago IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter absolutely loves this. Glad I found it just in time for Santa to deliver it.
This item was sold out everywhere I found it on site to store. Place my order. Turns out the store must have already sold the last one, because walmart showed the store had it, they ordered it from the manufacturer and had it expressed shipped to store at no charge to me so it would arrive in time for xmas. That was great.
The reviews about assembly are correct. Do not use the manual to assemble. Use the YouTube video and it is simple as pie. Had it assembled in an hour.
No problem with the elevator's working or anything.
Tons of small parts so be careful with small children.
The price is a little high for this item as it is not made very sturdy, but the joy my daughter gets playing with it is priceless. I do recommend this product.
Hope this review helped.
Happy New Year!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Not what I expect for price and product name

11/24/2013
By ,
Thibodaux,Louisiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Let start by telling everyone that the details on how to assemble this doll house is very poor... For the name BARBIE which has a lasting affect on every little girl that loves her.. this is not what a parent would expect for the price. I put it together by using the u-tube video ... thanks to u-tube for letting the public see how it goes together.... after all is done and put together.. the elevator only goes up half way to top floor... not sturdy enough to move around everyday ... the furniture is poor quality.. not sturdy at all... I purchased this for a Christmas gift for my granddaughter and I am sooo disappointed.. I just hope it holds up so my granddaughter will get some enjoyment out of it for awhile..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Barbie Dreamhouse

The Barbie Dreamhouse Is AWESOME !!!

12/26/2013
By ,
NYC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the Barbie Dreamhouse for my 6 yr old daughter on Cyber Monday for Christmas.It arrived super fast and was in perfect condition.It has alot for the buck , it's really more like a Mansion Estate .It has a big "wow factor"once you put it together.It does have alot of pieces and that could overwhelm you. But, if you take your time & follow it step by step ,it will be done sooner than u think.( even use the picture on the box to help :). Your girl will be amazed by how giant this house is and it even has a piece that slides it open bigger.It comes with furnature & tons of accessories for every rooms (cups, dishes, clothing hooks. ETC) It also has a shower, toilet , blender, that makes sounds.You can even hear Barbie's voice singing in the shower. You can't go wrong , it's worth every dollar :) Hope this review helps .ENJOY!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Barbie Dreamhouse

great product very poor instructions.

11/18/2013
By ,
lakeland,fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the people who wrote and set up the instructions forgot we live in america.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Can't Wait!

11/25/2013
By ,
Statesville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot wait to give this to my ten year old girl. I always wanted to get one of my own when I was a little girl, but never did, so, when my ten year old asked for one I ordered it from Wal Mart right away. I also ordered on a day that Wal Mart slashed the price for an early bird special. Thank you Wal Mart. Oh and I am getting me and my older daughter Barbie dolls because it is never too late to play!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Instructions were terrible

04/08/2014
By ,
95688
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Main complaint is the instructions. they were practically useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 214 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next