Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

LeapFrog LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

The LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Learning Tablet is the best-selling, kid-tough learning tablet now with an easy, one-step recharger pack included. You'll never have to buy batteries again!
Average Customer Rating:
4.494 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(417 Reviews) 385
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
303
4 stars
62
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation92%380 out of 415reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 86 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
303
4 stars
62
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Good, if you're rich and like to burn money

09/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I researched the learning side and the durability of the LeapPad for my 2 yr old's birthday and seemed it had good reviews so I bought it. Well, then he opened it and I tried to set it up and everything changed. First it says it comes with some preloaded apps. Assuming you consider clock, calendar, and calculator apps then sure. Otherwise you get a drawing pad and a pet app that simply tries to get your kids to spend money. So I decide to load it up with apps for alphabet and numbers since it said there was an introductory special for this first session only. The first bundle I saw that looked like it had the teaching areas I wanted was $80 with the discounts!? Are you kidding me. Ok I'll go buy just a few apps we need. The first few apps that used Disney or Nick characters were $25 dollars!? I finally found some without branding for $10 dollars a piece, but no thank you. I immediately returned if for a Nabi which the Jr alone pays for the extra $30 right out of the box due to the preloaded apps. I went ahead and sprung for the Nabi 2 to get the better hardware and screen size, but its still better value than the LeapPad.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+184points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Great Leapfrog LeapPad for at a great price

12/26/2013
By ,
Helena, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 3 year old grandson for Christmas. He absolutely loves it. The apps it came with are at a level that he can work with, and there are a variety of games that are just right for his age. He accidentially dropped it from the table and it took the beating and kept working without any problems. (We had not purchased the gel cover since we bough several games for this. His parents will be purchasing this soon.) We did buy and a screen protector for for added protection, which I recommend (just as you would for any ipad/tablet/phone). So far the battery pack has lasted many hours on the single charge. I can not give an exact timeframe since they had to leave before the battery ran down and had to be recharged. I am very impressed with this item, as is my Daughter/son-in-law. My grandson loves this and takes it with him everywhere when he can, and when he can't it the LeapPad2 is the first "toy" he want's to play with when he gets home. Per my daughter the LeapPad2 is helping my grandson learn many skills. I recommend this product. It is a great learning tool, and should last for many, many years in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

My 2 uear old loves it

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this leappad as a gift for my 2-year-old son who was always taking his brother's tablet. He is really just interested in the Mickey Mouse ebook we loaded on it, but has quickly learned how to turn it on and access the book. The rechargeable battery is a nice add on too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Okay but Not Okay!

12/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works well. I Thought this LeaPad 2 would be an excellent toy for our 5 year old. However, once again, the advertisers stick it to you! "Buy this, its loaded with lots of fun games, etc.!"
You buy it, turn it on, find out that you need to buy more stuff to play on it! Go to the online store and games are $25 each? WOW!!!!(even at Walmart) This model is being phased out by the Leap pad 3 and so on, but the games are pricey!!!!!!!! Holy cow!!!!
Would have been more cost effective to buy my 5 year old a tablet!, then I could get games for it from the app store, maybe not for less money, but at least my daughter could keep using this tablet for longer and not age out of it!
When did companies stop caring about learning and start hitting you with these huge prices for games?
I would Not recommend this Leap pad, buy a tablet, at least if your child gets board with it, you can use it for something else! At these prices, you will be money ahead!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Kind of dispaointed

01/01/2014
By ,
Marion Ia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My 5 yr old loves her tablet but we were both disappointed it didn't come with Thomas that was pictured on the front of the package. I had the impression what was on the front is what came with it. This is nearly a $100 item and only came with 1 game and some learning songs that's it. A regular tablet comes with much more for less. For the $ I think it should have came with a lot more games or the capability to download free games not having to pay extra for them. Far as durability it is great since my daughter had dropped it numerous times already and it still works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Somewhat disappointed

05/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great camera and video features, all of the good learning features have to be purchased separately which is not how the product was promoted.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Great learning tablet for little kids

06/12/2014
By ,
Woodbridge, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Leappad 2 Power is functionally identical to the standard (and cheaper) Leappad 2 tablet, but for the inclusion of a rechargeable battery kit and charger that Leapfrog also sells separately. The compelling advantage of Leapfrog's kit is that the batteries can be recharged in the unit, unlike conventional AA rechargeable batteries, which would need to be removed first. While it seems a money grab initially, the design prevents the inadvertent (and unsafe) recharging of alkaline batteries. In a pinch, alkaline or rechargeable AA batteries can be swapped into the unit.
We bought the Leappad for our 4 year old son for Christmas. This is a great toy for the younger end of the recommended 4-9 year old age range. Older kids, or kids who've previously had much exposure to "grown-up" Apple or Android devices are unlikely to find this a compelling alternative. That said, all the content available for it is of good educational value, and without the advertising or in-app purchases so common on iOS and Android devices. Games and apps can be "installed" via interchangeable cartridges, or purchased on-line and downloaded into the unit's internal memory, which is sufficient to hold a couple dozen apps at the same time, and without risk of your little one losing the carts.
The overall build quality is excellent, with commendable display and sound quality, given the selling price. Both cameras are trash VGA resolution affars that perform atrociously in low light conditions, but are commendable relative to the selling price of the unit. The unit is also suitably ruggedized for the child demographic it is targeted at, and includes thoughtful design touches as a stylus that is tethered, and which easily stores in a niche on the side of the unit. Leapfrog sells a series of rubber cases for these that add an additional layer of protection inexpensively.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Happy with the upgrade

11/13/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My oldest son had the leapster explorer. We've upgraded him to the leappad so he can take pictures and shoot video. He loves this function. Our youngest son likes the writing ability. I'd recommend this for any 3-6yrs old child.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Great learning toy

03/15/2014
By ,
Towson, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this toy for our son's second birthday a few days ago because he is always playing on everyone's smart phones and we were afraid he might drop/throw one and break it. He loves it! He is already doing very well with playing with it by himself and rarely asks for the smart phones anymore! I recommend buying the protection plan just in case, but it seems very durable. He already dropped it on the sidewalk and it is fine, but we also bought a gel skin for it. Set up was quick and easy. The apps are expensive, but no more than the cartridges. Range from about $2.50 to $20. All-in-all, a wonderful product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Love it

11/30/2013
By ,
Pahrump, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson will be 3, I bought 1 for grand daughter at same age, helped greatly with colors, shapes, alphabet, numbers,. Wonderful aid for learning
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Very Unhappy

12/25/2013
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We brought this as a Christmas present for our daughter. Nothing worked..we put the batteries in, plugged in the ac adapter and nothing..no yellow light saying it was charging. Took batteries out and plugged in cord to see if it would work then, nothing. $100.00 and you would think you would get something besides a big disappointment. If we were that upset about it, you can imagine how our 4 y/o felt. I guess I really can't write a review because NOTHING worked, which is a review in itself. I would ( will) never buy Leap Pad again! I looked at their FB page and they are getting taken apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

So far so good

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our little 4yr old received this for his birthday and started tracing letters first thing! We also downloaded a ninja turtles game onto it which is 73 mins long of 3 different videos!! He loves it and so do we!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

good learning toy

03/28/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
She loves playing with it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Great Overall Kid Tablet

10/04/2014
By ,
Bryan, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this tablet and so does my 3 year old son. Keeps him entertained while learning word composition, math, reading, science, and so much more. He is something as he can maneuver through all the features of this device. He loves taking pictures and editing them adding designs, stretching, and coloring things in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

2 year old's great learning/playing game

01/05/2014
By ,
texarkana, texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
even my 2 year old can use this! fantastic learning tool and the games keep him occupied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Toddler Game

10/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this for my toddler as something to play with on a long road trip we're preparing for. He seems to really enjoy the Scout game, and we recently bought him another one. All in all - it seems to be something he really enjoys.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Recommended by teacher

12/11/2013
By ,
Cottonwood, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Grandson is a Special young man & really dislikes to sit down & read! His teacher has recommended this tablet & it reading programs! He's totally enamored w/ computers so he should really like this! He's also very proficient w/ a camera! I ordinarily I won't get the Grand Ones electronics because I would much rather have them up off their backsides & stretch their minds & fresh air! I am confident that this tablet will get him going & keep him going! I am a retired Special Ed teacher so anything that will keep the children learning is a big OK in my books!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Great durable game system for little ones

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased one of these for my daughter a couple of years ago when they first came out. It is still a huge hit to this day. (She is 5 now) This kiddie tablet is extremely durable. . It has been dropped more times than I can count and it still works flawlessly. When my almost 2 year old showed interest in the tablet I decided it would be a perfect bday gift. I felt that there was no need to upgrade to the newer model because this one has really proven itself. Even though my daughter is too small to understand the games available, she is able to watch cartoons, play music, and interact with certain apps. I find this perfect for a 2 year old.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Great learning tool for the little ones, HOWEVER..

01/15/2014
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was purchased for my 3 year old. She often feels left out since her older siblings have lots devices and video games that she cannot play with because developmentally she is not capable yet. I had a neighbor that recommended against this device and suggested a regular tablet. We have 2 tablets in our home already and they are not perfect for her. I really trust and love the Leap Frog brand so I decided to purchase the LeapPad2 and give it a try.
Since she received the LeapPad2 she has played with it everyday. In our home it keeps her busy during homework time when my older children need time to focus. This holds her attention and I know she is learning something vs. just playing on some device. I have had to sit with her a few times and teach her the way around the device and games but now she can play independently for the most part. We purchased a few extra games and videos to load onto the device but really the games that already come loaded on them are a great place to start. We purchased to LeapFrog videos, The Letter Factory Game and a Team Umi Zomi Math game.
Pros
-The ability to buy and load Leap Frog movies directly to the device and not have the movies floating around cases around my house. I LOVE the Leap Frog movie selection. They have been a great learning resource for all my children!
PROS
-Easy for a little one to navigate. No more disappearing apps, being redirected to advertisements on the internet, or mysterious purchases from the app store.
-LOVE the rechargeable battery feature.
-Stylus is attached to device.
-Durable..Has been dropped many of times.
-Great apps to teach letter formation. I really love that app and it was preloaded on their
-I love the big selection of Leap Frog games.
-My older children (5-8) like playing with this device as well.
CONS
-I wish the stylus was FATTER or they sold a fatter stylus since my daughter is a learning how to old a pencil. I think a fatter stylus would help her with letter formation.
-I wish on the drawing app every time a color or size was selected the device would speak the color or size to help with color and size recognition.
-The "Learning Song" MP3 player it would be nice if it had pictures to go along with the punctuation song.
-The games are a little more expensive than traditional apps on other devices but I KNOW I am getting quality apps so the cost doesnt bother me much. Apps I have purchased from App stores in the past have always been a gamble for me and I only have a hand full of educational apps I have loaded on other devices that I have absolutely loved. I would definitely recommend purchasing the apps in the Leap Frog app store and loading them directly on the LeapPad INSTEAD of buying the cartridges that way you dont lose them. Plus the LeapFrog store had some really good app package deals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Favorite Toy for 6-year old

01/06/2014
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had some concerns whether the LeapFrog LeapPad2 would really be appropriate for a 6-year old boy. He became absorbed in it. The battery life was reasonable. I was very satisfied with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 164 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next