Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

LeapFrog LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

The LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Learning Tablet is the best-selling, kid-tough learning tablet now with an easy, one-step recharger pack included. You'll never have to buy batteries again!
Average Customer Rating:
4.494 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(415 Reviews) 383
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
302
4 stars
61
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation92%378 out of 413reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 85 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
302
4 stars
61
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Good, if you're rich and like to burn money

09/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I researched the learning side and the durability of the LeapPad for my 2 yr old's birthday and seemed it had good reviews so I bought it. Well, then he opened it and I tried to set it up and everything changed. First it says it comes with some preloaded apps. Assuming you consider clock, calendar, and calculator apps then sure. Otherwise you get a drawing pad and a pet app that simply tries to get your kids to spend money. So I decide to load it up with apps for alphabet and numbers since it said there was an introductory special for this first session only. The first bundle I saw that looked like it had the teaching areas I wanted was $80 with the discounts!? Are you kidding me. Ok I'll go buy just a few apps we need. The first few apps that used Disney or Nick characters were $25 dollars!? I finally found some without branding for $10 dollars a piece, but no thank you. I immediately returned if for a Nabi which the Jr alone pays for the extra $30 right out of the box due to the preloaded apps. I went ahead and sprung for the Nabi 2 to get the better hardware and screen size, but its still better value than the LeapPad.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+183points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Okay but Not Okay!

12/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works well. I Thought this LeaPad 2 would be an excellent toy for our 5 year old. However, once again, the advertisers stick it to you! "Buy this, its loaded with lots of fun games, etc.!"
You buy it, turn it on, find out that you need to buy more stuff to play on it! Go to the online store and games are $25 each? WOW!!!!(even at Walmart) This model is being phased out by the Leap pad 3 and so on, but the games are pricey!!!!!!!! Holy cow!!!!
Would have been more cost effective to buy my 5 year old a tablet!, then I could get games for it from the app store, maybe not for less money, but at least my daughter could keep using this tablet for longer and not age out of it!
When did companies stop caring about learning and start hitting you with these huge prices for games?
I would Not recommend this Leap pad, buy a tablet, at least if your child gets board with it, you can use it for something else! At these prices, you will be money ahead!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

My 2 uear old loves it

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this leappad as a gift for my 2-year-old son who was always taking his brother's tablet. He is really just interested in the Mickey Mouse ebook we loaded on it, but has quickly learned how to turn it on and access the book. The rechargeable battery is a nice add on too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Great Leapfrog LeapPad for at a great price

12/26/2013
By ,
Helena, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 3 year old grandson for Christmas. He absolutely loves it. The apps it came with are at a level that he can work with, and there are a variety of games that are just right for his age. He accidentially dropped it from the table and it took the beating and kept working without any problems. (We had not purchased the gel cover since we bough several games for this. His parents will be purchasing this soon.) We did buy and a screen protector for for added protection, which I recommend (just as you would for any ipad/tablet/phone). So far the battery pack has lasted many hours on the single charge. I can not give an exact timeframe since they had to leave before the battery ran down and had to be recharged. I am very impressed with this item, as is my Daughter/son-in-law. My grandson loves this and takes it with him everywhere when he can, and when he can't it the LeapPad2 is the first "toy" he want's to play with when he gets home. Per my daughter the LeapPad2 is helping my grandson learn many skills. I recommend this product. It is a great learning tool, and should last for many, many years in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Great durable game system for little ones

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased one of these for my daughter a couple of years ago when they first came out. It is still a huge hit to this day. (She is 5 now) This kiddie tablet is extremely durable. . It has been dropped more times than I can count and it still works flawlessly. When my almost 2 year old showed interest in the tablet I decided it would be a perfect bday gift. I felt that there was no need to upgrade to the newer model because this one has really proven itself. Even though my daughter is too small to understand the games available, she is able to watch cartoons, play music, and interact with certain apps. I find this perfect for a 2 year old.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

overpriced apps

02/24/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I bought it I knew that I was going to have to buy more apps for it but I had no idea that they would be so pricey. $7-$10 dollars and those are the cheaper ones plus they don't have that much in the app for my child to do.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Kid perfection and attention grabber !

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great tool for children to learn from ; and it's very durable because it has been dropped several times !
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

wrong color

02/10/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I enjoy shopping with Wal-Mart. I ordered the green tablet above for my son, when it finally arrived long and behold a marvelous pink tablet. I didn't want to hassle myself tablet.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

frog on a lily pad

02/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the leapfrog leappad 2 for my 3 yrs old who lives i Jamaica. Her sister is having trouble setting it up because i didnt kbow i had to buy cartridges to install some stuffs. How can i go about getting cartridges for it?
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Leaping into Learning

02/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great learning tool for kids, with many different features. I will definitely recommend this tablet to anyone. The learning activities is never ending.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Kind of dispaointed

01/01/2014
By ,
Marion Ia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My 5 yr old loves her tablet but we were both disappointed it didn't come with Thomas that was pictured on the front of the package. I had the impression what was on the front is what came with it. This is nearly a $100 item and only came with 1 game and some learning songs that's it. A regular tablet comes with much more for less. For the $ I think it should have came with a lot more games or the capability to download free games not having to pay extra for them. Far as durability it is great since my daughter had dropped it numerous times already and it still works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

I have two girls

02/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two girls. I have a 7 year old and a 2 year old and they both have one and they love it so much they take them everywhere.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Great learning tablet for little kids

06/12/2014
By ,
Woodbridge, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Leappad 2 Power is functionally identical to the standard (and cheaper) Leappad 2 tablet, but for the inclusion of a rechargeable battery kit and charger that Leapfrog also sells separately. The compelling advantage of Leapfrog's kit is that the batteries can be recharged in the unit, unlike conventional AA rechargeable batteries, which would need to be removed first. While it seems a money grab initially, the design prevents the inadvertent (and unsafe) recharging of alkaline batteries. In a pinch, alkaline or rechargeable AA batteries can be swapped into the unit.
We bought the Leappad for our 4 year old son for Christmas. This is a great toy for the younger end of the recommended 4-9 year old age range. Older kids, or kids who've previously had much exposure to "grown-up" Apple or Android devices are unlikely to find this a compelling alternative. That said, all the content available for it is of good educational value, and without the advertising or in-app purchases so common on iOS and Android devices. Games and apps can be "installed" via interchangeable cartridges, or purchased on-line and downloaded into the unit's internal memory, which is sufficient to hold a couple dozen apps at the same time, and without risk of your little one losing the carts.
The overall build quality is excellent, with commendable display and sound quality, given the selling price. Both cameras are trash VGA resolution affars that perform atrociously in low light conditions, but are commendable relative to the selling price of the unit. The unit is also suitably ruggedized for the child demographic it is targeted at, and includes thoughtful design touches as a stylus that is tethered, and which easily stores in a niche on the side of the unit. Leapfrog sells a series of rubber cases for these that add an additional layer of protection inexpensively.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Great value

01/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The fact that this comes with the rechargable batteries and the charger is a great value!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Great Overall Kid Tablet

10/04/2014
By ,
Bryan, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this tablet and so does my 3 year old son. Keeps him entertained while learning word composition, math, reading, science, and so much more. He is something as he can maneuver through all the features of this device. He loves taking pictures and editing them adding designs, stretching, and coloring things in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

mom of autism child

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my 6 year old daughter has autism and she absolutely loves this leappad2.it does not have internet access which i love.the games and apps are wonderful.its a great little device and i would highly refer this item to anyone who would listen. she has also dropped it several times and it still seems to be holding up.love,love love the leap pad2.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Moneyontrees

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for twins turning 5 and they can't put it down! Catchy songs that actually teach them something! Great gift!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Somewhat disappointed

05/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great camera and video features, all of the good learning features have to be purchased separately which is not how the product was promoted.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Learning Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Downloads A No Go!

12/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Love the look design of the machine, ease of use and price but very disappointed that I was not able to download the 4 programs that was part of the purchased price. We tried several times to download them from the Leap pad site with no success. I had to return the machine back to the store.
In the future, I would suggest that all of the programs come preloaded on the leappad.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power Kids' Tablets for Learning (Includes $40 Value Rechargeable Battery)

Toddler Game

10/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this for my toddler as something to play with on a long road trip we're preparing for. He seems to really enjoy the Scout game, and we recently bought him another one. All in all - it seems to be something he really enjoys.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 163 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next