Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

LeapFrog LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

The LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Learning Tablet is the best-selling, kid-tough learning tablet now with an easy, one-step recharger pack included. You'll never have to buy batteries again!
Average Customer Rating:
4.543 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(313 Reviews) 281
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
234
4 stars
43
3 stars
18
2 stars
8
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation91%284 out of 311reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 48 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
234
4 stars
43
3 stars
18
2 stars
8
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

Good, if you're rich and like to burn money

09/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I researched the learning side and the durability of the LeapPad for my 2 yr old's birthday and seemed it had good reviews so I bought it. Well, then he opened it and I tried to set it up and everything changed. First it says it comes with some preloaded apps. Assuming you consider clock, calendar, and calculator apps then sure. Otherwise you get a drawing pad and a pet app that simply tries to get your kids to spend money. So I decide to load it up with apps for alphabet and numbers since it said there was an introductory special for this first session only. The first bundle I saw that looked like it had the teaching areas I wanted was $80 with the discounts!? Are you kidding me. Ok I'll go buy just a few apps we need. The first few apps that used Disney or Nick characters were $25 dollars!? I finally found some without branding for $10 dollars a piece, but no thank you. I immediately returned if for a Nabi which the Jr alone pays for the extra $30 right out of the box due to the preloaded apps. I went ahead and sprung for the Nabi 2 to get the better hardware and screen size, but its still better value than the LeapPad.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

Great learning tablet for little kids

06/12/2014
By ,
Woodbridge, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Leappad 2 Power is functionally identical to the standard (and cheaper) Leappad 2 tablet, but for the inclusion of a rechargeable battery kit and charger that Leapfrog also sells separately. The compelling advantage of Leapfrog's kit is that the batteries can be recharged in the unit, unlike conventional AA rechargeable batteries, which would need to be removed first. While it seems a money grab initially, the design prevents the inadvertent (and unsafe) recharging of alkaline batteries. In a pinch, alkaline or rechargeable AA batteries can be swapped into the unit.
We bought the Leappad for our 4 year old son for Christmas. This is a great toy for the younger end of the recommended 4-9 year old age range. Older kids, or kids who've previously had much exposure to "grown-up" Apple or Android devices are unlikely to find this a compelling alternative. That said, all the content available for it is of good educational value, and without the advertising or in-app purchases so common on iOS and Android devices. Games and apps can be "installed" via interchangeable cartridges, or purchased on-line and downloaded into the unit's internal memory, which is sufficient to hold a couple dozen apps at the same time, and without risk of your little one losing the carts.
The overall build quality is excellent, with commendable display and sound quality, given the selling price. Both cameras are trash VGA resolution affars that perform atrociously in low light conditions, but are commendable relative to the selling price of the unit. The unit is also suitably ruggedized for the child demographic it is targeted at, and includes thoughtful design touches as a stylus that is tethered, and which easily stores in a niche on the side of the unit. Leapfrog sells a series of rubber cases for these that add an additional layer of protection inexpensively.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

Great learning toy

03/15/2014
By ,
Towson, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this toy for our son's second birthday a few days ago because he is always playing on everyone's smart phones and we were afraid he might drop/throw one and break it. He loves it! He is already doing very well with playing with it by himself and rarely asks for the smart phones anymore! I recommend buying the protection plan just in case, but it seems very durable. He already dropped it on the sidewalk and it is fine, but we also bought a gel skin for it. Set up was quick and easy. The apps are expensive, but no more than the cartridges. Range from about $2.50 to $20. All-in-all, a wonderful product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

Great Leapfrog LeapPad for at a great price

12/26/2013
By ,
Helena, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 3 year old grandson for Christmas. He absolutely loves it. The apps it came with are at a level that he can work with, and there are a variety of games that are just right for his age. He accidentially dropped it from the table and it took the beating and kept working without any problems. (We had not purchased the gel cover since we bough several games for this. His parents will be purchasing this soon.) We did buy and a screen protector for for added protection, which I recommend (just as you would for any ipad/tablet/phone). So far the battery pack has lasted many hours on the single charge. I can not give an exact timeframe since they had to leave before the battery ran down and had to be recharged. I am very impressed with this item, as is my Daughter/son-in-law. My grandson loves this and takes it with him everywhere when he can, and when he can't it the LeapPad2 is the first "toy" he want's to play with when he gets home. Per my daughter the LeapPad2 is helping my grandson learn many skills. I recommend this product. It is a great learning tool, and should last for many, many years in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

Happy with the upgrade

11/13/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My oldest son had the leapster explorer. We've upgraded him to the leappad so he can take pictures and shoot video. He loves this function. Our youngest son likes the writing ability. I'd recommend this for any 3-6yrs old child.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

So far so good

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our little 4yr old received this for his birthday and started tracing letters first thing! We also downloaded a ninja turtles game onto it which is 73 mins long of 3 different videos!! He loves it and so do we!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

Somewhat disappointed

05/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great camera and video features, all of the good learning features have to be purchased separately which is not how the product was promoted.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

Love it

11/30/2013
By ,
Pahrump, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson will be 3, I bought 1 for grand daughter at same age, helped greatly with colors, shapes, alphabet, numbers,. Wonderful aid for learning
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

Wouldn't take a Charge!

09/03/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought the one with the rechargeable batteries and after using it the first time it wouldn't charge. I had to return it to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Learning Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

A Good Learning Tool

08/14/2014
By ,
Tampa,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this product for my 3 yr. old; back in May 2014. We went with this name compared to other leaning brand. This product is friendly and has a faster startup than the other brand I tried before purchasing this product. The one thing I think needs twitted is the pixel or resolution in the camera. The learning apps are good for our preschool child, he has grasped and learning the different apps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

GREAAAAAA!

08/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Y GRANDCHILDREN LOVE IT; THIS LEAPPAD2 IS VERY ADVANCED EDUCATIONALY FOR THEIR AGE AND I LOVE IT
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

This is described as an item a 3 year old. WRONG!

07/14/2014
By ,
Kew Gardens, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Be truthful. This item is for a kindergarten child. I am a retired teacher
And can assure you young children will gain zero benefit. 5 year olds and older
May find this interesting. I AM SOOOOO DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

Very Unhappy

12/25/2013
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We brought this as a Christmas present for our daughter. Nothing worked..we put the batteries in, plugged in the ac adapter and nothing..no yellow light saying it was charging. Took batteries out and plugged in cord to see if it would work then, nothing. $100.00 and you would think you would get something besides a big disappointment. If we were that upset about it, you can imagine how our 4 y/o felt. I guess I really can't write a review because NOTHING worked, which is a review in itself. I would ( will) never buy Leap Pad again! I looked at their FB page and they are getting taken apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

2 year old's great learning/playing game

01/05/2014
By ,
texarkana, texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
even my 2 year old can use this! fantastic learning tool and the games keep him occupied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

Grandson loves it

05/06/2014
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is actually his second one. The screen broke on the first one. Definitely glad we purchased the insurance. We did the same for the replacement!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

AWESOME!

08/12/2013
By ,
Alaska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son and he loves it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

Great Teaching Tool

05/30/2014
By ,
Fort Worth, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Son LOVES his Leapster 2. He is 5. It is the perfect size for his hands. The games are fun AND educational! Battery lasts for over 2 hours of play. GREAT for LONG drives.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

Rechargeable batteries a Plus!

01/14/2014
By ,
Port Huron, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had the original leap pad and my son used it until the screen was scratched and it no longer recognized cartridges. He learned a ton from it! So we upgraded to this one because we were tired of always changing batteries. Now as long as he remembers to plug the new one in while he's not playing it we don't have to keep opening it up to change batteries. I ranked value lower because compared to all the apple and android apps for free or only $1.99, games for the Leap pad are expensive (7.50 to $30 each).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

Recommended by teacher

12/11/2013
By ,
Cottonwood, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Grandson is a Special young man & really dislikes to sit down & read! His teacher has recommended this tablet & it reading programs! He's totally enamored w/ computers so he should really like this! He's also very proficient w/ a camera! I ordinarily I won't get the Grand Ones electronics because I would much rather have them up off their backsides & stretch their minds & fresh air! I am confident that this tablet will get him going & keep him going! I am a retired Special Ed teacher so anything that will keep the children learning is a big OK in my books!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes Rechargeable Battery - $40 Value)

Great for ALL toddlers

05/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent low tech learning gadget
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next