Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbie Barbie Dreamhouse

Barbie Barbie Dreamhouse

Barbie's new home has three great stories for play! Hit the kitchen on the first floor to create an amazing meal with the luxe stainless steel appliances, blender and light-up oven. Girls can flip the table in the dining room to go from breakfast to dinner with no fuss. On the second floor, Barbie and her guests can use the spacious bathroom that features all sorts of realistic touches when kid-activated, such as a light-up mirror, "flushing" toilet and someone singing in the shower. Head to the bedroom for a place to rest Barbie doll's head. The divine canopy bed pulls out to reveal a trundle bed, perfect for sleepovers. And a puppy bed means Barbie doll's pet can sleep comfortably cuddled as well. Take the elevator to the third floor for fab fun! The living room has a television that "flips" channels and a great balcony to provide the perfect spot to soak up the Malibu sun. Or visit Barbie doll's ultimate closet to get ready for a night out.
Average Customer Rating:
3.722 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(306 Reviews) 305
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
112
4 stars
96
3 stars
35
2 stars
27
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation77%231 out of 301reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 136 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
112
4 stars
96
3 stars
35
2 stars
27
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Dreamy, but BROKEN!

10/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this for my 6 year olds birthday. First, it was delivered after the anticiapted "site to store" date they gave me prior to paying for it. So, she got it a day late.
Then, by the time we got it home and opened it... there were cracks in many of the pieces. The product is amazing for any little girl... lots of bells and whistles - really cool!
We did not have heart to return it, since she already got the gift late. We were able to still put it together and did not want her gift to be delayed even further.
However, after paying $160.00 for a toy, I expect it to be perfect.
Wal Mart needs to be a little less careless when making deliveries site to store... this is the 2nd time a large purchase of mine from Wal Mart was damaged. I will not be ordering things from them in the future.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Damaged

12/22/2013
By ,
Weesatche,Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Item was received with box damage,tore open , bent & appeared to have moisture damage the label was wrinkled. Doors will not close, elevator does not work. The item was received as pictures below show
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Barbie Dreamhouse

An ultimate collection for kids

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barbie's Dream House is my daughter's dream toy. She is so happy to have it and said to me, "Papa, this is the best gift that I've ever had". Yes, it is a very nice collection for the kids. They can keep it until they become older.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Barbie Dreamhouse

After a difficult assembly, so worth every penny!

09/29/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As with most toys these days, assembly was quite complicated until we found a YouTube video that helped tremendously. This Dreamhouse is all you could ever want in a Barbie creation for young and old. Lots of little parts, which actually make it even more fun! The sounds are fantastic, wish there were more. Once put together, it's very sturdy, enough so that we can move it from room to room. To use with Barbies or any doll that size for that matter, our daughter will be enjoying this for so many years.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Barbie dream house

05/04/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Love the finished product. HAted the assembly process. Instructions are terrible needs a instructional DVD. I gave up and went to YouTube and found instructions there. I would like the elevators to slide easier and the furniture to be sturdier. My granddaughter loves it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Fun for all Ages

09/19/2013
By ,
Chatham, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a member of One2One Network, I received a free Barbie Dreamhouse
to review, and all opinions are my own.
The first thing my 4 year old daughter noticed about the new 2013
Barbie Dreamhouse is how big it is. She stands just a few inches
taller than the assembled house, which is life-size for Barbie dolls.
We both love this feature because both of my girls can play side-by-
side and I can even join in on the fun with plenty of room inside the
house to explore.
Assembly
Assembling any child’s toy is probably my least favorite “mom chore”.
There’s always a dozens of pieces and the new 2013 Barbie Dreamhouse
was no exception. The included assembly instructions really need an
update. Currently they offer just photos with few written
instructions making the assembly process difficult to understand. I
found myself extremely frustrated and ready to wave the white flag
several times. There is an online instruction video available that
offers a great deal of help for some of the trickier parts – like
assembling the main elevator. Unfortunately, that video doesn’t cover
ALL of the steps. Using both you can probably assemble the Dreamhouse
in about an hour.
Inside the Barbie Dreamhouse
The real fun begins as soon as Barbie walks through the double doors
on the first floor. There’s a working doorbell that’s battery powered
and a manually operated elevator that takes Barbie through each floor
of the house. As she travels through the six rooms, each with a
unique theme, you’ll discover fun features. In the kitchen there’s a
blender button that makes noise, in the bathroom a flushing toilet, a
flip screen tv in the living room and more. I don’t want to give away
all of the secrets because they’re a lot of fun to discover on your
own.
While there are so many features of the Barbie Dreamhouse that we
love, there have been some issues along the way. Aside from the
assembly instructions being difficult to understand, in the first
week we had several parts break easily. The front doors tend to fall
off quite easily and some of the white railings like the one in the
bathroom and the balcony fall off. We also find that the main
elevator get’s stuck between floors. While it’s not necessarily a
problem, it should be noted that the Barbie Dreamhouse comes with a
lot of smart parts and accessories (food for the fridge, hangers,
dishes, cups, etc) . These can make imaginative play a lot of fun for
kids but frustrating for parents when they small parts get spread
throughout the house and easily lost.
Overall, our 4 and 6 year old daughters have had a lot of fun playing
with the Dreamhouse. It’s a huge improvement over the 2012 Dreamhouse
that I think most kids will fall in love with.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Lots of fun for kids, hope it lasts a long time!

09/23/2013
By ,
Southampton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dreamhouse is tailor-made for Barbie and I must say that it is impressive.
We arrived home from the beach one summer day to find the big pink box sitting on our doorstep. My daughter was beyond excited - the box was almost bigger than her! A few days later, daddy got to work and assembled Barbie's new home. He had a hard time putting this together, but it's all worth it in the end seeing how much the kids and their friends enjoy playing with it.
The 3 1/3 foot tall, six-room playhouse is very detailed and extravagant, proving the Barbie is doing quite well for herself. There is a doorbell, the toilet flushes, the television flips channels, there are even hangers in the closet and a turkey for the oven. Barbie's house is equipped with two elevators that work by pulling strings.
I wasn't expecting my 16 month-old son to enjoy the playhouse as much if not more than my daughter. He absolutely loves the musical aspect to it and will dance to the music and sounds. My daughter also loves the sounds throughout the house but she especially likes that this house is made just for Barbie.
Because of the small parts - and there are many - this toy is recommended for children over the age of three. I removed all of the small pieces that were loose so that Ryan can't get to them. The playhouse is not as sturdy as I would like it to be but the kids are loving it. I just hope that it holds up to their abuse!
I participated in this sponsored campaign for One2One Network. I received monetary compensation and product to facilitate my review, but all opinions stated are my own.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Difficult Assembly, Fun Play

09/11/2013
By ,
New York
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received a free Barbie Dreamhouse as part of a One2One Network review campaign and all opinions are my own.
Before my daughter could get to exploring, I had to assemble the house. I knew this would be a challenging task when I saw the included one sheet featuring Barbie and a flustered Ken, poking fun at the number of parts and stickers involved.
I took one look at the printed instructions and jumped immediately to the Barbie Dreamhouse Assembly Instructional Video. A little over an hour later, I had the house mostly assembled. The lower side walls keep popping off, as do the front doors. The main elevator sticks just below the third floor. There is an included sheet that says that if the elevator is "immobile," I should "force" it back into place. After another half hour, I had all the stickers on and the furniture assembled.
All that effort was definitely worth the look on my little girl's face.
She's fairly tall for her age (7 years old and over four feet tall) and the Dreamhouse is huge!
She immediately went right for the elevator and loved the jeweled pulls that operate it. When I asked her about her favorite feature, she said, "ELEVATOR! ELEVATOR, ELEVATOR!" After she had the elevator figured out, she decided to take her dolls (Belle and Mulan Barbie) through a typical day: waking up (there's a trundle bed for guests), brushing teeth and showering (she said the toilet makes it extra realistic), making and eating breakfast, getting dressed, and relaxing on the balcony (another favorite feature). She really loved the closet elevator idea, too. Heck, I'd like a dressing room like that!
In Barbie's kitchen, there's a recycling bin--a cute touch that shows how Barbie is keeping up with the times.
As a parent, I appreciate that most of the little food, decoration, and other prop accessories (and there are tons) can be snapped onto tables and counter tops and mantles. My daughter has spent about an hour rearranging and redecorating and giving her dolls elevator rides. And she's eager to find all the sounds and lights throughout the house.
With lots of time, attention to detail, and a little improvisation, you can "build" this Dreamhouse for your Barbie fan, who is sure to get hours of enjoyment playing with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Barbie Dreamhouse

My granddaughter loves it

09/25/2014
By ,
Tyler, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My nine year old granddaughter fell in love with this dollhouse the first time she saw it. When she came home from school on yesterday, she was very surprised and excited to see that I had bought it for her. I told her that we had to hire someone to assemble it. She told me that she could assemble it. I told her that she could not do it, because I had read the reviews and people were stating that it was very difficult to assemble. I told her if adults found it hard to assemble, a nine year old would never be able to do it. She kept asking and I finally agreed to allow her to do it. To my surprise, this little nine year old assembled this dollhouse, with no help from me. The finished product is beautiful. My granddaughter is spending hours playing with it. The toilet is flushing, there is singing in the shower, and the elevators are working. I am so amazed. I have sent pictures of the assembled dollhouse to all my friends and family. She has received so many compliments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Worst Product Ever - Ruined Christmas

12/26/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the main Christmas gift my daughter was looking forward to from "Santa". The fact that it came out of the box broken is not even the worst part. The instructions are utterly worthless. It is a single page of tiny pictures with no words - completely incomprehensible. They even include a 2nd set of color "instructions" that completely mock the customer. One item states "Use these simple instructions for hours......hours of fun". Nothing simple about it & yes, you will spend frustrating hours attempting to assemble. The last picture on this 2nd set of instructions states along the lines "don't give up, keep going. After assembly, then enjoy putting on a 1,000 stickers." Instead of mocking the customer, Mattel should fix the problem. Put together a comprehensive set of instructions with full-size pictures & words. Don't rely on people to figure it out either on their own or watching YouTube videos. Needless to say, we returned it despite the utter disappointment of our daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Barbie Dreamhouse

What a HUGE WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!

12/28/2013
By ,
Midlothian,Va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this for my daughter who is 4 1/2. This is all she asked for for Christmas. It took my husband hours to put it together. Then another hour for us to finish with stickers and adding the little pieces on Christmas Eve. The elevator has never worked right, after it was played with for an hour or so, it now is broken! A piece on the wall falls off continuously! The doors fall off continuously ! The sad part is, she really likes it! She loves the flushing toliet, singing shower and the elevator(that
Does not work) This was $149.00!!!!!!! A complete waste of money! I am now trying to convince her that Santa has it set up with Walmart that you can return the toys if they are broken so you can get a new or different one? What are you supposed to tell a 4 year old that so believes in Santa? We are hoping to take this back and exchange for a wooden dollhouse! Just waiting on her approval! It is a cute product, but someone needs to make things better!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Barbie Dreamhouse

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

12/30/2013
By ,
Norwich,CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is horrible that Mattel is putting their name on an inferior product! When we opened the box, the stickers were already peeling off. The instructions were horrible! It wasn't until I called Mattel about another issue that they said they put an instructional video on Youtube. That would have been good to know when we were putting it together. The Dream House is more of a Nightmare. If you had or ever played with a Dream house from the 80's you will be very disappointed. The plastic is VERY cheap. for $150+ you would expect it to be made from a sturdy plastic. It will be broken within 6 months. From the time of assembly the elevator won't work. The front doors popped off the first day. The supports for the bed and table broke when I was putting it together and not using a lot of force. Mattel is replacing my unit but I have no doubt that it will be the same issue. I told them I would give them one more chance. DO yourself a favor and go to ebay or craig's list and buy an original dream house. It will be worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Purchase Dreamhouse online 4 store delivery=poor!

11/01/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My on-line purchase was confirmed, but too late "credited", which was VERY DISAPPOINTING to my two girls as we discovered the cancellation at the store. We were prepared to leave broken hearted, but checked out Sparkle dolls instead and make a purchase. As we prepared to exit, there on the floor were 3 Dreamhouse boxes ready for purchase! Only by sheer luck did we spot the Dreamhouse that was "cancelled/credited" for my online purchase! How upsetting is that kind of system that rejects an order only to have abundant supply on the floor! Beware shoppers that Wal-Mart does not have its online order--pickup in store system down - you might not be as accidently lucky as I was. Oh, the Dreamhouse we love, but the assembly was tortuous, saved only by watching the assembly online via Google! VERY, VERY POOR ASSEMBLY INSTRUCTIONS!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Only because it is trademarked Barbie

09/22/2014
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is a sad sad day to admit that the only reason I did not send this back is because of the trademark. My grand daughter loves Barbie. How can you buy something give it to them, see them jump for joy then send it back? The whole product is not worth exchanging and going through the assembly process again to only find out it is just a cheap plastic KA KA house.
What are we teaching our kids and what are we letting Barbie do to us? You paid near 150 bucks for a piece of KA KA and happy because your baby is smiling?
The other houses available are sturdier, but Barbie is too tall for them. What a monopoly of garbage, right?
I feel so violated that Barbie just swindles my money like this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Over the Top Pink Awesomeness

09/17/2013
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a member of One2One Network,and received a free Barbie Dreamhouse to review. All opinions are my own.
We're somewhat new to Barbie~anything, as I had to pack away all Barbie paraphernalia a couple years ago with babies in the house, and we usually keep toys simple around here. My big girls (ages 10 and 6) are beyond excited! We could barely get past the box. "It has a flat screen tv! It has an elevator! It has a doorbell! This is way nicer than our house, mom!" Well, of course.
Because we STILL have little people in the house, I'm excited about the "lock" feature for the small items, keeping them in place and not scattered all over the floor. All the different sounds in the house were a fun surprise, too, that make the whole experience interactive. My girls could play for hours, dreaming up scenarios from morning until night, with the dreamhouse.
As expected with a huge toy, lots of pieces, and many details, assembly is quite time consuming. There is a helpful youtube video out there, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Barbie Dreamhouse

The price was incredible!!!!!

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this house while it was on sale for $120 which can't be beat. It retails in T***et for $189.99 which to me is ridiculous. I waited and watched sales ads at every store imaginable so I jumped at the price since this was my daughter's #1 Christmas item. As far as the house is concerned I don't like it quite as much as the previous version we owned circa 2012. The hot tub is gone and the balcony has shrunk. I also preferred the elevator on the side rather than the center, but my 8 year old will love it because well it's a Barbie dream house and what little girl who loves Barbie doesn't love that.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Making a dream come true

11/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a Christmas present for my granddaughter so I can't actually review the product just yet. All I can do is give my opinion on the value and purchasing experience.
Walmart had a one day sale on-line and I was able to purchase this at a price that I know for a fact, I would not be able to come close to getting at any other store. My granddaughter has wanted this for 3 years now, so I'm very excited to finally gift it to her this year :)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Barbie Dreamhouse

Was a big wow gift for Christmas last year

11/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The excitement alone when my 5 year old opened this last year was worth it.
I will admit assembly was quite difficult and the elevator doesn't really work the best.
But over all she loves it and is still playing with it still since last year, which says a lot!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Barbie Dreamhouse

A timeless classic!

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Grand daughter loves it! I had been searching for the Dream House for several weeks and by far Wal-Mart was was the best price abd was the easiest in ordering it. The shipping was free and took only 5 days to receive it! I will absolutely order from Wal-Mart again and again.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Barbie Dreamhouse

dream of less time to put together

11/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A little involved to put together. Directions consist of black and white pictures and not too clear. Had to mostly rely on color picture on the front of the box. The elevator waseasy to assemble but you really could not figure it out by the directions. One of the cardboard walls was warped so it will have to be fixed with doublestick tape. Otherwise this made a little girl very happy on her 7th birthday.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 264 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next